Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Thor Motor Coach Hurricane Class A - Gas reviews

3.8
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.4
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.9

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Class A - Gas

Reviews

72 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Margie

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2017-09-26

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34P

View listings

3.6
Thor Motor is a poor quality coach, and I agree with others who have have said they need better quality control. For the most part You don't know about a coach until you live in it. This coach has been in the shop more than we have used. We keep finding things wrong or things keep failing. Wiper blades, flush pipe leak, step and step motor, remote start for generator not wired correctly, defective cable wiring to TV and control box, inverter and xantrex control box not wired properly. Awning problems, front slide problems, bed that lowers at front of coach not working, front shades have to be replaced, drawer locks not installed properly, panel for front air conditioner had to be replaced. There were other minor issues my husband was able to correct but most of the issues needed to be fixed by a professional. The process is laborious; a properly "Thor certified technician" had to go through each issue and diagnose, then they had to get authorization from Thor, then parts could be ordered, then time had to be reserved--we are talking weeks and probably months. We do like the basic layout of this coach and liked many of the features this coach had that our 15 year-old coach did not have. We bought a new coach because we had decided to RV full time-- we used for one week and we have stayed with our son and family for the past month waiting for this coach to be fixed and we are still waiting. The only authorized company, that could work on this coach is three hours away! We would not recommend anyone buying a Thor coach. Do more research than we did. We expected some issues but not as many or the kind of issues we have experienced. Also, when we did our walk through of the coach, most everything was working-interesting!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (80)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rocky Menard

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-11-04

RV reviewed2020 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 35M

View listings

5.0
This a great vehicle. You can camp all year round. It has everything you could want an RV. I really can't find any fault with this RV. It is easy to use and very user friendly. It has been well taken care off with no leaks and plenty of room for at least 6 people or more.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kurtis J. Schmidt

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-10-28

RV reviewed2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E

View listings

2.8
Save yourself an endless amount of grief. DO NOT buy anything made by Thor Motor Coach Industries. They produce junk and their customer service is non existent. Despite my dealer bending over backwards to try to fix the massive problems with this piece of junk he was unable to do so. It was because of the poor quality of the build. Unfortunately the Lemon law does not apply to Motorhomes in the state I live in or they definitely would have had to take this piece of junk back. I rate their quality 0 and Customer service non- existent.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kurtis J. Schmidt

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-10-28

RV reviewed2015 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34E

View listings

2.8
The purchase of this Hurricane by Thor Motor Coach was a nightmare. There were several major issues that were never fixed. 1. The jacks were a problem from the beginning. They never worked in Automatic except for 2 times. 2. The Coach leaked. One time it was so bad I couldn't even drive in it. There was so much water coming in I had to stop. 3. The slide became a problem shortly after the warranty expired. It never did work properly with any consistency after the warranty expired. 4. The "leather" seats started peeling after 3 years. 2 years after the warranty expired. 5. After only 3 years the skin of the exterior started fading. Within 4 years the outside of this Coach looked liked it was 20 years old. The way I understand our Coach was one of the 1st ones built for 2015. Evidently there was some problem with the Clearcoat process with the 1st roll of fiberglass used to make this piece of junk. Both my dealer and myself worked with Thor to try to get some satisfaction with these issues. Basically they just gave us the runaround. They wasted a bunch of our time and did nothing. One might ask why wasn't the dealer able to fix some of the issues. The dealer bent over backwards to try to fix the 1st 3 items listed. Even after the warranty expired they worked on it and didn't charge us for it. The dealer also spent a lot of time trying to get Thor to address the 4th and 5th items listed. I personally spent a fair amount of time trying to get the customer service department to do something to rectify the situation. It was a waste of time. Our dealer, God Bless him, tried to do what he could to fix the problems. The bottom line is that this Coach is a piece of junk. Very poorly manufactured by a company that just doesn't care about what kind of junk they sell. Thor's customer service is non existent. I've recently sold this piece of junk for a very large loss. When I replace it, nothing made by Thor will be considered.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nicole Staunton

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-08-24

RV reviewed2008 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34B

View listings

4.8
We have used our RV regularly and have loved all the adventures we have had! The layout of this model is perfect for a larger family. We have maxed out the sleeping capacity often and it has always felt roomy and comfortable. This camper has only ever needed the regular maintenance, it is durable! It is our home away from home!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-08-24

RV reviewed2008 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34B

View listings

5.0
This RV has been like a family member to us- we have had many a great vacation in the unit with our children! We have traveled all over- everyone has their own space and yet we are all together! Best way to spend quality family time!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Ellison

West Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-07-27

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 29M

View listings

4.8
Really liked this RV. The full wall slide is wonderful. We had to put a steering stablizer and sway bars but after installing them it is great. Grandkids loved the outside kitchen. Could ride bikes and stop outside for a drink.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RE Bogart

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2021-05-07

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 34P

View listings

4.0
Had a lot of RV’s, TT, pop ups. Everything works on ours. Like every RV takes about a year or so to shake everything out of them. Just minor stuff. The leveling jacks a couple of times. Found workarounds on UTube. Water leak near the DC pump. Needed to be tightened down. Exhaust pipe got crunched on a curb, poor design. Our RV mechanic modified it and it works great in new position. Rear camera goes in and out. They use the cheapest electronics in these RV’s so we’ll try and find something better. I’ve been doing this a long time so I carry a lot of spare parts and tools with me. There are a lot of different systems on these RV’s so don’t be afraid to ask for help at the campgrounds from other RV’ers. Lot of things to learn and the instructions are usually pretty worthless. Good luck and enjoy your RV.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Judy

California

Reviewed on 2021-03-29

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 29M

View listings

3.8
We bought our RV in November 2018. My husband was retiring June 2019. This was to be our retirement pleasure to see the country. Big Purchase. We have had many issues, and was in the shop a lot! However, I have to be honest, Thor was awesome, responding quickly with the many issues we experienced. I cried a lot, was just very disappointing. But zthor was their to help, every time. Mike Thompson Santa Fe Spring General Manager, always ready to help. Cares about his customers. Thor head person for customer service, was a wonderful person. He was right there every time. Just a phone call away. Always very pleasant. Made the problems with the RV, a little easier to deal with. Kudos! Mark and Brian 😎
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J Thompson

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-03-06

RV reviewed2014 Thor Motor Coach Hurricane 32A

View listings

4.4
This rv is fantastic. I got mine 40k used with 47k from dealer. Pro RV in Grapevine Tx( highly recommend this dealer they fixed everything wrong with it during the initial inspection free). I put roughly 1000$ making very minor repairs and some minor upgrades( solar, tv, gaming, water heater, caulking on shower, Full Led 5k natural white conversion). With this rv it would be wise to upgrade the suspension on front if you're taking long trips but otherwise its completely manageable. It comes with a relatively small propane tank best to have an electric heater ( no need for fancy one just a small one from walmart works). It tows very well although using the backup camera it doest show on the screen all too well you will want to upgrade that. The audio is ok you can install a set thats better from cartoys that sounds better i choose focal speakers they are the best sounding. Fuel mileage is great even when its loaded with hundreds of pounds of stuff including a loaded trailer. Never had any serious issues just minor issues mostly caused by my mistakes. Its very easy to manuever in tight spaces. I lived in it for roughly 3/4 of a year found it very spacious and accommodating. Its practically sound proof from noise outside. It retains heat inside in cold months very well. The factory seating is very comfortable much like a mercedes gl450. First trip I took it 1750 miles no issues it corners extremely well for an rv. Lots of storage. Bed is comfortable its a tempurpedic.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 8
  • 1 - 10 of 72 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: