Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L reviews

4.2
Write a review
Liveability
4.6
Overall quality
3.9
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
3.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Paige Whitworth

Arizona

Reviewed on 2017-10-19

RV reviewed2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

4.0
4 months after having our unit we had issues with cooling off the inside. Outside temp 109, inside 101. assumed it was due to being to hot. Found out there was no insulation around refrigerator or in the cap so heated air was blowing in from the outside from out vanity bedroom drawers. The AC was also not installed completely causing the cold air to reverse and froze out AC unit. In trying to figure out what we thought we were doing wrong I called the dealership in Mesa, AZ who, after this ordeal that took over 8 months to figure out, has a better business rating of "F", they told me to, and this is literally, "Suck it up". I called Northwood and they would not help us where we were that had an onsite service center and stated that if we had any work done, they would not cover it. We ended up, at the start, sitting for 7 hours in our running truck with our dogs due to the high heat, had to buy an apartment window AC unit just to try and cool off the bed so we could drive the next morning, and buy a box fan to try and keep the flow of air circulating. At this time we didn't know the issues but frustrating none the less. We also had issues with drawer bottoms falling out with light load, screws constantly coming lose on drawer handles, the bedroom drawer constantly coming off the track, and the shower was leaking which was caused by poor installation and had to be reset and resealed. Northwood did cover the items when we got it back but as for helping on the road, they were of no help nor would they reimburse despite the fact that these issues were not our doing and the unit came from the factory that way.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (233)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Glen I Johnson

California

Reviewed on 2022-03-01

RV reviewed2018 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

4.4
This is our 9th or 10th trailer we've owned in the last 30 years. The last three have been Arctic Fox trailer. The first one a 22GQ took us to Alaska and back and several more trips totaling 15K miles without any problems. The next was a 26X that took us on a three month trip around the US as well as other trips totaling 28K miles without any problems. Last is the current 27-5L that took us to most of the states in the west totaling 11K miles. The only issue is we lost a wheel due to not checking and torquing the lug nuts. The only reason we are selling it is health and vision problems. Northwood product quality is due to a very substantial frame and structure framing and cabinetry. The appliances are the same as everyone elses. The 27-5L has some of the largest holding tanks in this size trailer. The grey water tanks are 67 and 35 that can be conbined to provide 102 gallons of capacity. This makes longer off grid camping possible. Fresg water and black tanks are also large.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carrie

Nevada

Reviewed on 2022-02-05

RV reviewed2014 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

3.6
We bought this 5th wheel used, in 2017. We bought it mainly because the Arctic Fox is so well insulated. We lived in it for over a year while our house was being built. The A/C could never keep up with cooling the 5th wheel off in the summer heat, and drew in the bad odors from the drains when it was on. The automatic holding tank drain valves never did work right, and would either stick closed or open. Then, if they did stick, you can't manually open them! We had to order new ones, and they aren't cheap. My husband had to pull off insulation under the 5th wheel to replace them. Also, the holding tank gauges never worked, either, in spite of doing EVERYTHING suggested for fixing them. For towing, we consider the height too high at 12'8" inches and it is a wide body at 8.6 ft., which sometimes is a pain to park if the slideout is hanging out in a street or in a cramped RV Park. Arctic Fox's are also very heavy 5th wheels. The bed has an air mattress which keeps leaking air. On the positive side, it was fairly comfortable for a small living space and most of the 5th wheel was well-built.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lisa

California

Reviewed on 2020-10-25

RV reviewed2019 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

5.0
I've had this RV for a year and it has been solid! Great insulation and no problems with the build. I've been shocked to hear the horror stories from my friends about the problems they've had with their rigs from other manufacturers. I'm so glad that I made the choice to buy from Northwood, nothing but great things to say!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Andrews

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2020-09-07

RV reviewed2019 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

5.0
My wife and I decided to downsize last fall from a 33' 5th wheel to this 27' rig. The skylight placement and windows provide more daylight than our last 5th wheel. The galley has lots of room to move around with plenty of cupboard space and a huge pantry. A Solar Panel monitor keeps batteries charged up. The only drawback for us is the closet space; but hey, we decided to downsize and this is the only drawback we have.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (24)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John A Bird

Montana

Reviewed on 2020-03-02

RV reviewed2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

3.6
We liked the fact that it was 29.5 ft in length, the kitchen and storage is adequate, it has a queen size bed,and prewired in the bedroom for a 2nd TV. We've had multiple problems with our unit per the following; 1. Refrigerator failed on our first trip which took nearly 2 months to repair. 2. The shower continually leaks. 3. Many screws throughout the unit have been stripped. 4. The plastic finish around the door casings were not screwed or glued in place. 5. This unit should be outfitted for 50 amp service in order to run your coffee pot and the microwave at the same time. There are also problems running a coffee pot and a curling iron or almost any other electrical service. 6. The table utilized within this model was removed and replaced with a custom credenza as our knees scraped the underside of the table. 7. The couch was replaced with two recliners in order to be more comfortable while using this unit. 8. The light switch which controls the lighting over the recliners should be moved to a more convenient location, it's a royal PITA. 9. The air conditioner should be replaced with a 15.5 unit along with a 50 amp service. 10. The height of this unit is extreme and should be lowered for safe use.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (25)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M. A. Jaeger

Washington

Reviewed on 2019-07-07

RV reviewed2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

4.0
The build quality by Arctic Fox is not good. The toilet fill line leaked and, several times, cabinet doors would be on the floor. The assembly at AF had left many screws stripped. The generator (under the bedroom) is quite loud and does not cool well. The generator chamber gets quite hot. Perhaps my largest complaint is the air conditioning which is totally inadequate if the outside air temperature is above 90. One time in Zion National Park the air conditioner was run for many hours and cooled the coach to a balmy 95 degrees. The 27-5L overall height is 13'6" such that one must be very careful about clearance. Not a problem for interstates and modern gas stations but small towns and older facilities can be a problem. On the trip above in Zion we wanted to leave eastbound through the Mt Carmel tunnel. While Prevost buses go through regularly the 27-5L will not clear; even using the drive-down-the-middle approach. In summary: I sold the trailer. I expected much more from AF.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (46)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sharon Brown

Washington

Reviewed on 2018-07-08

RV reviewed2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

4.0
Good - Max kitchen and livability features in 29 ft Bad - (A) Quality. More than 15 issues. Examples: Shower enclosure was not chalked. Shower drain came apart. Draft in the bedroom thru the bed side tables. Landing gear. Kitchen drawer bottom fell out. Front decal had to be replaced. (B) 13.5K Air Conditioner struggles to keep trailer at 75 when temp is over 90. (C) One GFI circuit with all kitchen, bath, LR, DR outlets wired to same 15 AMP breaker. You can not run a coffee pot and a heater at the same time. (D) Battery kill switch doesn't. We had to install one at the battery. (E) Gray water tanks valve and drain design. Embarrassing half gallon of water falls on the ground when we arrive at next park and take the cap off to attach the sewer hose. We've tried lowering the RV to facilitate draining. Had to install a external valve to mitigate the problem.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (37)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

paul

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2017-10-10

RV reviewed2015 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

5.0
One of only a hand full of four season manufacturers. Superb construction and quality. Northwood is one of the RV industry's leading manufacturers that truly builds four-season trailers. Polar pack, winter insulation for extreme conditions. The 27-5L is their most popular all seasons 5th wheel, the 27-5L is loaded with quality features. If you have been around the RV community, you will know the quality of these units.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C. Johnson

Montana

Reviewed on 2017-10-01

RV reviewed2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

5.0
Perfect RV for a couple or family for all seasons for camping in the great outdoors or RV Parks. Great storage space, comfortable, spacious living area. Heated couch is a standard feature on this trailer. The 4 point automatic leveling system makes unhooking and hooking back up quick and easy. Built in generator makes very convenient. This is the perfect trailer.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review