Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Thor Motor Coach Class C reviews

3.4
Write a review
Liveability
3.8
Overall quality
2.8
Floorplan
4.1
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.6

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Class C

Reviews

408 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dave Akins

New York

Reviewed on 2019-02-12

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Compass 23TR

View listings

4.2
I've read a number of negative reviews about the Compass. Some have been constructive and helpful, and some have simply been vindictive. Now, I'm throwing my counter point into this ring, with a different perspective about the Compass and about RV ownership. On the Ford side of this equation, our Compass has been a home run. We love the Transit's smooth ride and the diesel's power and breaking when driving through the mountains. Fuel economy has been in the 13-14 mpg range consistently. It's a breeze to park, the transmission in manual mode is very helpful down steep inclines, the AC easily handles the nastiest summer heat and our bony asymmetrical senior citizen rears are not fatigued after hours of driving in it. We've had No issues, whatsoever. On the Thor side, it's also been very good and the rig is precisely what I expected it to be. I've owned several trailers and boats and I've scratch built and restored more than a few, so I understand how these things are built and why they are affordable for the average guy or gal to buy, and I haven't had one negative surprise yet with the Compass. Yes, I've zip tied wire harnesses under the coach, fixed a mud flap issue, re-set a few of the cabinet doors and tightened up 50 screws. Yes, I've removed ceiling AC vents and vac'd out the Styrofoam particles, I've traced a screwy ckt to a defective fuse block holder, and I've replaced an HDMI cable that was badly routed under the chassis by the factory. When I've called Thor, they have been responsive and accurate. > It's no big deal < That's a good attitude to have when you own any RV because it's a bucket of bolts that moves in formation down the highway, and sooner or later you're going to need a tool kit and a book to find the loose ones. Or plan on writing checks. I didn't pay six figures for it and I didn't expect it to be flawless, nor do I drive back to the dealer every time it squeaks. If you're looking to buy a RV, then by all means do your homework and download a check list and plan on spending a half-day or more inspecting it. But also be realistic about how these things are made and priced affordably and be prepared to do some basic maintenance on it. Try to keep your high expectations in check, and just learn to enjoy the work as part of the whole RV "thing". You might as well, because you won't escape it. The rest of my efforts on our Compass have been focused entirely on making fun improvements to it and tricking it out with electronics, communications gear and making some of its systems easier to work with. Right now I'm building a custom cargo carrier with 18 sq' of stowage and a slide out BBQ grill. Then I'm doing a makeover for better hose storage with faster hook ups. So I'm really quite satisfied with my informed purchase. It's a helluva a lot of fun, it's very reliable, it's affordable, we get compliments on it everywhere we go, it allows us to spend more time together and it all performs quite well. And that's what this is all about, getting out, enjoying a slice of life and getting home safely.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (271)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michelle Nieto

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-12-04

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 22FE

View listings

4.4
Love this little RV- has everything you could want. It’s simple easy to use for a first time RV owner such as my self. The size is perfect easy to get in and out of places. Full kitchen with 3 different sleeping options and the storage is great!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Danny Andrew

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-12-02

RV reviewed2019 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 28FE

View listings

3.4
Bought new at Camping World in Alcoa, TN. Hot water heater never worked right after 3 fixes. Interior wall panels came lose. Floor has a stain that will not come off. Sink drain will not drain. Cold/ warm air comes in around rear slide out. Rain water leaks in around rear slide out. Wanders when highway driving . Gets about 8mpg . TV antenna blew off . Sales people were superior. Service non existent. Took to Buddy Gregg RV and they fixed most that I could not do. Stain still there. Be prepared to address issues if you buy a Thor.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Dudash

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-29

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter 24SA

View listings

3.2
We purchased our Thor Citation in 2019. We're the third owners and the coach only had 10K miles on it when we bought it from the second owner. It now has 40K on it, after two years. To begin with,we rented an RV in Alaska before buying our first RV, this Citation. We knew what we wanted and what we didn't want and we knew how and when we planned to use it. These questions are key to getting the best RV for your needs. Our intention was to have an RV that had relatively good fuel economy; CHECK. We wanted an RV that was small and easy to maneuver: CHECK. We wanted an RV small enough and NARROW ENOUGH to easily park on city streets and in parking lots; CHECK. We wanted a Class-C so we would have the car like convenience of a door on each side where we sit; CHECK. We wanted to be able to drive in the mountains and look up and see what was on the surrounding hills and not be driving "in a carport";CHECK. We wanted an RV that would be able to pull into a rest stop off of the freeway and allow us to use our bathroom and get in bed without having much setup or a NEED to use a slide-out; CHECK! And we didn't know it at the time but we also needed and are delighted to have amazing amounts of storage that can be accessed from OUTSIDE of the coach. I can get two E-Bikes in the space under our bed, through the exterior door, just by taking their front tires off. And we haven't even BEGUN to talk about the other huge storage compartments. I learned later that Thor is the "King of Storage" and we just lucked out in finding this unit. Now for the BAD; The Mercedes Sprinter interior is horrible. I mean, it's only had five years of use and the simple, no frills, mechanical everything and no electric controls seats are coming apart. The Trip Odometer, and there is only ONE of those, shares space with the reading for the temperature or cruise control setting. To see the trip, disengage the cruise??? The electric door lock control, and there is ONLY ONE of those, is not on each door but in the center of the dash???? The turn signal arm is an inch below a similar ARM for setting the cruise control???? "German Engineering" excellence; What a joke. It's 3.0 Turbo Diesel engine has "adequate" power and is able to maintain highway speeds in the mountains without too much problem BUT it really needs another gear between second and third. AGAIN; "German Engineering" is a joke. As for the build quality, I'm a hands-on guy, and you better be one also. Not just for Thor but for ALL RV's. Read the forums. One guy had a tag line that said it best; "Nothing works on an RV but the owner".... LOL OK; It's not THAT bad but so far I discovered: 1. The black water tank valve became jammed with a plastic disk that was undoubtedly dropped in the tank and left there during tank plumbing assembly. Easy fix with a bent coat hangar and a tug on the plastic to remove it. 2. The DVD player didn't work because they left the "Remove this screw before installation" screw installed! Easy fix. 3. The shower seeped water from the cold water valve because they LEFT THE O'RING OFF during assembly. Just for grins, I took a picture down inside the wall and there it was; right where the Thor assembly buffoon dropped it and left it. 4. The cabinets ARE cheaply made and DO need beefing up; Especially the bottom panels. But I have a friend who bought a brand new RV of a different brand and he's rebuilding all of his cabinets for the same reasons. All in all, it was the design that mattered most to us and we are more than satisfied with our 2017 Thor Citation-24SA.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Diane House/Apartment Placinto

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-11-14

RV reviewed2020 Thor Motor Coach Quantum SE31

View listings

4.8
This motorhome is a pleasure to drive and live in. Extremely well designed, and comfortable. Loaded with storage inside and out. Reliable and problem free. Great quality furniture, cabinets, bedding, appliances.Love the full wall slide, and two big screen tvs.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Chilton

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-09

RV reviewed2016 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 29G Ford

View listings

3.6
The 29G is a good vehicle. We've been across the country three times in ours and its been overall a comfortable drive. Sidewinds will push it around and I'll pull over rather than fight it if it's getting pushed too much. If you're very sensitive to fuel cost, you shouldn't consider any Class A or C vehicles ... fuel stops will be traumatic. Everything seems to work well in terms of the galley, electrical, plumbing and slide outs. There is good closet and drawer storage but the lower drawers are not accessable unless the rear slide is extended. I have five gripes: The rear of the vehicle extends 'way out past the rear wheels and drags on most driveways ... steep ones you won't make it up ... probably common with most 29 footers. The jack clearance requires a very cautious approach to speed bumps ... it'll land hard on them if you're going too fast. The plastic trim strip over the passender cab door has shrunk and pulled away from it's mounting channel. It's too short to return it to it's place. The tranmission wants to down-shift a long time before it needs to when you're on a rise and often drops down a couple of gears. It makes the cruise control pretty useless unless you're on a level road. Probably a Ford issue.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RENE TAGGART

Iowa

Reviewed on 2021-11-09

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Freedom Elite 24HE

View listings

4.0
We traveled to Oregon, Colorado, Arizona, and South Dakota and had a great time in this RV. We hope someone else will enjoy this RV as much as we have! We updated the covers to cherry wood for the stove and kitchen sink and it looks great.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

AJ

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-11-09

RV reviewed2015 Thor Motor Coach Majestic 23A

View listings

5.0
This is a wonderfully well maintained RV; a workhorse engine and coach. Always reliable and fun. This RV handles the road expertly, is comfortable with many additional accessories. It's weatherproof and functional. It's been a wonderful adventure.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

E

Ontario

Reviewed on 2021-11-06

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Four Winds 31W

View listings

1.2
Hi, today me and my wife are in the market to look and buy class C or trailer, but today nov 6-2021 12.30 afternoon went in to reception to ask about value of the class C instead she told me to wear a mask which I did not have at the time, then I saw 2 salesman to the left when you first walk 2 salesman talking and had no masks on so my point is all she cared about was the mask no other effort to help out and I said to her no mask so I just walked out, will take my business to another RV DEALER.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Klara Varkoly

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-11-01

RV reviewed2015 Thor Motor Coach Majestic 28A

View listings

4.0
Ideal RV for starting using RV. All equipment is maybe basic but really robust. Huge storage space. Easy to drive; Engine has enough power, even when pulling a trailer with Can-Am. Almost no maintenance required. Would be perfect with a slide
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 41
  • 1 - 10 of 408 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: