Safari
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Safari RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Joe Bruzda from Washington says:

The Safari TREK 2430 isn't for everyone as the heart of the coach is the electric queen size bed that lowers down from the ceiling at night when you n

Read More (43 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2000 Safari Trek 2430 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The Safari TREK 2430 isn't for everyone as the heart of the coach is the electric queen size bed that lowers down from the ceiling at night when you need it. This feature allows the model 2430 to be only 25' long, yet offer the living space of a 36' motorhome. How? By not dragging around a bedroom off the back of the coach! At night, the entire main salon becomes the bedroom once privacy shades are drawn. The coach offers a huge kitchen with a 6' countertop, a large bathroom with tub/shower, big closets, and a large salon with sleeper sofa, chairs and a occasional table. There is even a nice dining table for two opposite the kitchen. The quality of the build is excellent as the TREK was built on the same line as the big Safari diesel pushers with the same quality components, solid Alder hardwood cabinets, one piece fiberglass roof, aircraft aluminum skin, Diamont full-body paint (think Mercedez Benz), all on the Chevy Workhorse medium duty chassis with a 14800 pound GVW powered by a 7.3L Vortec V8 fuel injected engine. The chassis has a 5500 pound receiver for towing. Like my Daddy taught me, every dog has it's fleas, and the TREK is no exception. The short wheelbase of the coach means that it is very reactive to the wheel and the driver must learn to relax at the wheel and not oversteer lest you zig zag your way down the road. Also, the spring suspension can be a bit bouncy on a rough road or going over a speed bump.But the biggest complaint especially from older TREK owners is that someone is crawling over their partner at night to get out of the bed to use the potty. Also, if you have a guest on the sleeper sofa, they are right under the main bed similar to bunk beds. Having said all that, if you can accept these inconveniences the TREK is an amazing coach. It is short, easy to drive, easy to park, can go into ANY National or State campground, is built with quality and smart engineering. It is a joy to spend time in and perfect for a couple with their furry companion. Full Disclosure: Not only am I a current TREK Owner, I was also the Factory Rep. for three years for the TREK way back in 96'-99'. I have no affiliation now. My comments and observations are my own, but also based on literally hundreds of conversations at shows and rallies talking to RV owners. Bottomline: The TREK is a great RV with a legendary following. If you can find one that has been loved over the years and well maintained, buy it. You won't be disappointed!
- Joe Bruzda, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-09-13 2003 Safari Panther 4213 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Hey Buyers!! Before you buy any Brand of coach --have it professionally inspected. It will save you THOUSANDS of dollars if repairs are needed. Older coaches tend to have roof neglect leading to delamination on roof and side walls. Roof repairs are approx. $340 per linear foot. A 42' coach will cost near $15,000 to replace roof. Be aware. Also look at tires--replacing 1 tire = $500. 8 tires will set you back approx. $4,000 I can't emphasized how important it is to have ANY older coach professionally inspected. It has saved me thousands of dollars and many headaches. Inspections bring to light many defects that prospective buyers tend to over look. Regards, Ivan
- Ivan Domergue, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-07-13 1997 Safari Serengeti 3750 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
FOR SALE: Recent service and road ready $28,990 USD - OBO Class A - Diesel / Sarasota, FL1997 SERENGETI 3750 FOR SALE AVAILABLE $28,900 Questions? (606) 301-1799 RV DETAILS: YEAR:1997 BRAND:Serengeti BY:Safari CATEGORY:Class "A" MODEL:3750# SLIDES:0 LENGTH:37'WIDTH:8' 3" PASS.CAPACITY:6 BATHROOMS:1 full. GENERATOR:6.5 Onan propane AIR CONDITIONING:Yes (2) BODY MATERIAL: All Aluminum with Steel Frame. CHASSIS:Magnum FLOORING TYPE:Tile and carpet. Currently in storage††REASON FOR SELLING:Bought 2nd Home ENGINE DETAILS BRAND:Caterpillar Turbo MODEL:-- HORSEPOWER:330MILEAGE:101,000 † FUEL TYPE:Diesel "ALL ALUMINUM BODY! CATERPILLAR 330 HP DIESEL ENGINE! READY FOR YOUR NEXT ADVENTURE!"1997 SAFARI SERENGETI 3750 CLASS A 330 TURBO DIESEL PUSHER with 101,000 miles Recent 7,000 trip, and she's just serviced and diagnostic report. New batteries. 3 Roof solar panels. Ready for the road. Average 9 miles per gallon. 100 gallon fuel Aluminum body construction, Hardwood cabinetry with Corian Counter tops, ceramic tile floor kitchen with Washer Dryer and Tile bathroom with carpeting in living and bedroom. 8 speaker audio system. Full side awning and all windows awnings with removable privacy screens, including windshield.6.5 Onan propane Generator. Removable Motorcycle Lift with 2,000 lb. winch on rear car receiver. Remote heated mirrors. Kitchen side entrance. Excellent condition Fiberglass roof. 2 TVs transfer box, power antenna booster. Quality not found in most RVs today. Ice cold a/c, hot air furnace, dual door frig/freezer, runs on electric or propane. Fully equipped serviced and ready for traveling. Presently in Fl. but may be in N.J. for the summer. Will consider delivery to your location. Owner for 18 years with service records and original manuals. Needs nothing, but you. Details Price$28,990 USDCurrency Loan Calc Price Guide / J.D. PowerTypeClass A - DieselStatusUsedLength37.00 ft.Fuel TypeDieselOdometer101,000 miGVWR info25000 lbsDry Weight infoN/A Sleeps4Slide-outs0ChassisMagnumEngine330 HP Cat TurboVINRequest VINAd #9958492Review This RVPrint This AdMotorhome Comparison Guide Price history Original Price $28,990 Listed Price $28,990
- bill mora, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-04-10 2008 Safari Trek 29RBD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We adore the Trek! The workhouse chassis and Allison transmission are fantastic. As others have said, the size of this motorhome is fantastic. Use of space is well thought out, functional, and plentiful. Sadly, ours is only one if approximately 35 made during its last year under Monaco production. The quality of the coach is amazing. Coaches made during that time and today have nowhere near the quality of build and materials....especially at the price point these are/were at. Most years are what I call couple coach designs. Ours is one of them. With the HappiJac bed as the main sleeping, it’s not ideal for families. Doable, but not ideal. It’s perfect for couples. Trekkers are in fact an awesome group. Upon purchase we located an online group and they are friendly with tons of knowledge and help. They know these coaches inside and out and help teach newer owners about them and how to maintain and fix things. Trek, through the RV and Trekkers, brought to us all the things we were looking for when we decided to get into RVing.
- The Duke Family, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-14 2000 Safari Trek 2430 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
What a nightmare. Bought this 2000 Safari Trek off of two snowbirds who were in Tacna Arizona. I was lead to believe this Trek with 54000 miles on it would handle my 3000 mile trip back to Massachusetts with no problem. I tried hiring a mechanic to inspect it before my arrival. But location was remote an couldn't find any. At 2000 miles into journey a engine pushrod broke. I had to leave there and drive a rental 1000 miles back home. And now it needs an engine and more likely a transmission. I looking at a $10.000 Bill. The couple I bought from are not answering there phone or message. What a nightmare.
- Ron DeMarco, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-11-03 2005 Safari Simba 37PBD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
EXCELLENT BUILD QUALITY,GREAT LAYOUT, THEY JUST DONNT MAKE THEM LIKE THIS ANYMORE. GOOD QUALITY INTERIOR FROM THE FLORRING TO THE CABINETS, ALSO THE LAYOUT IS PERFECT. HANDLES WELL ON THE ROAD, THE WORKHORSE ENGINE IS SOLID
- ROBERT MEYER, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-02 2001 Safari Zanzibar 3896 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The Safari Zanzibar was a perfect motorhome for a small family. I've vacationed with it & lived in it and in both situations it was more space than we needed! Towed a car behind it for thousands of miles without even noticing a difference in performance. High quality interior with a full fridge/freezer combo. Only upgrade I didn't do that I wanted to was to add an oven! Huge LP tank, big fresh/black/grey tanks. That Cat engine will run forever!
- Nick, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-02 2001 Safari Trek 2830 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This was our 3rd RV and absolutely the best! If we were younger we would continue to use it but age has its limits. I've done everything in my power to provide a good equipped RV for sale, 6 new tires, with less than 1,000 miles on them,the vehicle has a strong engine and has no problem towing a smaller car. Parking is not a problem since this RV length is accepted in all state and national parks and is easily parked in commercial parks too. We loved the use of space in this floor plan. It has a large bathroom, and a full-sized kitchen. The living room is comfortable and spacious and all of this is because there is no wasted space providing a bedroom. The large queen-sized bed is in the ceiling but the bathroom provides plenty of double closet space and drawers. Unfortunately, this make and model is no longer being manufactured. Those of us that love the look and roominess of a large RV without driving around a huge vehicle think this RV is the perfect solution.
- Bert Ekstrom, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-28 2003 Safari Cheetah 3733 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
No problem with the engine, great quality inside and out! Generator is quiet, great features, very comfortable. Our family of four lived in our cheetah for two years while on the road in the us and Mexico. We would highly recommend this coach!!
- Rachel, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-17 1990 Safari Ivory 35 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Are you sure it's a Chevy chassis and motor.. I don't remember them building on Chevy in 1990.. I think all gas built that year were all on John deere chassis with Ford 460 cubic inch, I worked there from the start to 1992
- Patrick , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-08 2001 Safari Zanzibar 3896 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very happy with the Safari. Still a good motor home after all these years. Lots of power in the diesel engine runs great, comfortable floor plan, beautiful wood cabinets, lots of mirrors, top of the line when new.
- James, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-23 2001 Safari Panther 455 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This motorhome drives excellent pools great has all the power you would ever need looks good two slides only thing wrong with it is the clear coat is peeling it has one brand new air conditioning the other one works fine two brand new front tires the rear tires aren't very old aluminum Alcoa rims four door refrigerator freezer brand new microwave oven
- Chuck Sullivan, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-23 2000 Safari Zanzibar 3896 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I've been looking for a safari motorhome for awhile and as I was planning a trip to the west coast to pick one up and drive one back I found one 70 miles from me. For some reason I like aluminum sidewalls. I contacted the dealership thay had nothing good to say other than hand it was a diesel pusher for a good Price. It is 18k nada in good condition is 21500 so it's worth taking a look at. So I've done alot of research in the past years I don't need alot of help. I got a slow day at work and decided to go take a look in my work clothes and work truck. Pulled up got zero help keys are in it go check it out. Checked it out found old maintenance records. Was told the interior was warn, I'm good with interiors no big deal. Warn is an understatement. Water damage on and around the slideout by the shower and front door, refrigerator was closed when wet and smelled like death. I can overlook this I know how to fix this. I didn't like the response I got from showing up in my work truck so I decided to drive it again. Showed up the gentleman I was talking to on the phone said he was going to lunch and walked away, still a good deal the owner said he would go for a test drive with me. Motorhome ran great, went back to the dealership was immediately asked what I was doing. I told him I would give him his asking price and appropriate taxes and filling fees, but sense thay had no clue when the oil was last changed I asked them to change the oil. Thay have a repair shop should be no big deal I got a no deal please turn the key off. In my opinion I was not worth their time. I would not deal with this dealership ever.
- Mike jones, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-21 2005 Safari Gazelle 38PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The 2005 Safari was built by Monaco Coach. The Gazelle model was a high end model and was built on the Roadmaster Chassis which was designed and built by Monaco. The major difference between this unit and the Monaco is that the Gazelle has the Cat C9 400 hp engine and the Monaco had the Cummins 400 hp engine. The fit and finish on this unit is not as fine as the Bluebird or Newell but is perfectly adequate. The floor plan and facilities are designed for living aboard rather than weekend living and glitz. It has adequate bay storage and lots of inside cabinet storage.
- George Fox, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-25 1996 Safari Serengeti S39 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Please please please read this before looking or thinking about this Serengeti coach for sale!!!! I drove 15 hrs to basically buy this coach after a 4k deposit and many conversations w the owner re condition. The unit is a complete bust and anyone considering this Serengeti need not pay any attention to the owners erroneous depiction. She lied and misled me through the ad and in her own words. Its got many areas on the body that have been impacted as well as a complete indent of the whole rear end. No accidents or damage she claims!!! Absolutely not true!! And then you enter the supposed "well maintained" interior. Again...a complete fabrication of truth. The ceiling is shot in all bedroom from major water damage/leaks.Many other areas of water leaks as well. Cabinetry is rough and off hinges. Wood flooring is completely shot. Carpet as well. Furniture is unusable. The unit is dirty, unkept, and a real turn off. Essentially I drove 15 hours... spent 10 minutes, and left to drive 15hrs back. On top of it all...she will not return one dollar of my deposit... eventually threatening me w harrasment if I called her again in a plea to return something. Please please please...anyone interested in this coach... don't waste your time.
- Douglas, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-20 2003 Safari Zanzibar 3922 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
we love this selling to health 37000 mi new tires new washer dryer never used 2 slides delamination both sides bent baggage door price reduced because of damage new tv in living room dual roof air all appliances work located in Wisconsin 60 miles north of Madison
- ed, Newfoundland and Labrador

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-21 2005 Safari Cheetah 36PDD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I've owned a safari for over a year know drive and handles nice hi quality coach with lots of comfert teachers like dual air 4 season living lots of storage out side slide try for genarter awning cover over windows powered by 350 cat climbs right up that moution about 9 miles to a gallon at 60 mph road master chassis 4 bag. And turns good for a 36 ft couch over all Lisa good one
- Rick, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-06-28 2001 Safari Zanzibar 3922 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I love this coach. So comfortable and spacious. Well built of great quality. Mine has beautiful and unique colors and has a warmth and calmness when on it. Drives and works great with durability and reliability. Nice useful ammenities. Mine is old and warranty questions don't apply but there is a great owners club for them.
- Mike Fulp, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-06-11 2004 Safari Trek 28RB2 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a great motorhome, easy to drive an maneuver in tight places. Can park almost anywhere.it is very comfortable with a great floorplan. Very large bathroom area with full size walk-in shower. Very well built and a lot of power.
- Craig, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-19 2003 Safari Cheetah 36SKT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Have enjoyed the RV EXPERIENCES immensely! Traveled, Work-camped and met lots of interesting and fun people. Like any other vehicle, maintenance and upkeep varied by year and issue as the coach was used and aged. Most issues were corrected quickly and I'm glad I had the GoodSam Extended Warranty program. Gave me piece of mind. Coach was very comfortable and livable, design, glass and mirrors gave the feel of much more space and brought the outdoors in. Finishes, cabinetry and comfortable furniture added to the enjoyment factor; not fancy but very pleasant!! Improvements included, flat screen TV, satellite dish, high-boy toilet and recliner after removal of small and uncomfortable couch. Queen size bed mattress and cover was extremely comfortable, especially for a large person. I will miss having the coach but my age has caught up with me!!
- Steve Nelson , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-06 2003 Safari Cheetah 36SKT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought this Unit brandnew and paid Cash for it in 2016 have owned it for only 2 1/2 yrs. It's the right size for a Couple, has all the amenities, Comfort & latest state of the art technology. We have used it only a few times in the Fall & Winter the last 2 yrs and were overall quite pleased and were planning to keep it for a long time, since we always take care of anything we own and they always look new.Yesterday the Unit caught on Fire & burned sitting on our property and it's a major LOSS to us. Fire started upfront by the Bed seems like electrical, faulty wiring from what the Fire Dept. mentioned to us it burned every out all the way back to the bathroom, we are Very Upset & Disappointed! We regret ever having invested in this & seeing it going into Smoke. After doing some research I realized how many of these RV/Trailers by several Manufactors have caught on Fire just in the last couple of years, reason for me writing this Review is to make the Public aware to do their Research prior to purchasing & investing in these Vehicles. We are thankful we were not hurt. I have put in our Claim to our Ins Company, but know I will have to put up a Fight to get our Money, since I am aware we will not get what we purchased it for 2 1/2 yrs ago, so it's really a Bad Investment & a Loss to us.
- Vivienne, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-12-12 2007 Safari Simba 38SDD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great floor plan. Very few items that needed repair over a 10 year span. Great fuel mileage. Can still get parts through Monaco - REV group. Though out of warranty manufacturer did make all needed warranty repairs when coach was new.
- Spiros Karidis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-10-28 1999 Safari Zanzibar 3876 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This RV has alot of storage space in it. The cabinets are great quality and you are able to store lots of things. The shower has a lot of room along with a bath tub. You have nice shower pressure. You can walk around the bed and do not have to crawl to get into bed. Great for the first time Rver
- Amy Acup, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-10-17 1999 Safari Zanzibar 3876 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This RV is spacious and has alot of storage space for you to downsize your household. Great way to save money for ypur future. Nice shower pressure and spacious. Nice queen size bed with alot of storage space for your clothes.
- Amy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-08-01 1997 Safari Serengeti 4050 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very easy to drive & back up. Performs like a commercial bus being very stable and quiet on good roads. Excellent braking. A breeze to hook up when docked. The two rooftop A/C units and onboard heater make living in any climate very enjoyable. The galley dishwasher makes meal clean up a dream. The Master bed queen sized Tempurpedic Mattress provides a superior nights sleep. The super efficient floor plan makes life aboard really happy. All bugs have been works out of this rig and would highly recommend it to any couple wishing to use it to enjoy coast to coast travel or settle somewhere and use it as a tiny home. When stepping aboard our rig it feels like a land yacht or an exceptional tiny home on wheels.
- Robert Claman, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: