KZ Sportsmen Classic Reviews on RV Insider (11)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with KZ Sportsmen Classic RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Sarah from Michigan says:

We loved our KZ Sportsmen 19BH. Had it for 5 years, and would have kept it longer but our family outgrew it. Was small and manageable, no matter wha

Read More (11 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2010 KZ Sportsmen Classic 19BH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We loved our KZ Sportsmen 19BH. Had it for 5 years, and would have kept it longer but our family outgrew it. Was small and manageable, no matter what type of campsite we'd find when we arrived. Able to store in barn due to side AC unit. Lighweight and easy to tow.
- Sarah, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-08-09 2017 KZ Sportsmen Classic 180BH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have completed a number of long trips with no major issues. The only problem was the Norcold fridge stopped working and had to be replaced. Concerns are: Capacity is very low, unless you are travelling very light, this is not the trailer for you. Trailer is very low to the ground, we had to invert the axle to give us better ground clearance. KZ customer service either do not respond (if they don't like the question) or give general answers (sometime seemingly misleading). Nevertheless,this trailer has served us well and has given us some great memories.
- RV Travels , Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-20 2012 KZ Sportsmen Classic 16BH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We tented, and purchased are first RV second hand 3 years ago. We loved the layout and liveability of the KZ 19BH for 2 people. We spend 6 weeks in Florida State parks in the Winter and 6 weeks in Provincial State parks in the summer. We travel thousands of miles each year. Trailer is stored on our property in a portable storage shed in the off season. PROS: I debated whether to give 5 star or 0 star to factory support because we never needed them. The trailer has worked well the entire time we owned it. This is a great thing, so I gave it 5 stars. Trailer pulls easily, the size is perfect to enjoy camping in Nature, easier to get campsites as larger sites are booked by larger rigs and usually difficult, if not impossible to reserve. We prefer camping in trees and dirt versus paved RV Pad in a trailer parks. The 19BH has adequate living space for 2 people, rear bunks are useful for occasional visits from grand-children, and double as additional storage when they are not there. Never leaked, all appliances worked very well and never needed servicing the entire time we had it. The exterior washes easily with hose and a bit of soapy water. Servicing electrical panel, accessing the water lines to winterize the trailer and checking the heater, all easy access under back bunk and room to work on the them without having to be a circus acrobat. CONS- why we are moving into a different trailer: First, this trailer is quite liveable for 2 adults and the occasional visit of 2 children, but because we often have our grand-children for 2 to 3 weeks, we found the space to be insufficient as the storage of all the extra stuff needed was a pain, there is just not enough space. Secondly, we are getting older, so climbing over each other to get in or out of the Queen Bed is no longer fun. Opting to find a trailer with Queen bed that we can walk around has gained in importance. Third, I am so tired of converting the dinette area from our bed to a sitting area when it rains to sit and hang out. We mostly eat outside, so we didn't think this would be a problem, but after 3 years, I want a dinette. Mechanically, the only problem we ever had was the drain under the sink. Pipes became loose and water seeped out. They now need to be regularly tighten to avoid water under the counter. Probably needs to go in for servicing so they could re-seal them. We also tired of opening and closing the awning manually. We will be looking for a power awning on the next one. However the awning is great, if you're young, it is easy to put up and pull down, and it has lasted 8 years without breaking so the quality is there. The only other 'complaint' I have is that the size of the Waste Water tank is small so we need to dump regularly when we are camping in parks without full hook-ups. (For us, this is always the case) If I am very conservative with water usage, wash dishes outside and use the bathroom only when I must, we could go 3 days without having to empty the tanks. But if I wasn't careful, the tanks would fill in a day. Our next trailer will have a bigger reservoir, I believe on the KZ 19BH is 15 gallons. It is very small. Overall, I loved the KZ Sportman Classic and will be buying a KZ sportsmen 19foot trailer to replace this one. Same size, simply with a different floor plan and higher end. This one was a great starter model to figure out what we needed to be comfortable, without spending a lot of money. I can now upgrade using knowledge of what's important to us.
- Linda Knisley, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-08-13 2018 KZ Sportsmen Classic 180TH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Multiple serious problems. Layout, pullabilty and concept are great but quality is extremely low. In 800 miles (couldn't get more due to time spent in shop) and 7 months of ownership, these are some of the problems. Roof leak caused wall and bedding / mattress damage (Wall panel had to be replaced). Floor broke under rear tire of motorcycle while hauling - very weak floor, especially at seams that may have been made worse from the many water leaks (requires new floor). Fresh water tank leak required tank removal to find and repair leak. Front jack bolts broke off or were missing due to incorrect torque, leaving one bolt to hold up front of trailer. Fridge and microwave required re-installation, as they were falling out. Sink leak caused cabinet damage due to leak. Multiple other smaller problems that would make the list too long.
- Larry, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-17 2019 KZ Sportsmen Classic 181BH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I have tent camped for years, through scouting, military, and recreational. My wife has never really camped before, so after several months of shopping and researching, my wife and I decided to purchase our first camper. We purchased a KZ Sportsman Classic 181BH. From the moment we went and pick it up it has been a disaster!! The camper was riddled with dents and dings and scratches. It looked like it was the last one on an assymbly line on a friday afternoon! The sales rep from where we purchased called the factory and ordered basically all new panels. Factory is supposed to be sending 4 front panels, 2 rails and a rock plate for the front and 1 panel for back. The roof has so many ripples it looks like its waving at you. You can not use the floor to check the level of the camper because the floor is not level. We've had it out 1 time since we purchased it at the end of May, and the slide stop was missing causing the exterior wall to bow out crushing the slide gasket. The air conditioner quit working twice during the weekend. The screen door would jam causing it hard to get in and out of the camper. If this is what KZ's Quality and Control allows to leave their manufacturing facility, save your money. So our local Sales Rep, ordered the slide stop last Thursday 07/05/19. They ordered it to be expedited and delivered in 3 days. It is now Tuesday, 07/16/19 and it hasn't been delivered. So when I talked to the Service Dept of out local sales rep, they said the would find out and let me know. Well they called to tell me that KZ was out of stock and the part was backordered! But somehow thwy found 1 and they supposly next day aired it? We'll see? If there was a Lemon Law for campers this one broke the mold! I will never by this brand of RV again! Way to many issues for being new and for having to wait 2 weeks to even get it!
- Kristofer, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-06-29 2019 KZ Sportsmen Classic 180THT View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Build Quality is dismal. Roof leaked. Jack had 2 twisted off bolts. Fresh water tank leaked and had to be replaced.Fridge not installed correctly. Bathroom and front doors would not close. Bath wall not screwed to floor. Shower not sealed around base and leaked under floor. Still in the shop and has not seen the road after 5 months of ownership.
- SnowLothar, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-02 2011 KZ Sportsmen Classic 19SB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The Sportsman Classic is a nice small camper. Great for small family outings.it is lightweight and balanced making it very easy to tow.Has plenty of storage on the inside. All part have been durable, we have really enjoyed ours.
- Steven, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-03-18 2016 KZ Sportsmen Classic 14RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is a great unit for the Sportman or couple without children. Table doubles as bed but everywhere we camp already has picnic tables so we just leave set-up as bed. Small and lightweight makes for great towability.
- Sammy Molo, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2015-10-26 2012 KZ Sportsmen Classic 14RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
GOOD COMPACT RV GREAT FOR BEGINNERS , COULD USE LARGER FRESH WATER CAPACITY ,
- Anthony, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2015-10-26 2012 KZ Sportsmen Classic 14RB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Good compact rv great for beginners , could use larger fresh water capacity ,
- Anthony, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2015-03-04 2012 KZ Sportsmen Classic 16FKTH View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This Little RV/Toy hauler has been Awesome for us! Nice and light and perfect for short camping trips. has all the necessities to make your trip enjoyable, with shower, toilet, stove, AC and a comfy bed which converts to seats!
- Ed Elefante, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching RVs For Sale: