Thor Motor Coach Outlaw Reviews on RV Insider (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Thor Motor Coach Outlaw RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Gary from Alberta says:

They say you can carry your toys. I have a Harley trike and cannot get it up or down without using other ramps as the door pitch is too high. I 'm fig

Read More (28 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2015 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 29H View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
They say you can carry your toys. I have a Harley trike and cannot get it up or down without using other ramps as the door pitch is too high. I 'm fighting with Thor to get them to add an extension to the door to give in a better pitch.. Our unit came with the wrong legs on the couches in the garage thus when in the flat position they were not even and you couldn't use it as a bed. The pull out couch came with the wrong air mattress. We have found that the warranty process is poor and overall we know our unit was not properly inspected prior to leaving the factory. Its a good concept as its the only class C toyhauler but the sleeping area design is not good nor comfortable. Its been back at the purchasing dealer for 2 months now awaiting parts.
- Gary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-10 2018 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 38RE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Do not purchase this unit new. Wait until it is a couple years old and the numerous problems have been fixed. In our first ownership year we encountered refusals to fix items that were clearly under Warrantee. Thor customer service certainly got frustrated with our many calls and we with their lack of adequate response. They referred us to LaMesa RV for repairs only to Have to return time and time again times to redo. After nearly two years, Finally found a repair company that came to the house and and we got the quality workmanship required. Have one more issue to get fixed - front steps that appear to have a mind of their own as to when to deploy. Would I buy another Thor product? Probably not!
- Art Bouffard, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-30 2020 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 29J View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We are on our second trip. Bad rain the whole way. We have to pull over because of a noise under the coach. The exhaust pipe for the generator breaks off and is dragging. We also discover rain coming in they the A/C unit in the garage. The rain apparently shorted out the bed that you can electronically raise and lower in the garage and it came crashing down on our motorcycles. Broke windshields/mirrors and scratched them up. The pull down shade pull apart the first time you use them. Quality is so poor, I am so disappointed in this we now want to get rid of it.
- Nancy Gruentzel, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-22 2017 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our 2017 in April 2020. Our first trip was to Minnesota with out Harley Utra loaded in. When we arrived, while backing the bike out onto the ramp the center of the ramp collapsed causing the rear bike wheel to fall through. The ramp is not structurally sound or designed with supports. Stryofoam and thin plywood only. So far Thor isn't standing behind anything. Seriously disappointed and wouldn't recommend this coach to anyone.
- Kurt Kuhlers, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-09 2020 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 38MB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Totally impressed so far with this new unit! This is my third outlaw. Perfect layout for my family. Everything has been upgraded over previous units and the quality has definitely improved. Put our first 1000 miles on her and not one issue so far. Drivability has definitely improved over the years for such a tall unit. Storage is awesome. Getting close to retirement and can’t wait to spend some longer periods in her!
- Mark Correia, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-09 2018 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 29J View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This unit was absolutely horrible! Had to have 6 items fixed before we left the dealership due to poor quality or fit. Ramp angle too steep for motorcycle and whatever they put on the ramp made is slick and the bike kept sliding down. Tie downs weren’t even secured and pulled right out oft he floor. First trip water came pouring. Down on my head at the first stop light and the unit spent the rest of the season at the dealership trying to-get it fixed. No storage! RearAc leaked i rain! Had the class a version when it was damon and the quality was much better
- Mark Correia, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-12 2019 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Firstly, having had a few travel trailer toy haulers and having read a lot of reviews of Thor products, my expectations were quite low. Thankfully, at ~5.5k miles, we've had a fairly good experience. Winters in a nice park in FL and the rest of the season at a campground in North GA. Overall, for what it is, it's been pretty good. 2500lb capacity in the garage means we load the bikes and go. Haven't towed a vehicle, but we're getting ready to do so (Ford Ranger), in 2020. Issues: Leaking window in garage, slide recall, outside TV box was coming apart (inside) and some other nits. All of these were fixed on a return trip to the Indiana factory, covered by warranty. Inverter fell off it's mounting (four wood screws. Really?) on drive home, auxiliary fuel tank gauge inop, chipped paint on roof and back cover over the garage A/C unit (annoying). Other than the paint, I've taken care of the other problems. Drives pretty well for a gas engine and coach and has a pretty good useable weight. Mattresses are crap, but there is a lot of sleeping space. Only two of us and occasionally a weekend with the boys and it's all good for that use. The rear ramp/patio is excellent for grilling (put out the awning and grill in the rain) and outdoor shower is good for washing the dog after a run to lake or beach. The Axxera bluetooth unit in the dash is a little finicky, but is good enough. So far, so good.
- John Lavey, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-25 2015 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 38RE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent condition, Thor Outlaw 38RE, Bath & 1/2 Outlaw 38RE Residence Edition, vaulted living room and galley ceilings, approximate 8' shower height, 9' Cathedral style bedroom ceiling, ceiling fan,King bed, "Star-View" window, above ground patio deck, rear patio deck, 50" LED TV, Bluetooth® sound bar, sink, gas grill, exterior refrigerator, rear patio awning, rear steps, electric side patio awning and second exterior LED TV, booth/sleeper 48" x 84" sleeping area, a hide-a-bed sofa with air mattress, a power drop-down cab-over bunk, huge pantry, pre-plumbing for either a stack or combo washer/dryer, 40" LED living room TV, Ford 26,000lb chassis w/8,000lb. hitch, polished aluminum wheels, full body exterior paint, 158 cu. ft. of exterior storage, 150 gallons of fresh water tank capacity, two roof A/C units, third wall mount A/C unit in bedroom, swivel front seats with extra table, frameless windows, 3-camera monitoring system, LED ceiling lighting, solid surface kitchen counter & table, LED TV in master bedroom, HDMI video distribution, power charging center, an 1800 watt inverter system, 37' length, Power patio awing with integrated LED lighting, 1-piece windshield, a 5500 Onan generator, automatic leveling system, leatherette furniture, leatherette sofa with sleeper, 5-speed automatic transmission, pass-through storage, dash fans, power mirrors with heat, DVD, refrigerator, enclosed and heated holding tanks
- Priscilla, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-05 2017 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37BG View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have this same motorhome and I can truly say this is legit! My family and I all fit with space to not feel so cramped. It has larger tanks than other models to help accommodate dry camping. I have absolutely LOVED mine.
- Tom Jones, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-08-29 2020 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 38MB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I would not recommend this coach to anyone. Problems from day 1. Issues we have are too numerous to list. From major AC issue to minor cosmetic, it’s a never ending battle. Our outer headlight cover just came off while driving. THOR workmanship and quality is pathetic. To pay this much money for a motor coach, I’d expect quality not shoddy workmanship and material. Once we get all repairs taken care of we are selling it. I sent a very detailed survey to customer service and received the generic reply... they obviously did not read it. The fact THOR has had a wait time on every phone call should tell you we aren’t the only people having issues.
- Amy Fisher , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-01 2018 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This nightmare of extremely poor quality construction and design has been in for repair the majority of the first year of warranty. I have used it for a total of 5 times in the past 16 months. Each time resulting in a major malfunction. Everything from a complete rewire and control board replacement to rear step malfunction that has resulted in no less than 4 visits to dealerships to repair it. Each time a different fix was tried. The latest difficulty is the horrific Blackwater stench rising to fill the cabin while driving down the road. Three times I was told there was nothing wrong with it. The last time being told that the bathroom sink was connected to the black water tank. A thor Tech directly told me to put a rubber plug in the sink to prevent the smell from filling the cabin while we drove. The P trap under the sink is suppose to prevent the smell from rising but if the motion of the coach sloshes the water out of the p trap then this design flaw obviously wont work. There is a solution by putting a one way valve instead of a p trap in the pipe. Thor tech tells me this is apparently not going to happen. Not only is the stench unbearable, you are also prematurely filling your black water tank with sink greywater so that it will not last as long on any trip you decide to go on. The mind numbing stupidity of this design and Thor's response to put a cork in it is just so unacceptable!
- Fran Montgomery, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-03-16 2016 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
As of today March 16, 2019, I have replaced: the engine at 33,000 miles, the generator, the leveling system which the warrantee did not cover, the toilet, the water pump, the water selector source valve, a TV, the in-dash unit, slide motors and another needs repair, the bathroom door framing is loose and needs reinstallation, the black tank vent tube broke, spilling black water all over the water compartment and wafting fumes inside the coach while driving, one of the slow rise shades doesn’t work, the upper escape window flew open while driving down the road sucking out the shade, another TV needs replacing, the furnace has required repairs repeatedly, and the place isn’t insulated for any weather outside the mid-70’s. That’s not all the problems I’ve experienced but is all I can remember off the top of my head.
- Gregory Fogleman, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-02-01 2017 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37BG View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have this same RV and it's fantastic. Fits my family and a bunch of friends comfortably. Has a great amount of space, tons of storage, and very dependable. Love mine and wouldn't change it for any other options out there!
- Thom Jones, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-10 2015 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37LS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We like the RV floor plan and we like the overall size of the unit. The included gas grill that hooks up to the RV propane tank is nice. However, on our first trip the electric part of the water heater would not work, both awning end covers fell off, the entry steps would not go down, the HDMI cord from the Blu-Ray was broken and the cab fuse box cover would not stay on. While parked at our home, the front shade curtain and the entire support fell onto the dash and the left, rear leveling jack started leaking. On our second trip, the self leveling stopped working, the radio/rear camera stopped working and the front curtain was still not working even though it had been reinstalled. While driving in a steady rain at 60 mph we discovered a high pitch squeal coming from in front of the driver. Not wipers! We had some leaks during heavy rain and we also noticed that the rear gel coat is cracking. There are several other small issues that we have taken care of ourselves. Our unit has been at the dealer more than we have had it. We may have just gotten a lemon, but I would not recommend or every purchase another Thor product.
- Michael SEYMOUR, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-06 2015 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37LS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We hauled a cam am Spyder motor cycle in the garage to complete our Route 66 trips.Garage was nice during rainy weather esp with dogs cause we could enter garage and keep the living area much cleaner. When daughter and grandson traveled with us they had their own bedroom with TV, radio, AC, and door. Plenty of sleeping spots available. Dinette large enough to play cards with 4 people and dining too. When just an overnight stay - didn't put out the slide and yet the large TV slides out for full view. Access to all with slide in- refrig, bathroom, sinks, food, etc.
- Bonnie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-02 2017 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37BG View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We are full time. My two complaints are : the oven and in the bedroom outside wall I can see daylight , where the floor and outside wall meet. We fixed the daylight problem by caulking from the underside. The oven is always to hot on the bottom and raw on the top. Why not go to an electric oven ?Bakers prefer them .
- Pam, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-06 2018 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 29H View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our Thor Outlaw 29H from Lazydays,Tampa,fl July 8th and it had lots of cosmetic issues and was in the service bay for electrical problems with the lights.Went to pickup July 25th and no repairs and the generator or inverter wouldnt work and a/c in garage was dripping down thru cabinets.Went back Aug 13th as they called and said batterys charged???? and some repairs done so we went and the engine wouldnt start and the house batterys were dead!!!!After that no return phone calls or text so i went there sept. 4th and gave them two options, to either replace it or refund it, so tomorrow is the final answer and for their sake it better be a good one! BUYER BEWARE of Lazydays and Thor coaches!!!!
- John Copenhaver, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-06 2018 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 29H View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our Thor Outlaw 29H from Lazydays, Tampa, FL July 8th and it had lots of cosmetic issues and was in the service bay for electrical problems with the lights. Went to pickup July 25th and no repairs and the generator or inverter wouldn't work and a/c in garage was dripping down thru cabinets. Went back Aug 13th as they called and said batteries charged???? and some repairs done so we went and the engine wouldn't start and the house batteries were dead!!!!After that no return phone calls or text so i went there sept. 4th and gave them two options, to either replace it or refund it, so tomorrow is the final answer and for their sake it better be a good one! BUYER BEWARE of Lazydays and Thor coaches!!!!
- John Copenhaver, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-07-19 2015 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 35SG View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Thor products are made very well. Fewer things fall off while going down the road than most. Enjoyed the good ride and dependability. Ford Diesel adds to the attraction to this RV. More Diesel models would equate to more sales in my opinion .
- Paul A. Cooksey, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-07-04 2014 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 29H View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
-Plenty room for the family. -Super versatile to accommodate camping with ATV's, motorcycles. Use for animal shows and house animal at show site. -Excellent exterior finish -Easy to clean and maintain inside and outside -A around fun motor home to own
- John Guntner, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-05-14 2017 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 38RE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The Outlaw 38 RE is very comfortable to live in, lots of storage, very roomy dinette, provided extra prep space while cooking. Pulled a Jeep Grand Cherokee without a problem. Factory warranty was comprehensive, fixed more than i knew about, dealer caused most of the problems i knew about by not doing the pre delivery inspection. When my health improves i would love to have another Outlaw RE.
- Debi Schultz, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-04-20 2017 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37BG View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our 2017 Thor Outlaw in May 2017. We contacted the dealer, MHSRV, and manufacturer, Thor about multiple system failures including the generator, refrigerator, overcab bunk, cameras, and automatic leveling system. We had to wait 2 months for an appointment with the dealership. We delivered our motor home to the dealership on December 16. We got it back 3 months later on March 29. Not only is the refrigerator still not working, the over cab bunk is stuck in an unlevel position, but some time during the 3 months they had it someone spilled fuel on the paint and bubbled it up, and they used an abrasive on the rust on the stainless refrigerator door. Thor has been very happy to tell me that they just put the items in the motor home, they’re not responsible for any warranty. I recommend no one purchase a Thor Outlaw.
- Yondale Mears, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-03-25 2018 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 38RE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I love this RV. The patio is great with outside refrigerator and access to bathroom without having to go in coach is wonderful. We love the new firefly system everything at the touch of a button. The automatic leveling is priceless.
- Debra Neil Blount, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-09-25 2014 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 35SG View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The quality of this coach is non- existent . It would take 3 pages to list all problems, from cabinet fronts falling off cabinet,microwave falling down, electrical problems with outlets, leveling, tv, & not to mention the curtain brackets coming off wall. Roof leak, fuel tank filler leaks. I could go on . They should fire entire quality control team, post this letter on bulletin board.i went out of my way to buy American, when you factory workers can't find a good paying job, I don't care because I'm retired& driving a Honda.
- Doug Cavonis, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-04-28 2017 Thor Motor Coach Outlaw 37RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this 02/13 and have still not had the use of it. Upon delivery, it was filthy, privacy screen was inop., the ramp door would not close, general fit and finish was horrible (two pages of noted problems). We just got it back from the dealer 04/22 and the front entry door is crooked. As of 04/28 no answer on the crooked door. We are taking it camping this weekend, pray for us. I expect better for $160K!
- Guy Moore, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: