Recreation by Design
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Recreation by Design RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Charles Buckingham from Mississippi says:

Have lived in this trailer over 3 years traveling to job . Tows great with my dually. No problems so far other then the front a/c not blowing cold any

Read More (10 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2010 Recreation by Design Luxury FW44 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Have lived in this trailer over 3 years traveling to job . Tows great with my dually. No problems so far other then the front a/c not blowing cold anymore. (Not trailer manufacture fault) Would buy another one next time but as far as I'm aware of they don't offer a toy hauler as of yet.
- Charles Buckingham, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-06 2021 Recreation By Design North American Custom View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Custom build 40 foot 5'er triple axle built in March this year. Built with a wheelchair lift for a special needs daughter. Major systems failed or don't work. Leveling system DOA, had to work directly with manufacturer of system to resolve. Improperly installed at plant. Awning tube was bent on first deploy, would not retract. Missing trim strip, holes in floor to under components reveal daylight... no sealant to keep outside out, including rodents. Stench in bath from bad air admittance valve. Water leak under kitchen sink. AND the piece de resistance: the lift doesn't retract properly. The lift manufacturer will not work with me because I'm not a certified repair facility.... And in all this, RBD has failed at every step. They will not fix a bit of it because their warranty is only on what they build, not the components installed. YOU have to work with manufacturers of said parts and then either fix yourself, or pay to have repaired. Overall construction is no better than a Jayco or Forest River, so at least you will know what you are getting. If you order a Ford with a Bose sound system, at least Ford will interface with Bose on your behalf to find a solution. RBD will not support you after the sale. Sales walks away, parts and warranty will hang up on you. The owner, Andrew Rush could not give a darn if you like it or don't: he doesn't care. If you want a custom build, there are other manufacturers that can and will do it. If you are in an RBD unit (off the showroom floor in Eastern states) that is letting you down... well just know you aren't alone and hopefully you will find a decent repair shop, because you are going to get to know those folks on a first name basis. Avoid... Just don't go there. I wish I had this advice when I started because I basically have a 18k paperweight.
- Carbonation, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-03 2019 Recreation by Design Bay Point 43PM View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Wheel bearings on front axel went bad and caught fire. Had to replace total brake assembly. Found another axel bent and wears out tire quickly. Have to pay to have straightened and buy tire. 3 tires separated under 1000 miles, cheap tires. Wont transfer warranty even though RV was never used and I'm the second owner!!!
- bozzbryan48, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-18 2015 Recreation by Design Travel By Design 40FB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This home starts out great with a 36” front door which makes moving furniture or appliances with ease. Lots of overhead room that makes the unit feel spacious and roomy. The second bedroom is so nice for living and for visitors alike. The full size home quality toilet and tub are just like a home. The 5 slides gives so much width to the space of this model. It has everything you need to live in a house that can be moved with ease.
- Kimberly Newbury, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-06-21 2019 Recreation by Design Bay Point 43PM View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Baypointe you get the most bang for you buck!! This unit is by far one of best full time campers out there!! Alex went above and beyond to help us with any questions we had. You also save a lot of money when you buy factory direct! Peggy
- Peggy Trinsdale, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-05-15 2019 Recreation by Design Bay Point 43PM View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The sales team at RBD made everything easy and stress free! Not to mention the product is built like a tank! I have referred a lot of people to rbd and will continue to reccomend them for years to come!
- Wes nix , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-30 2014 Recreation by Design Monte Carlo 37AL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
My wife and I have been living in this trailer for almost 5 years, I love my trailer. When I purchased my trailer at recreation by design, I was able to customize my own floor plan. It was so cool after coming with the image in my head and seeing it on paper, the salesmen were very patient with me because I was so new to this. Definitely will buy again from them soon
- John Smith, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-08-07 2018 Recreation by Design Baypoint 40FB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
June 15 picked up brand new jayco redhawk 32 feet 29yk Purchased from leisure days rv in Kingston Unit poorly constructed Pieces falling off on outside Problems with water lines generator etc Drive shaft has to be repaired Needed parts to be flown in In all in this short time Have spent more money on gas driving back and forth frustration Dealership not helpful Jayco customer service not helpful Do not buy this product they do not replace just repair I have been told
- Beth bowen, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-04-02 2015 Recreation by Design Travel By Design 44PM View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This trailer has serious electrical issues that RV shops cannot find and commercial electricians won't attempt. Workmanship and design detail are very shoddy, many glaring defects exist. RBD warranty dept. is apparently overwhelmed. There are two sides to buying factory direct, you get a better deal but service is almost nonexistent (In our case 1000 plus miles away). When you buy across state lines you loose a lot of your legal remedies.
- Mark Heil, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2015-02-14 2014 Recreation by Design Recreation by Design Royal Travel View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Best RV I've ever had... owned many and would never buy another brand.
- Sadie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching RVs For Sale: