Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Winnebago Intent reviews

3.3
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
2.9
Floorplan
3.9
Driving/towing
3.1
Factory warranty
3.0

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

22 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

M. S. Taylor

Arizona

Reviewed on 2018-11-16

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Intent 31P

View listings

2.4
Our experience with this RV has been poor to date, 5400 miles. The primary factors are handling, defects, poor support and amount of time required to obtain action from Winnebago. And finding service facilities with openings. We still have a list of items from the delivery day that need to be addressed. The selling dealer only allows 10 items per visit. They had it over three weeks when we returned. We added front and rear sway bars, steering stabilizer, rear tract bar, Tire Minders to monitor proper tire pressures. Handling is better, excessive play in the steering is still there. The cab area A/C on this unit was recalled, we had been complaining but got a lot of push back. Finally we had another shop evacuated and recharged the system which was 1/2 pound low of Freon, (a 2.7 pound system), it helped but still inadequate. While on the maiden trip, the leveling system failed, one jack refused to stay up. No service centers were able to get the RV in, no emergency road service in southern Indiana. Once in Florida, no service center could get the RV in. We went to a RV center in Pensacola, after having it a week, they replaced the jack and the system was still messed up, one jack wouldn't stay down!!!. The kitchen sink drain line was not connected to the line or fitting under the floor, some of the drain water went into the floor more went into the compartments below. Didn't realize it for days, until it started smelling bad, ruined everything stored below, still smells poorly. Tore out the bottom of the cabinet to find the problem. Been waiting on resolution for the trip for over a month. Paid all repairs out of pocket, over $3000. Also had to get accommodations for a week and a rental car to return some of our party home, while we waited. Not even a sorry from the manufacturer, but they're pretty quick to point their problems on their venders, now our problem. Happy Retirement.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (67)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Laura Maggio

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-11-27

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Intent 31P

View listings

4.6
Our first day that we bought this motorhome, I drove it home on I-95 with 20 mile an hour winds. Not gonna lie, I was worried before I got on the highway. It drove like a dream. When 18 wheelers passed me by, I didn’t even feel them. This is literally our 18th motorhome in 20 years. We have owned everything from a small tow behind trailer, to a pop-up, to a diesel pusher and everything in between. This is by far one of the best layouts we have ever seen. The amount of storage inside is so well thought out, it is incredible. I only have a couple of negatives. One, is the dinette and sofa beds are too small for an adult. They easily could have put a wider sofa in as there is about 15 inches of space between the sofa and the passenger seat. We have solved that problem by removing the right arm of the sofa, which just involves a few bolts, it is just aesthetic. We have added a very inexpensive storage ottoman in between the sofa and the passenger chair on the floor. When you lay the sofa down for bed now, your feet can extend all the way. There’s really no way to fix the dinette, however, since this thing sleeps seven adults easy now, the dinette is not necessary. It is fine for a younger child. Unfortunately, they do tend to grow. ; D We looked all over trying to find a floor plan that included bunkbeds and a cab over bed with an outdoor kitchen. Oddly enough, it is hard to find. Generally, we found that you either got bunkbeds or an outdoor kitchen. So, when I found this model, we were super happy! Everything is really quiet inside. The air conditioner inside is pretty quiet, the generator is pretty quiet when it’s running, and the engine is pretty quiet as you’re driving down the road. It is a $100,000 motorhome, not a $500,000 motorhome. There have been some screws we’ve had to screw back in, and the construction is definitely on the lower end. However, I think it is fantastic. We are super happy! This fit in our budget, and gave us all of the same amenities and experiences that someone who bought a $500,000 motorhome will have…just without the granite countertops and real wood cabinets. : )
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wellesley

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-24

RV reviewed2020 Winnebago Intent 29L

View listings

1.8
I should have taken the reviews I read to heart. We bought it in July 2020 and couldn’t use it for the first 6 months because it was one issue after another. Winnebago makes you go to their dealers for service for the first year, and they were all awful. We’d take it in for specific issues and every, single time they said they fixed it. We just drove two hours for our Thanksgiving and the leveling jacks aren’t level (again), the water tank is not sensing when it’s full and overflowing (again) and the mechanical step is broken. Selling it when we get home. Don’t make the same mistake we did! Run, don’t walk, from this RV.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen Margerum

Maryland

Reviewed on 2021-10-16

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Intent 26M

View listings

5.0
This has been a wonderful RV for our family. It is easy to drive, extremely functional and sleeps 5. One of the best and effortless motorhomes to own. Winnebago did a great job designing the Intent model.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michelle

Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-07-31

RV reviewed2020 Winnebago Intent 26M

View listings

4.6
You get what you pay for, but not everyone can afford a tiffin or allegro, and this is a great coach to be able to get a class A at a more affordable price, without dropping all the way to Thor level quality. I love this coach, the floorplan, and being so compact but with all the benefits of a class A. Once you add safe t plus, koni shocks, and possibly a rear trac bar, you're set on handling. Love it. 💜
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lin Wolf

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-05-07

RV reviewed2019 Winnebago Intent 26M

View listings

5.0
Great RV. Just the right size! This rig is perfect for 2-4 people. The outdoor kitchen is amazing. It fits easily across 2 parking spots and maneuvers easily through traffic or on the interstate. Buy it!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

California

Reviewed on 2021-04-19

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Intent 26M

View listings

3.8
Motorhome is good only issue is it won't start, can't figure out why, drives good i had a front end alignment, àc is cold, dinette a little small, having swivel chairs helps, mattress isn't really a comfortable place to put your body, a piece of foam helps
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-02-24

RV reviewed2019 Winnebago Intent 26M

View listings

4.0
We have traveled 19k miles in our Intent and are mostly happy with it. Anyone who buys an RV Motorhome that thinks they should drive like a car and live like your home are going to be unhappy (Read the reviews). Workmanship is okay but finish is missing. Missing screws, superfluous junk, bad fit all come with these units but a few hours of touching up will make it right. The only handling mod I made was Sumo shocks in front and the cheap handling fix, in front. Improved handling 90% ...it’s still a big square box that doesn’t weigh much so drafts from trucks will always be an influence. I bought ours at General RV in Ocala and will never take it back. They are lost when it comes to scheduling, repair, or customer service. The salesman was a straight up guy that told me no tales. We find our Intent to be comfortable in both heat and cold. We have had it in the desert and in the mountains and are always satisfied. Winnebago does not back up it’s product, nor does General RV so if you can’t fixit yourself buy an expensive one right up front cuz you will spend the money anyhow. We tow a Jeep Wrangler and, other than seeing it on the dash screen, we don’t even know it’s there. I get 7-8 MPG and don’t see that improving. I usually run 65 - 70 MPH. I let the automatic tranny figure out what gear works best and don’t mind the engine running at 4500 RPM when I’m hauling up a big hill ... it’s supposed to do that. I lined the dog house with a hood lining kit, installed a padded work mat throughout the passenger side, and put sound absorbing pads throughout the bottom of the cab ... SIGNIFICANT noise reduction. I ran a gas hookup to the living side to run my grill from ... don’t like hauling a tank back and forth every night. Lastly, although my tummy dose not arrive a long time before I do I did find the eating area close. I took the back cushions in and had 2” Firm foam put in to replace the 4” foam ... gave me two more inches of room on each side.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MP Brooks

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-10-11

RV reviewed2019 Winnebago Intent 30R

View listings

4.2
Purchased new from General RV. Pretty Positive experience thus far. The interior layout works well for us. Outdoor entertainment area includes a sink and refrigerator which we have used frequently. We had a propane line run so we could set up a grill right next to it. Sufficient space in bedroom, shower and separate toilet area. Only interior complaint so far is the eating area is pretty tight. Interior and exterior storage is more than sufficient for our needs. The issue with steering which I see pretty often was prevalent during the first 1000 miles or so. After that I decided I didn't need to have any suspension mods done. I'm certain this is a personal preference not necessarily a requirement. 99% of the issues we encountered were handled during warranty period. Missing screws, issue with awning, ill fitting screens in driving area, entry door not fitted to hole properly were the primary issues. If this were a car that I had paid almost 6 figures for I would be extremely upset, in a RV it's actually better than most. Sigh. So the 4 star rating is in relation to what I have come to expect from the RV industry in general and not what I would give to a car manufacturer and paying a similar price. They would receive a 2,lol.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kemp Howland

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-09-29

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Intent 30R

View listings

4.0
We purchased this unit used, with 4,800 miles on it. The chassis is still under Ford warranty, but the other parts are apparently only warranted to the original purchaser. That's fine with me. Overall we are quite satisfied, and the price certainly was right. I have a theory that people buy a new RV, and then quickly become disenchanted by the way they handle (or DON'T handle!), and the ridiculously low levels of dealer service. The first problem we encountered was the door latch, which snapped when I closed the door. This effectively imprisoned me in the unit, as the door could not be opened from outside or inside. I got a screwdriver and removed the latch unit. A quick trip to the local dealer parts department and I was back installing the replacement within an hour. Had to grind some parts to get them to align properly. No problems with the latch since then. Handling is another story. I'm pretty sure whoever traded this unit at 4,800 miles did so because it scared them to death. I can't blame them. Crosswinds and passing semi-trucks are a nightmare. After investigation, I learned that the fix is aftermarket front and rear stabilizer bars, and a steering stabilizer. Another problem easily solved. The black and grey water tanks are notorious for giving false readings on the control panel. I use a spray wand to clear the black water tank and pretty much guestimate the grey tank level. Ducted AC is great and fairly quiet. We added an extension to turn the jack-knife sofa into a queen bed. That has been the best modification ever! I fabricated it from aluminum and it stores flat in the overhead bunk. Extra cushions store under the main bed. Takes about two minutes to set up. We keep the slides lubed, and the slide seals sprayed with the recommended slide seal protectant. We use a Bulldog 30 amp electricity monitor, which works well for us in areas where lightning hits the ground (like Florida.) I can fix most anything that goes wrong, but if I need help I take the unit to a local truck repair facility. They are WAY cheaper than the RV dealer, and they are familiar with the Ford F53 engine and chassis. I think the only thing I would need to call an outside repair person on might be the heating system. I can work on the propane water heater, but the furnace is an enclosed unit and I feel more comfortable farming that work out to a professional. The bottom line is we are happy with the unit, and confident that we can keep it in tip-top shape doing much of the work ourselves, and getting professional (non-dealer) assistance when necessary.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (22)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 22 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province