Winnebago Class A - Diesel Reviews on RV Insider (144)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Winnebago Class A - Diesel RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Ed Soniat from Georgia says:

Bought this used about 6 months ago. Been out about 6 times, probably spent 5 weeks in it so far in total and driving about 2000 miles some back road

Read More (144 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2013 Winnebago Journey 36M View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought this used about 6 months ago. Been out about 6 times, probably spent 5 weeks in it so far in total and driving about 2000 miles some back roads. Getting 9.5 MPG. Very comfortable to drive, just finished Naples to ATL 630 miles in one day. Much better than doing it in a car. I think the coach is a good value. It is built well and I think the Chassis is a good quality chassis. The house is solidly built. They tried hard to put in quality appliances and features. The kitchen is very workable and the residential fridge is an amazing convenience. There is no pantry but there is plenty of storage within easy reach to serve as a pantry. The hood vent actually exhausted the air not just blow it back out the top. The washer and dryer work well and we find them very convenient. The washer is very quite and uses very little water, but it is not on the inverter. The full wall slide really opens up the coach bay making the hall at the bath nice and roomy. The Maxum chassis provides a basement that gives this coach the storage of a regular 40 but with better access. Storage inside is equally impressive It also has a true 10000 lb towing capacity. Some coaches require you to reduce your payload to tow a full 10K, this one does not. It comes with a whopping 660 amp hours consisting of 6 AGM batteries, no cutting corners there. No maintenance easy to own, expensive to replace but LiFEPo4 will probably be available by the time these wear out. It has a neat power management system that used the massive 2800 watt inverter to make being on 30 amp or even on 15 amp much more workable. It also comes with an automatic A/C source switch to switch from grid or generator power that includes good surge protection. We prefer the sliding windows that open very wide to the new "frameless" that only flip out on the 2014 and later coaches. The lighting is pretty amazing on the inside. Lights everywhere. The two exhaust fans can really move the air. My wife loves the MCD shades. The roof is very cleaning organized and I was able to install 12 big solar panels for a whopping 1200 watts of solar to charge all those batteries. Now for the nits and they really don't detract from much from our pleasure in owning it. It does not come with good battery monitoring, and you will want to upgrade your inverter remote, they put in the cheapest one. We have the digital comfort rest mattress which is a full queen, but we don't find it all that good. Probably will get a 3" memory foam topper. The kitchen sink is set a little deep to be used from straight on but ok from the corner. The dryer is pretty noisy but it works quite well. I would like another cup holder for the driver. The IPOD interface on the dash is junk, they should have just provided a cable. It also doesn't have a 1/4 headphone jack for input, it does have USB. We are not big TV watchers and that is good because none of the TV's are easy to view except the lounge from the dinette and only for two people. You really can not use the bedroom without the closet slide out. I think the passenger side basement doors are way to big, they. Should have made the water tank door separate. They really catch the wind and swing way out. The A/Cs are zoned but they both use the same duct work so you can't really cool just the back or the front with out closing the vents (easy) and blocking the returns (hard). This may be common in many coaches. The outlet we use the most ( for our laptops) at the dinette is not on the inverter, this should be easy to fix. The bed room door, which we never use anyway, is hard to use.
- Ed Soniat, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-08 2011 Winnebago Tour 42QD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This rig is amazing! The ride is smooth and the 450hp takes mountain roads and passes like nothing. Winnebago service is always available to answer any questions and if they do not know, they give you a number to call for that item that was installed. Wow! As for the floor plan it is like having a home. Will stay with Winnebago to downsize
- Dave Bowers, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-02 2016 Winnebago Via 25P View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is the Cadillac of RV's for two people and a couple of pets. Can't say enough about the easiest and convenience of set up, ease around town, and also the fuel mileage. also will tow a 4200 lb toad without issue. Just make sure you toad has brakes. this is such a nice ride, upgrade the suspension at sprinter upgrades and you will love it. after 35K miles and two years, we added the struts, shocks, sway bar, and sumos all the way around. The Mercedes dealership in league city texas was impressed with the quality of the equipment and we love the final results. Cant as enough about this ride we love it!@!
- michael Stirrat , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-26 2015 Winnebago Journey 40R View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The front kitchen is a plus if you like to eat outside and the RV is compartmentalized which is nice! The Living room with the corner huge 60" TV is the largest in the industry with a warm fireplace underneath it that opens up to a bar! The California king bed fits nicely with plenty of storage for clothes etc. The mid ship and rear bath are a perfect size. It seems to me Winnebago thinks of ergonomics during construction in this well laid out floor plan. I upgraded the shocks and steering stabilizer and it made a world of difference going down the road. Really love this RV.
- Joe Tonino, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-26 2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The best layout I have seen in Class A's. All the amenities of a house. Storage is unbelievable both inside and down below. Very high quality cabinetry with solid wood construction. Winnebago didn't skimp on the installed appliances, they are all top brands. Fun to drive and great to be in.
- Jane, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-25 2003 Winnebago Journey DL 36DL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Winnebago makes a solid, quality motorhome. We renovated it to fit our lifestyle, and is great for longer trips or full time rving. The floor plan is very comfortable even though the motorhome is 36ft. The shorter motorhome allowed us to stay in all national parks while having everything we wanted or needed. It tows beautifully - we towed either a Honda CRV or a motorcycle trailer. We would definitely buy another Winnebago.
- Jeffrey Juszynski, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-20 2018 Winnebago Forza 38F View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a top-of-the-line RV that is like NEW! Only 7,600 miles. Well cared for with an all excellent floor plan! Includes 1 1/2 bath, washer/dryer, electric fireplace, 3 TVs. Sleeps 7 adults. Tow vehicle ready! Ready to hit the road!
- Ron Hodges, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-02 2008 Winnebago Tour 40TD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great RV for full-timing! Lots of storage in bay areas and inside kitchen has a pull out in-wall pantry. Extra closet in the hallway is fantastic and also love the quality built cupboards and interior walls. Drawers for clothing are deep and much bigger than what is found in newer RVs. The desk area and storage were some of the main features that drew us to this home. Overall, both mechanically and the living area, have made our travels a great experience!
- Jeanne, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-01 2003 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom 40KD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This coach is beautiful inside and out. The exterior paint is as good as the day it was built. The owner has serviced every part of it and put brand new tires on it. It drives great and is real strong. Also included is everything you need to flat tow a vehicle. The only thing you need is the mount for your toad. The inside cabinets are a beautiful natural maple finish and the couches are a light beige leather as well as the driver and passenger full power seats. One couch has power recline, heat and vibrate. Most of the systems are redundant. The heat is either forced hot water of by air heat pumps. The hot water is either electric or diesel or both. There is a dual compressor A/C unit in the basement. This allows for a lower overall height while traveling. The refrigerator is either propane or electric. It also has an Onan 7000 watt diesel generator that will run the whole coach if you decide to go boondocking. This coach would be a great full timer RV without the huge expense of a new coach. The owner is including many extras along with it so it is really a turn key unit (extension electric lines and adapters to plug into any power source, extra sewer hoses and fresh water hoses with any connector needed, step ladders, a full cover for storage and many extra service parts.
- Brad Davidson, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-01 2018 Winnebago Horizon 40A View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
It was the Best decision we could have made to purchase 2018 Winnebago Horizon 40 A. We have enjoyed Horizon since our purchase.Factory warranty transfer to our ownership name,absolutely seamless, effortless transfer.2018 Winnebago Horizon 40 A is a true Luxury, comfortably and problem Free as we travel across the United States.All the comforts of home with full kitchen, great floor plan , king bed works like our sleep number king size bed at home. We love the look of Horizon with sliding barn door, large farm sink. We have thousands of family memories thanks to the Winnebago Horizon. We enjoy the outdoors as outdoor T.V. , Outdoor refrigerator And awnings are wonderful as we enjoy ocean and Mountain View’s. More than enough power from Cummins 400 horse power engine to easily drive mountains of Colorado or to accelerate from off ramp to Interstate speed, 75 miles per hour.
- Jay Taylor, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-01 2002 Winnebago Journey DL 39QD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have owned my 2002 winnebago journey Dl 39qd for almost 4 years and three of them my wife and I lived in it. We did a good bit of traveling and I loved every mile of driving this winnebago. All I can say is nothing but good things about our winnebago journey. The driveline on it is heavy duty and its ride is so comfortable. Buying this motorhome was a good investment and I would buy another one.
- Chad hosmer, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-25 2017 Winnebago Forza 38W View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have had trouble with our motorhome air conditioning since we bought it. We have taken back to General RV three times over this issue. Nothing has been resolved. The air conditioners will not keep the unit cool when parked with 50 amp service. Winnebago said to contact the dealer. That did not help. Anyone else experiencing this issue?
- Jennifer Criss, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-21 2015 Winnebago Grand Tour 42HL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We moved from an American Eagle which is known for quality construction to this Grand Tour and we have never regretted it. We absolutely love this coach. The floor plan is the best of any we've ever seen and the thought that was put into the design is incredible-- there is not an inch of wasted space and we have abundant storage both in the interior and in the bays. There are numerous upgrades not always found in this price range; we literally cannot think of a single feature we wanted that this rig doesn't have. Driving is responsive and quiet with no rattles or squeaks; upkeep and repairs have been minimal and limited to relatively minor items. We have absolutely no regrets with our purchase.
- S Spencer, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-02 2015 Winnebago Via 25Q View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This was our third RV in one year. The first one had a full-sized bed you couldn't walk around. The second had a dining booth which took up too much space in the living room. Both were C-classes which waste a ton of space if you only have 2 people onboard and horrible gas mileage. The Via 25Q is a dream to drive and maneuver, a queen bed you can walk around, a real shower, swivel captain seats which become part of the living area and great mileage. Lots of storage onboard and in the "basement". This is a gorgeous coach, but we're getting too old to drive large vehicles.
- kjmb, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-30 2014 Winnebago Journey 42E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this RV new. We love the bath and half, washer/dryer-to me seems like it holds quite a bit, the fireplace and the full wall slide-out that makes the RV seem huge! We lived in this full-time for 5 years. We bought a house to be closer to family needs. We hate giving it up, but I don't want it to sit around. She has brand new tires, all maintenance done and ready to go. Winnebago has the widest entry door which makes it nice carrying in groceries. We love Winnebago factory for any repairs or service. They do a one and done service, which means they fix it right the first time. This is in great shape. No issues.
- Lana Jones, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-16 2016 Winnebago Grand Tour 42QL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This Grand Tour has been absolutely wonderful!! We have traveled to Canada, the East Coast & Michigan but mainly we have stayed in Naples, Florida for the past 3 Seasons. It is roomy, convenient for company, having their own half bath, the outside refrigerator makes for plenty of room for drinks along with the stove top. There is plenty of basement space and compartments for ALL kinds of storage of "stuff" It drives like a dream and the towing system if first class. The ultra finish on the exterior is superb as is the interior finishing's. It just passed an inspection at the Winnebago Factory in Forest City Iowa with flying colors. It has been well maintained!!!
- lindatacosik83, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-14 2018 Winnebago Forza 34T View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This Motorhome worked great for us but haven’t had time to us it like we wanted. Drives well and you can’t feel what your towing , fuel mileage like all large Motorhomes, 8-12 miles per gallon. Great plan for grand kids also !
- michael zeigler, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-01 2002 Winnebago Ultimate Advantage 38K View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This motorhome is both comfortable inside and powerful. It can accommodate, comfortably, a group of four. It has made both long and short trips without any serious mechanical or other functional issue. Occasional maintenance work and replacements have been needed during our ownership, but that has been the extent of the care required.
- Larry K, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-03-19 2019 Winnebago Horizon 40A View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
When you advertise $469,000 msrp you better build a quality rig! Ha jokes on me! This is the most unreliable rig! 30 days of ownership:rear jackswouldnt retract told leveling pump bad... one week later-front jacks won’t go down. Aqua hot intermittent, massive ATF LEAK, slide trim facia bent while retracting slide, firefly intermittently inop, inverter inop, mid a/c inop when generator on, fridge leaking glycol, induction burners inop (they were never plugged in!) Countless trim issues, that don’t even matter because the horrific mechanics Cause you to not even think about those issues!
- Ellen Huber, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-03-12 2014 Winnebago Tour 42QD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have had this coach for approx 5 years and have enjoyed every moment. Winnebago has handled items in and out of warranty. The documentation they give you on the coach is extensive. (5) large books which explains items in detail. Our down time was kept to a minimum. We took mamy long trips and the ease of driving couldn't be better. If I was looking for a new coach I would start with Winnebago. Regards, Stephen Blust
- bluststephen, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-03-06 2002 Winnebago Journey DL 39QD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
My wife and I sold our home and decided to live full time in a motorhome. We looked at most brands and fell in love with the Winnebago Journey. The floor plan was perfect and the quality was top notch. I was a maintenance mechanic for a major chemical plant for 28 years so I really inspected the mechanical parts of the motorhome. I was very impressed with how heavy duty everything was built. We have been living in it for three years now and the motorhome has been great! I have found that the worst thing you can do when owning one of these Journey's is to let it sit and not be driven. The only time we stayed in one spot for several months. I did not use any fuel stabiliser and algae grew in the diesel fuel and clogged up the fuel filter. Thankfully I had stored extra filters on board and spending 20 minutes replacing it we were riding strong again. That was not a quality issue however with the Winnebago, this was my fault. The motorhome is built on a custom Freightliner chassis and a very strong Caterpillar Diesel engine that will last for many hundred thousand miles. When I first bought it I thought that it was going to be hard to drive. I was wrong about that for sure. I found out that it was easy to drive and very safe with having ABS and the engine brake. Even pulling a car dolly with a 2005 Ford Five Hundred ( which is a four door full size car) was a breeze. I feel very confident behind the wheel, even at 80 miles an hour. It handles great! Winnebago really hit a home run with this motorhome. One thing that you realize when driving the Journey is how quiet it is at highway speeds. It has no rattles or vibrations and rides so smooth. It reminds me of when I would ride in my fathers 1974 Ford Grand Torino Elite. Like riding on a cloud of air. Honestly there is not one thing that I can think of that Winnebago could have improved on with this motorhome. There are some class A builders out there that do make a beautiful motorhome. However now when I look at them and living in a quality built Winnebago, I can see how cheaply they are built. In the future if I ever buy another motorhome, it will be a Winnebago Journey.
- Chad Hosmer, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-03-03 2015 Winnebago Tour 42HD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Endless problems during the first two years. All four slide motors failed on all four slides and had to be replaced. All 4 Aqua Hot 4 pumps failed. Dryer motor failed. 25 LED lights failed. Toilet pump in rear bath failed. Both Awing drive motors failed. Front tires had to be replaced as they were out of round. Air pump for bed had to be replace. Air mattress on king bed had to be replaced, was not holding air. Rear Tail lights had to be replaced as control unit failed. Windshield leaked and was replaced. Window by master bed had to replaced. Control unit for the CD player failed and had to be replaced. Walls and doors moved while traveling and were poorly installed. Need I say more and I could go on. To say the least Winnebago needs some significant QA improvement their products
- John Baerthlein, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-23 2013 Winnebago Tour 42GD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought a new Winnebago Tour in 2013 & still own it. It is the a high end motorhome that rides so smoothly & is so comfortable to stay in. We haven’t taken as many trips in it as we would have liked since I’m still working but have enjoyed every minute we’ve been in it! You can’t go wrong with a Winnebago Tour!
- James Dick8e, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-18 2008 Winnebago Tour 40TD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This Winnebago is truly a condo (or man cave) on wheels. Spacious enough to enjoy by ourselves or roomy enough to have company over for a meal, it is a true home away from home. The visibility when driving or riding in it is superb. More than once, my husband almost got up while driving to get something out of the refrigerator. His words: it is fun to drive and the most comfortable seat he has ever sat in behind the wheel. We have boon docked without losing any lack of comfort thanks to the generator. From Dark Sky Astronomy Parties to book conventions to a cross-country trip with our grandson, the Winnebago has more than enough room for anything you want to take. We’ve towed both a Honda CRV and a Jeep Cherokee with no issues. From the Florida Keys to Canada and back, we’ve never had any issues - only a great time. Whether you want to live full-time on the road or just enjoy getting away, this RV knows how to make it fun!
- Susan, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-07 2004 Winnebago Journey 32T View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Having owned two gas motor homes from 2003 to 2015, I moved up to a diesel. I knew from the start I wanted a Winnebago 32T because of the specs. While she was a short diesel, she had ample fresh water, propane, fuel, and waste tanks. She was powered by the very economical 5.9L Cummins diesel and was equipped with an exhaust brake - something very necessary with a heavy diesel. She had a six speed Allison 3000 MH transmission. The interior layout was very useful and convenient. We purchased our 2004 Winnebago Journey 32T in June of 2015. She was everything I hoped she'd be, and I planned to keep her as long as we could RV. We loved the great fuel mileage of 11 MPG. We did not tow and drove at 60 MPH. The comfort of air suspension alone was worth the move up to diesel. We loved the very quiet, efficient, trouble free basement air conditioning. It was as quiet as our home central air. In the 28 months we owned her, we put 25,000 miles on her. She was very comfortable driving down the highway and very cozy and homelike when we parked overnight. Nearly every night on the road we dry camped at a Walmart. Unfortunately, in October, 2017 while driving through Kansas on US50 toward Graceland in Tennessee from our home in California, someone pulled in front of us, causing a major accident. The other driver was 100% at fault. Sadly, he died at the scene. Our beloved "Cecil the Diesel" was totaled. We were unable to find another 32T as we shopped for a replacement, and bought a 2005 34' Bounder diesel. It's a fine coach, but with just 8.5 MPG we surely miss the economical Winnebago. Whenever we have to use the noisy roof mounted air conditioners, we miss her even more! I am perpetually in search of another 32T, but at our advancing ages, it's likely we'll continue with the Bounder. My personal website which tells of all our RV travels is Fishwisher.com
- Dale Gillespie, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: