Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Thor Motor Coach Challenger Class A - Gas reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
3.7
Factory warranty
2.8

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Class A - Gas

Reviews

48 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

J Ougel

Arizona

Reviewed on 2016-03-18

RV reviewed2016 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT

View listings

2.0
Bought new in September. Take it home and live in it for while to find any problems. Day 1 connect the water and It is set to city water but is filling and overflowing the water tank. Have to live off the water tank. Next day trying out the front lift bed. It goes cock eyed one side extremely lower than the other. Have to call the business where purchased, Sept. 2015 and they said they do not go out that we had to bring it in. We told them we could not drive it. When they finally agreed to come out. they understood why we could not drive it. They repaired it and offer to fix the mark it made on the wall. But it did not matter because the cover, covered it. While he was their he looked at the water system and said that they would have to replace it because it was installed wrong. Went in got it fixed a month later and a few other little things. Got home a few days later we woke up to the floor being wet by the bed. It was on city water. When I went outside there was water spraying down from the top all over the water compartment. Switch to the tank and everything work find. Camping world said it was the shower drain pan that was leaking. but they could not explain why it only did it when on city water but not on the tank. Now 3 weeks ago we are heading to Miss from Arizona. Get half way their in Texas and we here a loud banging by the front passenger. Look out the window and the fender above the front passanger tire is peeling off. Had to pull over. luckily it held up with black tape and we were able to continue our journey. Make it back to Mesa woke up one morning and water was coming out of the front of the bed. Switch off city water and it stopped. We are using a pressure gauge so that is not the problem. Today left Mesa to head up to Seattle. Get to Bakersfield CA. Everything went great. Set up the levels. Go back to open the slide while looking at the back slide go out. Turn to do the 2 front slides and see that the bed was cockeyed again. I said what. I taught I was on that hidden camera magic show. Called Thor and they are suppose to send someone out in the morning. 6 months now and we have brought it in 4 times for 4 major problems. This will be the fifth major problem bringing it in to get fixed. I agree with the other commentor, before purchasing a Thor product check with people who have purchased them new. Our product was poorly made. We have purchased other Motor homes new and none have had the problems this one has.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (25)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Hinds

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-11-02

RV reviewed2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37LX

View listings

4.0
It handles the road very well after I had frond and rear stabilizers installed on it. I am happy the V10 motor has so much power even pulling a vehicle. We had to replace all the furniture because the original furniture peeled. The brand new furniture is very comfortable.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

L ruckman

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-09-11

RV reviewed2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37GT

View listings

4.4
The rig is great. The slides could be better. We love the coach we just bought a boat and don’t need both. I’m not sure what else you want me to say. You should allow a person to opt out of this section. It’s a great couch.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

carroll Jennings

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-02-07

RV reviewed2019 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37FH

View listings

4.8
Experience with my challenger 37 fh has been the motors in the slides. I just had my big slide work on. Over all the coach is great with the 3 slides that gives you room. My only problem is with ford engine why the don"t help in deadening the engine sound. I am working on that.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Delaware

Reviewed on 2020-11-24

RV reviewed2019 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37FH

View listings

5.0
26months fulltime layout is great ,also plenty of storage in basement. Drive and handling also good. Factory support is excellent. Overall very pleased with coach no regrets. Very few problems and have done very few upgrades or repairs.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott Burns

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2020-11-10

RV reviewed2015 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37GT

View listings

4.4
We really liked the layout and how it feels when your livin in it. Others will talk about the suspension and yes it a soft but with sway bar upgrades and Sumo springs and front and rear stabilizers you go from white knuckle to one handed joy. We followed up with a 5 Star reprogram and it all together a different coach. Like I tell everyone that asks, if you don't which end of a wrench to hold, an RV is not for you. Things go wrong and it parts of hauling 27,000 pounds around. The Owners Group will help answer pretty much any question that come up so your not alone out on the road.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl Sawyer

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-10-30

RV reviewed2020 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37YT

View listings

2.8
The only thing we like about this RV is the layout and the performance of the engine/transmission. We thought we were upgrading earlier this year from our Coachmen Class C but now wonder. The craftsmanship and general engineering from Thor is so bad that I will never own another Thor product. First, the two a/c units cannot keep the unit cool if the temperature is 90 outside. I live in Florida which makes the units unusable at least 4 months of the year. Second, I have had the vehicle for less than 6 months and have it in the shop 5 times so far. Twice for the a/c units not being able to cool the unit and Thor's pathetic response was it is by design. In addition, we have been in the shop three times because the generator will not run for more than 15 mins with only one a/c unit running. This is still not resolved. Another issue we have had is when trying to level the vehicle, occasionally the kitchen slide will not extend because it is rubbing against the wall in the kitchen area. Note this is on fairly level ground. This is an indication that the vehicle was designed without enough rigidity in the frame (poor or complete lack of engineering). Next, when using the furnace, there is a 10 degree difference between the rear of the unit and the front. The fact that Thor cannot layout the ductwork to achieve a semblance of balance in such a small space nearly violates the laws of thermodynamics. Finally, after our third trip, the 50 amp cable provided with the vehicle now needs to be replaced because of the exposed internal wires and poor quality provided by Thor. If you are considering any unit from Thor, I highly recommend NOT BUYING IT!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C Evans

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-08-15

RV reviewed2016 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT

View listings

3.0
We purchased this RV because of the floorplan. Unfortunately during the five years we have owned it we have had many issues with it. The drive train fell out within the first few hundred miles. Most recently our full wall slide's gear box failed and had to be replaced. It failed because there is damage to the floor that is causing the slide to catch when it is retracted and put undue strain on the gear box. We have been told this large a slide should never have been a cable operated slide. While the gear box is covered under our extended warranty the repair to the floor is not considered mechanical and is not covered. Additionally we are having issues with our levelers losing hydraulic fluid requiring the replacement of the leveler. We have replaced the circuit board for the furnace twice now because despite our best efforts we cannot determine how water is getting onto the board. Even our RV tech is puzzled by this. Until we solve this issue the third circuit board will remain in the box. We had to replace the "control panel" in the outside water cabinet because of issues with the switch that allows you to change from city to tank, etc. The furniture is peeling after less than five years despite the fact it is manufactured by Flex Steel. Very disappointing. A cushion to the sofa had to be replaced early on because the fabric backing tore around the velcro piece designed to hold the cushion in place. The replacement cushion was slightly different than the original cushion and it shows. Previously we had a false check engine light that lasted nearly a year and required multiple trips to Ford dealers that were equipped to handle a unit this big. (this followed immediately on the heels of getting the drive shaft repaired) The flashing for the vent pipe that runs through the roof from the plumbing for the washer/dryer was installed incorrectly and resulted in water pouring into our pantry. The hot water heater valves were not set to allow water to run from the hot water heater through the system. The fix required us to have to crawl under the bed, unscrew the panel to access the water heater and set the valves properly. The electrical outlet in the bathroom pulled out of the wall the first time we used it and there were numerous other "minor" issues. This is our third purchase of a new unit and NEVER have we had the kind of issues we have had with this unit.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Katherine Pack

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2020-01-18

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37TB

View listings

4.2
Our family of 5 loved our Thor Challenger. We've traveled all over and made such great memories. The layout was great, and having a second bathroom for our young girls was very helpful. The drop down bunk was a perfect personal sleeping space area for our older son, and the overall feel was quite roomy. Our favorite features included, the residential refrigerator, tons of storage, king bed, bunkhouse, extra half bath, driving comfort, 2 awnings, outdoor entertainment system, layout, comfort, dining booth,and more. We bought it brand new, and obviously we had a punch list of items that needed to fixed. If we did it all over again, we would buy the same brand & model, but 2 or 3 years old. It is from our experience personally, and in talking with others, that buying used is the way to go. By the time you get a used rig, the first/second year kinks get all worked out by Thor & their warranty support.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donald Payne

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-01-05

RV reviewed2019 Thor Motor Coach Challenger 37KT

View listings

5.0
Upon searching for the perfect fit in what my wife and I desired in an RV, we knew the Thor Challenger 37KT would be the perfect one. Unfortunately due to a terminal disease, it sadly required us to cut our plans extremely short in getting to experience traveling the U.S.A. as planned. The livability of this model provides all of the comforts of home by literally dividing the unit up in three different sections if we wanted to do. Everything from slider living room doors, electric fireplace with heater to the comfort and relaxation area of the living room watching TV or reading a book and listening to music. The cabinetry is solid wood and not cheaply covered particle board. It's high gloss with deep storage area and plenty of them to meet storage needs. Thor took enough pride in their Challenger line to introduce these solid cabinets from their upper line coaches of the Tuscany line, very nice and great job Thor! The living room also included a drop-down overhead 54x74 bunk sleeping area above the cockpit that could easily sleep two if needed. Then as you walk back into the kitchen area from the living room you have a residential full size Whirlpool refrigerator in the very nice and well done kitchen area. It reminds you of a luxury studio apartment in the area of the kitchen. The kitchen provides an OTR Microwave/convection oven and two burner stove backed by a nice and decorative back splash. You even have the ability to watch TV while in the kitchen with one of the four (4) TV's that this coach offers. The dining table is free standing and comes with 4 very nice chairs which two of them are folding for storage. There is even a washer and dryer prep in this area of the coach. The bathroom is modern and roomy enough to feel comfortable. The hot water is provided by on demand need. The bedroom is equipped with a king size tilt-bed. This is a real nice feature. Plenty of dresser drawers and two (2) closets are provided for clothing. Cabinets are also above the head board and plenty of them that are deep as well. The ability to dim or brighten the lights throughout the coach also was a nice compliment to this coach. In the bedroom is the third TV. The outside features two (2) pitch adjustable LED lit awnings. The back awning is 16' and the front awning is 12'. Under the front awning is located the 4th TV with soundbar. There is plenty of through trunk/basement storage space. There is even a pet/multi-purpose tie-down link if you want to lock up a bike or grill. This is the perfect coach to RV across of country because of these creature comforts of home. Definitely a glamping unit. It's even pre-wired for solar panels. With the mirror camera's and rear camera, it made it very comfortable to navigate. On the interstate it drives like it's floating with minimal sway. Very impressive to drive and comes with an 8,000 lb. towing hitch. It also comes with a 5500 Cummins ONAN auto-start generator for boon-docking or if needed. There is a 105 lb. LP tank with an LP hook-up for grilling or an outside fire pit. I just can not brag on this coach enough. We even installed an in-motion satellite dish on our coach so we could watch TV with ease if we wanted. To add, their customer service goes above and beyond. Look out Tiffin! Looks like Thor may be creeping up. But hey! Life's too short, it's a vapor in time, so turn off the TV's and enjoy the beautiful country. Check out the Thor products. Thank you Thor for thinking of the customer/RV'er!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 48 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: