Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Newmar Mountain Aire Class A - Diesel reviews

4.2
Write a review
Liveability
4.6
Overall quality
4.3
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
2.5

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Class A - Diesel

Reviews

39 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dave Pierce

Montana

Reviewed on 2017-05-03

RV reviewed2016 Newmar Mountain Aire 4565

Shop this RV

3.2
Big slide problems in the shop for six months and still not correct, Newmar knew dam well they had a problem and let the dealers sell them any way, we bought ours September 1st. 2016 enjoyed it for a month and a half.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (24)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christopher Shaw

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-10-03

RV reviewed1998 Newmar Mountain Aire 4068

Shop this RV

1.0
My wife and I lived in this 40 ft single slide RV for 5 months over 2 summers. We selected it for the quality of workmanship. Amish made maple cabinetry are still solid after 20 years and 50k miles on the road. Dual pane windows and day/night shades with window awnings allowed to front/rear low profile A/C units to keep the interior cool with minimal run time and noise. The Spartan frame combined with the Cummins 325 Diesel engine provide a smooth Air Ride while easily climbing hills and descending them gracefully using the jake brake as needed. The Onan 7500 generator can run all appliances when running off-grid, which we often did when traveling the wide open roads. We upgraded the house batteries to 300 Lithium Ion batteries and 4 solar panels so that we could avoid running the generator unless we needed A/C or to do a load of laundry. The 4068 floor plan allows full access to the entire interior so that the slide need not be extended for short overnight stops. The viewing angle of the HDTV is eye level when sitting in the leather couch (or recliner) which prevented neck strain. The fold out couch was used for several weeks and is very comfortable (I speak from experience). Driving safety is enhanced by adding blind spot cameras and the improved color/night vision capability. We kept the stock b/w camera pointed at the hitch to improve backing. We towed our car by trailer and dolly many thousands of miles barely noticing it behind us. Our rig has a second box receiver that holds a bike rack so that we can easily use bikes even when hauling a car. The basement is quite cavernous, holding not only the Norcold freezer, but also an inflatable kayak, solar oven, tools for the road and items we collected on our journeys. When we first bought the RV we carried most of our belongings in the basement when we moved to FL. The original carpet was replaced with plank wood flooring that is much easier to maintain and better for the slide rollers. The slide rollers got brittle over the years and had to be replaced, which was tricky but quite feasible to on-going support from the Newmar support line that will help you get almost any replacement part. I had a leveler spring snap on one journey and Newmar support knew the exact replacement needed and set two springs to our next destination for a reasonable charge. Required routine maintenance has been pretty minimal. We have had the fuel filters replaced (needed at least once per year due to marginal fuel at some stations). The air filter is quite large, but available thru Amazon and easily replaced through the interior engine hatch under the rear bed. Oil changes are pricy but rarely needed. Overall we have been very happy with the Newmar Mountain Aire and look forward to many years more of service out of this solid motor home.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pat Johnson

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-04-15

RV reviewed2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4523

Shop this RV

3.4
Horrible, horrible photos. Can someone take photos that are crystal clear so you can zoom in on them? Can't see the mileage (blurry photos) Engine and generator photos need to be included and the generator should be shown installed and then slid out. Thanks
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mélanie Harvey

Quebec

Reviewed on 2021-03-02

RV reviewed2012 Newmar Mountain Aire 4330

Shop this RV

5.0
Très satisfaite du service Newmar ,toujours la pour aider même avec difficulté de Communiquer en français tous les réparations ou achats de chez Newmar direct sont très bien! Très facile à conduire avec le comfort Drive j! J’aimerais un autre Newmar
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Young

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-10-19

RV reviewed2017 Newmar Mountain Aire 4519

Shop this RV

4.4
Trading a Ventana LE for a Mountain Aire means a new coach with many more features and systems. Unfortunately my Mountain Aire was delivered by Independence RV of Orlando with no owners manuals! No where for me to go for explanations and/or instructions. Independence took this coach in for trade in June and sold it to me in October and in all that time said thy never noticed that it contained no owners manuals. And, no, Newgle is not a good substitute for no manuals. Be aware when you buy.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rod Cleavelin

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2020-09-27

RV reviewed2008 Newmar Mountain Aire 4529

Shop this RV

4.8
We had searched for several months when we bought the 2008 Mountain Aire. The primary features that drove our decision were a livable floor plan with a living room tv (not a front overhead unit), 4 storage trays in the basement, sofa hidden Queen bed for guests, strong engine(450hp) and Comfort Drive. The mid-bath floor plan with dual vanity was a delight. We installed an LG residential refrigerator making the unit very livable for extended trips. It has been an exceptional coach. Over about 17 years we have owned 4 motor homes and the Newmar has been the best. The Oasis Hydronic System provides even heat and immediate hot water, with two 1200 watt anodes it operates on electric as well as it does on diesel. The 2000 watt inverter handles the demands of the whole coach well. We enjoy occasionally watching tv outside on cool fall evenings and the large automatic awning actually expands our living area outdoors.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mis-T Adkins

Oregon

Reviewed on 2020-08-27

RV reviewed2005 Newmar Mountain Aire 4032

Shop this RV

5.0
We owned and lived in our 2005 Newmar for 18 months. We traveled a bit at the beginning and then we were pretty stationary for the last 8 months in an RV Park on the Southern Oregon Coast. It was just my husband and myself and our 2 medium size furbabies. We bought it used, however it was in near new condition with very low miles. Everything worked and held up great. We were very thankful for the Aqua Hot water heater, it ran on the diesel from our tank and also ran our heater. So our propane lasted longer and when we did go to a “permanent” rv space, our electric bill was very low! I learned to use the convection microwave for baking, it worked Great! The 3 burner gas stove worked great, however, to be honest, most of our cooking was done outside on our Camp Chef griddle/grill..... keeping the mess of cooking outside!! (I would totally recommend buying one!) The cabinetry was oak and the flooring was tile in the living room, kitchen and bath. Carpet in the rear bedroom and the 2 LR slides. Both of the air conditioners worked great when they were needed. Especially on our trip to Tucson, AZ in mid-June (who plans a trip to AZ in June🤔)!! It was 117-119 🥵 for 4-1/2 days and the AC was on continually! We would definitely purchase another Newmar again if the need arises! It was Very comfortable to live in. Very nice for towing and the ride was smooth! The only thing that I was Totally unprepared for was the World Wide Web! What a fight the Internet ended up being 😬😤🤯 My frustration was endless. We did not use cable and did not have satellite. My computer wouldn’t talk to my printer😬 and it’s Amazing how much data the television will eat up! We had Hulu for a few months. Until they let me know that we had used up All of our IP addresses (4) for the year😳 Then we got YouTubeTV (which we still have). Make sure you have That figured out at the get go! NOTE- RV parks say they have Internet available, but it’s usually the bare minimum and certainly not enough for streaming tv. Happy Trails!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Windquest

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-05-30

RV reviewed2016 Newmar Mountain Aire 4565

Shop this RV

3.4
We first purchased a 2013 Mountain Air and within a year we traded it in for a new 2016. While we like the layout of the coach the quality of the cabinetry is horrible. As we were leaving the dealership with our brand new coach a floor to sealing panel fell off. When we got it home we opened the back closet door and it fell apart. The cabinets open up when going down the road so we had to have a full routine of tying the cabinets closed before hitting the road. We also had to wedge a bar between the pantry door and the bathroom door to keep the pantry door closed. North Trail FtMyers claims to have great service- they don’t. It can take three months to get in to be serviced and the coach can easily be there for three months to get relatively minor repairs. I told my husband that if we want to own a Newmar we need to own two of them because one is always going to be in the shop. The service is horrible. We were having AC problems so we took the bus into a shop in Houston. While trying to fix the AC they somehow cut the hydraulics steering line and told us that we would have to spend $1000 to get it towed to Freightliner because the bus could not be driven. Three months later and a lot of fighting we got our bus back. We finally traded it in for a new Prevost and we are much happier. When we picked up our Prevost there was a gentleman staying in the site next to us who bought a King Air and after six months he too traded in for Prevost. The Newmars have nice layouts but the quality and service leave much to be desired.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cade Gibson

Indiana

Reviewed on 2020-02-29

RV reviewed2005 Newmar Mountain Aire 4018

Shop this RV

1.6
I own a Mountain Aire and we have had problems with a lot of the functionality of the unit. 1. Drive train was also a little off and would sift oddly in high terrain. 2. Engine seems to be over working with towing to the point that we would stop and let it cool before embarking on uneven roads. 3.The electronics were okay, but some of the string lights would go out and the entire line would need to be replaced. 4. The leather was always wrinkling causing aesthetic issues. 5. The cabinet doors were great and held up well but the cabinets themselves were extremely thin and have no strength to them.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kimberly Walker

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-02-10

RV reviewed2008 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528

Shop this RV

5.0
We have owned many RV's over the years, this Newmar Mountain Aire far exceeds any of the others! The ride feels like your floating, having the half bath for guest is a huge bonus! the interior seems to be timeless. This one is a beauty and has been cared for like a baby!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 39 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: