Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite RVs Reviews (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these RVs.

Read Reviews

Bonnie R. from Washington says:

We bought this motorhome brand new off the lot from dealerin Burlington, WA. We are on our first trip and as soon as it rained, water poured from arou

Read More (28 reviews)

Have you owned any Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite RVs? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 23H View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this motorhome brand new off the lot from dealerin Burlington, WA. We are on our first trip and as soon as it rained, water poured from around the closed vent near the stove & soaked the floor around the seating area and ran down toward the cab. Finally stopped raining & all was well while it wasn’t raining. Came back into Wash with a downpour and water gushed in from under the seating area only. 5 large swim towels later & it is still coming out. Very disappointed in the quality. Thought Thor would be a good choice. Handles well & everything else is working but this horrible leak has us terrified & the horror stories about Thor warranty work isn’t helping.
- Bonnie R., Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-05-27 2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 30FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Purchased unit new from national dealer at local rv sales center. Poor overall quality. A/C runoff into living area. Shades/blinds string breaks (two windows, one happened twice). House battery does not hold a charge. Gauges for grey and black tanks never show actual. When empty, they show 3/4 full. LP gauge only shows 3/4 or less. Interior fit and finish haphazard. Back up camera view difficult to make out when backing in shadows. Replaced "queen" bed mattress for comfort reasons. Aexerra radio/cd/carplay unit difficult to adjust. TV in one of the bunk beds went out in first year. Drawers in kitchen under sink and under fridge do not stay closed. Service department at rv dealer has "fixed" the drawers twice and one still does not stay closed. Sliding door between bunk beds and queen bed came open during driving. When it came open, it came off the track. Was repaired three times. Finally service dept put retainer strap to hold it in closed position. Still not totally usable as now will not open all the way to block off the bed area. Owners manual is generic and most info does not apply to the unit. Service dept does not return calls. Had to get corporate involved for the dealer service dept to call me back. Good: Ford makes an excellent drive train.
- Thisuldo, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-05-21 2016 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 29FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this new from the dealer. The 1st day we returned it with a list of over 10 items. In the 1st year we had replaced under warranty: water pump, DVD player, microwave, stove (2), and the mattress (2).They repaired both the cab and the RV air conditioner. Screw heads broke off. After visiting the dealer several times, we had to travel to Elkhart to have the manufacturer fix more things. All the so-called beds are uncomfortable. The cab is noisy. The TV can't be used when it is raining since the sound is poor. No storage for silverware other than the oven. The shower goes to the black tank instead of the gray tank. Overall poor design and extremely poor quality.
- Cindy Belt, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-05-08 2016 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 29FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great family RV . On board generator is great to have. Having a electric awning is great Very easy unit to drive. This RV will sleep 4-6 people comfortably. Ready for some summer adventures? Hit the road with turn key RV and have some summer fun!
- ron, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-05-03 2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 22FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This motorhome is very easy to drive. Handles well on the highway and on country back roads. The freezer will even keep ice cream solid which wasn't recommended by the manufacturer. We were surprised. Beds are very comfortable and it is so enjoyable to sit outside under the awning. Bathroom and shower a good size even for large people like us. Plenty of storage space for clothes, kitchen supplies and food. Also has a hitch to attach to tow a vehicle.
- Linda, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-29 2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 22FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Let's start with the dining area. Most uncomfortable of 3 motorhomes I've owned. Headliner over driver coming down. TV is not a Smart TV, stereo is terrible very tinny sound, more like monotone, first backup camera didnt work, second visual is also terrible. Sealed section on the external are starting to swell. This is barely a year old. Driveability good, mpg 9.5-10 at 65mph. Pilot goes out continuously on water and fridge. Need to fidget with stove so it lights. Luann paneling inside Chips when serviced. Not happy at all.
- John F Hamilton, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-16 2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 22FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I purchased this 2018 Thor class c I'm very disappointed when I turn the air conditioner I get all kinds of sawdust all over my bed and thru out the cabin,and after a year it conrinues. I have to tape a garbage bag over the vent when I drive. also there is all kinds of drips from the sealant in the bathroom in the shower dripping down the Walls.the putty in the si k is peeling off. Also there are issues with the blinds, none of them are straight no matter what I do I can't get them to be even.the vents are uneven. The tv is poor and the VCR does not work right . The campers is very noisy .I am very disappointed that the workmanship of this camper is very shoddy for the price that I paid I would never buy this one again.
- Vicki McCaulley , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-03-08 2014 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 23U View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a great RV with less than Eleven (11) thousands miles. Six person can sleep. Full shower, Generator has less than 200 hours, can be started from inside. All accessories are new. It runs excellent, specially long distance.
- Mita, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-02-02 2016 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 29FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought this coach brand new. We have had one problem after another. First the outside tv would not work. Replaced by dealer. Next was draining coach battery. Was at dealer repair for almost 2 months. Finally they traced the problem. Back to dealer because the ball bearing fell out of two of the drawer tracks. The moulding in the bedroom above rear window fell off. Now have an appt at dealership because the overhead is separating from the cab on the drivers side. There is a two month waiting list to get it fixed. Mean while we cannot drive the coach as air comes in the gap. This coach is literally falling apart and is total garbage!! What a disappointment!
- pamela Goodman, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-15 2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 29FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a very nice rv. We replaced the mattress. I don't like that the mirrors are not electric. It's a pain to change them for each driver. [Name] was very nice and did a great job. It rides and drives very well. We took it to the East coast, through the mountains, and it handled them very well. We pulled a car on a tow dolly, we did not have any problems with that.
- Carrie Magnusson, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-12-08 2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 24FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I will start with what is good about this RV. The layout is great. Also the price point to get into a Mercedes diesel was our real attraction to this product. Now the bad and there's a lot. First trip transmission stopped working because someone in the thor factory had sliced through a wiring harness during the conversion. Lost two days of our trip and had to pay for repair upfront then fight with Thor to get reimbursed. We did two months later. Now at the 8 month mark the roof is leaking and dealership says we need complete reseal $1500 and not under warranty. I have never owned anything with such poor workmanship and lack of coverage for defects. Will never buy this brand again and plan to sell this one as soon as repairs are made. Good luck to the new owners.
- Michlele L Shabany, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-11-25 2012 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 26E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Best RV we have driven and camped in. Very easy to back-up in those back in sites. Get pulling a vehicle hardly know you are pulling. Having a full queen with separate toilet and shower is a great feature for smaller class C. If you are looking to travel USA & Canada you should really consider doing it with this style. You are going to love it and so will your better half. Happy Camping.
- Phil Mahannah, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner

2018-10-09 2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 30FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I bought this RV from [Dealer], Georgetown Ky, new. When I got it home and let out the slides on a rainy day I noticed water coming in in the bedroom, the electrical outlets worked on the left side but not the right side, craftsmanship inside of the coach is really unsatisfactory, staples are exposed all over, large spaces in jointing wood work are so very visible, staples were used to pin stickers on the vinyl and when they removed the stickers left visible holes, shower retractable curtain falls apart with rods breaking and falling on the floor, some drawers do not have the locks on them and when driving come open, dinette booth is flimsy back keeps moving.
- Eugene Collett, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-07-10 2015 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 28H View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The 28H is an excellent unit. Since we bought it it has out performed the last two motor homes we owned. It is spacious and works well for a family. Love the LED lights and electric awning. The storage capacity is amazing it has held everything we have needed for boating and all of our Atv equipment.
- Perry Martin , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-07-07 2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 28FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We are first time RV owners on our first trip the mud flaps fell off also the shower rod for the door also fell off. This year on our trip the hot water board went out while on the road since we had a deadline we could not wait for 2 days in Iowa for warranty approval so we had to pay for the repair out of pocket the board that the facility replaced it with was a used test board we were told that it should last for our trip duration but we should contact thor for areplacment. When I contacted thor and told them about the problem their answer was so what do you want us to do. I ask them to cover the warranty and replace the board they stated that they would not cover it.T his will be the last thor product I will ever buy next time I will shop other brands. My advice is to stay away from THOR if you want quality and good customer service.
- James Williamson, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-07-06 2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 28FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Hot water board went out while on the road it is under warranty had to pay repair out of pocket thor refuses to make good on warranty. First one I ever had will not purchase another when ready to trade in.
- James Williamson, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-26 2012 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 26BE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Comfortable main bed. New tires. Large storage in back. Very Clean inside and outside. Nice layout and size for a family of 6 or 4 adults and 2 kids. Nice coloring inside of dark cherry looking cabinets and black.
- Lisa , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-24 2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 22FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have only owned our 2018 Thor 22fe for about 6 months. To date we have had the radio/back up camera go out twice. The water heater quit heating water, 2 drawers have fallen off in my hand with nothing in them, the dinette table and mount had to be replaced and the right side bench for the dinette had to be squared up so the table could be made into a bed without breaking. The tires were very under inflated at the time of delivery (50 lbs). There was a leak in the water line under the bathroom faucet. There have been many squeaks and rattles we have dealt with as well. Overall quality of materials and attention to quality overall are very lacking. Very pleased with the (Ford) part of the unit. Good power and gas mileage.
- Gerry Riffle, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-12-12 2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 22FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased out first motorhome Sept2017 and the workmanship on our Freedom Elite is appalling - list as follows: 1) bathroom corner vanity has 1/2" gap at wall; 2)closet opening appears to have been cut out by a kid with a jigsaw and no pattern; 3)lights and speakers above bed headboard installed at random by same kid; 4}kitchen hot/cold water reversed; 5)roof vent jammed into housing at odd angle; 6)wiring to generator under vehicle not sealed with grommet allowing water to enter generator electrical control box. AND on our first trip, hot water heater quit working. Avoid THOR if your at looking.
- Arne Melson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-11-17 2016 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 23H View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I am having major problem with the quality of workmanship with my RV. The microwave fell,out twice, the wall next to the refrigerator split and now has a 3 inch gap. Many more issues they won't fix. Thor originally promised to fix everything but is now backing out. If you have had similar problems, please contact me asap. I spent way too much money on a new unit to have it fall apart. I have have heard that many folk have issues. This should not happen!
- Patty Guist, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-10-04 2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 26HE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased Freedom Elite Last year around this time. This was what we hoped to be the start of a great and adventurous future for the family, however we were sold a lemon. I can’t place all the blame on Thor. The salesman in Draper, UT was a viper in sheep’s clothing. This camper is a true lemon – a lemon we can’t make lemonade out of. The engine and several other systems have gone out, the cabinet veneer has come off, door knobs have fallen off, the backup / rear view camera has gone out as well as several fuses and the radio. The list goes on and on… It has spent more time in the worthless garage at the dealership and at a Ford dealership than we have been able to use it. It is now back in again for heaven knows what. Dealer won't do anything. I implore Thor – do the right thing: trade us out a good camper for this lemon we purchased!!! Or at the very least buy it back!! We hate it!
- Brian L Pratt, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-07-29 2016 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 23H View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
WARNING! Watch out for any rv that is manufactured from the mean Vikinging "thor" who hassled you even though your RV is under warranty. Get ready this is a long story.We brought this unit December of last year to take with us on mission trips to spread the Good News of the Kingdom of GOD to the places God revealed to us: Valparasio,FL New Orleans,LA Birmingham,AL Montgomery,AL Roberstadale,AL Calera,AL and Dothan,Alabama and in each of these cities we traveled to we could'nt focus to do missions work without runing into CHEAP,RUDE,NASTY, KKK KLAN Behaviour type of people and inexperienced amateurs that are supposed to fix your problems but instead make it worse for example: we were driving through the rain in Robertsdale,AL when we saw a pool of water that was everywhere so much that a baby duck could swim in the puddle! We had to use most of our: clotes, blankets, and towels to absorb the water.The next day we made an appointment for the dealer to fix the leak first thing they asked us where did you buy it from ? After we fought them off to have the leak on the left wall sealed,they did a sloppy joe job on it.Because on our way heading to Dothan,AL NOW BOTH THE LEFT AND RIGHT WALL WERE GUSHING IN WATER! Next,we CALLED someone from Thor corporate they sent Jeff Cox to "seal" the leaks he just spayed a can of foam and the leak STILL persisted.Afterward we had to take a trip to the dealer where we originally bought it from to have it fixed no more leaks from the floor but now then the back bedroom window water gushed in when it rains we had to get some supplies to fix that ourselves at a LOWE'S hardware store. Now the problems were having now is drawer won't close,the generator fumes get in the unit,and the chasiss floor gets so hot we went to three RV fords dealerships to have it fixed and they did'nt do anything they Just took a look at it and sent us home. They just don't build rv's like they used to no more.So the best thing to do is PUSUE THE LEMON LAW FOR RV'S FOLKS!
- Kingdom Focus Institute, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-16 2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 22FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Our RV was amazing. It functions very well and is very easy to drive. On rough roads we only had a few rattles. The floor plan works perfectly for three people. The cupboards are well built as is the refrigerator.
- Keith Ames, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-16 2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite Freedom Elite 22E View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Our RV was amazing. It functions very well and is very easy to drive. On rough roads we only had a few rattles. The floor plan works perfectly for three people. The cupboards are well built as is the refrigerator.
- Keith Ames, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-17 2017 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 30FE View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Livability and layout are what we wanted. Tows good but we only have a small utility trailer. Quality and craftsmanship from the factory is sub par. Sealed over extra screws on the roof because it's harder to just pick them up. Found numerous screws with the head broken off. Over tightened/torqued. Ton of spare screws left from the build laying in nooks and crannies. Paint/decal has blistered from water intrusion in a spot. Called the Thor warranty department. Told "Tony" I had to fix one spot on the roof because the sealant covering it blistered. That's because they sealed over an extra screw laying on its side. He told me "great; you need to take pride in ownership" What an insult. Need to put out a better product first. Last Thor brand I will ever buy. Wish I could post pictures of the ridiculousness.
- Jack, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: