Open Range Roamer RVs Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Open Range Roamer RVs Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these RVs.

Read Reviews

Lindsey from Wyoming says:

We purchased our Open Range Roamer 316RLS in Oct 2015, and in the short 7 months since, we have run into several problems that we believe are due to p

Read More (7 reviews)

Have you owned any Open Range Roamer RVs? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2015 Open Range Roamer 316RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our Open Range Roamer 316RLS in Oct 2015, and in the short 7 months since, we have run into several problems that we believe are due to poor production of our camper. Almost immediately after our purchase, a lot of the wood framing around the slides started coming loose and popping off. We have found that almost every single (visible) screw is stripped. We noticed this first when our water heater started leaking- which is a separate issue- and we had to take the panel off the table in between the chairs to access it, the screw heads were completely stripped and we had a difficult time removing them. I wanted to remove the furnace covers to vacuum down in the vents and the screws were not only stripped, but I was unable to get them screwed back in because when they had originally been screwed in, they were just jammed in the floor and we cannot get the screws back in the holes no matter how we finagle the screws. We also have a screw with stripped threads in the ceiling vent in the hallway, which prevents the window from closing tight. When there is any wind at all, it is able to lift up and rip open that window. We also have sealant around the windows on the roof that is already cracking and has to be replaced. Granted, these are issues that we are able to fix ourselves, but being that we just spent over $40,000 on a brand new camper, we should not be having these issues right off the bat. A few months into owning our Open Range, we noticed a mildew smell around the chairs at the back of the coach. After further inspection we realized the carpet was wet as well as the base of the table in between the chairs. We had to call a repair service as we were traveling and were hours from the nearest authorized dealer, and he found that the water heater was spraying from the hoses where the nuts were simply not tightened enough in the factory. About two months ago, the front "rock guard" right above the hitch ripped loose. When we contacted warranty, we were told we had to go to the closest authorized dealer almost (two hours away) have them take pictures, and then return again on a later date to have it fixed. When we hooked up to get it to the dealer, we got less than a mile down the road and the entire rock guard completely ripped off. My husband had to remove the screws from the strip and rig it back together so we could make it to the dealership. Once at the authorized service center, we were told it would be weeks before it could be fixed, they put some tape over the front of the camper, and sent us on our way. Several weeks later, we started smelling a sewer smell. We could not figure out where it was coming from, and when we hooked our camper up to our truck to take it back to the service center to have the rock guard repaired, water started gushing from the underbelly for almost 5 minutes. The smell we had been smelling was stagnant water that had soaked the insulation and anything else located in the underbelly. The repair center told us they can't be sure how so much water got in the underbelly, it could have been from rain or there is a chance there is a cracked tank, but we would have to schedule yet ANOTHER two appointments (one for them to look at it, one for them to do the actual repair) We also had to have the emergency brake fuse box replaced because the box was melted and the wires were corroded. The wiring harnesses underneath the door-side tires also fell apart allowing wiring to be exposed, and had to be replaced. We've also had a random blowout of one of the tires on this RV, not that that is necessarily an Open Range issue, but it just adds to the list of issues we have experienced. The major issues we have encountered HAVE been covered by warranty, but we have to drive several hours multiple times to any nearest authorized service center. We were told we could use a non-authorized center, but we would probably have to pay up front and we wouldn't get guaranteed service. We are looking at trading out of it ASAP because we are so dissatisfied with our purchase!
- Lindsey, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-22 2014 Open Range Roamer 291RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
First of I love the layout of this RV. I wish the quality was comparable. We bought this thinking we would keep it for a long time. It was NOT a cheap RV. You pay this kind of money for something you expect some quality. We have owned several RVs and NEVER had this type of problems. Never had any issues really. This is a first for us. First of all the trim around the slides falls off. Which we thought no biggie. He fixed that. No problem. Then we were on vacation June 2016 and the front Slide would NOT go in. The gear box was out. So we had to call someone out to look at it. They confirmed and helped push it in. We got it home. Got appointment to get it fixed and of course had to cancel July 4th plans. Aug 1/16 this was fixed. We called Highland Ridge and we were out of warranty. Of course. Summer of 2018 noticed the recliner, where your head lays was splitting. Sort of peeling. Then noticed the couch was doing that as well. So, we had to replace the furniture in the unit as well. Now This weekend we have just returned from a trip weekend trip just an hour away. They rear slide has done the same thing. Yep. This will have to be fixed and oh the front slide that was fixed in Aug of 2016 they replaced gear box AND motor. It has also tore up and needs fixing as well. So will this be another summer of cancelled plans? We use the unit 3-4 times a year. This should not happen. This slide system is junk. The furniture is junk. We called them today and they said that since we did not call them during the warranty period that they were not responsible. So their customer service is terrible.
- Tina b Cooper, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-20 2013 Open Range Roamer 387RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought the RV with the thought of going full-time. Which we did for 6 years. Very liveable. When had problems, took it to factory. They gave us appointmen's and did the work in one day, plus did anything else that had recalls or where they had experienced problems on others. The automatic levels were a real plus on this size unit. We love the unit.
- Joyce Terry, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-13 2012 Open Range Roamer 281FLR View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very comfortable traveling in this RV with family on short trips to the shore as well as vacationing in it with my girlfriend. Evenings sitting outside under the awning after enjoying our barbecues were relaxing and memorable, as were all the people we met enjoying the RVing lifestyle. Indoor was just as comfortable and having 1.5 bathrooms helped. The larger bathroom had it's own set of sliding doors sealing it off from the bedroom, which also could be made entirely private. The double refrigerator and freezer came in handy on our vacations. The bike rack enabled us to carry 2 bikes and the hitch came in handy for towing a utility trailer which housed my Harley. Many good memories can be made in a comfortable coach, like this one.
- Bob Fox, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-01 2012 Open Range Roamer 281FLR View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This travel trailer is located in Kino Bay, Sonora Mexico. 275 miles south of Tucson, AZ. It has been extremely well maintained. It has been a great, livable beach house. Have to sell because of health problems.
- Karen Siggel, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-10 2012 Open Range Roamer 395BHS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This trailer has a great floor plan which is why we selected it. The unit has been disappointing because we have discovered several leaks around the windows. The large slide out had a design flaw that lead to the floor rotting in one corner. the rain water would flow down the wall and eventually wrap around to the floor. There was no barrier(like the newer units)to keep the water out. The second A/C kicks the breaker regularly as well. These should not be issues on a product less than 5 years old.
- KM, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-04-17 2013 Open Range Roamer 345RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We lived in this RV for 1 summer in the mountains and it was very well appointed and functional. With 2 air conditioners one in bedroom and 1 in living space. The 5th wheel has 4 seasons rating. The heater works well and the fireplace does warm the immediate area. The microwave convection oven is really nice. My husband states it is very easy to tow with the Chevy 2500 turbo diesel.( husband states truck is not for sale or included) Our moveable island gives more workspace. King size bed is great. Plenty of closet space. Dyson portable vaccum cleaner. Neutral colors and Corian counter tops. Automatic leveling system. Automatic awning system. The extras are nice for upscale camping.
- Shirley Prawdzik, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching RVs For Sale: