Winnebago Class A - Diesel Reviews on RV Insider (152)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Winnebago Class A - Diesel RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Ed Soniat from Georgia says:

Bought this used about 6 months ago. Been out about 6 times, probably spent 5 weeks in it so far in total and driving about 2000 miles some back road

Read More (152 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2013 Winnebago Journey 36M View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought this used about 6 months ago. Been out about 6 times, probably spent 5 weeks in it so far in total and driving about 2000 miles some back roads. Getting 9.5 MPG. Very comfortable to drive, just finished Naples to ATL 630 miles in one day. Much better than doing it in a car. I think the coach is a good value. It is built well and I think the Chassis is a good quality chassis. The house is solidly built. They tried hard to put in quality appliances and features. The kitchen is very workable and the residential fridge is an amazing convenience. There is no pantry but there is plenty of storage within easy reach to serve as a pantry. The hood vent actually exhausted the air not just blow it back out the top. The washer and dryer work well and we find them very convenient. The washer is very quite and uses very little water, but it is not on the inverter. The full wall slide really opens up the coach bay making the hall at the bath nice and roomy. The Maxum chassis provides a basement that gives this coach the storage of a regular 40 but with better access. Storage inside is equally impressive It also has a true 10000 lb towing capacity. Some coaches require you to reduce your payload to tow a full 10K, this one does not. It comes with a whopping 660 amp hours consisting of 6 AGM batteries, no cutting corners there. No maintenance easy to own, expensive to replace but LiFEPo4 will probably be available by the time these wear out. It has a neat power management system that used the massive 2800 watt inverter to make being on 30 amp or even on 15 amp much more workable. It also comes with an automatic A/C source switch to switch from grid or generator power that includes good surge protection. We prefer the sliding windows that open very wide to the new "frameless" that only flip out on the 2014 and later coaches. The lighting is pretty amazing on the inside. Lights everywhere. The two exhaust fans can really move the air. My wife loves the MCD shades. The roof is very cleaning organized and I was able to install 12 big solar panels for a whopping 1200 watts of solar to charge all those batteries. Now for the nits and they really don't detract from much from our pleasure in owning it. It does not come with good battery monitoring, and you will want to upgrade your inverter remote, they put in the cheapest one. We have the digital comfort rest mattress which is a full queen, but we don't find it all that good. Probably will get a 3" memory foam topper. The kitchen sink is set a little deep to be used from straight on but ok from the corner. The dryer is pretty noisy but it works quite well. I would like another cup holder for the driver. The IPOD interface on the dash is junk, they should have just provided a cable. It also doesn't have a 1/4 headphone jack for input, it does have USB. We are not big TV watchers and that is good because none of the TV's are easy to view except the lounge from the dinette and only for two people. You really can not use the bedroom without the closet slide out. I think the passenger side basement doors are way to big, they. Should have made the water tank door separate. They really catch the wind and swing way out. The A/Cs are zoned but they both use the same duct work so you can't really cool just the back or the front with out closing the vents (easy) and blocking the returns (hard). This may be common in many coaches. The outlet we use the most ( for our laptops) at the dinette is not on the inverter, this should be easy to fix. The bed room door, which we never use anyway, is hard to use.
- Ed Soniat, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-16 2007 Winnebago Vectra 40TD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This has been the best RV motorhome that I have ever owned. It is one of the most spacious 40 feet motorhomes on the market. The MH has two very large slide outs. It has also had several upgrades (LED lighting (inside and out), satellite dish, TVs, etc.). Incredible amount of storage. It is also fun to drive. A lot of power in the 400 HP diesel engine and the fuel milage is pretty good (avg. 7 mpg). For a full-timer this is the vehicle to have.
- Anthony DuBose, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-01 2015 Winnebago Ellipse 42QD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This unit is great to drive, easy to handle and park. Handle great on windy days. Easy to set up utilities when parking. Satellite dish is Directv and will handle the whole house system. Love this coach
- Allen Rodrigue, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-31 2019 Winnebago Forza 34T View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love the RV with reservations. Have not been able use it because the Power Management System (AKA) Firefly G7 is down for days at a time. Leaving us dead. Nothing works at all. La Masa Sanford Fl. is unable to figure out a solution. Winnebago and Firefly also can not figure out a solution. We would love to know if anyone can assist ASAP. We had just begun our seven week journey through the Western National Parks. We got as far as Georgia.
- Lee Collier, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-24 2016 Winnebago Meridian 40R View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased the RV prior to retiring. We used it on short trips while still working. Once we retired we wintered in Florida and lived in it full time. In the summer we toured the country and always ended up near Reno Nevada to spend the rest of the summer with our 4 grandchildren and daughter. The coach is absolutely easier to drive and maneuver than a car. The ride is like floating on air, steering turning radious exceptional. We chose to pull an open car trailer purchased new and included in the sale. Two reasons you do not have the wear on your vehicle while traveling like if you flat tow or dolly tow. I can personally back the trailer up any where when needed and as far as needed. You cannot do that flat or dolly towing. While trailering 5000# car and trailer across country, you do not even know it is behind you due to the 400HP and torque of the Winnebago. Average fuel mileage with cruse set at 63 MPH 8.5 MPG. Best was 11.8 MPG crusing at 58 MPH on super flat stretches of interstate. We use 350 gallon of fuel Florida to Nevada 3000 mile trip fully loaded. The coach is advertised to sleep 4. When you sell your house and chose to live full time in the coach, there better be enough room. The coach is extremely spacious and we never feel closed in. The layout is perfect. The kitchen is up front great when traveling right behind the cockpit. Mid coach is a half bath with easy access wihle traveling. As full timers everything you own is stored in the coach. More than enough cabinet storage inside the coach and exceptional large amount of storage outside. We toured many coaches and chose Winnebago Meridian 40R. We think it is the best floor plan for our needs. The quality of this coach far exceeds the quality of other coaches that we have toured before our purchase. It is very upscaled for the price verses a top of the line expensive coach. Hope you can enjoy this coach as much as we have.
- Duane Bonar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-23 2013 Winnebago Journey 42E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have been RV in most of our life we've had everything from tent trailers to fifth wheels diesel pushers and gas coaches and I will say this is the best nicest coach we have ever owned. This coach has everything and it's like living in a small apartment. We are selling because we can no longer RV we are in our 70s.great coach for anyone that wants to snowbird.
- Roland Moreau, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-24 2005 Winnebago Journey 36G View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have owned this Coach for two years, this was well maintained and interior remodeled (hard wood floors, headliner redone,wood blinds new AC). Very comfortable driving and camping. Wonderful floor plan. People should consider an older well maintained coach.
- Peter Colby, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-12 2018 Winnebago Forza 38F View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Though Winnebago's Forza is the entry level diesel pusher, I am beyond sad and disappointed by the countless issues. While Winnebago as well as our local dealership make best effort to resolve different issues at different times, the time and effort invested has made me regret our purchase. This is not our first Winnebago, so we thought we knew what to expect in terms of quality. In short, this particular coach is either a lemon or quality control has gone by the way side. Since I would exceed the 5000 characters if I listed all, let me give you some indication of all that has been addressed or still needs to be: Short in porch light and had to be rewired, malfunction with tail lights and the codes had to be reset, Truma control went bad and needed to be replaced, ac compressor froze up and broke belt so it had to be towed and replaced, compartment doors can open while driving, wall paper sags and is falling off the wall, radiator weld was bad and leaked coolant and had to be replaced, black water inlet flush was bent so I could not screw into it and had to be replaced, rear television was not connected to cable and had to be removed from wall and connected, slide out topper can billow when traveling and nearly caused an accident, exterior moldings have come off at various times and since been re-adhered, the radio volume goes off on its own and requires occasional reset, the electronic dash went blank while running cruise control and after fifteen to twenty seconds reset itself. In the end, I plan to address with Winnebago as I believe in the brand and hope they will work with me to resolve. That said, I am at my wits end with this particular coach so depending on what Winnebago can do to assist, may drive our response/decision forward. In the meantime and while I understand the Forza is an entry level diesel pusher, I would sooner spend more or not buy if I knew this much would need attention. That said, I wish anyone all the best should they elect to buy a Forza as problems asides, it has a great floor plan and looks nice on appearances alone.
- Jonathan Litvack, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-10 2018 Winnebago Fuse 23A View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our second year with our Fuse and we love it. Why? We love the mileage (17 mpg). We love the drive ability...drives like a van & we can even go thru most drive-thru windows while traveling. Putting 6,000 miles on each summer (FL to Northern Wisconsin so we have done the Smoky Mountain thing with no problem) and have had no major problems. Love the split bunks for sleeping...more comfortable than MANY beds at motel we have slept on. We check our ATS each time we start out to make sure all connections are tight and to date have not had a problem. We did drag bottom once and now look each time and approach diagonally (no leaf or Sumo springs). Only improvement could be basement storage....hard to fit some items and they have had to stay home. Love the storage area under the passenger-side bunk (keep my spring water, potatoes, onions, spare towels, Featherweight sewing machine & material, & miscellaneous items here. Love our 2018-A Fuse!! (Our first RV was a 29’ Gulf Stream BT Cruiser)
- Sandi, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-08 2011 Winnebago Tour 42QD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This rig is amazing! The ride is smooth and the 450hp takes mountain roads and passes like nothing. Winnebago service is always available to answer any questions and if they do not know, they give you a number to call for that item that was installed. Wow! As for the floor plan it is like having a home. Will stay with Winnebago to downsize
- Dave Bowers, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-02 2016 Winnebago Via 25P View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is the Cadillac of RV's for two people and a couple of pets. Can't say enough about the easiest and convenience of set up, ease around town, and also the fuel mileage. also will tow a 4200 lb toad without issue. Just make sure you toad has brakes. this is such a nice ride, upgrade the suspension at sprinter upgrades and you will love it. after 35K miles and two years, we added the struts, shocks, sway bar, and sumos all the way around. The Mercedes dealership in league city texas was impressed with the quality of the equipment and we love the final results. Cant as enough about this ride we love it!@!
- michael Stirrat , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-26 2015 Winnebago Journey 40R View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The front kitchen is a plus if you like to eat outside and the RV is compartmentalized which is nice! The Living room with the corner huge 60" TV is the largest in the industry with a warm fireplace underneath it that opens up to a bar! The California king bed fits nicely with plenty of storage for clothes etc. The mid ship and rear bath are a perfect size. It seems to me Winnebago thinks of ergonomics during construction in this well laid out floor plan. I upgraded the shocks and steering stabilizer and it made a world of difference going down the road. Really love this RV.
- Joe Tonino, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-26 2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The best layout I have seen in Class A's. All the amenities of a house. Storage is unbelievable both inside and down below. Very high quality cabinetry with solid wood construction. Winnebago didn't skimp on the installed appliances, they are all top brands. Fun to drive and great to be in.
- Jane, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-25 2003 Winnebago Journey DL 36DL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Winnebago makes a solid, quality motorhome. We renovated it to fit our lifestyle, and is great for longer trips or full time rving. The floor plan is very comfortable even though the motorhome is 36ft. The shorter motorhome allowed us to stay in all national parks while having everything we wanted or needed. It tows beautifully - we towed either a Honda CRV or a motorcycle trailer. We would definitely buy another Winnebago.
- Jeffrey Juszynski, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-20 2018 Winnebago Forza 38F View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a top-of-the-line RV that is like NEW! Only 7,600 miles. Well cared for with an all excellent floor plan! Includes 1 1/2 bath, washer/dryer, electric fireplace, 3 TVs. Sleeps 7 adults. Tow vehicle ready! Ready to hit the road!
- Ron Hodges, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-02 2008 Winnebago Tour 40TD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great RV for full-timing! Lots of storage in bay areas and inside kitchen has a pull out in-wall pantry. Extra closet in the hallway is fantastic and also love the quality built cupboards and interior walls. Drawers for clothing are deep and much bigger than what is found in newer RVs. The desk area and storage were some of the main features that drew us to this home. Overall, both mechanically and the living area, have made our travels a great experience!
- Jeanne, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-01 2003 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom 40KD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This coach is beautiful inside and out. The exterior paint is as good as the day it was built. The owner has serviced every part of it and put brand new tires on it. It drives great and is real strong. Also included is everything you need to flat tow a vehicle. The only thing you need is the mount for your toad. The inside cabinets are a beautiful natural maple finish and the couches are a light beige leather as well as the driver and passenger full power seats. One couch has power recline, heat and vibrate. Most of the systems are redundant. The heat is either forced hot water of by air heat pumps. The hot water is either electric or diesel or both. There is a dual compressor A/C unit in the basement. This allows for a lower overall height while traveling. The refrigerator is either propane or electric. It also has an Onan 7000 watt diesel generator that will run the whole coach if you decide to go boondocking. This coach would be a great full timer RV without the huge expense of a new coach. The owner is including many extras along with it so it is really a turn key unit (extension electric lines and adapters to plug into any power source, extra sewer hoses and fresh water hoses with any connector needed, step ladders, a full cover for storage and many extra service parts.
- Brad Davidson, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-01 2018 Winnebago Horizon 40A View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
It was the Best decision we could have made to purchase 2018 Winnebago Horizon 40 A. We have enjoyed Horizon since our purchase.Factory warranty transfer to our ownership name,absolutely seamless, effortless transfer.2018 Winnebago Horizon 40 A is a true Luxury, comfortably and problem Free as we travel across the United States.All the comforts of home with full kitchen, great floor plan , king bed works like our sleep number king size bed at home. We love the look of Horizon with sliding barn door, large farm sink. We have thousands of family memories thanks to the Winnebago Horizon. We enjoy the outdoors as outdoor T.V. , Outdoor refrigerator And awnings are wonderful as we enjoy ocean and Mountain View’s. More than enough power from Cummins 400 horse power engine to easily drive mountains of Colorado or to accelerate from off ramp to Interstate speed, 75 miles per hour.
- Jay Taylor, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-01 2002 Winnebago Journey DL 39QD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have owned my 2002 winnebago journey Dl 39qd for almost 4 years and three of them my wife and I lived in it. We did a good bit of traveling and I loved every mile of driving this winnebago. All I can say is nothing but good things about our winnebago journey. The driveline on it is heavy duty and its ride is so comfortable. Buying this motorhome was a good investment and I would buy another one.
- Chad hosmer, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-25 2017 Winnebago Forza 38W View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have had trouble with our motorhome air conditioning since we bought it. We have taken back to General RV three times over this issue. Nothing has been resolved. The air conditioners will not keep the unit cool when parked with 50 amp service. Winnebago said to contact the dealer. That did not help. Anyone else experiencing this issue?
- Jennifer Criss, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-21 2015 Winnebago Grand Tour 42HL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We moved from an American Eagle which is known for quality construction to this Grand Tour and we have never regretted it. We absolutely love this coach. The floor plan is the best of any we've ever seen and the thought that was put into the design is incredible-- there is not an inch of wasted space and we have abundant storage both in the interior and in the bays. There are numerous upgrades not always found in this price range; we literally cannot think of a single feature we wanted that this rig doesn't have. Driving is responsive and quiet with no rattles or squeaks; upkeep and repairs have been minimal and limited to relatively minor items. We have absolutely no regrets with our purchase.
- S Spencer, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-02 2015 Winnebago Via 25Q View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This was our third RV in one year. The first one had a full-sized bed you couldn't walk around. The second had a dining booth which took up too much space in the living room. Both were C-classes which waste a ton of space if you only have 2 people onboard and horrible gas mileage. The Via 25Q is a dream to drive and maneuver, a queen bed you can walk around, a real shower, swivel captain seats which become part of the living area and great mileage. Lots of storage onboard and in the "basement". This is a gorgeous coach, but we're getting too old to drive large vehicles.
- kjmb, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-30 2014 Winnebago Journey 42E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this RV new. We love the bath and half, washer/dryer-to me seems like it holds quite a bit, the fireplace and the full wall slide-out that makes the RV seem huge! We lived in this full-time for 5 years. We bought a house to be closer to family needs. We hate giving it up, but I don't want it to sit around. She has brand new tires, all maintenance done and ready to go. Winnebago has the widest entry door which makes it nice carrying in groceries. We love Winnebago factory for any repairs or service. They do a one and done service, which means they fix it right the first time. This is in great shape. No issues.
- Lana Jones, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-16 2016 Winnebago Grand Tour 42QL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This Grand Tour has been absolutely wonderful!! We have traveled to Canada, the East Coast & Michigan but mainly we have stayed in Naples, Florida for the past 3 Seasons. It is roomy, convenient for company, having their own half bath, the outside refrigerator makes for plenty of room for drinks along with the stove top. There is plenty of basement space and compartments for ALL kinds of storage of "stuff" It drives like a dream and the towing system if first class. The ultra finish on the exterior is superb as is the interior finishing's. It just passed an inspection at the Winnebago Factory in Forest City Iowa with flying colors. It has been well maintained!!!
- lindatacosik83, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-14 2018 Winnebago Forza 34T View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This Motorhome worked great for us but haven’t had time to us it like we wanted. Drives well and you can’t feel what your towing , fuel mileage like all large Motorhomes, 8-12 miles per gallon. Great plan for grand kids also !
- michael zeigler, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: