Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Highland Ridge reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
2.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

129 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tom

Indiana

Reviewed on 2016-07-08

RV reviewed2016 Highland Ridge RV Light 274RLS

View listings

4.0
Very good company. Support and warranty are the best. Floor plan is spacious and quality construction is evident. I have owned other RV's and this unit is right up there with the best. Since I live close to the factory I took it back there for replacement of a Fantastic fan replacement. They replaced it as well as a couple of other small items I wasn't even aware of that needed attention. All under warranty. No hassle.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (26)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jonathan

California

Reviewed on 2022-04-30

RV reviewed2020 Highland Ridge RV Open Range 322RLS

View listings

5.0
awesome in all weather conditions we were in temps as low as 15 degrees homey . this unit has all you need to be self contained while traveling . you stay and do laundry you do not have to got to a laundry facilitie !
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Ray Ward

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2022-04-22

RV reviewed2018 Highland Ridge RV Open Range 272RLS

View listings

2.6
Bought my RV new in 2018. Overall living is nice and comfortable. The quality of the RV is built poor. First was the slide. Been repaired 3 times. Still hangs up and will not come in right. Now the floor is sagging everywhere. Been told it is structural damage. My opinion is stay away from open range
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Neil and Victoria

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-21

RV reviewed2018 Highland Ridge RV Open Range 3x 427 BHS

View listings

4.6
We made a great purchase, we’ve enjoyed every minute spent with this camper. We always get great compliments about this camper never a bad moment. I would purchase this camper again in a heartbeat. We enjoy outdoor living so we couldn’t ask for anything more except more time to travel and enjoy our camper
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donna Walden

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-04-09

RV reviewed2017 Highland Ridge RV Light LF293RLS

View listings

3.4
Bought this as we thought it was a well built Fifth wheel with a good floor plan. Have had issues with the living room slide since we bought. The Dealer had no idea how to repair a unit with the cable drive system, even though the dealer was a certified Open Range dealer and repair shop. In fact, they made the problem worse. I have contacted Highland Ridge and BAL, the company that manufactures the slide system to no avail. I am sincerely disappointed in Highland Ridge and Jayco. Getting parts for the slide system is horrible. Currently the unit is with a private repair company that is trying to fabricate a repair for the unit. He states the system has a terrible design flaw with the slide being too heavy for the cable system. The only advice I can give is to stay away from Highland Ridge Open Range units with the BAL slide system. We bought this unit for our retirement and it is a shame we have missed camping trips due to this issue. I had always heard that Jayco stands behind their products, but this has not been the case for us. Jayco bought out and has manufactured Highland Ridge Open Range units since 2014.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Diane Kohut

New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2022-04-01

RV reviewed2021 Highland Ridge Open Range Light 275rls

View listings

2.8
We’ve had our Open Range Light 275RLS for a little over a year. Four stars for livability because it’s livable. One star for overall quality because it is poorly constructed, from the Schwintek slide that malfunctioned initially to the way doors and interior walls were poorly constructed, to the needlessness of the “theater lighting” on the recliners, to the way too small oven that is difficulty to light. To the touch up that needs to be done to some of the finishes (not very long after purchasing). Four stars for floor plan because it’s a pretty good floor plan with the exception of the entrance to the bathroom-too close to the outside door, and opposes the bedroom door, so needs to be kept shut all of the time. Four starts for driving-it pulls pretty good. One star for Factory Warranty/Support- If I could give no star at all that would be what I would give. It’s great to have a warranty, but if the manufacturer doesn’t back it by helping you find someone other that the original seller to work on it, you might as well not have a warranty. Travel trailers are made for traveling., so it’s reasonable to expect that you might not be staying within the vicinity of where the purchase was made. Very shortly after purchasing ours the Schwintek slide malfunctioned. Tried to deal withe Highland Ridge/Jayco, but they were useless. We had to backtrack 500 miles to return to the dealer that we bought the RV from.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Forrest Smith

Nevada

Reviewed on 2022-04-01

RV reviewed2021 Highland Ridge Mesa Ridge 314RLS

View listings

3.4
Love the floor plan, the features included, and the size. Very nicely done unit. HOWEVER, had a problem with the vinyl cover over the slideout mechanism on curbside for the dinette area. Discovered it was curled upwards about 3/4" during inspection and pointed it out to dealer-Parris RV in Salt Lake City. Discovered the cover was hitting the kitchen island because it is nearly 1" longer than the opening. Dealer says OEM has to approve. Manufacturer says it is built to specs, but will not provide detailed information or dimensions on the cover or the opening. This is a major trip and safety factor.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

F.B Buck

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2022-03-15

RV reviewed2022 Highland Ridge Range lite Open range light

View listings

2.8
The open floor plan for a smaller tow rv was appealing to us after towing a beast around but I must say run don't walk away from this poorly built piece of junk! Yes, it's smaller and easy to tow but on our first week out wad the worst camping experience we ever had in our 10 years with RVs. From hot water heater to water pump every thing was a catastrophe! Not to mention the poor quality after you take it out the first time. Stabilizing Jack's had to be replaced and Dunlap gave me the Jack's to replace myself. This unit is a nightmare 😫 We now have be in this unit one week and we're hoping we can sell it and get our money back, after adding a brand new mattress because the one that comes with the unit is a joke I don't think a cockroach would sleep on it. The water feed hookup is so close to the end that it's hard to twist the water hose on it. Stay away from this brand and Dunlap RV in my opinion.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Fiedler

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2022-03-12

RV reviewed2017 Highland Ridge RV Open Range Light 295FBH

View listings

4.0
Been a very good RV. Finishes are nice, layout is great with kids. Tows great with my 1/2 ton truck. Would be nice to have a little more storage but overall been a great trailer. Heat in the front bunkhouse is a little hard to regulate with the furnace being so close but an adjustable vent easily cures the issue.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Montana

Reviewed on 2022-03-07

RV reviewed2022 Highland Ridge Open Range Lite 241 BH

View listings

4.4
We have been winter Rv camping in our Highland Ridge Open Range Lite (thermal cold weather package) since Nov 2021- Present. We are on a one year camping trip. We purchased the camper in MT and pulled out of the RV dealership parking lot and have been camping ever since. We so far camped in northern Montana near Glacier NP and now in Zion and Bryce Canyon NP areas in Utah. The temperatures were below -0 to -15 for weeks at a time in Montana to include 5 degrees in UT. The camper has preformed well and we live comfortably (wife, me, son, and dog) in the camper. Of course you have to prep and there is some work to winter camping. That means owing a insulated electric heat water hose, heat tape wrapped around the ground water faucet with insulation over it and a wrapped tarp at the bottomto boot. Heat tape wrapped on your septic hose with wrapped insulation and then cold weather tape. Owning multiple cold weater extension cords, and heat lamps. A most is putting a light bulb placed near coils on refridgerator at the outside compartment. Our fridge stopped working because it was below 0. We put the bulb in there and it worked agaim. Placing multiple heat lamps and a space heater underneath your camper for underbelly. A 2nd space heater for inside the camper to compensate the propane heater. A must for below 0 camping is insulating the skirting with either cords of firewood or rv skirting with "foam board" on the backside to shield from freeze or high winds. Its work but it helps! I had a sheet of wood for a entry door to crawl underneath to able to release black and gray tanks. I had two heat lamps pointed at the release valves and the space heater on high at the front to blow towards the back under belly. I had three more heat lamps positioned underneath were i thought the black/ gray tanks were located. We owned four 30 gallon propane tanks. We average one tank every four to six days. Thats why its important to have a electric space heater (good one) to compensate the propane inside the camper. We used reflextics on all the windows for insulation during below zero weeks. The propane heater and stove performed awesome and all the other items in the trailer. We maintained a inside temp at 66 to 73 degrees. Both sinks, toliet, and shower, for the water never froze. We never lost water and remained on city water -connected. We never used the fresh water tank. We kept it empty. I would empty the black and gray when it reached 2/3. We dripped the water at the kitchen sink at night and kept the sink cabinet door open with the space heater pointed towards it to prevent freezing. Other than that "good times!" Lol I give the open range high marks for extreme cold weather camping and liviibility!! Sounds like alot of work but if you like camping and having almost 0 crowds at NP's "its the best!"
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 13
  • 1 - 7 of 7 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review