Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Safari reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.4
Overall quality
4.3
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
2.3

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

47 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Joe Bruzda

Washington

Reviewed on 2017-07-12

RV reviewed2000 Safari Trek 2430

View listings

3.8
The Safari TREK 2430 isn't for everyone as the heart of the coach is the electric queen size bed that lowers down from the ceiling at night when you need it. This feature allows the model 2430 to be only 25' long, yet offer the living space of a 36' motorhome. How? By not dragging around a bedroom off the back of the coach! At night, the entire main salon becomes the bedroom once privacy shades are drawn. The coach offers a huge kitchen with a 6' countertop, a large bathroom with tub/shower, big closets, and a large salon with sleeper sofa, chairs and a occasional table. There is even a nice dining table for two opposite the kitchen. The quality of the build is excellent as the TREK was built on the same line as the big Safari diesel pushers with the same quality components, solid Alder hardwood cabinets, one piece fiberglass roof, aircraft aluminum skin, Diamont full-body paint (think Mercedez Benz), all on the Chevy Workhorse medium duty chassis with a 14800 pound GVW powered by a 7.3L Vortec V8 fuel injected engine. The chassis has a 5500 pound receiver for towing. Like my Daddy taught me, every dog has it's fleas, and the TREK is no exception. The short wheelbase of the coach means that it is very reactive to the wheel and the driver must learn to relax at the wheel and not oversteer lest you zig zag your way down the road. Also, the spring suspension can be a bit bouncy on a rough road or going over a speed bump.But the biggest complaint especially from older TREK owners is that someone is crawling over their partner at night to get out of the bed to use the potty. Also, if you have a guest on the sleeper sofa, they are right under the main bed similar to bunk beds. Having said all that, if you can accept these inconveniences the TREK is an amazing coach. It is short, easy to drive, easy to park, can go into ANY National or State campground, is built with quality and smart engineering. It is a joy to spend time in and perfect for a couple with their furry companion. Full Disclosure: Not only am I a current TREK Owner, I was also the Factory Rep. for three years for the TREK way back in 96'-99'. I have no affiliation now. My comments and observations are my own, but also based on literally hundreds of conversations at shows and rallies talking to RV owners. Bottomline: The TREK is a great RV with a legendary following. If you can find one that has been loved over the years and well maintained, buy it. You won't be disappointed!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (114)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Michael De Santi

Nevada

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed2000 Safari Continental 3706

View listings

4.6
You'll cruse down the highway feeling like a true Captain in the oversized plush leather driving chair. Your partner will also experience the feeling of a duplicate set-up in the co-pilots seat as well. There are not mountains this Safari can't conquer with her Cat 330 HP Engine coupled to a 6 speed Allison tranny. The Luxury scalped carpet runs through the living room area, meeting the granite style tile floor that runs on through the bathroom area that shows off a curved gold tone shower door with Leo the Lion etched onto it. The scalped carpet also surrounds the queen bed that is reflected in a wall-to-wall cut glass designed mirror behind a padded headboard.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Michael De Santi

Nevada

Reviewed on 2022-06-21

RV reviewed2000 Safari Continental 3730

View listings

4.2
One of the unlimited Motorhomes in its day. Quality of the build is superior! Corian Counter tops throughout. Ceramic tile floor, off set by the sculptured carpets. China Porcelain toilet not cheap plastic. The round door shower with Leo the Lion embossed into it is one of the many highlight of the couch. A full queen bed is reflected in the wall to wall carved headboard mirror. The working of the Cat 3126 has easy access lifting the queen bed where you will find a handy oversize storage tray. The two burner propane stove top accompanied with a microwave is more than enough to handle the day to day cooking needs of any chef. The large double door fridge /freezer holds more food than you can consume in a week. A mini built in fridge is perfect to chill several bottles of white wine. When cruising down the highway, you feel like a king in the leather drivers seat fit for a king. Not to mention the same extends to your driving partner in the passenger seat. All this wrapped in a seamless aluminum exterior with painted graphics that won't peel like vinyl. Leo the Lion looks down those that follow your big rig to adventures only you know about.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charlie

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2022-05-04

RV reviewed2002 Safari Trek 2430

View listings

5.0
Safari Treks are where it's at! If only they still made these! Talk about a quality product built to last. These motorhomes are tanks compared to other motorhomes and when you get behind the wheel you'll see what I mean! The bed coming down from the ceiling saves an incredible amount of space not only inside the RV but also shortens the length making them extremely easy to drive and maneuver. Plus the insides are made with real wood and nice components. Get in one while you can, only so many of these were made! The murals on the back are the cherry on top!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Daves

California

Reviewed on 2021-10-24

RV reviewed1997 Safari Trek Pathmaker

View listings

3.4
This is a great RV for a couple. The magic bed was a great way to get more space in a smaller RV. During the day, the bed is retracted into the ceiling and the living area is usable. We never had a problem getting into any of the parks we visited. My wife liked the kitchen layout, as it was well thought out and designed. The bathroom is also well designed and large for a smaller RV. One caveat: The Magic Bed limits headroom when retracted, so if you are over six feet tall, you will have to duck. I have no experience with driving anything larger than this rig, so can't compare it to anything. My experience was that I had to pay attention all the time, no "hey look at that".
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ivan Domergue

Wyoming

Reviewed on 2021-09-13

RV reviewed2003 Safari Panther 4213

View listings

1.0
Hey Buyers!! Before you buy any Brand of coach --have it professionally inspected. It will save you THOUSANDS of dollars if repairs are needed. Older coaches tend to have roof neglect leading to delamination on roof and side walls. Roof repairs are approx. $340 per linear foot. A 42' coach will cost near $15,000 to replace roof. Be aware. Also look at tires--replacing 1 tire = $500. 8 tires will set you back approx. $4,000 I can't emphasized how important it is to have ANY older coach professionally inspected. It has saved me thousands of dollars and many headaches. Inspections bring to light many defects that prospective buyers tend to over look. Regards, Ivan
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bill mora

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-07-13

RV reviewed1997 Safari Serengeti 3750

View listings

4.6
FOR SALE: Recent service and road ready $28,990 USD - OBO Class A - Diesel / Sarasota, FL1997 SERENGETI 3750 FOR SALE AVAILABLE $28,900 Questions? (606) 301-1799 RV DETAILS: YEAR:1997 BRAND:Serengeti BY:Safari CATEGORY:Class "A" MODEL:3750# SLIDES:0 LENGTH:37'WIDTH:8' 3" PASS.CAPACITY:6 BATHROOMS:1 full. GENERATOR:6.5 Onan propane AIR CONDITIONING:Yes (2) BODY MATERIAL: All Aluminum with Steel Frame. CHASSIS:Magnum FLOORING TYPE:Tile and carpet. Currently in storage††REASON FOR SELLING:Bought 2nd Home ENGINE DETAILS BRAND:Caterpillar Turbo MODEL:-- HORSEPOWER:330MILEAGE:101,000 † FUEL TYPE:Diesel "ALL ALUMINUM BODY! CATERPILLAR 330 HP DIESEL ENGINE! READY FOR YOUR NEXT ADVENTURE!"1997 SAFARI SERENGETI 3750 CLASS A 330 TURBO DIESEL PUSHER with 101,000 miles Recent 7,000 trip, and she's just serviced and diagnostic report. New batteries. 3 Roof solar panels. Ready for the road. Average 9 miles per gallon. 100 gallon fuel Aluminum body construction, Hardwood cabinetry with Corian Counter tops, ceramic tile floor kitchen with Washer Dryer and Tile bathroom with carpeting in living and bedroom. 8 speaker audio system. Full side awning and all windows awnings with removable privacy screens, including windshield.6.5 Onan propane Generator. Removable Motorcycle Lift with 2,000 lb. winch on rear car receiver. Remote heated mirrors. Kitchen side entrance. Excellent condition Fiberglass roof. 2 TVs transfer box, power antenna booster. Quality not found in most RVs today. Ice cold a/c, hot air furnace, dual door frig/freezer, runs on electric or propane. Fully equipped serviced and ready for traveling. Presently in Fl. but may be in N.J. for the summer. Will consider delivery to your location. Owner for 18 years with service records and original manuals. Needs nothing, but you. Details Price$28,990 USDCurrency Loan Calc Price Guide / J.D. PowerTypeClass A - DieselStatusUsedLength37.00 ft.Fuel TypeDieselOdometer101,000 miGVWR info25000 lbsDry Weight infoN/A Sleeps4Slide-outs0ChassisMagnumEngine330 HP Cat TurboVINRequest VINAd #9958492Review This RVPrint This AdMotorhome Comparison Guide Price history Original Price $28,990 Listed Price $28,990
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

The Duke Family

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-04-10

RV reviewed2008 Safari Trek 29RBD

View listings

4.2
We adore the Trek! The workhouse chassis and Allison transmission are fantastic. As others have said, the size of this motorhome is fantastic. Use of space is well thought out, functional, and plentiful. Sadly, ours is only one if approximately 35 made during its last year under Monaco production. The quality of the coach is amazing. Coaches made during that time and today have nowhere near the quality of build and materials....especially at the price point these are/were at. Most years are what I call couple coach designs. Ours is one of them. With the HappiJac bed as the main sleeping, it’s not ideal for families. Doable, but not ideal. It’s perfect for couples. Trekkers are in fact an awesome group. Upon purchase we located an online group and they are friendly with tons of knowledge and help. They know these coaches inside and out and help teach newer owners about them and how to maintain and fix things. Trek, through the RV and Trekkers, brought to us all the things we were looking for when we decided to get into RVing.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron DeMarco

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2020-12-14

RV reviewed2000 Safari Trek 2430

View listings

2.4
What a nightmare. Bought this 2000 Safari Trek off of two snowbirds who were in Tacna Arizona. I was lead to believe this Trek with 54000 miles on it would handle my 3000 mile trip back to Massachusetts with no problem. I tried hiring a mechanic to inspect it before my arrival. But location was remote an couldn't find any. At 2000 miles into journey a engine pushrod broke. I had to leave there and drive a rental 1000 miles back home. And now it needs an engine and more likely a transmission. I looking at a $10.000 Bill. The couple I bought from are not answering there phone or message. What a nightmare.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ROBERT MEYER

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-11-03

RV reviewed2005 Safari Simba 37PBD

View listings

5.0
EXCELLENT BUILD QUALITY,GREAT LAYOUT, THEY JUST DONNT MAKE THEM LIKE THIS ANYMORE. GOOD QUALITY INTERIOR FROM THE FLORRING TO THE CABINETS, ALSO THE LAYOUT IS PERFECT. HANDLES WELL ON THE ROAD, THE WORKHORSE ENGINE IS SOLID
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 47 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review