Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Newmar Dutch Star Class A - Diesel reviews

4.3
Write a review
Liveability
4.6
Overall quality
4.3
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.7
Factory warranty
3.4

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Class A - Diesel

Reviews

84 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

James Claus

California

Reviewed on 2017-03-19

RV reviewed2016 Newmar Dutch Star 4018

View listings

2.8
We got it 03/01/2016 did not get out of the parking lot and the problems begin with the leveling system and slid out in the shop used it 23 days then in the shop for 3 mouths they could not fix it. Then take it to the factory for 3 mouths.At the factory had them install washer & dryer where they broke the drain pipe and flooded the subfloor and storage and the bottom was full of water for 3 mouths. The leveling sys.has never worked and the hole wall slide is falling apart. If it is cold the generator will not start,the 1/2 bath smells like sewage all the time and the floor tiles keep breaking.the windshield wipers still don't work you cannot drive in the rain. NEWMAR DEALERS WILL NOT DO WARRANTY WORK!!!! 13000 MILES FROM SHOP TO SHOP TO FACTORY TO SHOP NEWMAR RESPONSE IS SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE YOUR 1 YEAR WARRANTY IS OVER. NEWMAR WHEN YOU KNOW THE DIFFERENCE NEWMAR JUNK
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (74)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Druann Bauer

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-11-16

RV reviewed2007 Newmar Dutch Star 4023

View listings

5.0
Newmar is a top-of-the-line manufacturer of motorhomes and it is apparent in the attention to detail found in the Dutch Star--corian countertops, tile, solid wood, and leather furniture. With the slides in, you have between 2 and 2 1/2 feet of walking space. You can easily use the kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom area. The windows and doors are so well insulated that we withstood the freeze last December in Texas. In fact, we hosted a dinner party for 14 inside our RV for those whose RVs weren't functioning very well due to the cold. There's something important to say about our Dutch Star being built in 2007. It is built very well. Things don't break. The trim doesn't fall off as you go down the road (as our new Jayco did). The wall and window insulation keeps you warm in the winter and cool in the summer. There is no DEF, so we don't have the recent issues others have with that system failing. The electronics are not as complicated as the latest models, but expansive enough to offer all the comforts of home. We have a whole-house sound system, fireplace, dishwasher, and washer and dryer. The leveling system is hydraulic, with easy-to-follow instructions. The 2007 was built like a tank, which is why you still see them on the road. And, maybe this is the most important thing, we can go up mountains without worrying about our engine overheating. It has over 6,000 pounds of carrying capacity. Our Jayco was around 1,000. We are so sorry to have to sell it, but retirement called...and we answered. If I were to buy another RV, I would buy Newmar AND I would look for a reliable older model--like ours.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Timothy T Dunkin SR

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-10-05

RV reviewed2021 Newmar Dutch Star 4326

View listings

5.0
We had not owned a motorhome in years and made a foolish decision to trust Camping World and buy a new 2019 Thor Aria from them. We simply did not know how unethical both of these companies were and still cannot understand how companies like these exist today. Word is getting out, but much too slowly. We were finally able to get rid of the Aria which we were never able to use as it was in the shop at Camping World for 6 months and then went to another shop where it was gone through and resold. It was brand new, but had no warranty upon sale as the Thor warranty voids upon transfer even if it is one week old. In reality it has no warranty to the original purchaser as well. I had owned several RV's previously and decided to buy a 2019 Newmar Ventana 4326. It was a wonderful coach and we were very happy with it. We enjoyed it so much, that we decided to order a new 2021 Dutch Star 4326 because we wanted the heated tile and a few other niceties. We loved the Dutch Star as well but decided to sell it and order a new 2022 London Aire 4535 bunk model with the 605 engine and a few more niceties. It is due to arrive in December 2021, so we cannot comment on it until we experience it but I am sure it will be wonderful like the previous models. It may sound strange that we are trading every year or so, but honestly NIRVC and Newmar have treated us so well that we have lost very little on the sale of our coaches. In fact, we are gone about 4 or 5 months a year and lose much less than half of what motel rooms would cost us. It continues to be a wonderful experience as well sleeping in our own bed etc. Newmar is the absolute opposite of Thor. They are available to us anywhere we travel and we have never experienced a negative situation with them. They are very supportive and conduct themselves with integrity. After the way I have been treated by Newmar, I would not consider any other coach except possibly a Newell, but we are not there yet. We can simply travel comfortably and without concern if we do have an issue. NIRVC has been wonderful and we continue to purchase from them. We had a hydraulic pump o-ring fail on a Saturday in Indio and the service manager from NIRVC called me on his cell phone and he walked the mobile mechanic right through it. The difference between a reputable dealer and Camping World is unbelievable as well as the difference between manufacturers like Thor and Newmar. On a final note, the Thor Aria had a sticker of $319,000. We used the coach one night and the most any dealer would offer us for it "brand new" was $120,000. All of the other dealers told us they simply would not put it on their lot. Newmar has an excellent reputation and resale value. I had my Ventana for a year, travelled across the country with it for months and sold it for $15,000 less than I paid for it. It is my opinion that buying a better coach from an ethical dealer is actually much cheaper than buying a cheaper coach from an unethical company (Camping World-Gander) and an unethical manufacturer (Thor) and living the nightmare of tremendous financial loss and being miserable each day in a terrible motorhome.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bryan

Nevada

Reviewed on 2021-09-21

RV reviewed2022 Newmar Dutch Star 4081

View listings

5.0
Great size, easy to park and drive. Excellent floor plan, a lot of storage. Newmar has great service. With it being so hard to get RV park reservations at 40 feet this model Dutch Star 4081 gives you alot more parking options. Also the dual rear axles is a must for ride comfort and towing.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Spangler

Montana

Reviewed on 2021-06-18

RV reviewed2000 Newmar Dutch Star 3858

View listings

5.0
We have enjoyed this Dutch Star immensely. Floor plan is suits us n our daughters family of four very well. Queen walk around master with plenty of clothes storage n hanging area x 4. Queen fold out couch is very easy to set up n take down. Rocker recliner swivels n is comfortable for reading at length. Driver n passenger front luxury seating is electric n so gentle on our old bones 🤪. One super slide makes the living room very large. The engine is quiet n efficient at 9-11 mpg. Fully loaded towing a trailer with our suv on it. We have always used the best filters (Donaldson n Amsoil) n amsoil 100 % synthetic fluids threw out. New AC’s are very cool 😎. Self leveling is a must we never take for granted New tires ride great. The Spartan Mtn master chassis is one of the best options we have for ride n steering. 115gl water tank n 100gl diesel fill either side are advantages we support for any RV. Needless to say we have enjoyed this coach for many years n we are only parting with it because of my sight failing It’s been a great ride. Time to move on. Mike
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joseph W Gustin

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-06-12

RV reviewed2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4369

View listings

5.0
With a full super slide of one side and two slides on the left side you have lots of room. I'm 6'5 and I feel very comfortable in this unit. Having any problems with this unit and with the extended warranty we have a piece of mine also with it. It has all the bells and whistles that you could ever want. Very fun to drive also.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marti Shoenfelt

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-05-23

RV reviewed2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4018

View listings

5.0
We absolutely love our Dutch Star! The Comfort Steer makes it so easy to drive and the quality is top notch! We also love the emergency exit in the bathroom as well as the tag axle on the 40 footer.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nina Rose

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-04-20

RV reviewed2000 Newmar Dutch Star 3858

View listings

4.6
Our 2000 Dutch Star has been a pleasure to own. It is not too long at 38' but has all the comforts and storage needed for long term use. My husband felt a second opposing slide would have made a big difference but I did not feel the same. It has been reliable for over 70,000 miles we put onto the 90,000 miles it already had. Costs for upkeep and repairs has been minimal compared to other R.V.'s
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-04-03

RV reviewed2016 Newmar Dutch Star 4369

View listings

2.6
We will never buy Newmar again since we don't love service lounges. We full timed for 4 years in a 2016 Dutch Star. The first year we spent 2 months in service while living in it. By the end of the fourth year we spent almost 5 months in service because of over 120 repair items. Even though they offer tech support during limited hours during the week, good luck getting someone to call after hours, the service techs frequently gave bad advice and struggled to timely get us into service facilities under warranty. They became useless after warranty expired. Extended warranty by Cornerstone was a joke on us, always denied a claim, never should have bought it. Big stuff like: side radiator gear box went out twice, AC unit failed, needed a new one, 2 slides leaked (lack of sealant inside the slide from production) causing severe damage to cabinets, steering gearbox failed, full wall slide sagged requiring additional support and replacement of broken tiles, Oasis system 2 pumps failed, 3 full wall hydraulic pumps had to be replaced (slide cheeped out while driving, then new pump leaked after they replace wrong pump), furniture replaced because the fake leather cracked, 5 television sets mostly for unknown reasons, refrigerator failed, televator replaced, door step electric cover broke, door latch broke twice, Oasis fluid leaks, power steering fluid leaks, 2 leaks to the Freightliner air system (requiring them to cut out the diesel tank to get at the air reservoir), Winegard over the air and satellite antennas both replaced, 3 outside decorative trim pieces just fell off from lack of adequate silicone, silicone caulking around entire outside separated from the paint, diamond shield on front bubbled and separated (no we don't allow power washers to be used on the coach). But it was the small stuff from lack of quality at Newmar production and components that just accumulated that were the most annoying; like toilet electric switch failed, tiles cracked, inside trim separated from walls, wall paper came off, power reel replaced, cable to TV failed, bay door actuator failed, loose fuse box connection, dry climates the wood shrinks exposing unstained wood, wood stain wore off around door knobs, numerous drawer latches had to be replaced. As most RVers know, its the phone calls, troubleshooting, rerouting, scheduling, and fighting about what was warranty and how long it takes to fix something is the biggest headache. We did our part making sure we followed all the service requirements and self maintenance of the coach. For a Class A costing over $420,000 MSRP, this was our mistake for buying it, believing we were getting "Newmar quality" for the price. Selling it was one of the happiest days of our lives. If RV manufacturers profit/cost cutting measure is to increase production but to fix problems post production, then they should be offering 2-3 year full warranties for time to fix all the production and component failures. It was impossible to schedule enough service appointments in the first year to fix all the issues we encountered. Many Newmar service centers required at least 3-4 months to schedule and mobile repair can only do so much. The only positive regarding repairs was the Newmar service in Nappanee, Indiana. Have to schedule months in advance, but at least they have the parts and knowledge to repair quickly unlike most RV dealer service centers.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Foster

Illinois

Reviewed on 2021-02-24

RV reviewed2005 Newmar Dutch Star 3810

View listings

4.8
Newmar is by far the premium Class A motor coach. Cabinetry and construction is second to none. Even with the older coaches, Newmar tech support has been excellent. Have absolutely no complaints with our unit!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 84 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: