Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Northwood Truck Camper reviews

4.1
Write a review
Liveability
4.4
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
3.3

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Truck Campers

Reviews

28 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dana Ludwig

Colorado

Reviewed on 2016-08-27

RV reviewed2015 Northwood Arctic Fox 990

View listings

2.4
I purchased a 2015 Artic Fox 990 new in March of 2015. On my trip the roof delaminated and bubbled up. I took it to an RV repair shop in Alabama and was told it looked like the glue was to dry when the roof was installed and from all the heat it let loose. It will cost $5700.00 to replace and could not get it done for about 3 weeks. I contacted the Artic Fox manufacturer and was told that I was out of warranty by 5 months and I was on my own. Now I have to tarp it and get it home to get it fixed. I have had other problems with the slide out, exterior molding, bathroom door, cabinet doors warping, sink faucet coming apart. Very poor workmanship and customer service. Would highly not recommend buying an Artic Fox. The dealer may be great but no company support.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2021-11-30

RV reviewed2020 Northwood Wolf Creek 850

View listings

1.8
Wolf creek campers are terrible, ours leaked since the day we picked up the brand new camper. We brought it back over 10 times patiently hoping they would fix the issue but still sadly it leaks bad when it rains. Our only solution is to trade it in once we dry it out and get a break in the rain what a joke. Northwood manufacturing it terrible we tried to communicate with them nut they just delayed us and rudely we were told to talk to a guy that turned out to be a salesman once we actually got back in touch with them the warranty department pretended they had no idea this was going on but were not willing to do anything more. There was so many issues with this little camper BUYER BEWARE stay away from Northwood Mfg the products are terrible and getting worse.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl Fetterman

Idaho

Reviewed on 2021-10-16

RV reviewed2006 Northwood Arctic Fox 860

View listings

4.6
We bought our Arctic Fox new in 2006. It was built in the Winchester, Virginia plant, which I think has closed. Overall, it was well built and reliable, but nothing is perfect. 1. One of the axles was defective, and kept blowing up tires. It took quite an effort to find someone to fix it, partly because no one would believe me, but after getting it straightened, we never had another tire explode. 2. The big slide failed one day, fortunately when parked at home. I replaced the drive motor and gears, and figured out that the slide was riding on a piece of steel rather than what it was supposed to. 3. I found that the gaps around the fridge where devoid of insulation or any kind of seal. Fixed it myself. 4. The decals failed very early, in year four of our ownership. We stripped them off and bought new decals. What a pain that was. Overall, we really liked our AF, despite the problems, and kept it until 2019.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Blair

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-09-09

RV reviewed2018 Northwood Arctic Fox 1140

View listings

5.0
I am a strong supporter of the Arctic Fox 1140 camper. I have had one for over 3 years and the only issues I have had was an improperly wired fuse which was quickly corrected by the dealer, and a drawer slide that lost its bearings. This too was quickly repaired by the dealer. I do a lot of dry camping and the generator, solar panels and tank capacity (F 59gal, G 35gal and B 43 gal) are great benefits. I also usually spent 10 to 14 days winter camping and the 4 season capability with heated tanks, large closet for hanging coats and storing boots (wet bath) is welcomed. I keep the thermostat set at 58 deg F and the dual 12v battery bank runs the heater, fridge, and lights for 24hours without requiring the generator. We installed a 2 inch "keep cool" mattress topper and sleep wonderfully. The slide out allows two people to be in the camper without continually stepping over one another. I have frequently commented to friends that it is simply unbelievable that something that fits in the back of a pickup bed can be so roomy and have that much storage. The Fox steps are indispensable when towing. The 1140 is our second Arctic Fox Camper our first was a 990. We looked at every manufacturer we could find before making our first purchase. As far as I am concerned you cannot find a better built quality camper on the market. The fit and finish are excellent. Cabinets are residential quality, and there are lots of them. There are some with fancier counter tops and more expensive seating but none provide the value of the Arctic Fox.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ervin Hagerup

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-08-29

RV reviewed2019 Northwood Arctic Fox 811

View listings

4.2
The Northwood Arctic Fox 811 is full of features and quality that should be in a truck camper. It is pretty tall though, and being a shorter older guy,it is difficult to reach the propane tanks for refilling. I would like to see a connection to fill the tanks in place. That said it is fine for a younger person or a tall person to reach and manage. The camper is otherwise equipped with lots of thoughtful ideas to make camping fun. Quality is first rate and will last many years. Its time for me to pursue other plans and let someone else enjoy this Arctic Fox 811.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Michaels

Nevada

Reviewed on 2021-06-11

RV reviewed2006 Northwood Arctic Fox 990 Wet Bath

View listings

5.0
I’ve had many RV’s and the Arctic Fox is the best built one I’ve had. I really like the insulation properties. I’ve had it in 10 below in the winter and 120 in the summer and was always fine and comfortable.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zackary

California

Reviewed on 2021-03-15

RV reviewed2019 Northwood Wolf Creek 850

View listings

4.2
Overall really great camper. Bought new and had minimal defects but working with Northwood for the warranty work was super easy. Lots of counter space for the kitchen, the dinette was moderately comfortable but its gets a little cramped with the table sticking so far out (wish you could move the table to more places). Really enjoyed this camper, fits perfectly on 3/4 ton truck
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Green

California

Reviewed on 2021-01-25

RV reviewed2019 Northwood Arctic Fox 990

View listings

5.0
Previously had an older Skyline Weekender camper that was getting to old to fix. Frame issues, leaks etc. So I started looking at another used rig but didn't find anything that was exactly what I wanted. I then started seriously looking at most of the top brands new models and narrowed it down to four different manufacturers. Northern Lite, Bigfoot, Adventurer, and Arctic Fox. So I sent out some exploratory e-mails to a few different RV dealers to see what was available. That same evening , I think a Sunday no less I received a response from the GM at Apache Camping Center in Portland and he said that he had all four of my choices on his lot available to view side by side. This was May of 2018. A week later the wife and I flew up from San Diego and had an appointment for the following morning. So we show up the next day and meet with the GM and discuss what were looking for and he assigned one of their knowledge salesmen to walk us through the different campers and would answer any questions we had. Wasn't sure about a slide-out or not but was open to the idea. Looking at the Adventurer it looked nice but it had a slide-out on the drivers side and that was a deal breaker. Wouldn't be able to park on side of street and extend side as it would be in into traffic, Strike 1. Looked at a Bigfoot they had and it was nice but the facing dinette was small on one side so no way four people could sit side by side, Strike 2. Next up was the Northern lite and they had a couple different models. No slide which was ok and I liked the back porch area and the fit and finish was top notch but I didn't care for the large windows or the way they functioned. Not my cup of tea. So strike 3. Last but not least was the Arctic fox models 811,865, and the 990. Unfortunately the wife and I went into the 990 first and that was all she rote. With the slide out extended and the arched ceiling there was so much more room inside it wasn't funny. The dinette seats were large and the same sizes. The windows (double pane) were tinted and functioned like I wanted. The skylights were a bonus in the main salon and bathroom. But one of the biggest option it had that was available was ordering just the 3 burner stove top and having 2 large drawers below where the oven would of been to store all the cooking pots pans etc. Decided on the Convection / Microwave combo and a few other items and went inside to make the deal. So after deciding on everything we wanted and being told it would be ready for pick-up in 5 weeks we left a deposit to start the build and agreed to come back when it was ready. About 5 weeks exactly the wife and I drove up to pick it up ( took two days) and showed up when they opened and spent a bit of time inspecting to make sure all was ok and then went in to sign papers and pay the remaining balance and then went outside and loaded up on my truck. Luckily the truck was already set up with Forklift tie-downs, Front and Rear BR Sway bars, Airlift 5000 airbags and 1 ton rear springs and this is on a 2004 Ford F250 supercab. It took us 4 days to get back home taking our time and seeing some friends along the way. This past year I sold the 04' F250 and got a 19' F350 CCSRW with all the same mods that my 3/4t had and couldn't be happier. Been down to Baja a number of times as well as AZ, NM and all around Cali. Purchased a 2000k propane/gas generator that fits in the Gen storage area ( cost $600 instead of 4k from the dealer ) and added 510w of solar on the roof this thing is pretty self sufficient when going off grid. Was planning to do the Pacific Northwest this past year but that got nixed. Hopefully this year will be better. LOVE THE CAMPER and the dealer was great and we got a great deal. Only issue I have had was the check valve in the fresh water pump was sticking so Northwood sent me a new one for free and I installed it took all of an hour. Fixed the check valve and now have a spare.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gregory

Virginia

Reviewed on 2020-11-11

RV reviewed2018 Northwood Arctic Fox 1140

View listings

4.6
I've owned two other truck campers from Lance and this beats both of them hands down. Livability in the AF 1140 can't be beat. We're a family of four with an 80 lb golden retriever and there is plenty of room for all of us. Holding tanks and fresh water are plenty for a week stay.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-11-03

RV reviewed2020 Northwood Arctic Fox 811

View listings

3.0
Bought a 2020 811 truck camper based on what I’d heard and read about the Arctic Fox brand of RV’s. My brother also owned a 2012 version of the same camper and had nothing but good things to say. Oh how times change. I’ve had multiple problems with my 811 and thus far my experiences with Northwood customer service have been less than stellar. They have either referred me to an appliance manufacturer for resolution of a problem, or completely neglected to get back to me, or have not followed through with commitments made over the phone. The problems: Fridge runs constantly on gas or electric; a large loom of wires was draped unsupported over a water supply hose coming out of the pressure-demand pump, and the dynamic loading from traveling weakened the fitting. The fitting broke while the pump was switched on but no water was flowing, and the release of pressure caused the pump to kick on and water poured out of the broken fitting and into the basement. The dining room table trim is falling off from the perimeter of the table, and the weather sealing throughout is horrible. Opening the hampers on either side of the bed in cold weather is like opening a walk-in freezer, and donning clothes that were stored in them is seemingly like putting on clothes that were stored in an igloo. Using the USB ports on either side of the bed results in the ports annunciations a high-pitched whine that is nearly impossible to sleep through. Insulation of various exterior compartments is almost non-existent, even though this unit is advertised as a “4-season” RV. Sealing of the rear exterior compartments is ineffective, causing water and dirt to accumulate inside them. Compartment doors and hinges are so flimsy that they sag badly when opened, and locks are cheap. Considering the price charged for this camper none of these problems should exist. Northwood charges a premium for their offerings, although given the current trend of inferior materials and workmanship quality they won’t be doing that for long. I foresee them losing significant market share as a result of their profit-only business strategy, whilst neglecting quality workmanship and materials. It’s evident that even the (historically) better manufacturers have elected to provide hugely inferior products and workmanship in the interests of cost reduction, while maintaining high retail pricing to maximize earnings. I had initially planned on stepping up to an AF 5th wheel eventually, but I won’t be spending another penny on another AF unless they undertake a major turnaround over the next few years.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 28 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: