Thor Motor Coach Hurricane Reviews on RV Insider (58)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Thor Motor Coach Hurricane RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Margie from Tennessee says:

Thor Motor is a poor quality coach, and I agree with others who have have said they need better quality control. For the most part You don't know abo

Read More (58 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2018 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34P View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Thor Motor is a poor quality coach, and I agree with others who have have said they need better quality control. For the most part You don't know about a coach until you live in it. This coach has been in the shop more than we have used. We keep finding things wrong or things keep failing. Wiper blades, flush pipe leak, step and step motor, remote start for generator not wired correctly, defective cable wiring to TV and control box, inverter and xantrex control box not wired properly. Awning problems, front slide problems, bed that lowers at front of coach not working, front shades have to be replaced, drawer locks not installed properly, panel for front air conditioner had to be replaced. There were other minor issues my husband was able to correct but most of the issues needed to be fixed by a professional. The process is laborious; a properly "Thor certified technician" had to go through each issue and diagnose, then they had to get authorization from Thor, then parts could be ordered, then time had to be reserved--we are talking weeks and probably months. We do like the basic layout of this coach and liked many of the features this coach had that our 15 year-old coach did not have. We bought a new coach because we had decided to RV full time-- we used for one week and we have stayed with our son and family for the past month waiting for this coach to be fixed and we are still waiting. The only authorized company, that could work on this coach is three hours away! We would not recommend anyone buying a Thor coach. Do more research than we did. We expected some issues but not as many or the kind of issues we have experienced. Also, when we did our walk through of the coach, most everything was working-interesting!
- Margie, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-22 2019 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 35M View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought it new from Camping World, had a 29M before and it was too small and only had one air conditioner. We never thought we would need a 1/2 bath, but after owning this one, we would not be without the 1/2 bath especially since it is forward of the bed room slide, when you're traveling it makes it easy accessible...The advantage of having the 2 air "COLEMAN" conditioners (2 at 13500 BTU each) is the ability to cool the Coach down quickly, when you get to your destination (Heater is ducted and 35000 BTU (88 Lbs LP Gas). We like the fact we burn regular gasoline, cheaper fuel and much cheaper on getting it serviced, (only takes about 2 to 3 hours at a cost of about $250). The 35M is 36-1/2 ft long easily accommodated at all campgrounds, has ample storage bins (113 cubic ft) slide out pantry & over head cabinets. 11 Cubic Ft Whirlpool Fridge with ICE MAKER! Oven has never been used...Outside 18 ft automatic awning & slide toppers over the slides. MotorHome has a 10" screen in dash radio with color camera's for rear monitoring and Left and Right sides, navigation package, bluetooth, and Sirrus Radio. MotorHome is wired and plumbed for washer & dryer, and is staged and wired for a Solar Panel on the roof. 3 Television's one 40" and two 32"-- FORD V-10 has 320 HP and 460 FT LB of Torque, the chassis is 22,000 LB, has no swerve at all when highway driving (the 29M was white knuckle)...80 Gallon fuel tank; 2 gray water 79 Gallon; & 2 black water 79 Gallon; 50 Gallon of fresh water. It has a FIREFLY INTEGRATIONS Control panel (systems operate with a wall mounted Ipad) complete with an Auto Generator Ignition for the Onan QG5500 Electric (Gas) Generator; 55 Amp Converter & 1800 Watt Inverter. Lippert Auto Levelers. 5000 MILES on odometer; 175 Engine Hours; 70 Hours on Generator; All Service records available.
- DAVE, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-17 2018 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 31S View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
2018 Model purchased new in May of 2017. Sleeps 7 to 8. We have had 0 major issues with this coach. WRT to minor things ilke bulbs burning out, THOR customer service and factory support is very good under warranty. The countertop in the galley is 7 ft long, extremely rare to find a galley this long in a 32 foot gas Class A. The outdoor fridge, sink, TV, and propane outlet greatly facilitate outdoor living and meal preparation Interior and exterior storage is very good. Placement and access to the hookups is well-designed. WRT the Ford chassis, driving is enhanced with the addition of a rear track bar, steering stabilizer, and replacement of weak OEM shocks. The 31S is a great coach for tailgating, long weekends at state and local parks.
- Mark P, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-14 2016 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 29M View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is an awesome RV. It is reliable, spotless, very roomy, and a joy to use and enjoy. We have had many makes and models over the years, and we can honestly say this is our favorite. We have never had to use the extended warranty or had any problems while owning it. I know if you see it you will feel the same. Watch the 20 minute video on utube with this year, make, and model and you will see the exact MH we have. It truly shows all of the unique features and abundant storage. A gem! Do not pass this one by!!
- Val, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-16 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I really enjoyed my motorhome when either driving or in a park. It was roomy,comfortable,and fun. We got a lot of compliments and was told it was a dependable coach. the parks we went to were very glad to have a coach of our quality. Service was always readily available and reasonable.
- john c., Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-11 2012 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 31J View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Thor hurricane is the worst manufacturing company who rip off the customers without any remorse! They just want to sell their junk to the poor, unsuspecting customers and be done! No after service what so ever! The customers are stuck with it! Third should go out of business! We bought it because it looks nice enough, appearance wise, but once you take it out, then everything starts to break down! AC, jacks, steps, slides, sofa airbed, dinette table, seats flaked off-looks awful and makes a huge mess all over the place-have to replace all! Repair cost is equal to buying whole new rv! Weak House battery-can't support all the electrical features in the rig! So sad that we bought this money guzzler to live the dream of rving all over the country, but now it's just a big burden that takes up a lot of space in the drive way! I think we should file a class action suit against Thor to prevent anymore future victims!!!
- Nancy song, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-08 2018 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 35M View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
It drives fine but have had nothing but electrical problems. Had a water leak in the shower that had to be fixed. The radio and backup camera quit working. The generator interminately starts. Hydraulic Jack's don't always function.drivers window won't open. Bed above the front seats won't operate half the time. Headlights aren't installed right from the factory. Drawers wont shut and latch on 2 drawers. This has about 5500 miles and beautiful inside but not functioning right so not even usable. This all happened after my wife died. Tryed calling the dealer and they would do nothing. Called factory and they said it was up to the dealer. No one will help do anything. So here is an extra nice rv just sitting.
- Glen Schwartz , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-07 2018 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 29M View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
It is our third motorhome and it is the perfect size. Love the full wall slideout. We didn't use the outdoor kitchen as much as we expected to but its a neat feature overall we have really liked the 29M and would highly recommend it
- Bruce Tupper, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-14 2019 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 35M View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Experience is good, we have really enjoyed the A Class Motorhome! The quality was poor to fair, it was one of the first 2019 to roll off assembly in April 2019, we took possession in November, we had a pretty/ugly repair list after the first trip...But, THOR paid for the repairs through a local dealer and all was well! Really impressed with the V10 FORD engine and the 6 speed tranny, and we burn Regular Unleaded Gas. We didn't think we needed the 1/2 bath, but now we would not do without one! The 11 cubic ft Whirlpool HOUSE FRIDGE, with ice maker is GREAT! PLENTY of basement storage. The 10" in dash radio with bluetooth is good, but I would have rather bought my own at Best Buy & had it privately installed...FIREFLY INTEGRATION CONTROL PANEL, is Great, works good, and is simple to operate. The Onan 55 Generator is plenty to run everything even the two rooftop Coleman A/C's! Would I buy it again? Yes for the money, all these 35 and higher length motorhomes are horrible "depreciating asset's" when it comes to losing and spending money$$$$...
- DAVE, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-07 2020 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 33X View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have owned several RV’s and this is the poorest built one we have ever had. It is currently in the shop with approximately 15 items being taken care of. We are full-time RV’ers and it has been in the shop for 5 weeks. We have had to rely on friends for a place to stay, not knowing it was going to take this long. The passenger and driver windows leak, inverter went out, firmware went out, tracks on drawers were poorly installed, duct for heating installed under bench seat poorly installed, bottom of entrance door not flush when shut, lock fell out of one of the storage compartments and others items. We love the unit but are so disappointed in the quality of the workmanship that we are sorry we purchased it, kinda stuck with it. Most of these items weren’t noticeable until after being used, ie firmware, inverter and lock.
- Dennis Gustafson, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-04 2005 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 32R View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Loved it!! Never one issue. Bought it used and only replaced the awning material..was faded. Son upgraded TV and installed back up camera..I had to sell due to cancer but now looking for another..time to enjoy life again..was a 24 ft class C..the quality of the interior and exterior was great..it was just like new. No leaks or separation..I have owned 3 others before the one and 3 pull behind..
- Betty Vargo, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-04 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I wish I could put it out so all America could read it, DO NOT BUY A THOR product. They do not stand behind their product. The seats in our RV have rotted everyone of them and Thor said sorry not our problem. Terrible company
- Tom Botchie , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-09 2012 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34J Bunkhouse View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a good time Rv, room to spare none, privacy, kids love the BUNKS!!! The only issue with this Rv is not enough time. Always a hit at our musical festivals, tailgating, or that favorite park. Drives great, an Rv that's easy ! FRom the electric awning to the super slide area, custom colors inside and out. Graphics are a standout. Special tow bar and even a warranty to go with the unit, bunk over the cab (kids love). Now is the time to buy and enjoy! PLan that long trip, or fall in mountains. Outside dining and entertaining on the Tv,. This Rv always eye-catcher in the park. Feel free to email for more info or pictures! ----------------two 70-nine-nine 3 three 9 one 6
- John Hill, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-27 2018 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 35M View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Thor is our 3rd Class A RV. We are RVing last 15years. The 1st one was Winnebago Sightseer 27ft Gas, 2nd one was Holiday Rambler 40ft Diesel, now we own a Thor 35M 35ft Gas. All 3 of them have and had some type of problems! No matter who is the manufacturer there is No perfect RV. We have been lucky with our 3 different RVs. I love our Thor M35’s floor plan. There are many cabinets space, a bath and a half, full-size king bed, L shaped couch and drives well with surprisingly good gas mileage pulling a car behind 9-11 mph and much more. We have put over 13000 miles in one year! No major problems! So sorry to hear that people who had a bad experience with Thor RV like who bought a lemon product! Remember! Even you buy a $300.000 diesel pusher, you will have some problems! Enjoy RVing!
- Tsuyako Aoyama, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-10 2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34F View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Beautiful coach. It’s about 3 ft larger than what I need. But has everything else that anybody would ever need. I still may rethink the length situation. Price is excellent, Coach is brand new inside and out.
- Mike H, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-05 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34F View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Constant quality issues. Motor on slide did not work from beginning. It has been in the repair shop as much as we camp. When need parts, factory is slow at best. Has been in shop awaiting a part the entire summer. Going with tiffin and Understand they are worlds apart.
- Kim smith, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-08-27 2018 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34P View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
After owning this Hurricane for 11 months, we have accumulated over 160 days in the shop with 17 pages of work orders. I have been in contact with Thor and all they seem to say is we'll get it fixed. Each time we take it out, something else goes wrong. From rear camera not working, which is vital when towing, to delaminating of wall paper, to doors flying open, drawers flying open, ceiling vent burning out numerous times to Blue Ray not properly working and on and on. This is a 5,000 dollar motorhome being sold for 100,000.00. It is so bad Thor won't even buy their own product back. I will never pruchase another RV from Thor. I can get headaches and pain in the butt from my ex wife for free.
- John Baird, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-13 2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34F View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great traveling with a motorhome. Easy to set up at campsite with electric leveling system. Hauled a Honda CRV with ease and was easy to connect and disconnect. Leather captain chairs swivel around for comfort in watching RV. Table goes between chairs for holding drinks or snacks. 3TVs are a dream. outdoor TV is great for outdoor events and just relaxing. Outdoor kitchen is great for grilling and not having to keep going inside for stuff. King bed is very comortable with plenty of storage for clothes.
- Gale Dorr, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-06-04 2012 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 32A View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have had this RV for 5 years. We looked at over 100 coaches while shopping for a new RV. The moment I stepped in this one, I knew this was the one! I loved the size, color, floor plan and storage. The only thing I might have changed was another bathroom sink😉
- Marcia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-05-15 2004 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 33SL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I purchased this RV used from a local dealership where it was traded in by the original owner. It was my first RV and I wanted to bring home something affordable to see if I liked RV'ing. In short, the Hurricane has been the ideal coach for my family and I, and we are now definitely an RV'ing family. The Hurricane has been rock solid and we've taken it on many short and a couple long trips. We recently did 12 nights around the southwest including Zion, Grand Canyon, and Joshua Tree. All the systems have worked flawlessly, and the coach is VERY comfortable. The bedroom is spacious and there are three very large windows, so it feels very open and you can take in the view from outside (which is why you're RV'ing in the first place!). There is a TON of storage, both inside and around the exterior of the coach. Plenty of room for all of your stuff. The kitchen is big and well layed out making cooking a treat. Definitely recommend the Hurricane!
- Adam G., California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-14 2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34F View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Easy to set up when you arrive at site. Automatic jacks are easy to use and make setting up a dream. King bed is very comfortable. Large bedroom has plenty of closet room to store clothes on long trips. Refrigerator has a ice maker when is wonderful in the hot summer. Works really well. Sleeps 6 which makes family trips fun. Out door kitchen makes cooking outside easy and free of running in and out of RV. Direct TV dish on roof makes finding channels a breeze.
- Gale Dorr, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-02-19 2011 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 31G View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great coach for our family of 4. Bunk beds are the best. Drives like a champ and gets good mileage even with a toad behind. I love this coach and I am glad we have it. The product of Thor is great and they stand up to the test
- Adam, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-10-13 2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought it new. Few problems at first but all is well. We pull a 24' racecar trailer with no problem at all the Ford V10 has all the power. Now, the crap - the faux leather on the captain chairs and sofa is coming apart! Flaking all over the place. It is my understanding that Thor will not repair or replace. Very sad the overall motorhome is pretty good but this problem with the faux leather is making me think twice about my next motorhome! Return customer? NO!
- RV Shopper, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-07 2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 29M View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
NIGHTMARE!!!! BUYER BEWARE!!! We are experienced RV'ers wth 12 years of ownership of a Fleetwood Tioga. I wish I didn't get rid of my Fleetwood. We bought a 2017 Thor Hurricane 29M last July. In the 11 months of ownership, the coach has been in the shop for a cumulative of almost 4 months. We have put only about 2,500 miles on it. Our first punch list of items to be corrected had over 40 items. Thor's manufacturing has no process for quality assurance. There is no excuse for the amount of items wrong with our coach. Thor's factory workers are either lazy, don't care or are untrained. It is very unfair to the dealer to expect for them to "finish" the coach. Also, Thor doesn't pay the dealers fairly for the work they do. It is also horrible for Thor to expect the customer to spend so much time without access to the coach due to the time it has to spend at the dealer having repairs. The problems can be boiled down to poor connections, loose connections, crossed connections and general sloppiness. I would NOT buy another Thor coach. Unfortunately, I was told that my experience is not unusual. My Ford dealer told me that he'd never buy a new coach because it takes a year to work out the kinks. A $100,000 investment should NOT cause anxiety and distress like this has. I am extremely concerned about the fundamental quality and safety of my coach. In fact, It looks like they tried to make everything as cheaply as possible. I have no idea how it is going to last. Buying a new coach should be a joyful, happy experience. Once again, we are picking up the coach at the dealer. I pray it is finally right. Every time we have taken it out, we have had to return it to the dealer for more repairs. Many repairs have taken numerous attempts to fix. I am so terribly disappointed. On a positive note, the floor plan is great and the cabinets are beautiful and of good quality. I just wish the rest of the coach had been as nice as the cabinets and floor plan. Sincerely,
- Margaret Tracy, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-05-11 2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 35C View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a very livable floor plan that you can spend a lot of time in. It's also very easy to drive and tow a vehicle. I just love everything about this particular motorhome. Plenty of storage and lots of closet space. Having the second bath sure helps too. Huge dinette and all the necessary kitchen appliances including residential refrigerator with ice maker.
- DALE HARGROVE, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: