Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Newmar Canyon Star reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.6
Floorplan
3.9
Driving/towing
3.7
Factory warranty
2.4

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

30 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Lois Lore

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2015-08-05

RV reviewed2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3920

View listings

0.6
I would like to tell you about my Newmar First of all when we first bout it the floor had some scatches the dealer said they could fix it take go camping and we will fix when you get back OK sounds good No not good Newmar said the scratches came because I did not clean the floor before putting in the slide Not true Cabinet above oven door was hanging while driving down the road The sewer they had the tanks labeled oppsite so as you can image it was like the movie RV except it back up in my shower Now we're riding down the road and the back up camera fall inside the dash board 5 screws that were never screwed in why because there was no place to screw them the freezer refrigerator lock fell apart so my husband I are riding in the camper to our vacation spot with duck tape holding the refrigerator shut duck tape to hold the back up camera The refrigerator shut off for some reason and we lost over $100.00 dollars worth of good truer to fix with teck but we had to take it in and guess what it was a breaker hidden it took the teck 2 hours to find and I have a surprise for not under warranty or extended warranty this bill was over $200.00 tub was not chalked so tub was leaking.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
0.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-09-05

RV reviewed2020 Newmar Canyon Star 3927

View listings

5.0
Newmar Class A Quality throughout. PLUS a garage for taking my Goldwing along. No need to trailer it. Sleeps up to 10 people, although about 4 of them should be children! Love the Truma tankless hot water heater! I have never run out of hot water during my shower while on full hookups. So nice indeed.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-04-05

RV reviewed2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3911

View listings

1.0
This review is for RV Insider itself. The r. Aboce is disguised.. Horrible service as I have contacted them 7 times for help on a review, crickets, no reply. I have retaliation for a review I made and want rv insider to help me remove or edit and they refuse to help.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry McEwen

California

Reviewed on 2021-03-04

RV reviewed2016 Newmar Canyon Star 3710

View listings

4.8
We purchased our 2016 Canyon Star 3710 new and have driven it approx 25,000 miles. 5 years later we are very happy with our purchase. It has been extremely reliable. Our only issues have been replacing one toilet and glueing back some corner trim pieces that came loose in the California desert heat. The coach structure and Ford F-53 26k chassis have have had no issues. We have driven thru the Sierras and the Cascades with ease. It does slow down at altitude but nothing that concerns us. It tows our Jeep Patriot easily. We did update the suspension with Koni FSD shocks and bigger anti-sway bars which made it ride smoother and handle better. We love the L-shaped sofa and the second half-bath comes in handy when we take the grandkids with us. Our only wish would be for a 3rd slide to create more space in the living room.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank

Louisiana

Reviewed on 2020-12-18

RV reviewed2020 Newmar Canyon Star 3911

View listings

3.4
Second 3911. Big mistake. First one was bad, this one is worse. Televator stuck halfway up, accordion door came off track, pocket door won't lock in place when traveling, headlight full of condensation, gauge on gray water tank won't read, bolt missing from driver's seat, awning won't close all the way, slides have to be adjusted ... Newmar did allow me to use a local rv repair shop for the work. But, it takes 3 weeks to get parts and those that do come are wrong.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shelley K Bossert

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-10-18

RV reviewed2016 Newmar Canyon Star 3953

View listings

4.6
We have been in love w this coach from day one. Floor plan is perfect for us. We have had some small detailing issues that we did NOT have on our previous Newmar, 2006 Mountainaire. That said, they were adjusted immediately upon identification. Newmar customer Service is second to none. What has not been addressed is wiring issues. They have plagued us from day one and continue to this day. Our unit evidently was not wired according to the schematic for this unit. Once we began having problems it was not possible to fix because wires did NOT correspond to schematic. In defense of Newmar, they have offered to make it right at the factory but we must pay to make the trip there. Amid Covid, we have been unwilling to make the trip and then find some place to be during the day while they work on the unit.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-09-21

RV reviewed2020 Newmar Canyon Star 3927

View listings

1.0
Worst nightmare ever. Fell apart over three months . Don’t purchase one without asking is why as we will save you $$$$$. Never seen such a fiasco in my life lack of quality control sub standard construction. Make sure you review everywhere on line as the truth is out there. Do NOT purchase this model or brand .
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter Lylick

Alberta

Reviewed on 2020-09-18

RV reviewed2019 Newmar Canyon Star 3722

View listings

3.4
Very poor workmanship , the rear slide out walls on both sides are oblong where the slides go in , which means the cutouts are not square . went to other dealers and noticed other models had the same problem no matter what the model . my fibreglass roof has dips in it and when it rains I have 7 water puddles , sooner or later will leak in the coach .the roof has bulging areas which means the one piece roof is not the proper size on my unit . BUYERS CHECK THESE ITEMS BEFORE YOU BUY .
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank Campo

Louisiana

Reviewed on 2019-11-24

RV reviewed2018 Newmar Canyon Star 3911

View listings

3.2
I'll make it short. Had it for 2 years. Goes into shop after every trip, not for the same problem. Neighbors think I rent it. One other thing. Washer, dryer and fridge are Whirpool. If you have a problem and call Whirlpool they say their products are not made for RV's and Newmar is no help
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jean Burmester

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-10-23

RV reviewed2015 Newmar Canyon Star 3953

View listings

5.0
This is a dream RV and we unfortunately are not using it. We retired and find ourselves on cruises more and more. The layout is perfect for cooking and living. The dining table has two leaves providing an extra amount of flat surface for entertaining and cooking. My husband and I eat at the dining table and have both tv screens on so we can both watch at the same time. We thought this was funny at first but it was enjoyable. The extra recliner was my husband’s seat as I stretched out on the couch while we watched movies through our Roku, WiFi or DVD. Fantastic stereo and audio system throughout including the outdoor entertainment center. My husband would grill and watch his football games. Again great for entertaining. The half bath also meant no one had to go into our bedroom. The side entrance being located behind the passenger seat was a must for us. I didn’t want to be taking food in and out by the passenger seat. I can’t imagine not having a driver door and the automatic window to pay tolls or get directions. The special amenities like the washer/dryer and the dishwasher were added by the first owner. Not what I would require as we would only go out for four or five days at a time. I did make use of the w/d making clean up on muddy, rainy or days at the beach a breeze. We are the second owner. We had never had a king or a sleep number bed before we bought the RV. Now we have a king and one day I want the sleep number at home. It makes camping a luxury! This RV is decked out to go on the road. The stabilizer bars make driving this 40 foot “Beast” as we call it easy enough for me to drive. Two options we have are selling the RV fully furnished with dishes, linens, fire pit, outdoor chairs, tools and much more and we have a Chevy HHR that is tow ready that can be sold with the RV. Come take a test drive!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 30 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review