Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Palomino 5th Wheel reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.2
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.6

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 5th Wheels

Reviews

85 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Benny and Patricia McCann

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2015-08-14

RV reviewed2015 Palomino Columbus 385BH

View listings

1.6
Our Columbus 385BH was manufactured December 11, 2014. We brought it home in January, 2015. We have had one trip in it that the slides worked. One of the slides hasn't worked since. We have been to the RV dealer seven times. The RV dealer has had it seven weeks while Forest River and the manufacturer of the slide mechanism argue over who will pay for it. The people at Palomino won't even talk to me. We are more than dissatisfied. We are still waiting for Palomino to send a part to fix the slide, and we definitely have warranty. I would like to think that this will help.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (42)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tamara

Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-11-30

RV reviewed2021 Palomino Columbus 1492 382FB

View listings

2.0
If I can get away with zero stars for quality and service I most certainly would… had issues with electrical the lippert one control system right from the start … has been pure hell trying to get any answers or assistance with any customer service or support they pretty much emailed a reply after numerous requests and said I was on my own paid out of pocket to fix the situation. Still could not fix the problem with out having to take it all the way back to a shop . Regret ever trading my grand design for this piece of crap and having to deal with ZERO customer service after just purchasing this junky fifth wheel. Best advise would be to look at another brand of rv save yourself the trouble!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roger Kratzh

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-10-09

RV reviewed2018 Palomino Puma 295BHSS

View listings

1.8
Palomino Puma has the worst customer support, the quality of the RV is sub standard to say the least. If you buy one of these I would STRONGLY recommend that you buy some sort of extended warranty because the dealers do not care and the manufacturer after several calls and voice mails never returned my calls... There was leaks on the windows, the plastic used for the vents on the roof disintegrated in the first year of ownership, the decals on the front cap faded with 1 one year... You walk on the roof and you can fell how cheap the structure below is. The strip that cover the screws on the side that hold the roof membrane also disintegrated 18 months after we got our.... I got mine at TravelCamp in Jacksonville Florida... Very nice people until you sign the papers and sign for it... After when you need support or repairs they are the worst... I am not the type of person that does this type of reviews but this whole experience of owning a PALOMINO PUMA was so bad that I had to write this to warm other people... Run from it.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Barrow

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-09-06

RV reviewed2014 Palomino Columbus 365RL

View listings

3.2
Proud owners of a 38 foot 5th Wheel. Purchased this baby new, and filled it with all the bells and whistles. What prompt me to write about my Columbus was one day this past summer, I was parked next to a Forest River River Stone Fifth Wheel. It is the luxury model although I considered the Columbus to be luxury too. My first encounter with our first excursion was to our annual trip to the Florida Keys. At our very first stop, the fridge was found open and stuff on the floor. The Dometic double wide fridge uses plastic door locks. Found that if you stuff a sponge between the locks, fixes this problem. The next problem was the string LED lights on the awning. Failed. Ordered some higher rated LED's tape string and fixed that. After a month in the Keys, retracted the auto levelers (electric jack screws) and one if the tires were flat. Learned real and quick how to change the flat tire. The spare is mounted under the trailer and was fairly easy to get too. But, the winch and tire holder will not hold the regular Columbus tire. I now know how heavy the trailer tire is since I had to pick it up and put in the bed of my truck. Headed over to Sanibel Florida knowing there was an RV place I could get the tire repaired. The RV place called the next day and said that the tire and wheel was OK. The air valve stem is metal and the nut that holds it on place was loose. That prompted me to check the other wheels and yes, they too were loose but not enough to allow the tires to loose air. Easy fix. Heading back home to PA. Stopped in Jacksonville, FL at Flamingo RV Park, one if the nicest parks in Florida. Notice uneven wear on the driver side rear wheel on the Columbus. Need to keep an eye in this. Once back home and the Columbus was in driveway, checked the tire again. The inner part of the tire was bald. Made an appointment with a local RV dealer and they said the the torque on that wheel bearing was loose. Had all the bearings checked, repacked. Confidant that shakedown problem was resolved. Since that first outing we have made repeated long trips up to 2020. Little problems like leaking water in the bedroom AC unit. Fixed. AC fan motor failed on bedroom AC unit. Fixed ( only after two previous fixes were attempted before the motor was replaced). Central vacuum system failed. Manufacture wanted to replace the entire system because the failed control PCB was our of stock. Being an electronic engineer, I fixed it myself. Been good since. The wear on the tire did not stop. Changed tires to Goodyear Edurance. No help. Swapped wheels with other positions thinking a wrapped wheel. NOT. Then on a return trip on I 295 around Richmond, VA. (which no one should ever take) the roughness of the road made the truck and trailer rock several times. When I stopped In DC for the night I notice my trim on the overhang holding the pin box was slightly seperated. I can fix that too, maybe. Lived with the tire problem and trim problem another a few years until the summer of 2020. The tire wear suddenly accelerated and I had to change and rotate tires on that position three times. Now I am worried. And two of my four auto levelers jackscrews either fell apart or siezed up. Worked my way through that and had a good vacation. Made an appointment to the original dealer we purchased our Columbus. To make a long story short, cracked frame sections in the overhang. Axle is damaged. Jack screws worn badly. All four. So I read up on the River Stone luxuary model by Forest River. Many of the same problems with no attention to detail was reported by many write ups. Columbus is still in the shop. Still don't know if the trailer can be repaired. New axle and Jackscrews required.... Oh, I almost forgot that our gray water tank developed a leaked and filled up the belly of the trailer which has insulation. Cleaned that up, but I could never drive the trailer with any water in the tank or accidentally over fill it. Told to live with it. Too expensive to replace. Love My Columbus. Perfect interior layout. Even with the interior wall paper cringing and most of the drawers falling apart with wood screws too short to work. Yep, fixed that too. Remember this name. Forest River.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles D Fournier

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-06-18

RV reviewed2017 Palomino Columbus 386FK

View listings

4.6
When I first received notification from RVT regarding a unit I was interested in, I foolishly thought they would connect me with a seller. After a few days of nothing I emailed again to Laurie at RVT assuring them I was a cash buyer very interested....after many more of these emails to RVT with no response I gave up. I suggest you do not waste any time with RVT as they do not offer a timely service.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alice Hicks

Kansas

Reviewed on 2021-06-11

RV reviewed2018 Palomino Columbus Compass 298RLC

View listings

2.0
Worse rv we have had. Have been full time rv’ing for over 20 years, this is our 5th rv and the worse one. The design of interior is great and offers nice aesthetics but that’s where it stops. Since purchasing, starting from the very first day, we have had constant problems.....you name it, it has gone wrong. Leaks have been horrendous, not quite in it 3 years and still working on them, really concerned about what could be going on in areas we can’t see. We have had problems with everything....plumbing systems, sewer plumbing (still working on it), converter, trim, fresh water tank causing extreme bowing of floor and still trying to fix. Seems I wake up each morning to a new problem or continuation of an old one. Feel we definitely got a ‘lemon’ and definitely would not recommend its purchase. Not sure where the fault is........Forest River, Palomino, or Columbus..... but not a company to trust.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Johnson

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-05-25

RV reviewed2015 Palomino Columbus 320RS

View listings

3.2
Love the floor plan. The large shower is a huge plus for us. That is where the positives end. Landing gear problems three times the first year resulting in replacing everything except the legs themselves. The second year we had to have four of the six legs rebuilt as they were jammed or had broken their shear pins. The dealer was no help. The black tank coupler in the belly of the unit came loose and was dripping waste into the belly of the unit. They cut open the the belly to fix the leak and only taped the opening instead of a more permanent fix. The coupling worked loose again a year later so I took it to an RV repair shop instead of the dealer. The black tank valve does not seal tight and therefore you get a big surprise when you remove the waste cap to attach the hose. I have had a gate installed on the waste pipe so I don't get any more surprises. The third year The brakes worked loose and ruined the the backing plate. The second year I noticed a bulge in the fiberglass at the bottom right of the bedroom slide. Fought with the dealer to address the issue. It was finally addressed by sending the unit back to the factory to have it fixed. It turned out to be a broken frame and pressure on the exterior wall causing the bulge. The floor in the kitchen area in front of the sink and stove are soft and feel like they will give way. I had the dealer look to see if there was any water leak causing the issue. The dealer said nothing looks water damaged. Since I had issues with he dealer I then took the unit to an RV repair shop and he confirmed no water damage. It turns out, after research on line, this is a known issue. (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f96/palomino-columbus-320-soft-floor-124438.html) The dealer will not address the issue and Forest River/Palomino will not return my calls on this. The third year again I inspected the roof half way through the season. There were several cracks in the bathroom skylight around the screws that fasten it to the roof and up into the skylight dome. The dealer said the warranty was expired and the extended warranty would not cover it. Two of the dual day/night roll up shades quit rolling up and are not useable. The two largest windows. The replacements are $235 and $275. This unit has been the biggest piece of crap I have ever purchased! I will never buy another Forest River product!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RENEE DUNCAN

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-05-12

RV reviewed2013 Palomino Sabre 33RETS

View listings

4.4
We purchased new when relocating from Texas. Did have a couple issues with slide wiring and shower but were fixed by dealer immediately. Otherwise no issues we could not fix over time. Its been a great towing camper with our 3/4 Diesel Ram. Shower is a very good size as well as storage being at a premium. We have loved it..
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Smith

Delaware

Reviewed on 2021-05-04

RV reviewed2017 Palomino Puma 255RKS

View listings

4.8
This Puma has a lot of room for a small 5th wheel. A great deal of closet and storage cabinets. It tows very easy and I have not had any problems with it since I bought it. The only drawback was the original mattress was very uncomfortable, but that was easy enough to remedy.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-05-01

RV reviewed2014 Palomino Columbus 320RS

View listings

4.8
This is a beautiful 5th wheel and tows like it is not even back there. Easy to setup and very comfortable. We have only used this for vacations and it fit our needs perfectly. Love this 5th wheel.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 85 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: