Thor Motor Coach Challenger RVs Reviews (39)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Thor Motor Coach Challenger RVs Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these RVs.

Read Reviews

J Ougel from Arizona says:

Bought new in September. Take it home and live in it for while to find any problems. Day 1 connect the water and It is set to city water but is fillin

Read More (39 reviews)

Have you owned any Thor Motor Coach Challenger RVs? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought new in September. Take it home and live in it for while to find any problems. Day 1 connect the water and It is set to city water but is filling and overflowing the water tank. Have to live off the water tank. Next day trying out the front lift bed. It goes cock eyed one side extremely lower than the other. Have to call the business where purchased, Sept. 2015 and they said they do not go out that we had to bring it in. We told them we could not drive it. When they finally agreed to come out. they understood why we could not drive it. They repaired it and offer to fix the mark it made on the wall. But it did not matter because the cover, covered it. While he was their he looked at the water system and said that they would have to replace it because it was installed wrong. Went in got it fixed a month later and a few other little things. Got home a few days later we woke up to the floor being wet by the bed. It was on city water. When I went outside there was water spraying down from the top all over the water compartment. Switch to the tank and everything work find. Camping world said it was the shower drain pan that was leaking. but they could not explain why it only did it when on city water but not on the tank. Now 3 weeks ago we are heading to Miss from Arizona. Get half way their in Texas and we here a loud banging by the front passenger. Look out the window and the fender above the front passanger tire is peeling off. Had to pull over. luckily it held up with black tape and we were able to continue our journey. Make it back to Mesa woke up one morning and water was coming out of the front of the bed. Switch off city water and it stopped. We are using a pressure gauge so that is not the problem. Today left Mesa to head up to Seattle. Get to Bakersfield CA. Everything went great. Set up the levels. Go back to open the slide while looking at the back slide go out. Turn to do the 2 front slides and see that the bed was cockeyed again. I said what. I taught I was on that hidden camera magic show. Called Thor and they are suppose to send someone out in the morning. 6 months now and we have brought it in 4 times for 4 major problems. This will be the fifth major problem bringing it in to get fixed. I agree with the other commentor, before purchasing a Thor product check with people who have purchased them new. Our product was poorly made. We have purchased other Motor homes new and none have had the problems this one has.
- J Ougel, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-28 2016 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Day one, The dealer had to install a new inverter, a new roller in the big slide, the lock for the outside tv and straighten out 3 kitchen draws. On our drive home from Michigan to Massachusetts we had no heat🙁. Over that first year of ownership the POS went to 13 repair shops including the Thor factory for every problem in the book. Driveability issues, water leaking, shock problems, charging problems, seat problems, windshield wiper problems, generator problems and of course slide problems. I have spent $1000's of dollars and 100's of hours dealing with the POS. Congress should pass a law to raise standard of these slapped together units.
- Marc DeNardo, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-18 2014 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37DT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This coach is the best! It is extremely roomy and comfortable. It sleeps 6 which is perfect for our family. The bathroom has dual sinks which is amazing and the shower is spacious for an RV shower! The dual AC units is wonderful as it keeps the coach nice and cool. We love the microwave/convection oven feature as it allows for more storage below the stove top. It drives easy and is a smooth ride. The back up camera (as well as the side-blinker cameras) help aid in simple maneuverability. I highly recommend this floor plan and size RV. It truly has been an amazing experience.
- Elizabeth Engelbrecht, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-08-21 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37GT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Like the floor plan and easiness of setting up at location. Class As have less room than trailers. Driving is as most other owners I have talked too is ,"white knuckle". You'll need about 4 to 5 thousand up grades on the suspension it make it safe.
- Damon McElvain , Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-09 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37GT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is one of the most beautiful RV's on the market. It is the only Gas Class A built in the diesel pusher plant and it has everything you could ever want from Automatic Generator Start to Remote Set Up where you can remotely level the rig, open the slides, start the generator, turn on the outside lights, and open the awning. This is the only Class A Motorhome I know of that has a kitchen island.
- David, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-06-04 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37ND View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great livability in this Thor Motor Coach! Here are some of the highlights - Full size refrigerator, Double sink, convection/microwave make prep time like home! - King size bed - love the split bathroom with shower separate - Great experience when using the generator for those times when not in an RV park. -Driving is smooth - a little play when a tractor passes -Our choice to purchase a motor home was the best as we can use all the functions in the RV without having to stop at a highway rest stop. Making a sandwich and going to the bathroom is possible while on the go. - Hook ups are easy enough with water, electric and sewer -Furnace keeps us cozy in cooler temps - Only one A/C unit is needed most of the time - we enjoy the option of using the outdoor T.V. - Awning could be a little longer - Love the outdoor kitchen, very functional - More than ample storage - 3 slides makes the Motor coach spacious
- renaparno, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-24 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love this floor and the reason we bought this RV. We needed a plan that offered privacy for guests (2 children & 4 grandchildren staying with us) and to have space for a home office. Plus the living area has a more home like feel to it with captain chairs, with a small table between them, sofa, electric fireplace, and large screen TV. This motor home has 4 TVs, 3 inside and one outside. To be honest I thought it was a little ridiculous to have a fireplace in a motorhome but when we wintered in FL we used it all the time for those chilly mornings. The kitchen has a full size refrigerator which is opposite the door into the motorhome to unload groceries, and an area plumbed for washer & dryer, we use that area for a pantry. The bathroom has a 2 way access for guests and the bedroom area. This motorhome also has a kingsize bed with large end stands on each side, which you don't find in a lot of motorhomes let alone in a 37 footer, something that I was told to look for by seasoned RVers. Another tip from other RVers is to make sure when the slides are in you have access to your bed for those overnighters on the road when boon docking. You can access your bed through the bathroom when the slides are in on this floor plan. This something I didn't think about when I was looking at RVs/RV shows with all the slides out. Tons of storage space in this motor home, inside and the basement. We used the outside TV almost everyday when weather is good. I gave the 4 stars to quality because you get what you pay for. You get a lot for this motorhome for the price. To be honest before I saw this floor plan I was looking at Tiffin, maybe better quality but you pay for it too. I have had a lot Tiffin neighbors as well as others who all have problems with their motorhomes. Lets face it you are taking a home on the road and with the conditions of our roads you are lucky to get to your destination without having a bunch of screws, etc. on the floor! The most important thing is to find a dealer/repairman that you trust and will support you when you have problems. The beauty of RVers is their is always someone around to help you if you are having issues, compare notes/experiences. If you are not handy you will learn to become more handy! One other note with the newer motorhomes is the safety features such as back and side cameras to see your blind spots. We have really enjoyed this layout and people who have seen it have wanted to buy the same floor plan. Their dealer at the time couldn't find one in the country for them to buy. I was told by the salesman we bought ours from that they are not making this floor plan anymore and it's hard to find. We have not had major issues and a lot of the issues were technician errors at the dealer, like not winterize properly or installing incorrectly. So overall I can say we love this motorhome.
- Linda Bewley, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-19 2017 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37TB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this couch brand new from a dealer in Burleson Texas. The day we took delivery should have been the time to run like crazy, but the dealer told us they would are everything right. Well here we are 2019 still don’t have satisfaction at all. Let’s start with the couch we asked them to demo it when we took delivery on how it opens up to a bed well 6 count them 6 service guys and sales reps later know on had a clue how it worked. We sent a video to Thor Corporation and they sent us a demo video back low and behold it was not even the same couch. They did offer to send us new cushions because that is what they felt the problem was I now have 4 complete sets of cushions none of which has solved the problem. We received a new couch to replace the one in the RV we were finally feeling happy till we opened the box and realized they sent us the exact same couch. OMG are you kidding. t has literally spent more time in the shop then my drive way. It has been back to the dealer numerous time, back to the factory once so far. Even to the body shop to put the back cap back on that fell off. To our surprise was put on the RV with a few small screws, thank goodness nobody went up the ladder that would have ended badly. We have had a water leak into the camper due to hoses not being connected at the factory and guess what they are to short to connect. My husband had to go to Lowes and buy a hose to go in between them. We had to replace all the speakers in the unit in the first few months at our expense all of them had holes in them. The shower floor pan had to be replaced due to leaking. The flooring had to be repaired (which looks bad still ) due to not being installed properly at the factory. The out side door trim has been replaced numerous time and still fails off at any point weather parked or driving the unit. Oh and the door wont stay true so you may have to force your way out like we have had to do numerous times. My grandchildren fell through the dining table bench(thank goodness no injuries) My husband rebuilt it come to find out a bench seat with absolutely no supports in them at all. the draws don’t stay shut when going down the road, these have also been fixed numerous times as well. Still not fixed. Thor had a driver come pick up our unit take it to Indiana from Central Texas to fix a very long list of items. TO our surprise it came back worse then when it left our house. Here is my recommendation to anyone thinking of buying any Thor product DON’T DO IT. Find a product they do not make and start there, They have horrible quality control or should I say no quality control. I can see why their motorized divisions are losing money by the multi millions every quarter
- Penny Alves, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-03-21 2018 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37LX View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I bought a brand new Thor motorhome in 2018 the floor was peeling off and sealer promised would be fixed (Reliable RV Springfield MO) that said it was ok just run it till fall they would get it to there shop and would be fixed. In November they took it back to fix it. Going into March 2019 still there. Thor the manufacturing company called right after purchase to see how we liked it. Told them about the problems with it they assured us it would be fixed or they would send a factory rep down to fix it. After nothing being done called Thor they said sorry just use it this fall we will get it back to the factory and fix it. I have this much money in something that looks like this. Then they offer me a $1000 to have it fixed myself. REALLY THOR how low can you all Sink. Will Never own another one.
- Ronald Metcalfe , Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-03-19 2012 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 36FD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We loved the extra living room recliner like chair, bedroom fireplace was used a lot this past winter exploring Texas for 5 months. Outside tv was great for watching Buckeye sporting events. 4 door full size refrigerator/freezer was awesome. Bath and a half was great. Washer/dryer combo was so convenient. Color scheme throughout was high end and lovely. Kitchen had convection microwave, small gas oven and 3 gas burners. Storage and mirrors were more than I could fill. Both bathrooms had nice counter tops and again many storage areas. The outside paint design is very attractive and eye catching.
- Belinda, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-26 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a great floorplan for kids. The RV really separates into two living areas, one for the adults and one for the kids. There is plenty of storage. All of the TV's and outside entertainment center are great for tailgating.
- Brian Smith, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-25 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The 2015 Thor Challeger 37kt has a split floorplan which is great when you have company. The entry door, kitchen and bathroom is in the middle of the coach and gives you and you guests some extra privacy! The coach handles very well on the Road and gets up to 80 mph easily. This unit has as much storage as a diesel pusher with huge pass thru storage back and front that can fit 2 kayaks!! The outside TV, Speakers and shower are great for weekends on the beach with family or friends! The washer and dryer added instead of the pantry make make vacation as convenient as at home! And the residential fridge has so much room, and a ice maker! It's so practical if you want to have trays for a party or simply everyday grocery! If you love to entertain family and friends you will love the 2015 Thor Challenger 37KT!
- Jeff, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-19 2018 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37LX View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
2 years after purchase, Unit had to be in the Dealership 2 times to have the Inverter and Converter replaced along with the outside TV and the antena amplifier. Then the second week was t have the floor replaced. The unit is Rock solid all the issues accept the floor was due to lazy Labor "Loose screws on every device connection and hardware that was in the Rig, The Flooring was due to an end of run on the flooring so they used Remnants and pieced it together, after the weather got hot the Flooring seams seperated. Long story short the unit is Great once all the bugs are worked out. No different than the Last 2001 Monaco Monarch we owned, the previous owner got all the bugs out. Buy used if you don't want head aches or hold your dealer up on the sale until you take an overnight test drive so you will see most of the bugs. If the unit falls apart on the trip say thanks but no sale. Good luck and enjoy.
- Gary Greenblott, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-19 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37TB Bunkhouse View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought USED as suggested!!! Everyone complaining have bought NEW big MISTAKE! OF course if you buy new there's going to be to issues. Looking at the previous owners log there were a lot of issues but Thor fixed them ALL! Since having the coach we only need two (2) recalls the windshield wipers bolts to be replaced/tightened and the two steps to be replaced. Only issues have been house batteries had to be replacedso replaced ALL, water pump plastic cover replaced cause previous owner broke and riged the cap closed to hide, camera switchbox went bad so replaced and double din radio replaced cause the cdrom player did not work (cheap head unit anyways). Other than that everything has been working just fine and support has been great.
- Tre D, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-17 2013 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
When we moved up from a class C I wanted more livable space and convenience. The 37KT gave us both. The front living room with fireplace can be closed off from the kitchen and dining area. It is easy to drive and handles hills and towing without effort. We cruise between 60 and 65 which gives good mileage and comfortable ride. All the class A features that add to the ease of your camping experience.
- Tom Powers, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-11 2018 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37YT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
When we first bought this MH last March I gave a good review of this product, now 10 months later I regret we bought this manufactured travesty. We have had it back for a load of problems. After the last month in the shop, on the way home the headlights failed. Now the radio/camera/GPS will not come on. All of the problems have been caused by poor workmanship. I recommend staying far away from these motorhomes!
- Norm Neel, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-11-29 2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 35HT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a great RV for a family wanting to live fulltime on-or-off grid. The comfortable floorplan doesn't cramp your lifestyle. And traveling is enjoyable because of the easy access from cab to bedroom. Also, there's amble storage for all your equipment in the basement compartments, which, by the way, are watertight. Add to that a generous 100-gallon freshwater tank and you can stay at your favorite remote site for extended periods. Don't worry about towing a vehicle, you'll almost forget it's back there.
- Darrell Garrett, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-10-02 2019 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37FH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The 2019 Thor Challenger FH is the largest most open floor plan available in a high end gas RV. What a pleasure it is to travel in this luxurious RV. Drives like a dream, quiet steady with a powerful engine.
- Judy Coyne, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-24 2014 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37GT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent class a motor home. Drivability and towing are easy. Open floor plan and outside tv make this RV very livable. Large bathroom, with combination washer dryer are wonderful. Exterior awning, Onan generator are excellent additions. Granite countertops and wood features throughout make this RV quite classic.
- Cline, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-05-19 2017 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37TB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Under no circumstances should you consider buying a Thor Challenger. We knew there would be a few things that would need to be "tweaked"on a new bus but we found 50+ things....no exaggeration. We have now owned it just over a year and have yet to take either a short trip or a long one without a problem from the hot water tank cover coming off to big trouble with slides and jacks and the control panel. Buy something else.
- T Lynn, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-05-12 2018 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37YT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased a new Challenger 37YT from Motor Home Specialists in March of 2018. I will write a separate review of MHS but they have been outstanding. We have driven the motor home approximately 2,000 miles since our purchase and we really only have had one pesky issue that was the result of poor installation and quality control check. I’ll get this problem out of the way first: whoever was responsible for tightening all of the drain lines under both the bathroom and kitchen sink did a really poor job. All of these areas leaked during delivery tests and we subsequently have had problems with the drain line for the bathroom sinks and the washing machine. All of these were caused by a lack of attention to detail during installation and QC review. This is our first motor home and it is our second RV; we also own a one year old Montana 5th wheel which we love and use extensively when we are at our second home in Lubbock, Texas. The Challenger has been easy to drive and has had plenty of power to pull its own load and our “toad”. Gas mileage has met expectations and matched estimates by the dealership and other owner’s reviews. The 37YT layout is perfect for us and provides plenty of room. We enjoy the look and feel of the wood and window treatments. We would have preferred upgraded flooring, the linoleum looks cheep and shows every grain of dirt. Thor could have spent an extra $500 and installed a better looking floor. Speaking of Thor, their service personnel, who I have spoken to about two issues, have been fantastic!! Both calls were answered right away with very little wait. (This is a BIG deal for me, I hate to be on hold for a long time.). Both technicians knew the product extremely well and was able to answer my questions accurately and quickly. They demonstrated a true desire to make me happy and that is both unique and very welcomed. Almost everyone can figure out how to be good during the sales process but very few have committed to supporting their customer after the sale. Thor seems to have gottten both sides of the proposition right. I recommend the Challenger 37YT and Thor for your motorhome purchase. It has been a very pleasant experience for us.
- Norman Neel, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-05-11 2011 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 32VS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have owned this model for 7 years and I am very pleased with all aspects of this coach, I have lived out of it for 4 months a year for 3 years and did not find any issues with livability. I found it very manoeuvrable around tight areas and small parks. Overall I would buy another one without question.
- Steve, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-03-11 2016 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased this RV in July 2016. There were some new RV issues to begin with. Most were minor, so I just took care of them myself. Thor did a very good job backing up the dealer and promptly authorizing the needed repairs. We do not regret buying this coach, we have had some great times and built great memories with it. The floor plan is very livable, Love the separate living area that’s separated by closing the two sliding doors. The overhead electric drop down bed is a super space saver and gives you two more sleeping capacity. We did replace the inner spring mattress on the bedroom king size bed with a memory foam mattress, best money we have ever spent on an RV. Overall I would reccomend this coach to a friend, I’m certain that we would remain friends!
- Roland Cortes, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-02-18 2018 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37LX View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
2nd review: Our first trip from Vegas to Ft Worth. We are half way there. The "headlight assemblies" at the first refueling were hanging off the front of the coach, Nuts are missing, found some in my tool box. Dry camping after driving 12 hours, Generator has been running for 6 hours no issues.I have found that the rig has a maximum cruising speed of 76 MPH, this is a touchy subject when the speed limit is 75MPH and you need to climb the next hill without blocking traffic and having to drive 45MPH up mountains. All in all the rig rides smooth, noise level is less than our 2000 Monaco Monarch. The quality of things made is what I expected, the assembly I have issues with. When we get to Texas I see myself spending a day tightening everything from heat vents to lighting assemblies inside and outside, When I return to Vegas Johnnie walker RV is going to have a nice long chat, The initial checklist was partially taken care of and I was told they would follow up, NOT. The Drivers seat has an issue with the swivel, the latching mechanism is defective and the seat leans to one side so without the arm rest holding you in you could slide off the seat, driving position is level but when turned to watch TV its slip sliding away. Flooring adhesive is sub par, peeling up in places. The multiplex electronics is pretty cool but when putting the awning out you have to watch it or it will roll out to far and mess up the wiring. they offer a factory wireless remote but no one know a thing about it,. I would love to have the wiring and programing books for the multiplex system if for no other reason than trouble shooting when there is an issue. Hopefully there will be a fellow RV'r that posts more info on the Multiplex system.
- Gary Greenblott, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-12-22 2018 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37LX View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
New Rig. Sofa not bolted down, Paint scuffed, electrical issues. Dealer took care of almost everything but the inverter had loose terminal screws causing an arching which could have caused a fire. Thor QC is horrible. Love the Rig now that its right.
- Gary Greenblott, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: