Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Newmar Class A - Diesel reviews

4.4
Write a review
Liveability
4.7
Overall quality
4.5
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.7
Factory warranty
3.5

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Class A - Diesel

Reviews

223 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Chase Herbig

Florida

Reviewed on 2017-02-11

RV reviewed2016 Newmar King Aire 4503

View listings

2.6
Purchased a King Air. Had a problem with the wall slide as it was not level. It was like walking on the side of a hill. Newmar knew they had the problems but sent them to the dealer with the defect. The dealer I also believe knew about the defect. Also the wall slide had a large dent from the inside out. Somehow I over looked it when I purchased but noticed it when I picked up the RV. Newmar service manager told me to bring the rv in and they would adjust the wall slide once they get the parts in from a vendor. This took a month. I refused to drive the RV to dealer since it was a 10 hour round trip then the same to pick up. Newmar manager said they would split the fuel. I was shocked. I refused and after I got my wife involved he agreed. He sent a driver to pick up the RV and returned it but they were suppose to repair the dent at the same time. They didn't stating they didn't have the time so I told The Newmar manager to keep it another week. Didn't hear back from him but the driver called and said he's on the way to deliver my RV. I was surprised that the dent was not going to be repaired but I told them that he would need to return the RV for repairs at his cost. When I got the RV back a few items that I gave the dealer to repair were not done and they destroyed my screen door and scratched up my stainless interior door panel. I later contacted Newmar service manager and told him that he needed to have the RV Ickes up to have the Dent repaired and the other screw up. He said it would be at my cost. Unbelievable,, after fighting thru this he agreed to pay for half the fuel cost. I was in absolute disbelief that this guy is asking me to not only return the RV to the dealer but was negotiating fuel cost. Are we talking about $100 at best. I owned one Essex my first RV then went into owning three preowned Prevosts. I honestly believed that I would get not only a superior RV but the best manufacture and dealer service. To the contrary I was in such disbelief that I sold the RV after owning about 4 months. I was concerned that if Newmar would treat us like they did after just paying over $700,000 for a King Aire what's it going to be like if I had another problem. Newmar knew of the defective wall slide as The service manager told me that they could fix in the field and had to have the vendor make the part for the fix. I have told my story to many many friend that RV and they have stayed away from Newmar. Be careful reading all of these great reviews. Many are staged. RVers need to look at for each other. The manufactures are not regulated like the vehicle manufactures. They dealt with me in bad faith and consumers need to be aware. RVT. Please publish.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (131)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck Smith

Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-11-20

RV reviewed2015 Newmar Ventana 3636

View listings

4.6
For almost 2 years we have enjoyed this coach. It's not too large or two small. Its drives well and we love the floor plan. If there was one thing we could change it would be having a king size bed. Other than that it was perfect for us. No complicated electronics to deal with. Runs off electric or gas. Fully self contained with a 8000w Onan generator. Well insulated and very quiet inside. It could use a little more power but the 340hp Cummins diesel gets you where you need to go. At 68mph we averaged right around 10mpg and could easily go 800 miles on a tank of gas. Bottom line is it simple. Easy to maintain and operate. We highly recommend this coach.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael J Donovan

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-11-16

RV reviewed2006 Newmar Kountry Star 3910

View listings

2.6
I have a 2006 Newmar Kountry Star with the two separate windshields . I am having a big problem with both my windshields as they are popping out of the gasket as well as cracking. I have taken the RV to a truck collision company here in Calgary and they have determined that the windshield opening is no longer square . We are attempting to square and size the windshield opening as originally built however Newmar technical support will not provide this information to me . I would appreciate the following measurements to the nearest mm or 1/16” ; a) Atop the exterior windshield , the vertical distance from the inside edge of the gaskets where the two windshields meet in the middle . b) Atop the exterior windshield , the horizontal distance from the inside edge of the gasket on the passenger side to the inside edge of the gasket on the driver side , halfway up the windshield , inclusive of the curves . c) On the interior, the same measurement as b) but straight from side to side excluding the curves. Thx . Mike Donovan
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Druann Bauer

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-11-16

RV reviewed2007 Newmar Dutch Star 4023

View listings

5.0
Newmar is a top-of-the-line manufacturer of motorhomes and it is apparent in the attention to detail found in the Dutch Star--corian countertops, tile, solid wood, and leather furniture. With the slides in, you have between 2 and 2 1/2 feet of walking space. You can easily use the kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom area. The windows and doors are so well insulated that we withstood the freeze last December in Texas. In fact, we hosted a dinner party for 14 inside our RV for those whose RVs weren't functioning very well due to the cold. There's something important to say about our Dutch Star being built in 2007. It is built very well. Things don't break. The trim doesn't fall off as you go down the road (as our new Jayco did). The wall and window insulation keeps you warm in the winter and cool in the summer. There is no DEF, so we don't have the recent issues others have with that system failing. The electronics are not as complicated as the latest models, but expansive enough to offer all the comforts of home. We have a whole-house sound system, fireplace, dishwasher, and washer and dryer. The leveling system is hydraulic, with easy-to-follow instructions. The 2007 was built like a tank, which is why you still see them on the road. And, maybe this is the most important thing, we can go up mountains without worrying about our engine overheating. It has over 6,000 pounds of carrying capacity. Our Jayco was around 1,000. We are so sorry to have to sell it, but retirement called...and we answered. If I were to buy another RV, I would buy Newmar AND I would look for a reliable older model--like ours.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darrell

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-10-10

RV reviewed2012 Newmar Ventana 4346

View listings

4.6
Newmar has a great reputation for building quality motorhomes and we have not been disappointed with our rig. We have done cold weather and all season camping with no issues. Of course you take extra precautions in the winter! Driving the rig is amazing even during strong cross winds. The Newmar Comfort Drive steering system makes compensation for having to steer into the wind. We LOVE the Oasis hydronic heating and hot water system. Tons of storage space is great. We don't have a pantry and that is something that would be nice to have. The craftsmanship of the cabinetry is top notch. The Cummins engine and Freightliner chassis have been worry free with no issues just routine maintenance.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Pearson

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-10-06

RV reviewed2018 Newmar King Aire 4534

View listings

5.0
This unit is great for full timers and is very easy to drive for long distances, fun for tailgating at sporting events. The King Aire is just that the king of comfort for everybody in the unit. And has a great towing capacity for that stacker towing capacity of 20,000 lbs.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Timothy T Dunkin SR

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-10-05

RV reviewed2021 Newmar Dutch Star 4326

View listings

5.0
We had not owned a motorhome in years and made a foolish decision to trust Camping World and buy a new 2019 Thor Aria from them. We simply did not know how unethical both of these companies were and still cannot understand how companies like these exist today. Word is getting out, but much too slowly. We were finally able to get rid of the Aria which we were never able to use as it was in the shop at Camping World for 6 months and then went to another shop where it was gone through and resold. It was brand new, but had no warranty upon sale as the Thor warranty voids upon transfer even if it is one week old. In reality it has no warranty to the original purchaser as well. I had owned several RV's previously and decided to buy a 2019 Newmar Ventana 4326. It was a wonderful coach and we were very happy with it. We enjoyed it so much, that we decided to order a new 2021 Dutch Star 4326 because we wanted the heated tile and a few other niceties. We loved the Dutch Star as well but decided to sell it and order a new 2022 London Aire 4535 bunk model with the 605 engine and a few more niceties. It is due to arrive in December 2021, so we cannot comment on it until we experience it but I am sure it will be wonderful like the previous models. It may sound strange that we are trading every year or so, but honestly NIRVC and Newmar have treated us so well that we have lost very little on the sale of our coaches. In fact, we are gone about 4 or 5 months a year and lose much less than half of what motel rooms would cost us. It continues to be a wonderful experience as well sleeping in our own bed etc. Newmar is the absolute opposite of Thor. They are available to us anywhere we travel and we have never experienced a negative situation with them. They are very supportive and conduct themselves with integrity. After the way I have been treated by Newmar, I would not consider any other coach except possibly a Newell, but we are not there yet. We can simply travel comfortably and without concern if we do have an issue. NIRVC has been wonderful and we continue to purchase from them. We had a hydraulic pump o-ring fail on a Saturday in Indio and the service manager from NIRVC called me on his cell phone and he walked the mobile mechanic right through it. The difference between a reputable dealer and Camping World is unbelievable as well as the difference between manufacturers like Thor and Newmar. On a final note, the Thor Aria had a sticker of $319,000. We used the coach one night and the most any dealer would offer us for it "brand new" was $120,000. All of the other dealers told us they simply would not put it on their lot. Newmar has an excellent reputation and resale value. I had my Ventana for a year, travelled across the country with it for months and sold it for $15,000 less than I paid for it. It is my opinion that buying a better coach from an ethical dealer is actually much cheaper than buying a cheaper coach from an unethical company (Camping World-Gander) and an unethical manufacturer (Thor) and living the nightmare of tremendous financial loss and being miserable each day in a terrible motorhome.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christopher Shaw

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-10-03

RV reviewed1998 Newmar Mountain Aire 4068

View listings

1.0
My wife and I lived in this 40 ft single slide RV for 5 months over 2 summers. We selected it for the quality of workmanship. Amish made maple cabinetry are still solid after 20 years and 50k miles on the road. Dual pane windows and day/night shades with window awnings allowed to front/rear low profile A/C units to keep the interior cool with minimal run time and noise. The Spartan frame combined with the Cummins 325 Diesel engine provide a smooth Air Ride while easily climbing hills and descending them gracefully using the jake brake as needed. The Onan 7500 generator can run all appliances when running off-grid, which we often did when traveling the wide open roads. We upgraded the house batteries to 300 Lithium Ion batteries and 4 solar panels so that we could avoid running the generator unless we needed A/C or to do a load of laundry. The 4068 floor plan allows full access to the entire interior so that the slide need not be extended for short overnight stops. The viewing angle of the HDTV is eye level when sitting in the leather couch (or recliner) which prevented neck strain. The fold out couch was used for several weeks and is very comfortable (I speak from experience). Driving safety is enhanced by adding blind spot cameras and the improved color/night vision capability. We kept the stock b/w camera pointed at the hitch to improve backing. We towed our car by trailer and dolly many thousands of miles barely noticing it behind us. Our rig has a second box receiver that holds a bike rack so that we can easily use bikes even when hauling a car. The basement is quite cavernous, holding not only the Norcold freezer, but also an inflatable kayak, solar oven, tools for the road and items we collected on our journeys. When we first bought the RV we carried most of our belongings in the basement when we moved to FL. The original carpet was replaced with plank wood flooring that is much easier to maintain and better for the slide rollers. The slide rollers got brittle over the years and had to be replaced, which was tricky but quite feasible to on-going support from the Newmar support line that will help you get almost any replacement part. I had a leveler spring snap on one journey and Newmar support knew the exact replacement needed and set two springs to our next destination for a reasonable charge. Required routine maintenance has been pretty minimal. We have had the fuel filters replaced (needed at least once per year due to marginal fuel at some stations). The air filter is quite large, but available thru Amazon and easily replaced through the interior engine hatch under the rear bed. Oil changes are pricy but rarely needed. Overall we have been very happy with the Newmar Mountain Aire and look forward to many years more of service out of this solid motor home.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Philip Sanders

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-09-22

RV reviewed2006 Newmar Essex 4502

View listings

3.4
I am trying to make repairs to an Essex model by Newmar. Newmar said a service advisor would call me, it never happened. I sent an email to parts 5 days ago, no response. I requested schematics and drawings for 12 volt system on the house side and they claim they do not have those. What little information I received was not very helpful. All they want to do is force you to go to a dealer. I was specifically told they would not have a technician help me because I'm an owner of a Newmar coach, can you believe that. Buyers beware.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bryan

Nevada

Reviewed on 2021-09-21

RV reviewed2022 Newmar Dutch Star 4081

View listings

5.0
Great size, easy to park and drive. Excellent floor plan, a lot of storage. Newmar has great service. With it being so hard to get RV park reservations at 40 feet this model Dutch Star 4081 gives you alot more parking options. Also the dual rear axles is a must for ride comfort and towing.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 23
  • 1 - 10 of 223 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: