Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Aliner Aliner reviews

4.0 (16 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
4.0
Overall quality
3.8
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
3.3

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Pam Raney

Reviewed on 2023-01-13

RV reviewed 2022 Aliner Aliner Scout-Lite view listing

3.6
I am a first time trailer owner. I did a lot of research on line (You Tube has GREAT informative videos!) and had long conversations with the dealer before I decided to purchase the Scout Lite. I admit that there was still a lot I didn’t know but at that point I figured I needed to just plunge in. My Subaru Outback has 2700 lb towing capacity and that limitation was a primary driver of my choice. The trailer is under 1500 lb dry weight. Perfect so far. The roof and walls were very easy to open. But the quality of the components leaves something to be desired and that’s probably intentional to reduce weight. After using it once I noticed that the roof locks seemed to be out of position, causing grinding and obvious wearing away of the insulation near the connector holes on the roof. The rear window shade would not raise fully on one side. I called Aliner and they immediately said they would send me a new shade. After at least a month and not having received the shade I called Aliner back and they said they had sent the shade to the dealer. I called the dealer and they said they had had the shade for awhile but never called me to schedule an appointment for installation. Well I finally made an appointment and the replacement was installed perfectly. Then I noticed that one of the windows wouldn’t latch securely. All these issues made me guess that the entire frame was out of alignment. That’s what happens when the brand is so popular that it sells immediately after it is shipped to the showroom.I felt as though I should act fast as it might be a year before a a new order could be filled. Other issues included cabinet latches that pull out of the doors easily, the bubble windows on either end of the trailer are too low for an adult’s head to fit into when sitting at the dinette or at the other end. I should have waited for a model with dormers. Others are that insulation at the peak of the roof became loose and now needs to be tucked back into place when the roof is raised. The weather stripping around the door started to fall off right away. The front door lock is finicky and sort of flimsy. There is a large storage compartment under the front bed but it was awkward to access as you had to lift the entire cushion out to open it. I solved that problem by dividing the cushion at the edge of the compartment door and making a new cover for the smaller piece. Then all I needed to do was lift out the small cushion. The sink is really too small to use. The interior is really too small for more than 1 person and their gear. I weathered a couple of torrential California rainstorms this winter and stayed dry. I love the leather-like fabric on the cushions but I made dog-proof ones to go over these just in case. The most aggravating problems were electrical as the 12V outlet near the forward bed does not work. On my 3rd camping trip both 110 outlets failed and the problem was not related to GFI, fuses or breakers. Might be related to work I had done, not construction of trailer. You need to use a Zamp solar panel if you want to charge the battery using the Zamp connector on the trailer. I bought Jackery solar and will need to connect the panel cord to the shore power outlet using an adapter. Bottom line: Final assessment: good for single campers with very simple needs who do not need a lot of gear to store. I need a bigger, more comfortable trailer.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Earl. Phillips

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-04-15

RV reviewed 2017 Aliner Aliner Scout view listing

1.2
Got. 2017 scout. Bought used. Put up three times after spring s. For roof broken now. Can’t. Not use it. First trip 10,200.00 cash now have drive 200 miles round trip to have. It fixed one dealer in Fla
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Laurie Smith

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-04-06

RV reviewed 2022 Aliner Aliner LXE Extreme Off Road Pkg view listing

5.0
Perfectly set up for both boondocking and FHU campsites. Tows like a dream, and the off road package gives plenty of clearance with 14” tires and upgraded suspension. I can set this RV up solo in less than 2 minutes. The double hard-sided dormers gives it a roomy feel, but folds down to fit easily in a standard garage. The LED lights use very little battery power, and the cassette toilet is simple to empty
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nadine Haupt

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-03-17

RV reviewed 2019 Aliner Aliner Expedition view listing

4.2
The Aliner Expedition was my transition from 10 years of tent camping into the world of trailer camping. What a fantastic choice! Towing this camper was a breeze with my Jeep Grand Cherokee. Tow vehicle was way more than needed for this lightweight gem. I LOVED the soft dormers because of the huge screens letting in so much light and fresh air, and also the sounds of nature I was used to from my tent. Rain and storms were no problem. The Aliner never leaked while camping even through some big storms. The CoolKat AC/heat combo was great - even with the humid southeast summers. If it was super hot
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Henry Bartose

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-02-18

RV reviewed 2016 Aliner Aliner Scout view listing

3.6
I have enjoyed my Aliner for 3 years now. Tows like a dream behind my 2 door Wrangler. The biggest complaint I have is factory support which is zero. I have a broken window on the driver's side of the camper. The factory said it's no longer made and can't help. The dealer couldn't fix either. Even the glass company said they could not fix due to the construction of the window frame. So, now I have a useless camper that I guess will just have to be scrapped. Not a great investment by any stretch of the imagination. And, if you couldn't tell. I'm extremely pissed at Aliner! Shame on them.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Henry Bartose

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-02-09

RV reviewed 2016 Aliner Aliner Scout view listing

3.6
I bought my Aliner used from a dealership in Katy Texas. The size is just right for me 2 door Jeep Wrangler. Leveling is very important to prevent leaks but if you take the time to level it's fine. Towing is a breeze. My only complaint is the fact that parts are already obsolete! Yes, you read that right! I have a broken window on the driver's side and after checking with all the camper repair centers near me I contacted the factory. They informed me that the window was no longer being made. But I can get a custom one for $1600.00! WOW. So much for service after the sale. I would recommend not purchasing one unless you have deep pockets for repairs.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Cunningham Jr

New York

Reviewed on 2021-09-19

RV reviewed 2021 Aliner Aliner Expedition view listing

3.0
We traded an '05 Scout for the new twin-bunk Aliner Expedition in July 2020. First, the cable on the camper was too short to reach the plug in my 4-Runner, so I had to pay more than $200 for an extender right off the bat. We stayed in a local park the night we took delivery and the Dometic Refrigerator wouldn't get cold. When we returned it to the dealer the next morning a tech found that the fridge compartment was so packed with foam insulation that the fridge wouldn't function. Excess foam was removed and we went on our way. While "dry camping" in August '21 the refrigerator failed again while running on propane. {we have medication that has to be kept cold, so had to buy a cooler for the rest of our trip.} The panel wouldn't light up, even on AC, so after we got home we took it to the closest Aliner dealer. The tech found that a fuse had been shoved into the converter panel "crossways" and created an intermittent short which ultimately blew another 30 amp fuse in the battery harness. Since the camper was out of warranty the service and repairs cost $92. Apart from the stressful, aggravating experiences with the refrigerator I also found that 3 of the 6 roof and dormer latches are mis-aligned so that the "hook" part on top doesn't engage squarely with the plate on the bottom. One latch is also mounted so closely to the roof "lifter" that it's hard not to pinch a finger. The screws in the lenses on the exterior lights are badly rusted already. Inside the camper we noticed that the sink basin is canted and the collar holding the trap underneath was never tightened, causing a leak. The "wall" of the cabinet housing the cassette toilet was wobbly, and I found that there were no screws fastening it to the rear bracket. While it may have been our own misunderstanding, I expected the post for the dining table to be the solid "twist lock" design shown on the videos. Nope. Same wobbly, pinch fit design that we hated in the MUCH less expensive Scout. Our frustrating, aggravating experiences with the fridge spoiled our annual trip to our favorite campground this year, and we are very disappointed in the lousy overall workmanship in what's billed as Aliner's top of the line camper. What we thought would be an exciting upgrade left us wishing we'd kept our old Scout.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cheryl Atkins

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-07-21

RV reviewed 2013 Aliner Aliner Classic view listing

5.0
This little popup was my first experience with towing a camper and setting up a campsite all by myself. It is very easy to tow and maneuver. There is three sources of power in this little mighty camper. You can run off electric, propane or battery power. So if you want to go off grid you are able. There is plenty of room for a family of 4 or 2 couples traveling together. Because you can tow it with a full size SUV there is plenty of room for passengers in the tow vehicle and sleeping in the A-liner. There are several A-Liner facebook groups for ideas and support, for all things Aliner, repairs, decorating and maintenance.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christiana Logansmith

Maryland

Reviewed on 2021-06-02

RV reviewed 2015 Aliner Aliner Expedition view listing

4.6
We have the expedition with 2 soft dormers. You can’t beat it for ease of towing and we love the sense of space inside. At 19ft long you can fit just about anywhere, and when enroute we can park pretty easily in 2 spaces. We have had quite a few problems with the water heater and had to replace the a/c unit, but everything aliner made is still holding up well. We took out the microwave for more storage—it’s where the dry goods live when we are set up. I love all the outside storage. The huge windows are great for enjoying the out doors too. We pull it with a Toyota 4Runner.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review