Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
4.9
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.8
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Guy Halligan

Colorado

Reviewed on 2019-01-20

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter 24SS

View listings

2.6
We were sold a new 2018 citation. We had it 2 weeks and discovered the following problems: hot water heater, stove, furnace, slide, holding tanks nd numerous other defects. Camping world has had it for 5 months and still not fixed!!! No communication from Thor or [Dealer]. Stay clear of this brand and [Dealer]
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (30)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wallace B

California

Reviewed on 2022-01-18

RV reviewed2015 Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter 24SR

View listings

4.6
Love the mileage and the comfortable ride! Interior is attractive and conveniently arranged. Great storage inside and out--even can stow my mobility scooter (in four parts) in the outside bays and still have room for folding chairs, a table, a rug, and tools! The only downside for us is that the step to the bedroom and the step to get into bed have become difficult to negotiate as my handicap has gotten worse. Have had it for four years and have had no problems other than the steps, which wouldn't bother someone who doesn't have mobilty issues--no need for repairs or contact with factory support.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Dudash

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-29

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter 24SA

View listings

3.2
We purchased our Thor Citation in 2019. We're the third owners and the coach only had 10K miles on it when we bought it from the second owner. It now has 40K on it, after two years. To begin with,we rented an RV in Alaska before buying our first RV, this Citation. We knew what we wanted and what we didn't want and we knew how and when we planned to use it. These questions are key to getting the best RV for your needs. Our intention was to have an RV that had relatively good fuel economy; CHECK. We wanted an RV that was small and easy to maneuver: CHECK. We wanted an RV small enough and NARROW ENOUGH to easily park on city streets and in parking lots; CHECK. We wanted a Class-C so we would have the car like convenience of a door on each side where we sit; CHECK. We wanted to be able to drive in the mountains and look up and see what was on the surrounding hills and not be driving "in a carport";CHECK. We wanted an RV that would be able to pull into a rest stop off of the freeway and allow us to use our bathroom and get in bed without having much setup or a NEED to use a slide-out; CHECK! And we didn't know it at the time but we also needed and are delighted to have amazing amounts of storage that can be accessed from OUTSIDE of the coach. I can get two E-Bikes in the space under our bed, through the exterior door, just by taking their front tires off. And we haven't even BEGUN to talk about the other huge storage compartments. I learned later that Thor is the "King of Storage" and we just lucked out in finding this unit. Now for the BAD; The Mercedes Sprinter interior is horrible. I mean, it's only had five years of use and the simple, no frills, mechanical everything and no electric controls seats are coming apart. The Trip Odometer, and there is only ONE of those, shares space with the reading for the temperature or cruise control setting. To see the trip, disengage the cruise??? The electric door lock control, and there is ONLY ONE of those, is not on each door but in the center of the dash???? The turn signal arm is an inch below a similar ARM for setting the cruise control???? "German Engineering" excellence; What a joke. It's 3.0 Turbo Diesel engine has "adequate" power and is able to maintain highway speeds in the mountains without too much problem BUT it really needs another gear between second and third. AGAIN; "German Engineering" is a joke. As for the build quality, I'm a hands-on guy, and you better be one also. Not just for Thor but for ALL RV's. Read the forums. One guy had a tag line that said it best; "Nothing works on an RV but the owner".... LOL OK; It's not THAT bad but so far I discovered: 1. The black water tank valve became jammed with a plastic disk that was undoubtedly dropped in the tank and left there during tank plumbing assembly. Easy fix with a bent coat hangar and a tug on the plastic to remove it. 2. The DVD player didn't work because they left the "Remove this screw before installation" screw installed! Easy fix. 3. The shower seeped water from the cold water valve because they LEFT THE O'RING OFF during assembly. Just for grins, I took a picture down inside the wall and there it was; right where the Thor assembly buffoon dropped it and left it. 4. The cabinets ARE cheaply made and DO need beefing up; Especially the bottom panels. But I have a friend who bought a brand new RV of a different brand and he's rebuilding all of his cabinets for the same reasons. All in all, it was the design that mattered most to us and we are more than satisfied with our 2017 Thor Citation-24SA.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Doyle

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-06-18

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter 24SS

View listings

2.8
About 3000 miles on it. Step is not working. In Galveston Tx now and it has very little insulation. Air Cond. has to run all time. Generator is going iut. It produces approx 30 amps new, but is throwing breakers at less than 20. Tank gauges dont work correctly. It is very noisy driving. You have to speak very loud to talk to other front seat passenger. The engine is a V6 and it skows going up hills. ROMs run very high cruising at 75 moh. Around 300-3200 rpm. But it looks sharp and fun to drive.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D Bertsch

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-02-21

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter 24SS

View listings

4.2
We absolutely love the layout and drive ability of this model. We are a mid60’s couple, but half of the use is our mid30’s daughter, SIL, and their 3 young kids (custom mods to switch one side if dinette for 3P seat with shoulder belts/headrests, but still function as bed at night time. BE AWARE that the unit’s GVWR less it’s actual weight means you have to be very judicious with occupant and cargo load (ROCC). We help that by carrying 1/3 load of fresh water. We have also reduced some weight by taking out 2 of the 3 TVs, taking off the SS wheel covers (they’re going to fly off in time anyway), and packing light as possible. The GCVWR along with the 5,000lb hitch rating allows us to pull a ‘08 Honda CR-V (~3,500lb) as a toad around half the time. We’ve driven this combo from Canadian Rocky Mountains, Wash/Oreg/Calif coast, and the Mercedes V6 diesel manages even the mountain passes just fine. Measured economy averages 16 MP(imperial)G while towing, averaging 110 km/hr. 35,000 km on unit now, and SO happy with the basic unit. The elephant in the room though is the poor Thor build quality. We bought new, and our dealer experience was good, but their warranty would only fix issues to Thor OEM quality, which is poor. Issues included thin poorly-fitted bottoms falling out of drawers, flimsy latches for keeping drawers closed, flimsy mirror panel on vanity, shoddy under-unit wiring dangling haphazardly, loose rear inner fender liners, and several other issues that mean even a brand new unit warrants a careful going-over to make necessary improvements before hitting the road. Comparing experiences with other Thor Citation/Siesta owners on the road seems consistent. The Mercedes machine and the compact C-class concept are unbeatable, but the Thor execution comes across as needing improvement.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Herman

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-08-06

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter 24SV

View listings

4.2
Down sized from a 32 foot Holiday Rambler Trip to which I had down sized From 41’ Beaver. Used the rig for shorter stays but was very comfortable. Dealer support was questionable and Thor was just OK. Tow a 2018 Sonic which it handles very well. Haven’t been able take any extended trips because of health issues which is the reason for such low mileage. Very disappointed because we had looked forward to that. Quality seems good have not put enough miles on it like the previous coaches to really find out. Would be a good rig for beginners or down sizers. Quick and easy set up.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Copeland

West Virginia

Reviewed on 2020-07-30

RV reviewed2016 Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter 24SR

View listings

4.6
Very nice wonderful ride and handling. Fuel mileage is 17 to 24 has diesel engine.The inside is well designed.The only con is the shower is small.This has generator which is nice if you are not near electric.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Vincent Occhipinti

Illinois

Reviewed on 2020-04-29

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Citation Sprinter 24SJ

View listings

4.6
I bought this vehicle mainly to get into the National Parks, It's perfect for getting into smaller sites, National Parks, County Parks, and State Parks. I love the Sprinter Chassis, the way it handles and the fuel milage (17.8 MPG on the road without a toad, and 14.4 with a 3400 LB toad. I am selling because we are not going to be visiting the National Parks, getting too old to do the trails, I'll be looking for something a little bigger, and we will slow down a bit. The only downside is being a corner bed it is a little difficult to make the bed.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province