Open Range RVs Reviews (22)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Open Range RVs Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these RVs.

Read Reviews

Bryan Brown from Oklahoma says:

Very disappointed with my purchase. Would advise everyone to look at other brands!. I've had numerous problems with my trailer. I'm not the average rv

Read More (22 reviews)

Have you owned any Open Range RVs? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2015 Open Range 3X 397FBS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very disappointed with my purchase. Would advise everyone to look at other brands!. I've had numerous problems with my trailer. I'm not the average rv'er, I travel the mid U S and live in mine 16 days a month. Most repairs were covered by the two year warranty and my dealer was good enough to order parts then I could bring the trailer by for installation (if not the trailer would have been in shop more than on road). This is a list of repairs and the cost to overcome the repairs. 1. Slide out poured 5 half gallon buckets of water within first week I owned the trailer. Lucky we were in it. 2. 2 slide out gearboxes. 2 friends to help push slides in and out. 3.TV power supply burned out. Purchased a new TV ($425.00) to replace while waiting on tv to be replaced. 4. Refrigerator motherboard went out. The inside liner is cracking. 2 months to repair. Liner still cracked. Cost small refrigator and ice chest to replace while being repaired. ($500.00) 5. Entry door keypad dry cracked. No cost had keys 6. The automatic leveling has been looked at many times still does not work properly all the time. 7. Batteries have been replaced the warranty did not cover that.($175.00) 8. 4 of the recess ceiling lights have gone out. They replaced 3, I replaced 1. Cost $19.00 per light. 9. TV antenna does not work very well. Have been within 20 miles of major cities with no reception. Not repaired 10. One of the sewer slides is sticking like it is linked. 11.They sold me a trailer that only had 3 20 gallon propane tanks instead of 4. Purchase another propane tank. ($60.00) When I asked they said rvia wouldn't allow it. 12. The kitchen pantry that holds the slide out shelves fame has broken were the shelves will not slide. Est cost is $350.00 to hire carpenter to rebuild fame work. Now if you figure the cost of dragging trailer back and forth to dealer I figure that I will have over $1000.00 in fuel and wear and tear in truck. That doesn't includ the 1 hour drive back and forth of my time. I just hope that a few people will read this review and take highland ridge/open range off their list of RV's.
- Bryan Brown, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-05-13 2018 Open Range 3X 427BHS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I would never buy a camper from Browns. Once you purchase the RV and service takes over is when the problems begin. We've had to call for months and finally had to say a few choice words before they repaired most of the items. Now we are going through the same problems again and again no replies. We paid over $60k for this Open Range and would love to just return it and buy something else from another RV Dealer. BTW. Life time warranty means nothing because they don't want to reply or fix anything. New Open Range 5th Wheel -Heat did not work in the bedroom -Thermostat was not working properly and they said that's common. -Ceiling fan not working properly -Outside storage compartment didn't lock -when we purchased camper the bedroom table was broken. 5 months later nothing -Main door was stuck and could not use. Had to go through the back door. -Electric water heater never worked Left messages for items that were not fixed. 1 week later no reply at all!! Never will by an Open Range again or purchase from Browns again!!! We cannot get rid of this camper and Browns fast enough.
- Rod & Akiko Parker, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-22 2014 Open Range Roamer 291RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
First of I love the layout of this RV. I wish the quality was comparable. We bought this thinking we would keep it for a long time. It was NOT a cheap RV. You pay this kind of money for something you expect some quality. We have owned several RVs and NEVER had this type of problems. Never had any issues really. This is a first for us. First of all the trim around the slides falls off. Which we thought no biggie. He fixed that. No problem. Then we were on vacation June 2016 and the front Slide would NOT go in. The gear box was out. So we had to call someone out to look at it. They confirmed and helped push it in. We got it home. Got appointment to get it fixed and of course had to cancel July 4th plans. Aug 1/16 this was fixed. We called Highland Ridge and we were out of warranty. Of course. Summer of 2018 noticed the recliner, where your head lays was splitting. Sort of peeling. Then noticed the couch was doing that as well. So, we had to replace the furniture in the unit as well. Now This weekend we have just returned from a trip weekend trip just an hour away. They rear slide has done the same thing. Yep. This will have to be fixed and oh the front slide that was fixed in Aug of 2016 they replaced gear box AND motor. It has also tore up and needs fixing as well. So will this be another summer of cancelled plans? We use the unit 3-4 times a year. This should not happen. This slide system is junk. The furniture is junk. We called them today and they said that since we did not call them during the warranty period that they were not responsible. So their customer service is terrible.
- Tina b Cooper, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-20 2013 Open Range Roamer 387RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought the RV with the thought of going full-time. Which we did for 6 years. Very liveable. When had problems, took it to factory. They gave us appointmen's and did the work in one day, plus did anything else that had recalls or where they had experienced problems on others. The automatic levels were a real plus on this size unit. We love the unit.
- Joyce Terry, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-03-30 2015 Open Range Open Range 427BHS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
It’s been fantastic! Tows Great. Very Livable with 5slide outs. Add a few personal touches and it’s home away from home. We added every option plus had dealer do more. Bunkhouse area is great for kids , a private office, or a second bedroom for adults along for the trip. Second bath and doorway make it very useful when camping or in an RV Park.
- Mike Simmons, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-21 2013 Open Range Light 308BHS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The Open Range Light 308BHS is the best floorplan for families with kids. Parents get their private master and kids get the bunk house. Opposing slides and kitchen island really give an open concept with the double large U-shaped dinnette. COOKS DREAM WITH FULL OUTDOOR KITCHEN. We loved this floorplan for our season of life. Sad to get rid of it-we loved it!
- Donnie, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-17 2018 Open Range 3X 427BHS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The Open Range 3X 427 BHS has a fantastic layout with ton of storage. It's fairly easy to set up and with 3500 Dually Truck it was an easy tow. The access to maintenance and propane areas was easy. However the internal trim and doors were misaligned. The outlets were loose and very poorly placed. The attention to detail could of been better. Overall it is a good buy for its price and a very livable option for full time RVing.
- Mark, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-13 2012 Open Range Roamer 281FLR View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very comfortable traveling in this RV with family on short trips to the shore as well as vacationing in it with my girlfriend. Evenings sitting outside under the awning after enjoying our barbecues were relaxing and memorable, as were all the people we met enjoying the RVing lifestyle. Indoor was just as comfortable and having 1.5 bathrooms helped. The larger bathroom had it's own set of sliding doors sealing it off from the bedroom, which also could be made entirely private. The double refrigerator and freezer came in handy on our vacations. The bike rack enabled us to carry 2 bikes and the hitch came in handy for towing a utility trailer which housed my Harley. Many good memories can be made in a comfortable coach, like this one.
- Bob Fox, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-01 2012 Open Range Roamer 281FLR View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This travel trailer is located in Kino Bay, Sonora Mexico. 275 miles south of Tucson, AZ. It has been extremely well maintained. It has been a great, livable beach house. Have to sell because of health problems.
- Karen Siggel, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-05 2018 Open Range 3X 388RKS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Saw the 3X 388RKS at the Hershey RV Show. Traded a 2009 Open Range 337RLS in on the 18 3X 388RKS. There is plenty of living space in this floor plan. The regular drum rakes need to be upgraded to self adjusters or disk brakes in my opinion.
- Dennis, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-02-02 2010 Open Range Open Range 391RES View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Ordered this unit new in 2010 to live in as Fulltimers. So much more living space compared to our friends motorhome units.We have traveled to Alaska twice as well as east coast to west coast north to south. Have enjoyed it the whole time. Few issues with power jacks and slides, but just like a stick house, you just have to keep things up. Last year the AC and the refrigerator both went out, so the next owners are really getting new updated products. Ready to downsize to a smaller unit and are definitely looking at Open Range again.
- Roger Stout, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-18 2015 Open Range Open Range 349RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Our final RV before going off the road. Regret selling as it was our dream 5th wheel....3rd one and the best. Lots of room and great floor plan. full size ref and larger shower. A few kinks when new but ironed out by the dealer. 3 trouble free years.
- gerald french, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-10 2012 Open Range Roamer 395BHS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This trailer has a great floor plan which is why we selected it. The unit has been disappointing because we have discovered several leaks around the windows. The large slide out had a design flaw that lead to the floor rotting in one corner. the rain water would flow down the wall and eventually wrap around to the floor. There was no barrier(like the newer units)to keep the water out. The second A/C kicks the breaker regularly as well. These should not be issues on a product less than 5 years old.
- KM, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-04-21 2012 Open Range 3X 427BHS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This camper has been a let down since the purchase. Within months, several things had to be replaced then in and out of the shop numerous times from leaks to applicance issues to SEVERAL other issues. Complete waste of money!
- Randy Triche, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-04-17 2013 Open Range Roamer 345RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We lived in this RV for 1 summer in the mountains and it was very well appointed and functional. With 2 air conditioners one in bedroom and 1 in living space. The 5th wheel has 4 seasons rating. The heater works well and the fireplace does warm the immediate area. The microwave convection oven is really nice. My husband states it is very easy to tow with the Chevy 2500 turbo diesel.( husband states truck is not for sale or included) Our moveable island gives more workspace. King size bed is great. Plenty of closet space. Dyson portable vaccum cleaner. Neutral colors and Corian counter tops. Automatic leveling system. Automatic awning system. The extras are nice for upscale camping.
- Shirley Prawdzik, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-03-18 2013 Open Range 3X 345RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We tow this 5th wheel with a 2500 heavy duty truck which tows it very easily. It is easier to tow a 5th wheel than a standard trailer. The interior is very attractive and I do like the comfortable king size bed. We have laundry hookups available but use facilities at the campground. The convection oven combination microwave is great. I have not used the regular oven since. TV in the bedroom as well as the large TV in the living room is nice. I enjoy the moveable island for work and storage. It is a four season trailer for colder weather as well as 2 air conditioners. We have not had to use the warranty so far. Open Range is found under Highland Range when looking. I would consider this brand if I was looking to buy.
- Shirley, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-06-14 2015 Open Range Mesa Ridge MF345RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This RV was purchased new for several reasons. it is our second Open Range product. The quality in both units was excellent and factory support very good as well. This unit is larger than the first Open Range and having become snowbirds for the winter we found it very easy to live in for extended periods of time (4 months). Auto-level works great and I would not purchase another unit without auto-level. Our only reason for selling is the need for a Toy Hauler to carry our H.D. trike. Would consider another Open Range IF it was a toy hauler.
- Robert Lussow , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-05-20 2015 Open Range Roamer 316RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our Open Range Roamer 316RLS in Oct 2015, and in the short 7 months since, we have run into several problems that we believe are due to poor production of our camper. Almost immediately after our purchase, a lot of the wood framing around the slides started coming loose and popping off. We have found that almost every single (visible) screw is stripped. We noticed this first when our water heater started leaking- which is a separate issue- and we had to take the panel off the table in between the chairs to access it, the screw heads were completely stripped and we had a difficult time removing them. I wanted to remove the furnace covers to vacuum down in the vents and the screws were not only stripped, but I was unable to get them screwed back in because when they had originally been screwed in, they were just jammed in the floor and we cannot get the screws back in the holes no matter how we finagle the screws. We also have a screw with stripped threads in the ceiling vent in the hallway, which prevents the window from closing tight. When there is any wind at all, it is able to lift up and rip open that window. We also have sealant around the windows on the roof that is already cracking and has to be replaced. Granted, these are issues that we are able to fix ourselves, but being that we just spent over $40,000 on a brand new camper, we should not be having these issues right off the bat. A few months into owning our Open Range, we noticed a mildew smell around the chairs at the back of the coach. After further inspection we realized the carpet was wet as well as the base of the table in between the chairs. We had to call a repair service as we were traveling and were hours from the nearest authorized dealer, and he found that the water heater was spraying from the hoses where the nuts were simply not tightened enough in the factory. About two months ago, the front "rock guard" right above the hitch ripped loose. When we contacted warranty, we were told we had to go to the closest authorized dealer almost (two hours away) have them take pictures, and then return again on a later date to have it fixed. When we hooked up to get it to the dealer, we got less than a mile down the road and the entire rock guard completely ripped off. My husband had to remove the screws from the strip and rig it back together so we could make it to the dealership. Once at the authorized service center, we were told it would be weeks before it could be fixed, they put some tape over the front of the camper, and sent us on our way. Several weeks later, we started smelling a sewer smell. We could not figure out where it was coming from, and when we hooked our camper up to our truck to take it back to the service center to have the rock guard repaired, water started gushing from the underbelly for almost 5 minutes. The smell we had been smelling was stagnant water that had soaked the insulation and anything else located in the underbelly. The repair center told us they can't be sure how so much water got in the underbelly, it could have been from rain or there is a chance there is a cracked tank, but we would have to schedule yet ANOTHER two appointments (one for them to look at it, one for them to do the actual repair) We also had to have the emergency brake fuse box replaced because the box was melted and the wires were corroded. The wiring harnesses underneath the door-side tires also fell apart allowing wiring to be exposed, and had to be replaced. We've also had a random blowout of one of the tires on this RV, not that that is necessarily an Open Range issue, but it just adds to the list of issues we have experienced. The major issues we have encountered HAVE been covered by warranty, but we have to drive several hours multiple times to any nearest authorized service center. We were told we could use a non-authorized center, but we would probably have to pay up front and we wouldn't get guaranteed service. We are looking at trading out of it ASAP because we are so dissatisfied with our purchase!
- Lindsey, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-04-25 2013 Open Range Open Range 413RLL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We love our rv bc of its spacious unique layout with opposing slides, quality cabinets doors trim, BH loft works fabulous for our guests, feels like a home not an rv. If needed, it is ALL Season. Handles well on the road-hubby says he doesn't even know he is pulling anything. Open Ranges' quality is why we bought the 413RLL. To be honest: I only gave 4 Stars to manufacturer bc they sold the company to Jayco and I am not familiar with Jayco. We had a Montana before this 5th wheel and feel this rv is far superior. The self leveling makes setting up a breeze, wouldn't own a 5th without it anymore. The outside is fiberglass and clean's easy keeping its beautiful shine, making it look brand new. The easy on the electric awning can't be beat. I will never not have that nor the leveling system again. The outside doors of the storage are solid with good locks. Open Range does not skimp on the quality of their rv's producing a well priced unit as well.
- Kathy Collaro, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2015-01-17 2011 Open Range Open Range 427BHS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent all around, very easy to pull.
- Brian Zimmerman, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-12-15 2014 Open Range Light 318RLS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great kitchen and family room area. Bedroom a little tight between bed and bath wall. Had some teething issues which were handled by dealer under warranty. Only major complaint is the toilet drain is in the middle of storage area. And some problems with the black tank drainage system.
- Bob Biegel, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-12-15 2011 Open Range Journey 359fks View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
WARNING, WARNING, WARNING This is the biggest piece of junk on the market. To many problems to list completely. Fiberglass delamination (2 walls) weld in wall let go (2 times same weld) Frame pieces breaking off (4 separate pieces) Quick bite tunge tearing, and these are just a partial list of problems. Factory did not want to do anything for me and I ended selling back to dealer ( losing 27 thousand dollars) No other dealer would take in trade and I could not sell privately because I would be liable for problems. I would advice to keep your distance from this company ( now know as Highland RV) but run by the same people (Randy Graber). After many emails to the president of the company (Mr Graber) he would not answer any of them. Got my money then didn't want to know me. WARNING WARNING WARNING.
- Randolph Cookinham, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching RVs For Sale: