Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Safari reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
4.4
Overall quality
4.2
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
2.2

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

44 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Joe Bruzda

Washington

Reviewed on 2017-07-12

RV reviewed2000 Safari Trek 2430

View listings

3.8
The Safari TREK 2430 isn't for everyone as the heart of the coach is the electric queen size bed that lowers down from the ceiling at night when you need it. This feature allows the model 2430 to be only 25' long, yet offer the living space of a 36' motorhome. How? By not dragging around a bedroom off the back of the coach! At night, the entire main salon becomes the bedroom once privacy shades are drawn. The coach offers a huge kitchen with a 6' countertop, a large bathroom with tub/shower, big closets, and a large salon with sleeper sofa, chairs and a occasional table. There is even a nice dining table for two opposite the kitchen. The quality of the build is excellent as the TREK was built on the same line as the big Safari diesel pushers with the same quality components, solid Alder hardwood cabinets, one piece fiberglass roof, aircraft aluminum skin, Diamont full-body paint (think Mercedez Benz), all on the Chevy Workhorse medium duty chassis with a 14800 pound GVW powered by a 7.3L Vortec V8 fuel injected engine. The chassis has a 5500 pound receiver for towing. Like my Daddy taught me, every dog has it's fleas, and the TREK is no exception. The short wheelbase of the coach means that it is very reactive to the wheel and the driver must learn to relax at the wheel and not oversteer lest you zig zag your way down the road. Also, the spring suspension can be a bit bouncy on a rough road or going over a speed bump.But the biggest complaint especially from older TREK owners is that someone is crawling over their partner at night to get out of the bed to use the potty. Also, if you have a guest on the sleeper sofa, they are right under the main bed similar to bunk beds. Having said all that, if you can accept these inconveniences the TREK is an amazing coach. It is short, easy to drive, easy to park, can go into ANY National or State campground, is built with quality and smart engineering. It is a joy to spend time in and perfect for a couple with their furry companion. Full Disclosure: Not only am I a current TREK Owner, I was also the Factory Rep. for three years for the TREK way back in 96'-99'. I have no affiliation now. My comments and observations are my own, but also based on literally hundreds of conversations at shows and rallies talking to RV owners. Bottomline: The TREK is a great RV with a legendary following. If you can find one that has been loved over the years and well maintained, buy it. You won't be disappointed!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (103)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Daves

California

Reviewed on 2021-10-24

RV reviewed1997 Safari Trek Pathmaker

View listings

3.4
This is a great RV for a couple. The magic bed was a great way to get more space in a smaller RV. During the day, the bed is retracted into the ceiling and the living area is usable. We never had a problem getting into any of the parks we visited. My wife liked the kitchen layout, as it was well thought out and designed. The bathroom is also well designed and large for a smaller RV. One caveat: The Magic Bed limits headroom when retracted, so if you are over six feet tall, you will have to duck. I have no experience with driving anything larger than this rig, so can't compare it to anything. My experience was that I had to pay attention all the time, no "hey look at that".
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ivan Domergue

Wyoming

Reviewed on 2021-09-13

RV reviewed2003 Safari Panther 4213

View listings

1.0
Hey Buyers!! Before you buy any Brand of coach --have it professionally inspected. It will save you THOUSANDS of dollars if repairs are needed. Older coaches tend to have roof neglect leading to delamination on roof and side walls. Roof repairs are approx. $340 per linear foot. A 42' coach will cost near $15,000 to replace roof. Be aware. Also look at tires--replacing 1 tire = $500. 8 tires will set you back approx. $4,000 I can't emphasized how important it is to have ANY older coach professionally inspected. It has saved me thousands of dollars and many headaches. Inspections bring to light many defects that prospective buyers tend to over look. Regards, Ivan
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bill mora

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-07-13

RV reviewed1997 Safari Serengeti 3750

View listings

4.6
FOR SALE: Recent service and road ready $28,990 USD - OBO Class A - Diesel / Sarasota, FL1997 SERENGETI 3750 FOR SALE AVAILABLE $28,900 Questions? (606) 301-1799 RV DETAILS: YEAR:1997 BRAND:Serengeti BY:Safari CATEGORY:Class "A" MODEL:3750# SLIDES:0 LENGTH:37'WIDTH:8' 3" PASS.CAPACITY:6 BATHROOMS:1 full. GENERATOR:6.5 Onan propane AIR CONDITIONING:Yes (2) BODY MATERIAL: All Aluminum with Steel Frame. CHASSIS:Magnum FLOORING TYPE:Tile and carpet. Currently in storage††REASON FOR SELLING:Bought 2nd Home ENGINE DETAILS BRAND:Caterpillar Turbo MODEL:-- HORSEPOWER:330MILEAGE:101,000 † FUEL TYPE:Diesel "ALL ALUMINUM BODY! CATERPILLAR 330 HP DIESEL ENGINE! READY FOR YOUR NEXT ADVENTURE!"1997 SAFARI SERENGETI 3750 CLASS A 330 TURBO DIESEL PUSHER with 101,000 miles Recent 7,000 trip, and she's just serviced and diagnostic report. New batteries. 3 Roof solar panels. Ready for the road. Average 9 miles per gallon. 100 gallon fuel Aluminum body construction, Hardwood cabinetry with Corian Counter tops, ceramic tile floor kitchen with Washer Dryer and Tile bathroom with carpeting in living and bedroom. 8 speaker audio system. Full side awning and all windows awnings with removable privacy screens, including windshield.6.5 Onan propane Generator. Removable Motorcycle Lift with 2,000 lb. winch on rear car receiver. Remote heated mirrors. Kitchen side entrance. Excellent condition Fiberglass roof. 2 TVs transfer box, power antenna booster. Quality not found in most RVs today. Ice cold a/c, hot air furnace, dual door frig/freezer, runs on electric or propane. Fully equipped serviced and ready for traveling. Presently in Fl. but may be in N.J. for the summer. Will consider delivery to your location. Owner for 18 years with service records and original manuals. Needs nothing, but you. Details Price$28,990 USDCurrency Loan Calc Price Guide / J.D. PowerTypeClass A - DieselStatusUsedLength37.00 ft.Fuel TypeDieselOdometer101,000 miGVWR info25000 lbsDry Weight infoN/A Sleeps4Slide-outs0ChassisMagnumEngine330 HP Cat TurboVINRequest VINAd #9958492Review This RVPrint This AdMotorhome Comparison Guide Price history Original Price $28,990 Listed Price $28,990
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

The Duke Family

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-04-10

RV reviewed2008 Safari Trek 29RBD

View listings

4.2
We adore the Trek! The workhouse chassis and Allison transmission are fantastic. As others have said, the size of this motorhome is fantastic. Use of space is well thought out, functional, and plentiful. Sadly, ours is only one if approximately 35 made during its last year under Monaco production. The quality of the coach is amazing. Coaches made during that time and today have nowhere near the quality of build and materials....especially at the price point these are/were at. Most years are what I call couple coach designs. Ours is one of them. With the HappiJac bed as the main sleeping, it’s not ideal for families. Doable, but not ideal. It’s perfect for couples. Trekkers are in fact an awesome group. Upon purchase we located an online group and they are friendly with tons of knowledge and help. They know these coaches inside and out and help teach newer owners about them and how to maintain and fix things. Trek, through the RV and Trekkers, brought to us all the things we were looking for when we decided to get into RVing.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron DeMarco

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2020-12-14

RV reviewed2000 Safari Trek 2430

View listings

2.4
What a nightmare. Bought this 2000 Safari Trek off of two snowbirds who were in Tacna Arizona. I was lead to believe this Trek with 54000 miles on it would handle my 3000 mile trip back to Massachusetts with no problem. I tried hiring a mechanic to inspect it before my arrival. But location was remote an couldn't find any. At 2000 miles into journey a engine pushrod broke. I had to leave there and drive a rental 1000 miles back home. And now it needs an engine and more likely a transmission. I looking at a $10.000 Bill. The couple I bought from are not answering there phone or message. What a nightmare.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ROBERT MEYER

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-11-03

RV reviewed2005 Safari Simba 37PBD

View listings

5.0
EXCELLENT BUILD QUALITY,GREAT LAYOUT, THEY JUST DONNT MAKE THEM LIKE THIS ANYMORE. GOOD QUALITY INTERIOR FROM THE FLORRING TO THE CABINETS, ALSO THE LAYOUT IS PERFECT. HANDLES WELL ON THE ROAD, THE WORKHORSE ENGINE IS SOLID
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nick

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-09-02

RV reviewed2001 Safari Zanzibar 3896

View listings

4.6
The Safari Zanzibar was a perfect motorhome for a small family. I've vacationed with it & lived in it and in both situations it was more space than we needed! Towed a car behind it for thousands of miles without even noticing a difference in performance. High quality interior with a full fridge/freezer combo. Only upgrade I didn't do that I wanted to was to add an oven! Huge LP tank, big fresh/black/grey tanks. That Cat engine will run forever!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bert Ekstrom

California

Reviewed on 2020-08-02

RV reviewed2001 Safari Trek 2830

View listings

4.2
This was our 3rd RV and absolutely the best! If we were younger we would continue to use it but age has its limits. I've done everything in my power to provide a good equipped RV for sale, 6 new tires, with less than 1,000 miles on them,the vehicle has a strong engine and has no problem towing a smaller car. Parking is not a problem since this RV length is accepted in all state and national parks and is easily parked in commercial parks too. We loved the use of space in this floor plan. It has a large bathroom, and a full-sized kitchen. The living room is comfortable and spacious and all of this is because there is no wasted space providing a bedroom. The large queen-sized bed is in the ceiling but the bathroom provides plenty of double closet space and drawers. Unfortunately, this make and model is no longer being manufactured. Those of us that love the look and roominess of a large RV without driving around a huge vehicle think this RV is the perfect solution.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (20)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rachel

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-07-28

RV reviewed2003 Safari Cheetah 3733

View listings

4.6
No problem with the engine, great quality inside and out! Generator is quiet, great features, very comfortable. Our family of four lived in our cheetah for two years while on the road in the us and Mexico. We would highly recommend this coach!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 44 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review