Monaco Diplomat RVs Reviews (38)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Monaco Diplomat RVs Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these RVs.

Read Reviews

Roger from Alabama says:

I've owned many RV's in the past 50 years. They included pickup campers, bumper pull trailers, a large (45') fifth wheel trailer, and several motor ho

Read More (38 reviews)

Have you owned any Monaco Diplomat RVs? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I've owned many RV's in the past 50 years. They included pickup campers, bumper pull trailers, a large (45') fifth wheel trailer, and several motor homes. In 2005 Monaco made many changes to their Diplomat, including a fourth slide (in the 40PDQ model). That opened the interior up and resulted in spacious mobile living quarters. Monaco's choice of a ROADMASTER chassis, (with 8 airbags and 8 shocks), gives this coach a stable, quiet, comfortable ride. I previously owned another brand (comparable cost) and it rode like a "lumber truck". The way the newer Monacos handle crosswinds is really impressive. (2005 & newer) One shortcoming of most coaches is a lack of storage. I can honestly say that this coach has more storage that a person knows what to do with! Cabinets everywhere! Many drawers! Under coach storage that most coach owners would "die for". I've read posts authored by RV experts, and very experienced owners. Every one that I've ever read said something to the effect of, "YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH A Diplomat 40PDQ." I agree wholeheartedly! Note: There is a vast difference between various floor plans and various year models. Prior to year 2005 the ROADMASTER chassis used by Monaco, and other manufacturers, had handling problems. Those chassis models (RR4R) had only four airbags and four shocks. That was insufficient for a coach of 40'. Various remedies and aftermarket cures were attempted, to no avail. Stay clear of any brand or model riding on that chassis. If you will insist on ROADMASTER RR8R Chassis, combined with a Cummins ISL Turbo Diesel and an Allison World Transmission ... You'll be ONE HAPPY CAMPER for years to come! One last thing: Don't get hung up on horsepower. The ISL350 hp, and the ISL400 hp Cummins Turbo Diesel are basically the same engine. The 400 is simply programmed to drink more fuel, thus the extra horsepower. The 350 gets better gas mileage (diesel mileage). Any authorized Cummins dealer or authorized service center can change the horsepower (either up or down) by reprogramming the fuel controller. A local dealer quoted $170 to reprogram mine but I've heard other quotes of up to $300. My advice? If you buy a 350, leave it alone. Drive it a while and I think you'll find that Allison six speed transmission provides all the power you want, or can use. However, if you're doing a lot of mountain driving while towing ... and you don't object to loosing a mile per gallon ... have it changed to 400 hp. If you do change to 400 and you decide that you made a mistake, no problem ... have it changed back! Monaco got it right on this high quality coach!!!
- Roger, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-30 2003 Monaco Diplomat 40DST View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Excellent chassis very good ride with 8 airbags. My unit is 16 years old has been kept under cover and has at least 16+ years to go. Driving at moderate speeds 57-62 yields 9-9.5 mpg. An excellent floor plan with 2 bathrooms lends versatility for two couples to travel and each have their bathroom privacy.
- Ken Racht, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-12 2006 Monaco Diplomat 40PRQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Huge open Living Room. Nice shower and vanity area. Decent counter space for an RV. Separate water closet. Lot's of power for towing, and climbing hills. 400 H.P. Drives really smoothly. Really large closet space, and massive storage underneath in Basement. Two sofas a plus.
- Steven Williams, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-09-10 2009 Monaco Diplomat 42SKQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have put a fantastic 70,000 miles on this sturdy well built and fashionable coach. It’s style is a very now feeling and is quite accommodating for any trip. It has been from the east coast to the west coast three times in the last 9 years. There are wonderful memories in owning this coach! It is an easy coach to drive and manipulate in any situation. It has never been in an accident and the finish is immaculate.
- Greg Franco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-04-23 2005 Monaco Diplomat 40DST View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This Monaco Diplomat is a great combination of comfort and luxury aboard. The 400hp Cummins pushes you down the road with minimal effort. The extra forward bathroom is nice so guests don’t have to use your personal space while just visiting or traveling with you.
- Craig, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-08-03 2016 Monaco Diplomat 43DF View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought new from MHSRV.COM. overall excellent coach. Negative is the door. Too much noise despite having it adjusted. No major issues. Now have 22k miles and traveled coast to coast with ram truck at road
- Craig, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-04-16 2006 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This RV has it all. Ready to roll and could find absolutely nothing wrong with it. Unfortunately was not in my budget. Worth every penny they are asking for it. So many upgrades ... Best of the best in everything. Awesome coach.
- Marsh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-10-17 2008 Monaco Diplomat 41PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought our 2008 Monaco diplomat pre owned with 45000 miles. This is our 4th mh & the best. The ride & drive is great. It is loaded with extras & every thing still works. If you're looking for pre owned, this would be a good choice. BUT, they are not cheap!!!
- pat nixon, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-10-11 2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought new in Fayettvile NC. Owned & full timed for 7 yrs. This RV was a POS. Slide leaked; engine vibration & loss of power combined with constant transmission problems. Extremely drafty, seasonally hot/cold when on the road, refer always blowing fuses... list was endless. Finally unloaded it in El Paso for half of what it listed for used. Good riddance. Monaco filed for bankruptcy shortly afterwards. Cant believe there still in business.
- Robert Bell, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-09 2006 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have been so pleased with everything about the motorhome...with the 400 horsepower diesel, we have plenty of power to handle the hills around us, and when you throw in the 8 adjustable 8 bags it makes this coach amazing to drive. It has plenty of interior space while traveling, but it is simply huge with all four slide outs extended.
- Ralph Emerson, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-08-04 2006 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have been pleasantly surprised with the quality in which this coach has been built. The power of the 400 HP Diesel is incredible, especially up the hills, with the transmission shifting flawlessly!
- Ralph Emerson, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-20 2007 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Coach usually garaged except winter months in South TX and an occasional midwest rally. We like the two lavatory sinks, circular shower and 4 slide roominess. I like the computer desk with extra storage and room for a printer/copier. Wife does not want to sell, but there comes a time---now in our 80's.
- John Dockendorff, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-04 2005 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
HANDLES LIKE A DREAM. ACTUALLY ENJOY driving it more than my car. With the 4 slides it has abundant living space and has a nice large bathroom. The night/day shades give security. The 400 Cummins engine doesn't hesitate and the Allison 6 speed transmission works great.Its been a great coach to stay in in Florida
- richard dye, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-03-31 2016 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Have owned this Monaco just 1yr this month and its been in the shop for over 2.5 months trying to get things fixed that should have been done at the factory before it ever left. Quality control at the factory must really suck to see them come to dealers with all these problems. No help from factory so check it out good before buying. Need any info. on problems let me know.
- Gene Suelzle, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-02-28 2016 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought a new Monaco Diplomat but have not had a good experience,Likes have be the ride,steering of rear wheels,good motor 450hp.The dislikes have been all the problems it had when it came in. Out of 11 months I've had it its been in the shop 68 days for repairs on things that didn't work from day one. Things that were never checked before leaving factory.Now local shop trying to fix about 30 items.Not a happy camper.
- Gene Suelzle, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-02-14 2006 Monaco Diplomat 40PRQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We lived in this coach full time for nine years. This model has a lot of the features that more expensive models have and is very comfortable for living in as well as driving down the road. It has air ride suspension that keeps the coach level at all times while driving. For the money this is a very good investment for anyone that wants to travel in comfort.
- Gary Winroth, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-02-09 2008 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Nothing to complain about, everything worked the way it should. Nice quiet ride very comfortable on and off the highway. It's easy to operate and takes the work out of camping, 5 stars recommendation for posh camping.
- Mike Koger, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-12-15 2008 Monaco Diplomat 40SKQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The window shades have improved in RVs since 2008. I would do that upgrade if we were still traveling in it. Other than that it is absolutely perfect. Comfortable, love the front kitchen, rides like a dream.
- Gale Agee, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-10-07 2013 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I purchased this RV new. I spent about one year shopping. This model doesn't require DEF which is an additional cost of $350 a gallon. The 405 HP engine is more than adequate. The ride is great with the 10 air bag suspension. The residential refrigerator, 4 TVs and fireplace make it very nice and comfortable
- Jim Fulkerson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-08-28 2007 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have enjoyed our Monaco with its strong construction, very nice riding chassis, and Cummins engine paired with the Allison Transmission. We recently traveled the mountains of Colorado with no lack of power towing our 4 door Jeep Wrangler. This RV has everything you need for extended stays anywhere whether dry camping or at developed campgrounds. The 4 slide outs increase the interior so much that when the family comes along with grandchildren we still have plenty of room.
- Ernie , Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-07-14 2004 Monaco Diplomat 38PST View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I bought mine used and it surpasses all of my expectations. Very dependable, easy to drive. The floor plan was well designed. It is easy to set up when you reach your destination. Does a great job flat towing or using a car dolly.
- Brent, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-05-14 2011 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this RV late 2010 and have absolutely loved it. The ride is so smooth and the floor plan is perfect! We use to haggle over the bathroom with one sink but this RV has a total of 3 sinks. The mid bathroom is perfect going down the road. The frig and bathroom are both accessible while driving. The passenger recliner is awesome! We have worked out all the bugs and now when we travel in it we get to just enjoy the trip! I'm sad to sell but my husbands health no longer warrants us to keep it. We live our big dawg and whoever it goes to will love it as well.
- Ann gromer, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-05-02 2011 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Great coach to travel in. lots of storage, residential frig, able to get to the frig & bathroom while going down the road! The ride is awesome in this coach and it's like taking your home on the road! Hate to sale but husband just doesn't want to travel by rving anymore. I'll cry when the big dawg goes!
- Ann Gromer , Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-04-11 2011 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very spacious and upscale.Fits 6 people comfortably. Excellent choice. Hard to find below 200k. The 4 wings that open the space makes the bedroom and the living room quite roomy. The bathrooms are adorned with elegant finishes and with a full kitchen and washer and dryer we felt right at home.
- Sergio Gomez, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-24 2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very Nice big beautiful coach. All the comforts of home. Easy to drive and well built. no issues with the coach Very high quality Easy to tow a vehicle, easy to travel for long periods of time. Storage is plentiful and washer and dryer helps keep up small loads not one complaint on our travels in this rig
- John, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: