Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Venture Rv SONIC reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
4.4
Overall quality
2.9
Floorplan
4.7
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
2.7

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

37 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Robert Partin

Texas

Reviewed on 2017-04-29

RV reviewed2017 Venture RV Sonic SN220VBH

View listings

4.2
My wife and I researched travel trailers for about 7 months. We started with teardrops and moved up based on the fact that the weight difference did not justify what we would give up in space and features. We were planning on buying a Micro Minnie but, at the last minute, we watched some videos on our top choices and decided that the money would be better spent on the Sonic. The Winnebago murphy bed did not really compare to what we got in the Sonic. There was also a much roomier feel. The slide out is also deeper on the Sonic. We had several features that we had decided were "musts". A 6cf fridge/freezer, Room in the bathroom to change, black tank flush and power on the awning and tongue jack. We also really like the huckbolt frame and the one piece roof. We are very pleased with the Sonic and would recommend it to others.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (194)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Day

Utah

Reviewed on 2021-10-21

RV reviewed2021 Venture RV Sonic 169VRK

View listings

5.0
I have been impressed with this 2021 Sonic lite trailer. Its has been out about 20 times this summer and it has done very well structurally. I have not had to take it in for warranty work so far. The only issue was a pipe in the shower had a blow out. It was caused from rubbing on the shower wall. Easy fix. Overall this has been a great single axle trailer. I would definitely buy it again.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephanie Griffin

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-10-09

RV reviewed2019 Venture RV Sonic 231VRL

View listings

2.6
I would never recommend it. It’s not like this is our first RV, it’s our 3rd. It tows great with our 4 runner. Looks like someone started to finish the kitchen draws and stopped before they were finished.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug

Utah

Reviewed on 2021-07-21

RV reviewed2021 Venture RV Sonic 169VRK

View listings

5.0
The Sonic is a great trailer. We've made 10 trips with it. No problems. The Venture leveling app is so easy to use, no more jumping in and out of the trailer with a level. The floor plan maximizes the space. For single axle it tows good with or without a sway hitch. We give it a 10.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tammy Owen

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-05-05

RV reviewed2017 Venture RV Sonic Lite 149VML

View listings

4.2
My Elkhound and I have been living fulltime in our 149- VML Sonic Lite for 16 months now. It was 2 years old and almost like new when we purchased it and it was love at first sight for us. We love the floorplan, queen size Murphy Bed the Black Diamond
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg Bajorek

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-04-21

RV reviewed2016 Venture RV Sonic 190VRB

View listings

4.4
My wife and I had purchased this unit new. We love the layout and the storage. The murphy bed is easy to raise and lower and adds so much interior space. the bathroom may be a bit too big. We are currently going to trade this one in for another one with a slide out. Love our Sonic and look forward to the new one.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Havercroft

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-04-21

RV reviewed2021 Venture RV Sonic 231VRL

View listings

4.6
This trailer has the most awesome floor plan! All of our friends that have seen it have commented how it feels like a tiny little apartment rather than a travel trailer. There is loads and loads of storage space. The open floor plan makes this a great trailer for 4 people very comfortably up to 6 crowded. It tows fantastic behind our Dodge Durango, I have weight distribution but no sway control. I've had the trailer a month and we've spent 6 nights/8 days camping in it. I love the dual electric/LP gas refrigerator that has tons of room and works great on the 4 out of 5 level setting. The trailer is pretty airtight and insulation is fair. With the vent fan in the bedroom going, you can feel the suction being drawn on the first window that you open. But, it is still a travel trailer and cools off quickly if it is cold outside. The A/C unit (15K in ours) works great and you can barely hear the compressor running. I did adjust the thermostat on the ceiling control panel so the A/C would keep running colder, but I've had to do that with every Coleman Mach ceiling A/C and you can find the instructions on youtube. The back of the water heater is very accessible under the bathroom sink - take two screws holding a panel on and the back of the water heater is there. The little cubby holes behind the closets in the bedroom are fantastic for CPAP machines. But, there is no 12v outlet there if you want to power a CPAP from the battery. I replaced the 2-port USB charging outlets with a combination outlet with 2 USB ports and a 12v outlet to plug my CPAP 12v power supply into. The lights above the bed are too bright. I replaced both lights with dual color dimming fixtures. The motion sensor lights in the bathroom, entry door, and pass through storage are very handy, but there is only one on the passenger side of pass through storage. There should be a second one on the driver's side. The bad. The grey water tank seems to fill up very quickly. With only 2 of us we will only last 3 days. The kitchen sink itself holds 1/3 gray water capacity. You can add an extra sewer twist on waste valve to your dump connection that will allow you to open the installed grey water dump valve and then the black water dump valve and you can equalize the grey water tank into the black water tank and get some extra capacity. The fresh water fill connection is on the passenger side (door side) of the trailer. Makes it inconvenient in most locations to fill the fresh water tank where their faucet is more than likely going to be on driver's side. The outside shower is all the way around in the middle of the driver side wall, again a very inconvenient location. The outlet and switch for the TV antenna is inconveniently located behind the TV making it hard to turn off if you want to save battery power. The installed TV antenna works better than the antenna in our previous trailer, though. The water pump is located under the kitchen counter and you have to remove the two under sink drawers to get to it. The plumbing under there is a mess and many of the tubes will vibrate against the walls when the water pump is running making it very noisy (makes more noise than the A/C running!) I need to get back under there and straighten things out. That is also where the connection for antifreeze suction is for winterizing, very inconvenient. Several plumbing connections were not tightened at the factory and had to tighten all of them in the bathroom - under the bathroom sink faucet, behind the toilet, and the shower. They are screw on fittings and you just have to give them 1/2 turn or so with channel lock (water pump) pliers. None of the screens on the windows were fully clipped into place, and you have to be very careful to get them in just right so you bend/break the clips in the screens. Then don't ever pull them back off! On the rear emergency exit window, one of the red buckles had an adjusting bolt that was stripped. This caused the buckle to become cocked at an angle and bent the arms inside the buckle causing the exit window to loosen. I repaired that myself. The sliding doors for the bathroom/bedroom have cheap plastic straps with snaps to hold them open when travelling and nothing to keep them closed. I added cabinet spring latches on both the open and closed sides of both doors to help hold them in either position. I am also going to add the simple hook and eye type latches on the open side to do away with the cheap plastic straps. No real place for a toilet paper holder in the bathroom. I cut a square out of the sink cabinet door and mounted an in-the-wall type TP holder there. Overall it is a great trailer and we love the open floor plan in the living area.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (32)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

GEORGE SHUFLAT

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-04-09

RV reviewed2016 Venture RV Sonic 190VRB

View listings

3.4
Bought new June 2016, love the layout design of this R.V. with big bathroom and murphy bed; tows great. Unfortunately, craftsmanship and building of this R.V. sucks. Larry, Moe and Curly could have done a better job. Stay away from VENTURE SONIC/ K.C. company R.V. products Have had to repair or replace stove parts and furnace this year; but the biggest problem discovered the end of last fall 2020 was the floor along shower, dinning table and door had rotted completely from water damage. Apparently this water damage had been occurring for some time. After noticing leaky drain joints from kitchen sink when first bought, I had tightened all water and drain connections, and kept check. Did repair work myself, and found most destruction at front and back of wheel wells where there was a 1/2 inch square gap in each corner where wall of wheel well attached to frame, and was filled with putty. There was also no support left, rotted away. Had early on discovered there was hardly any support under shower floor which I fixed to prevent water leaking around drain. Good layout design, piss poor work on building and quality. Will never buy any R.V. from KZ./ VENTURE AGAIN!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amy Hansen

Maine

Reviewed on 2020-12-06

RV reviewed2015 Venture RV Sonic 220VRB

View listings

4.6
We bought our 2015 Venture RV Sonic 220VRB at the end of May 2015. July 1st 2015 we started living in the camper fulltime, 24 hrs/day, 7 days/wk, 365 days/yr except for a 4 month stent where we didn't. We absolutely love the layout, it is great for 2 people full time. They say the camper is not made to live in,so with that in mind, we have done a great job of doing that. Ee did lise our hot water heater but that was only due to user error. The quality could be a little better, like they could use nails or screws instead of staples; that can be fixed. Would we buy another one, YES! The cost vs the money we saved is incredible. We really enjoy our Venture Sonic.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (26)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gilles Martel

Quebec

Reviewed on 2020-11-29

RV reviewed2018 Venture RV Sonic Lite 167VMS

View listings

1.8
My name is Gilles Martel, I bought on 03/27/2017 a new Sonic Lite 2018 SL-167VMS. We are retired and we are grand parents. I heard about your company while we were visiting the Montreal RV Show in 2017. We received very good comments about the quality of your Sonic SL167VMS rv trailer and my wife and I have been dreaming to get a Sonic rv trailer. In fact we realized our dream in travelling with our Sonic Lite rv trailer after we retired. Since we bought you Sonic Lite rv trailer We are very disappointed and our dream became a nightmare. We lost the plastic roof ( dome ) located on top of the toilet fan while travelling on the highway . We have been notified by a car driver . We stop and walked and found the parts on the side of the road. I have to get it fixed in buying proper screws and locked nuts. Than we had a big issue with the refrigerator separating itself from his location in the rv. As per the service director of the my rv trailer dealer , Here are the repairs that have been made to our fridge: The wooden base which supported the fridge gave way due to a lack of reinforcement. They had to reinforce the wood structure on the left side with a piece of 2x4 screwed and glued to prevent the lower left corner from sagging. As per the director of service there were no reinforcements at the lower corners which caused the fridge to collapse. I was also billed for this repair. Another issue with the slide out : Under the slide out the wheel mechanics was quaver and was scraping under the slide out because locked nuts have not been used and secured creating deep scraping. Than it was billed again: see pictures: Since our first year we are hearing squeaking each time we are are driving with the rv trailer we were told to use spray oil to lubricate the blades. It does not make any differences, the noise is still there and it is not pleasent to hear. When I purchased your Sonic rv trailer, I took a 5 years warrenty. However when I had these issues with the rv I was told by the Customer service representative that only electronics parts were covered no structural issues. I used my rv 3 times in 2017, 4 times in 2018, 4 times in 2019 and 5 times in 2020. I have always take care of my rv and always went to my rv dealer company for all follow up and maintenance as least twice a year. These structural issues occured after your 1 year warrenty. These are hidden issues, they are a lack in the rv construction and won’t necessary occured during the first year. The RV dealer customer representative told me that even if he sent a claim to you it will not be accepted and will be refused because it is past the 1 year warrenty.Wow As a frustated and honest Customer and owner of a Sonic rv by Venture, I am very disappointed . When I purchased you company rv, I was confident in your rv company as a company who build rv quality and care about their customers. A company that will stand up and protect their customers and being recognized as the # 1 rv retailer in the world respecting their Customer guiding values and the company success not possible without customers. As a fact I worked for 2 great US companies for who Customer’s satisfaction come first. They make Always their customers feel part of their company success and considered family. As a great RV company your customers should feel appreciated , protected and part of your success as # 1 rv company. Compagny guiding values: TOGETHER AS A TEAM AND INDIVIDUALLY MEMBER, WE WILL PASSIONATELY DELIGHT OUR CUSTOMERS, SHOW RESPECT, INSPIRE POSSIBILITIES, DELIVER EXCELLENCE, ACT AND TAKE THE RIGHT DECISION FOR THE GOOD OF THE CUSTOMERS AS WELL AS THE COMPANY. Venture response: However, All I received from Venture RV customer service are their apologies and Can not help you the 1 year warrenty is over!!! I am very dissapointed customer Gilles
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (37)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 31 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review