Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Winnebago TRAVATO reviews

4.4
Write a review
Liveability
4.6
Overall quality
4.3
Floorplan
4.8
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
3.9

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

31 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gene Story

Idaho

Reviewed on 2018-04-13

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

5.0
I doubt my wife and I could be more thrilled. For the two of us, the Travato 59K we bought is spot on. We had zero issues when we picked up our new 59K unless you count a mating pair of connectors that are semi-hidden above the ceiling of the bathroom closet between roof solar panel and charger/controller was not plugged together. Ditto another review that this RAM Promaster based RV drives and handles well, even in the wind. Whether driving on rough roads, passing a semi, gusty windws or simply standing still, the Travato is remarkably stable. More stable than the taller full frame/rear axle driven with dual wheels, Sprinter or Transit based RV's. Around town or on the highway, the RAM Promaster even with the WB coach addition drives like an upper end SUV with only a bit more length to park at the store or street side. Ours fits in our 10 foot high roll up opening in our shop so it has a nice home when we are not out and about in it. Like others have reported, we get excellent (for an RV) gasoline fuel mileage. You can usually count on 15 to 17.x average for overall trip drives. If you use it to drive 9,000 pounds-ish around town you can figure your mpg will be on the order of 12.4 mpg. Very nice mattresses are provided by WB on top of a Froli system in the Travato makes for a very comfortable rest. Adjustable height head rests are great for reading or watching a show. I have been in much higher priced RV's of any class that come with shamefully inadequate and horrible to sleep on bedding. Storage and wardrobe containment is good for one to two people taking touring or camping trips. If you want to take your house, and/or grandma and the kids with you, buy a Class A and require (0k, maybe not) the extra earthlings to pitch in some dough to pay for it. Charge them more for any (which will be all) luggage that wont fit under their seat. Have them sign up for clogging waste tank servicing insurance, using the screen door as a entry handle, etc. or pay a damage insurance deposit in advance. Again I am kidding. I'm just saying... As for the waste system flexible dump pipe, I installed an under chassis tube that allows the pipe WITH fittings attached, to store below. The built in, 2 foot long storage tube can only contain the factory supplied, compressed 10 ft long hose without any tank-end fittings. The factory tube has instead become home for our outdoor mat and a spare VHF/UHF ham & emergency services vertical antenna. Also said by another and I with some modifications quote here; the "Truma Combi hot water heater & furnace is awesome". Because it is. For kitchen (abd probably bathroom) sink hot water, make sure the shower control valve is all the way clockwise or it will draw & mix cold water with the result being just tepid warmth. With shower valve clockwise-closed, the kitchen sink hot water temperature then virtually matches the excellent hot and extra hot temperature ratings for the Truma Combi. As for the furnace side, if you want to heat up the coach fast, start with propane mode. Then if the outside temps are not too cold, you can probably switch over to High or Low electric-only heat to maintain your preferred comfortable level. Or a mix of propane and electric, your choice. Easy as pie. This is a VERY quiet system. And it provides VERY even heat throughout the coach including the bathroom because of the four near-floor ducts. Sometimes I start out by using the heating system in the dashboard of the van but really the Truma heats the entire coach all by itself just fine. If you do it with the electric heating elements only, it will take awhile. Goose it, or use propane only if you like instant (well, much faster) gratification. The water heater & LCD control panel at first is hard to figure out. If you are 60+ years old and never cussed a day in your life, yuou might learn how now. But zip it until you use it about three times. Read on. Good luck getting just the right sales person who has been selling for more than 3 days and often does not even own an RV, or walk-through tech to know how to operate this control panel either. What ever happened to plain language labeling instead of gosh darned icons that at first make NO sense? Ahh, maybe its a trick security system! However, once you have used it about 3 times, the icons just become GPS-like markers where you need to do your next zombi-like repeated steps and you then whiz through setup and settings, no problem. And yes, then you find out it works great too. You could hold 5 minute seminars to train others but ultimately the next person has to simply learn by doing it a few times too, regardless of attempts to follow the manual. The MCD shades are good. The shorter width windows in the newest 2019 models do have nicer, integrated bottom-up shades but the windows are not as nice. Despite the opportunity to get excellent dual pane windows in a 2019, we intentionally hunted down a 2018 with single pane less efficient but larger area windows. The cabinetry is well done. The drawer and bin doors with glossy surfaces we have are gorgeous. Any concern we had about keeping these surfaces clean has disappeared. Latch and hinge hardware is excellent. No rattles. Traveling in a Class B is easier than you think. We think it is more fun than a lumbering giant one. And we do not want to tow anything. We can rent and leave behind most anything we desire. No parking or backing up stress. No extra maintenance costs, insurance, additional fuel for towing, etc. We are Happy Campers with our Travato 59K.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (213)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Teresa Gillia

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-12-02

RV reviewed2022 Winnebago Travato KL

View listings

4.6
There is a lot of new things to like. Beds very nice. All the gauges over the slide door. Screens on side door and back door. Counter top is wonderful, cabinet are fantastic great quality. Love convection oven microwave. Back extension shower for dry camping. What I hate: no fresh water outside outlet. The back door has to be open when at a park. Same with the cable. They should have put an access panel on the side where you could put the hoses up through. I don't like the way that you can see all of the mechanisms on the side of the driver side that they didn't camouflage any of it like the road treks.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lisa Michelle Aleman

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-13

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

4.6
We owned this RV for 3 years, and went all over the Western US and up through Canada. We drove it on skinny roads, rough roads and a few freeways, although we liked taking the back roads instead. We recommend this type of RV for couples who don't want to rough it in a tent anymore. It has all the conveniences of a large RV, just not as much capacity :). We can boondock for up to 4 days without needing to dump the tanks. We updated the shower to a cloth - fast drying curtain in a slide, love it!!!!! Our Lithium batteries have made it really boondock friendly!!! We find it very easy to drive and the front window has the best view. We found Winnebago to be too proprietary and not willing to share part numbers. My husband is a licensed mechanic, and prefers not to have others work on his vehicles. Down to the number for the bike rack it was nearly impossible to get a good part number to buy items. I think if you want to drive and camp a Travato 59K is a perfect option for a couple or a single too!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Bean

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-10-20

RV reviewed2016 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

4.6
We have enjoyed our2016 59K desiel avg 23 mpg with very little problems. Our recall items were minor and fixed without a problem. We have traveled from the northwest down the mountains of California up to the Grand Canyon and back down to New Mexico, Texas, Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana , Florida, and back to the Black hills of SD. The van has handled all types of weather, winds and roads without a problem. Winds crossing New Mexico had gust up to 70 and that did throw us a little. I can't complain about the van cause we have traveled 18k miles and thank God for our little home on wheels. We love it but are going to sell because of family issues. Keep Truckin✌️
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amanda Jaten

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-10-06

RV reviewed2017 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

5.0
Loved this RV! We are selling ours now, and its bittersweet! We are upgrading to a larger RV. This is one of the best Vans out there in the Class B category, especially for the price. Its so easy to drive and park (even in the cities) and once you get to your destination, the set up of your home on wheels is practically instant. You can do so much with just the solar panels on board and the generator so we enjoyed off grid camping most of the time with no problem at all. Even though its just FWD we took it everywhere, and it did great even on the dirt roads to access more remote locations. One of our favorite features was the screen door (enjoy the outdoors, minus the bugs!). We've had only had minor repairs which were easy to fix and we have loved every moment of ownership! I highly recommend this RV!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

S Bar

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-10-04

RV reviewed2020 Winnebago Travato 59GL

View listings

5.0
This RV is easy to drive and easy to park. We love the GL floor plan because there is plenty of storage under the bed. We have boon docked more than 3 days without having to recharge the battery. The Lithium battery has been a game changer. We boon dock more than we have rented a campsite with hookups!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daniel Shafer

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-09-29

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

4.8
Unlike the fiberglass class b's the Travato is an extended van and is easy to maintain. Wax it occasionally like your car and it will be carefree and not fade which the fiberglass campers all do over time especially the graphics that are stuck on. I have the 59K twin bed model which works out great as I am single and can take a friend with me. The bathroom, though small is accomodating at the rear of the van, plenty of room on the toilet. Winnebago builds a storage panel into the unit where you can keep your hoses, cords, etc. painlessly and within reach. Included is also a small wardrobe closet with 3 drawers. The cabin itself is quite roomy with lots of overhead storage in airline type locked compartments that won't open while driving. You have your option for boondocking as everything except the ac runs off of solar, battery, or gas power. The front seats spin around to 2 tray tables for eating or drinks while watching the tv which swivels for bed or seated viewing. Included is a full size table that installs between the 2 beds but we never use it. The sliding door has a screen built in for cooler weather and the ceiling has a powered truma vent to move fresh air inside the unit. I am averaging 15-17 mpg over 27000 miles in my gas V6 engine. There are only 2 things that I wish were different but it's hard to accomplish in such a small space. There is no exterior storage is one. The other is the fridge is really small and cannot accomodate a gallon of milk or even half gallon bottle unless it's turned on it's side. But keep in mind you can go anywhere with this van and park in any space you would with your car or truck and in some parks it is classified as a van and not a motorhome or trailer so you can drive it places you couldn't otherwise get too. I have had several class c's and class a's and am sold on a class B now for ease of driving, parking, mileage, handling, etc.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Maxwell Smarts

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2021-09-12

RV reviewed2021 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

2.6
We looked at four Winnebago conversions vans today, in the 95K range. Solis and Travato models. Here are our comments from an Accessibility and quality perspective. 1. Decent outside running board step, grippy, and outside handhold to aid side entry. 2. Very narrow side entry, hard to maneuver. 3. Two separate areas of raised floors created unacceptable footing hazard for my wife. Angled floor break behind front seats apparently houses floor ducts. Terrible design, put a wiring plenum under the whole truck and keep it level! Another 3 ft long speed bump in rear passage to rear doors. 4. Two models had a pop top roof tent/ kids sleeping quarters. No use for this. The aluminum ladder hangs from two hooks and could easily displace leading to accident. Failure to include any latch. Two ladder halves are joined by cheesy plastic insert. Picture a 190 lb adult torquing this thing. Picture the ensuing e.r.run in middle of your trip. 5. All vans had two joke seats for kids I guess behind driver. For your little angels who like to be as close to each other as humanly possible. Good luck with that. If you were to remove the seats the area below has quarter inch plywood over bath gear and is not suitable for the logical use of stacking crates of supplies you'll likely need. Totally wasted needed space. 6. Bathroom doors will break, quickly!! Terrible design, pair of bifolds that only open 90 degrees. Your kitchen has comparable 170 degree hinges so the door folds out if the way. Doors have strong magnet catch at only one point, hard to open, inadequate hinging so bottom opens before top, (may be weak particleboard?). WILL BREAK the first time someone is in a hurry or inevitably bangs into them or grabs them for support. Rear side would clear raised floor if trimmed two inches at bottom. Be prepared to fabricate your own Baltic birch ply doors with continuous piano hinging and multiple magnet catches if you buy this beast. 7. Zero none no handholds in or next to bathroom! Fabricators are clueless. 8. Two models had no ladder to roof. Those with ladders exhibited too hooks over doors rather than top bolts. Why, not secure. 9. Solar panels installed over roof rack with bolt shafts pointing up not down, protruding above rack. So they will tear the crap out of any kayak, lumber, chair or bike you successfully wrestle up there. Some sort of some antennae like protrudes high. 9. Look at caulking fiasco in roof. A trained monkey could do better than the obviously untrained installers. True for two inspected. 10. Did not measure but looks like 9 inch undercarriage clearance. Not nearly enough if you will ever turn around on crowned road, J turn on ramped drive entrance, or drive on potholed dirt road or uneven grassy RV site. Which is what you're buying it for,right? Shocked at 1.5 inch clearance between tire and wheel well. 1.5 inch stones, mud, ice will hang up especially if you get some decent knobby tires and will tear the crap out if all the cheap plastic wheel well housing and mudflaps. Be prepared to leave a litter I'd plastic debris behind. 11. Many small deficiencies in quality and installation of hardware and components were immediately obvious. 12. Rear bed shockingly above waist high. How the hell does a non limber person safely get in and out??! Considered ways to build a reasonably lower platform, stymied by all the built-ins. The bed height ended our hopes of buying and modifying this brand for our use. On to trailers and other brands.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick Guilfoile

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-08-05

RV reviewed2020 Winnebago Travato 259K

View listings

4.2
We've had a 2020 Travato 59K for a little over a year. We have a 2020.5 model with the quieter AC, more insulation, and a magnetic side screen door- all very nice features. We've really enjoyed the drivability, and small size (21 feet) making it relatively easy to park both in cities and in parks at trailheads and other places where a larger vehicle might have a hard time fitting. For the two of us, the vehicle has worked well. We liked the twin bed arrangement, and the kitchen area is nicely laid out. We made a few modifications (sliding shower curtain, rack for shoes above the sliding door, mesh pockets for storage) that made it more functional. Overall, it has been a great vehicle for two people traveling.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Katharine Richards

Montana

Reviewed on 2021-08-02

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

3.4
Love the layout and king bed. It gives us a tunnel for two dogs to hide and sleep in. Bin access is awkward when the be is made up but can be made accessable with a door at the foot end. Our local dealership (Pierce RV) is unresponsive and/or unable to obtain repair parts and Winnebago.com is unwilling to deal with owners directly. The TOTAL COMPLETE parts catolog should be avaiable ON LINE to all owners. It would be useful for the rear clearance to be 2-3 inches higher since the generator reduces the clearance to about 5 inches which is iffy for for Forest Service roads.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 31 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review