Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Chinook reviews

3.8
Write a review
Liveability
4.3
Overall quality
4.8
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
1.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Paul Boutross

Illinois

Reviewed on 2014-12-29

RV reviewed2000 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

3.4
This is a very small full size motorhome. I mean to say, it has everything the full size motorhomes have except square footage. That said, it has its place in the RV world. Touch and go, Hop's and skip's, Quick in, Quick out. No need to pull a car. It IS the car as well as the motorhome. 21 feet of well thought out, fun. A happy wagon. In fact, that is my CB handle, Happywagon. Give me a shout sometime. I am not kidding when I tell you that parked it on the street in downtown Nashville Indiana. We did not take up more then one car spot and no one looked twice at us. It has opened up a whole new world of travel for us and the price is right too. Ok on gas and cozy to boot. It has solar panals to keep the batteries charged when sitting, also hydrolic jscks that are usually found on the big rig's as well as all the other aminities. This baby is extremely well build thru and thru and even though it is 15 years old, I can see that she really has lots of life left in her. I feel so lucky to have one.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (78)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Davenport

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2022-04-23

RV reviewed1998 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

4.4
This Review is for a 1995 Chinook Premier - the budget/cheaper version of the Concourse. The two of us have owned our Chinook for seven years. Upgraded the batteries/electrical system to modern standards to improve ability to boondock, replaced 3 way fridge with AC/DC Danfoss compressor fridge (huge upgrade), a few other minor tweaks. Our longest trip was seven weeks to the maritime provinces of Canada. For the size, it's a very livable floor plan. Couch/dinette makes into a California King which we can make/unmake in a few minutes (we leave the foam topper/sheets made on the couch portion and stow 'extra' under the couch when it is up. Pillows and bedding go behind the couch). The wet bath looks tiny, but you can do everything you need to in there including a hot shower. We have a 'one man rule' -- only one person can be up at a time because it is tight but more open than most B's we've been in (this is a B ). Easy to drive, ample power for passing, 11 mpg running at 65 mph. With the new refrigerator we don't have to be level, so setting up camp takes a couple of minutes as does tear down. I think this is a great 2 person motorhome for people who like to MOVE. Sitting in camp for a week or two? This is too cramped for that, but you can go almost anywhere in this rig and see things. We camp in front of our kid's houses when we visit, we go to national and state parks and BLM land. We've logged 60,000 miles and maybe 250 nights out so far and this well built machine has enabled us to experience a lot of places. Despite the age of the unit, problems have been minimal. Most of the unit is original, including the AC and generator which still work. We had to replace the furnace this year. We had a leak where I installed a new fan (my bad) but I fixed that easy enough. The spare tire holder had to be rewelded. The original fuel pump caused the engine to stall out in high heat, which might explain why I got the unit with such low miles. Thanks to the internet, I knew to get that replaced and later drove through Death Valley in 120 F with the AC blasting with no problems. Trail Wagons went bankrupt years ago and the unit is 27 years old, so obviously no warranty/factory support. This is built on the 1994 Ford E350 Econoline chassis, so there is still good support for that.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Foulkrod

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-02-15

RV reviewed2005 Chinook Glacier 2500 LE

View listings

4.2
We have had the Chinook brand since 1996 from the 21 Concorse to the 24 Destiny and 2- 25' Glaciers. The Glacier LE 2500 gives you the longer wheelbase along with a bigger living area and the terrific slide out which makes this THE motorhome to own with room to stretch out. Easy to handle at highway speeds, easy to handle in traffic and easy to park anywhere. Wherever you go people want to see it because there is nothing else of this quality on the market today and it wears its age well because it was built at the time to high standards of quality both inside and out. One piece shell=no seams=no water leaks. Check it out, when you see any Chinook owner ask them how they like their Chinook, the answer is most always positive and that's why they are continuing to hold their value and have never been duplicated by others of this vintage. Today Chinook is a new company with a downsized van type unit, so the value of this model continues to remain high. This coach is located South of Houston, in League City, Texas I'll Pick you up at the airport.... you can drive it home!!!! The "Sports Car of Motorhomes" as it's known, continues to satisfy those who own an original.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Kimberlee slavik

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-03-26

RV reviewed2003 Chinook Concourse

View listings

4.6
We call this our Texas Limo. It's BETTER than a limo! Easier to drive and park, you can stand up in it, very comfortable, and it has a porta-potty! We also called it our Dragon Wagon (HS Football tailgating), and our Porta-party (when we filled it with Friends and Family when we took it to look at Christmas lights, concerts, Cowboy Games, and other sporting events.) We love that we didn't have to pay premium fees for parking with the other larger RVs because this is just 21 feet, it fits in a regular parking spot. You don't LIVE in this RV, you have an incredible EXPERIENCE and RIDE in this RV.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Kronenberger

Georgia

Reviewed on 2020-10-26

RV reviewed2018 Chinook Countryside

View listings

4.2
This rv is small. It’s really a one person rv but 2 would work. No slides equals less troubles. This rv drips quality. The reason I’m writing this review is the tech support we received when we did have a problem. Not many rv owners can say that. Thank You.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roy Alabran

Alaska

Reviewed on 2020-05-04

RV reviewed2004 Chinook Destiny 2400

View listings

5.0
I have owned this RV for 6 yrs since 2014 at 10yrs old it had 52000 miles and looked like new now has just 62,500. There is no factory warranty/support but there is almost a cult like following for this brand with blogs and forums created for advice and support. It is top of the line stylish still in 2020 and well made. It is said to have been discontinued because cheaper RVs took the market. CONs: My version has the door in the back and a fold out couch and drop down dinette in the middle that becomes one very big bed. Nice but I sort of would prefer the bed to be in the back and the door to be on the side to exit under the awning. PROs: So many... Plush and top line... cherry wood cabinetry, corian counter tops, soft light grey leather, my version is Chevy 1-ton based most I think are Ford. It drives very smooth and feels like its running at an idle when at highway speeds. At 16years of age the paint looks almost new so has aged well and again sleek stylish design 1 piece fiberglass shell. 24' nice size for a couple easy to drive and park.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sam Zeno

Illinois

Reviewed on 2020-04-27

RV reviewed2002 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

4.2
Always stored inside. Mint condition in and out. They don't make quality units like this anymore. No seams, solid fiberglass body construction, all oak wood cabinets, maintenance records & receipts from origination date. All manuals and catalogs. Perfect size 21 ft coach/24 ft overall makes easy parking in any campground, State & National Parks. Near the mountain or the stream where big rigs can only dream about. Make your memories with this RV
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2019-10-03

RV reviewed2020 Chinook RPM 27QB

View listings

2.4
On September 13, I  purchased a 2020 chinook RPM. After first day and hooking up the T.V. the antenna would not work and locate channels. Had to purchase cheap antenna. New ride RV in rock hill, SC  was suppose to order another one , which i never received and instead told by Chris Lais from the dealer, it must have been wire wrong during manufacturing . Few days later my A.C will trip in and out several times until staying on. Was told a bad thermostat and the VP Jeff Butler of chinook personally told me that Chris had it in his possession and would install. Been a week and no one has come by to replace it. Also, the door handles keep breaking off and the shower leaks into the floor during every shower. I cleaned the cabinets with an all natural cleaner and now the counter tops are discolored and disfigured.  I was also told that the RV would come with 30 lb cylinders and when recieved they were only 20 lbs. I have reached out many times to hold them to their word and fix what they promised. I have not heard a word or seen anyone in a week. If you want to buy quality work from a customer first company then  this is not a fit for you. They will drag out all intentions if any at all and not follow through with their word. I do not suggest buying the RPM from a  business that  when it comes to an issue they do not standby it. This is a cheap made RV that is overpriced and from a company that does not vaul their customers.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (27)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Winters

Michigan

Reviewed on 2019-09-05

RV reviewed1998 Chinook Concourse XL

View listings

4.0
Having experienced other RV's (Air Stream, Winnebago,etc.)this one is an easy handling rig! Have to go into town for groceries, movie or any other reason? No fear! This is as large as a Ford F-350 and easy to park in standard parking spaces. Connection at the park site is simple! Rollout the water hose, connect the electric line and you're all set to enjoy life's finer attributes! If you find a level site, no need to get the ramps out and hassle with leveling (but you can if needed). The unit we have has practically all of the options one could purchase in 1998. [This unit is presently for sale, so contact me for pictures and pricing (ChasWinters@gmail.com).]
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alfred Viscido

Vermont

Reviewed on 2018-10-09

RV reviewed2004 Chinook Glacier 25

View listings

5.0
There is no better built motor home on the market that compares to a Chinook Glacier. It is simply the "best of the best". It was built on a Ford E450 chassis with a Triton V10 engine. It has full body paint, solar power, inverter, all leather upholstery, and much, much more. Chinook holds its value better than any other motor home. I strongly recommend this motor home for luxury, quality, safety, and comfort.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (27)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review