Newmar Dutch Star Class A - Diesel Reviews on RV Insider (78)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Newmar Dutch Star Class A - Diesel RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

James Claus from California says:

We got it 03/01/2016 did not get out of the parking lot and the problems begin with the leveling system and slid out in the shop used it 23 days then

Read More (78 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We got it 03/01/2016 did not get out of the parking lot and the problems begin with the leveling system and slid out in the shop used it 23 days then in the shop for 3 mouths they could not fix it. Then take it to the factory for 3 mouths.At the factory had them install washer & dryer where they broke the drain pipe and flooded the subfloor and storage and the bottom was full of water for 3 mouths. The leveling sys.has never worked and the hole wall slide is falling apart. If it is cold the generator will not start,the 1/2 bath smells like sewage all the time and the floor tiles keep breaking.the windshield wipers still don't work you cannot drive in the rain. NEWMAR DEALERS WILL NOT DO WARRANTY WORK!!!! 13000 MILES FROM SHOP TO SHOP TO FACTORY TO SHOP NEWMAR RESPONSE IS SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE YOUR 1 YEAR WARRANTY IS OVER. NEWMAR WHEN YOU KNOW THE DIFFERENCE NEWMAR JUNK
- James Claus, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-02-24 2005 Newmar Dutch Star 3810 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Newmar is by far the premium Class A motor coach. Cabinetry and construction is second to none. Even with the older coaches, Newmar tech support has been excellent. Have absolutely no complaints with our unit!
- Kevin Foster, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-02-02 2013 Newmar Dutch Star 4338 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I would advise against anyone buying Freightliner RV in my area and many areas of the country. I had warranty from buying used 7500 miles from Billy Lewis at eagle vision. Within 3000 miles broke down 3 times eagle vision and freightliner were worthless. Stranded on the side of the highway with clutch fan failure freightliner had the parts 50 miles away but would not allow me or a mechanic to will call, they wanted me to use a dealer 6 hours away which of course the warranty company laughed at....then the same type of issue a week later with alternator failure, warranty paid 500 out of 3500....and would not pay more during the entire cost of all breakdowns of 12,000.00 and many freightliner de as lers will not deal with any warranty and hate eagke vision. So no reason to have a warranty and freightliner has bad service they really don't want to work on motorhomes in most authorized repair centers. Lots of problems with engine to transmission electronics, turbo pipe, and other issues you also can not get a basic oil and filter change in many areas like where I live. OASIS repair centers are hard to find...the interior is great and most house systems ok but it drives like crap and was 448k new, creaks and moans and banging at 7500 miles...gas class drive a little worse but are more reliable.
- Sven, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-01-29 2007 Newmar Dutch Star 4320 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have owned this brand of RV for twelve years. Newmar makes a good, solid product. Have visited the factory service center and was treated professionally and with great courtesy. Maintenance was a tad pricey but great service and wouldn't hesitate to come back again. The coach we have — with a Spartan, tag axle chassis — drives like a dream. We added the Koni shocks and it now takes the bridge/highway transitions so much softer. Highly recommend them. We have very little to complain about with this coach. Only wish we lived a bit closer to the factory service center for routine maintenance. After 12 years, our coach still looks like new and nothing has fallen off of it or worn out except usual items like tires. You can't go wrong with a Newmar!
- Ron Wells, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-20 2001 Newmar Dutch Star 3891 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Wonderful motorhome everything made to last on any Newmar product. The drive-ability was the best on the DutchStar extra stable even in wind goes up hills like a billy goat just the best. Better turning radius too
- Skip Tomas, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-11 2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Should have walked away from this deal at the dealer. problems started when we took delivery. One heatpump and one toilet weren't working when we did out PDI. dealer assured us it would be fixed asap, after we took delivery that promise disappeared, spent the next day sitting in the waiting room only to be told they didn't have the parts and we needed to come back in 6 months. This was Holiday World in Katy tx. Drove unit to Jacksonville where they fixed the toilet and replaced the heatpump but didn't seat or tighten it so next rain we got the bedroom flooded. That was campers Inn in Jacksonville and they wouldn't even return my calls as water poured into my new coach. Newmar sent a mobile mech to fix the leak. before we got out of fl got the double check engine light and def warnings, Spartan passed me off to Coach.net and a week later a mobile tech showed up and replaced the def head. Took the unit straight to Napannee ind (factory service center) to get a multitude of issues fixed such as window shades not working awnings inop rain pouring in from the full wall slide. While we were there they noticed the engine was leaking oil, had to call cummings for that issue, it was the rear main seal, took 2 weeks in the shop to get that fixed. all this with less than 3,000 miles on a new coach. It's sitting in my driveway waiting for me to wonder where I want to breakdown next.
- Jeff Mason, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-12-04 2011 Newmar Dutch Star 4034 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I've owned this coach for six years, bought it used and would buy a Newmar product again! It's well built,great options and excellent customer service from Newmar. This forty footer with comfort steering drives like a dream!
- batchiefwaddy, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-11-25 2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4002 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought new. Nothing but issues, although some expected while getting out the bugs there have been major problems and Newmar doesn’t have the staff, customer service hours, or customer friendly policies to resolve. 1) full wall slide won’t extend. We are now at 2nd shop because 1st shop refused to continue working with Newmar after waiting on hold for over 6 hours within 2 days. Newmar works 7am-4pm EST time which allows very little time to work with west coast shops. 2 months and still waiting for the problem to be diagnosed. You can’t get Newmar on the phone and their policy requires they be on every call with the 3rd party (HWH) and the repair shop. So days go by and nothing is happening because Newmar can’t get on the phone. How about scheduling calls instead of having them ad hoc! Poor and outdated business practices. 2)newmar management is nowhere to be found to help resolve the issues 3) poor customer service, lack of follow up, lack of “sorry you have an issue”, always an excuse 4) archaic customer service systems for tracking issues, it’s all done through email which is extremely inefficient 5) customer service hours do not support west coast hours The buyer profile is changing not all RV owners are retired and can spend hours, days, weeks, and now months trying to resolve issues. Full time work tends to get in the way. We will NEVER purchase a Newmar again. List of issues: -full wall slide doesn’t extend -bathroom window came detached while driving -exhaust tip fell off -rear driver brake light fell off -basement door latch broken -basement door latch opens while driving -front shade motor defective won’t consistently go up or down -refrigerator lock not installed took 2 months to receive, bungee cord until then -step slide cover defective and rattles can’t use -upholstery on passenger chair coming off -TV lift in living room not aligned with TV eye (too low) remote can’t find eye easily
- Kimberly Bennett, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-03 2004 Newmar Dutch Star 3813 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I purchased this RV about 3 years ago and have taken 3 cross country trips with it. It handles very well, has good power on the road even when pulling a 24' trailer with a small car and a motorcycle in it. The coach is well appointed inside and out to make travel and living very comfortable. The slides are automatic at the push of a button. The large awning is electric with a wind sensor so you don't have to worry about leaving it out when you leave the coach. One of the best features of this coach is the king size bed that was special ordered from the factory. Very nice and comfy feature. After a title search on this vehicle it shows that it was never in an accident and there were no factory recalls. It also has a pull out tray that is accessible from either side. All the comforts of home away from home. I know of no problems with the coach and would be comfortable selling it to a family member or friend.
- Don, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-14 2017 Newmar Dutch Star 3724 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We are essentially full-time RVers, and this is our first coach. We are continually impressed with not only the quality of the coach, but also the many safety, comfort, and convenience features that have been designed into the vehicle. No accidents. Professionally maintained. An excellent value.
- Richard Johnson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-07 2017 Newmar Dutch Star 3724 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
A great designed and well built Motorhome with plenty of storage, The Dutchstar 3724 model has some great features. It has one LARGE two sink bathroom, a 27 x 69 pantry with six slide out shelves and a king size bed with a good sized wardrobe with shoe shelving. Very maneuverable and comfortable to drive. I do most of the driving myself!
- Rosemary , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-01 2013 Newmar Dutch Star 4338 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
$15,000 in non warranty repairs from 7500 miles to 15000 miles. All Freightliner issues, bought out of factory warranty, did not realize many Freightliner repair locations give you the middle finger and will not work with any after sale warranty company regardless of which one. The house systems and interior is good quality, Freightliner is happy to leave you abandoned in remote areas and not let you pick up parts from their regional centers. I have owned many RV types, all price ranges from 5,000 to 400,000 and the gas powered inexpensive have been most reliable. Yes the Newmar is quiet, driving it is only quiet on smooth roads, it rattles and squeaks like a cheap gas coach on bumpy roads. I would never own another Freightliner RV.
- ken aduddell, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-26 2007 Newmar Dutch Star 4307 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Have owned this coach for almost 2 years, and although health issues and the China Virus have prevented much of our planned travel, we have enjoyed the coach. Newmar's customer service is unbelievably helpful....can't throw enough accolades their way!!! If we ever owned another motorhome, Newmar would be our first choice just for that reason. The coach has had many custom refits by previous owners, so the floor plan is not what we would have specified if we'd bought it new, but very comfortable and efficient for 2 persons. Storage, both interior and basement, is to be seen to be believed. We towed a Ford F-150, wheels down, with no problem at all.
- Robert Morris, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-13 2005 Newmar Dutch Star 4009 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Newmar is among the most highly rated motor homes. Newmar is made with the most discerning owner in mind. This unit is loaded with many expensive upgrades and optional equipment. Three sliders, four awnings.
- Bill Hill, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-28 1998 Newmar Dutch Star 3860 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Newmar makes a quality coach, they are very helpful if you have any problems, you can call and someone will help directly over the phone. They have all of the parts for the coach, but have found their prices to be on the high side, but they have them. Would recommend a Newmar to anyone looking for a quality diesel pusher-
- scott, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-28 2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4310 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
A terrible company. Arrogant with no reason . Very low level of finish and installation. Doors and latch falling and open while you driving. They will waste your time as a customer. Now they been sold to Winnebago the worst of the worst so very bad future to the company with 0 customer service!!
- Dr ron , District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-30 2002 Newmar Dutch Star 4095 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I purchased the RV from Lazy Days RV in Tampa Fl. Flew there and drove the unit off the lot to VA. Drive like a dream without any problems. Doesn’t do bad in fuel consumption either, about 10 to 11 mpg. Every system in the couch performed flawlessly. I don’t really have a dislike of the unit, but rather like all aspects. Easy to use, set up, and operate. Plenty of basement storage for goodies! I have camped all my life and owned everything from a pop-up to a class A pusher, and the Newmar Dutch Star 4095 is by far the best unit I have ever owned.
- William Gross, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-11 2003 Newmar Dutch Star 4004 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This coach has been a pleasure to own, drive and live in. Quality has been fantastic. Enjoyable for short or long trips. Recommend for anyone looking for a long term investment in a quality coach with great features including factory replaced roof, ceiling, HVAC units and LED lighting throughout.
- Teresa Brammer, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-31 2007 Newmar Dutch Star 4304 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
It was a great experience all round for 13 years . This is our 3rd big motor home but it’s time for a change after 20 years of motor home travel. Newmar has an excellent product and they look after us very well.
- Richard swenson, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-26 2001 Newmar Dutch Star 3858 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent RV, our coach has many updates including tires, complete new roof, all new batteries, refrigerator. Coach and generator have been serviced annually with all filters changed except the air filter, which was replaced this year. Just looking for more room.
- Lee, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-26 2003 Newmar Dutch Star 3803 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This was our first Motorhome. We chose to purchase an older unit in July of 2016. We loved the lifestyle. Newmar stills has parts for this older model and I can get someone pleasant on the phone to help us every time. Real Wood interiors and you can tell the quality. The 330 Cat and Onan 7500 Generator provide ample power for all our needs. Love the Newmar Brand.
- Bill Semple, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-24 2003 Newmar Dutch Star 3803 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This was our first RV. We read the "Blogs" and talked to other RV Owners. We looked for a used Tiffin, Monoco or Newmar. Being first time owners, we had no idea what our preferences were but project one was to get the "old" smell out of this 14 year old coach. During our first year we stopped at the Newmar Factory to check it out. They treated us the same as a new owner taking delivery. A nice gentlemen showed us how to locate parts and we purchased all kinds of little parts and pieces from these bins that renewed handles, lights, switches. We've noticed this coach is very well insulated both for temperature and noise. I've been in other coaches and you can easily hear your neighbors conversation next door. We are totally sold on this brand and are actively looking for a newer Newmar.
- Bill Semple, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-07 2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4369 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Purchased first of Feb. 2019 New Since then I have had use of unit for a total of 6 weeks. The rest of the time was having warranty work preformed. currently as of today it has been in the shop for the last month for replacement of the front ram for the 30' slide-out wall. November 7, 2019. this takes my Warranty down to an effective 3-1/2 months since so far the rest of the time it has been in the shop. I paid a $50.00 service call for a warranty issue. Sent Bill and receipt to Newmar and they sent me $10.00 back. In order to not have a high repair bill, I drove 60 miles in the rain without wipers. I am not at all satisfied with my decision to buy a Newmar product.
- Victor Conklin, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-27 2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4310 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
My wife and I have owned this RV since September 2018 and have enjoyed its amenities immensely. We have traveled with our daughter, son-in-law, and two grandchildren and all of us are well accommodated. The features are numerous ,as noted in the build sheet. We love this RV, but it’s time to move on to the next chapter of our life and stay near our growing family.
- Donald Howard, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-20 2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4310 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We are selling a 2019 bunk-floor plan with two full baths; a class A motorcoach. There are multiple upgrades and amenities. I will upload the build sheet. The coach is regularly detailed and has ceramic coating on the front cab. Protective heat screens for the tires and front cab are included.
- Donald Howard, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: