Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Thor Motor Coach Chateau reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
4.0
Overall quality
3.3
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.7

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

72 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Russ o'Neal

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2017-02-24

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W

View listings

2.2
We decided to sell our 15 year old 33 ft Jayco Designer traver trailer, which we never had a problem with, and move up to a class C RV. We should have kept the Jayco. I have zero issues the the Ford 450 chassis. I have many issues with the part Thor is responsible for. Poor workmanship, engineering and quality. The electrical is a night mirror. Wire running every were inside and underneath. Excess wire is bundled up and ty warped to the chassis. The Seiki TVs are terrible. They won't accept any RV park cable signals. Called Thor and they told me that's the way the TVs are made, you need a cable box to convert the signal. We have been on the road two months and one of the TV has alread quit working. We have had water leaks under the shower. I fixed that. The radio in the bedroom is broke, the radio and back up monitor up front is intermittent, Works when to feels like it. Cold air leaks in around the entrance door. The door is warped. The latch isn't aligned properly making the door hard to open and close. This is also why the door is warped. I tried to adjust it, but no adjustment is possible. The water check valve between the pump and fresh water tank leaks, causing the pump to cycle every few minutes. It also causes the fresh water tank to over fill when hooked up to city water. I would not recommend a Thor RV to an enemy. If you are considering purchasing an RV do your self a favor and stay away from Thor!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (75)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Chilton

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-09

RV reviewed2016 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 29G Ford

View listings

3.6
The 29G is a good vehicle. We've been across the country three times in ours and its been overall a comfortable drive. Sidewinds will push it around and I'll pull over rather than fight it if it's getting pushed too much. If you're very sensitive to fuel cost, you shouldn't consider any Class A or C vehicles ... fuel stops will be traumatic. Everything seems to work well in terms of the galley, electrical, plumbing and slide outs. There is good closet and drawer storage but the lower drawers are not accessable unless the rear slide is extended. I have five gripes: The rear of the vehicle extends 'way out past the rear wheels and drags on most driveways ... steep ones you won't make it up ... probably common with most 29 footers. The jack clearance requires a very cautious approach to speed bumps ... it'll land hard on them if you're going too fast. The plastic trim strip over the passender cab door has shrunk and pulled away from it's mounting channel. It's too short to return it to it's place. The tranmission wants to down-shift a long time before it needs to when you're on a rise and often drops down a couple of gears. It makes the cruise control pretty useless unless you're on a level road. Probably a Ford issue.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jennifer Kunes

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-10-25

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 25V

View listings

2.8
Bought my 2021 Chateau in August 2020 and from the get go it was obvious that there was little oversight for quality on this thing. Positives - I love the overall interior of the unit in regard to the layout, twins to king bed, kitchen and overall storage. It's easy to drive and maneuver. Have had lots of fun adventures. Negatives - where do I start...once Thor and LaMesa RV (Phoenix AND Mesa) has your money they are less than helpful for repairs, warrantable items or really anything you might need help with. La Mesa RV loves to put the blame on Thor (who IS also to blame but they are the ones selling the sub-par RVs and they know they aren't quality units). In the first year my brand new RV sat on the lot waiting for repairs for almost 3 months (even when parts were in). If you schedule an appointment for repairs expect to not have access to your RV for 2 to 3 weeks each time you take it in. You'll get lots of excuses and not much action. After 8,000 miles my transmission had to be completely replaced (after months of Ford and La Mesa RV bouncing me back and forth between them over who was to blame for high pitched squealing when I took foot off accelerator at 55 mph). My generator didn't work after 6 months and had to replace the fuel pump to it which was not functioning (found this out a week or so after warranty was up) Constant water issues and leaks - my water pump goes off often when no water is running. Have had it in for repairs 2 times for this and have a new leak somewhere now. Shower surround has been separated (and bubbled) from the wall since I bought it, even with 3 attempts to fix. Was told once the RV was in more humid conditions it would fix itself - it didn't after I spent 3 months in humid Ohio. Exterior paint peeling and bubbling in various spots Severely warped wardrobe door. Mirror cracked on it after a month due to the warped door vibrating and not staying latched. Took 3 visits to have it fixed. Bathroom sink and stopper rusted after two months. Rust rubbed out by RV tech and after 6 months it was rusty again. Series of wires hanging inches from the road under the unit (protective cover was dried out and cracked off so bare wires exposed). Wood panel next to fuse panel split in half. Majority of screws are stripped on latches and cabinetry. Even if I wanted to simply replace a latch that has failed (have had multiple) I can't because the screws are stripped and won't come out. Rest assured, if you buy this unit you will experience lots of excuses, shifting of blame for the many items that will go wrong, and unanswered emails and correspondence. Although I do love the RV because I've been able to go on a lot of adventures I question if those adventures have been worth the hassle of owning this unit. Buyer Beware - Thor (and La Mesa RV in AZ) don't care about the customer once they have their money.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Steffen

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-09-29

RV reviewed2020 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 28Z

View listings

5.0
Pros: Loved layout, comfortable bed. Ovely hanging lockers and drawers.Big refrigerator. Shower was good size, tons of storage everywhere. Great visibility driving. Cons: Stove cooked a bit hot and fire alarm would go off. Passenger seat a bit cramped.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marc

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-08-29

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 29G

View listings

4.6
One of our dreams was to spend the early years of our retirement enjoying the National Parks and an RV always seemed like the best way to go. Since this was our first RV we wanted to get one that was easy to handle and it had to be around 30ft so we could get around and stay in the parks wherever possible. We found this used 2017 Thor Chateau that had the features we both wanted, the full kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom with queen bed and nice size wardrobe for her; and an outdoor kitchen, auto levelers and easy site setup that comes with this fully configured Class C for me. Since it was used I ran into some small maintenance issues such as 2 bad chassis circuit breakers that had to be replaced but overall i've done most of my own maintenance and i learned a lot in the process. I've seen bad reviews about Thor Motorhomes but this one has been very reliable. We have taken several 3,000 mile trips that lasted over 3 weeks with no issues whatsoever. We have 2 small dogs that travel with us so we decided for our next RV we'll get a class A (still 30 Ft but more storage due to sitting up higher) that has a King bed, and 2 A/Cs for those trips out west during the Summer. Even though the Chateau has an outdoor kitchen, mine didn't have an outside TV. We have always liked sports and tailgating so i want the full tailgating package on the next one. We liked the layout and reliability of our Thor so much that we just bought a Thor Hurricane 29M. I can only hope that this one will be as reliable as the last one.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carey Vassallo

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-08-02

RV reviewed2020 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W

View listings

4.6
The 31W has a great layout and functionality. The 32ft length allows us to easily find spots in state parks and drivability isn't challenging. The theater seating adds comfort during time inside and the tv is positioned in the correct spot for viewing. The whole system water filter and ice maker is a nice added bonus. There is plenty of storage inside. The tv sound doesn't get loud enough for us so we connected a speaker to help.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nick Corsaro

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-07-17

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31E Bunkhouse

View listings

5.0
The Thor Chateau 31 E has been a great RV for the money. Thor has been great with answering questions and providing information. The Owner's portal has a wealth of information and all the systems manuals are online and easily accessible. We have had a ton of great family memories in our RV and would definitely buy Thor again. The bunk beds are definitely worth having, especially with a family. The Ford E450 Chasis is a bulletproof workhorse and provides plenty of power for towing. It has the Triton V10 engine which is such an upgrade from the old V8. Thor has made a great product. We are definitely happy campers!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

martin M gargas

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-07-11

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 28Z

View listings

1.0
Total garbage!!5 trips to get the furnace right. 5th trip to fix furnace the radio failed. two lousy trips totaling 5 days and the wall has now blown off in the bedroom twice, the propane guage is wildly off and the decals on the front are peeling off. DONT BUY THIS BRAND JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jami Grooms

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-07-06

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 28Z

View listings

1.0
This company has terrible customer service. My 2021 $87k camper has 5000 miles and massive electric issues. This company has give me the run around held it for weeks. Do not buy from this company. You will be alone when it comes to help. They promise things without intent on standing by the product. Go to a small town dealer. They are as bad as camper world. They deserve no stars.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Theodore Fuertes

California

Reviewed on 2021-06-30

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 24F

View listings

1.8
First off most people do not read the entire review so I will start by telling everyone to avoid purchasing your new motorhome from Thor Motor industries. The floor plans are amazing and perfect, unfortunately the craftmanship is done by people who have no pride in what they build. There is NO response to your requests for warranty repairs of defects from Thor. They will tell you the dealer will take care of it and the dealer tells you Thor has to approve it. One big stupid circle. My wife and I have had a dream of retiring and traveling the US in a Motorhome. She was a teacher and I am a Vet and retired Respiratory Care Practitioner. The purchasing process was great. That's were it ended. So far we have paid the $100,000 for the coach and have put in over $12,000 to do repairs on a BRAND NEW 2021 coach because the defects we had were not covered right off the show room floor. It has been seven months and we are still waiting for a shower door that will stay closed. We still have not started our touring the US.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 8
  • 1 - 10 of 72 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review