Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

KZ Durango reviews

4.1
Write a review
Liveability
4.3
Overall quality
3.6
Floorplan
4.9
Driving/towing
4.9
Factory warranty
2.6

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gary Whitton

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-09-11

RV reviewed2018 KZ Durango Sport

View listings

2.6
I purchased a Durango fifth wheel ( KZ MANUFACTURING owned by THOR INDUSTRIES) in June of 2018 and I have had numerous issues with it. The day I took it home I plugged it up to get it ready for the first trip, next day went out to start getting ready for trip and the outside plug assemble had pulled loose from the exterior of the RV under the mere weight of the power cord...They had attached the exterior plug assembly to the outside wall of the RV with 1/4 long screws only penetrating into outside layer of fiberglass wall 1/8 inches. I Had to repair this the proper way myself and upon tell KZ I wasn’t offered any compensation for cost and labor, just received comment “ that’s a good idea” when I explained how I repaired it. While on my first trip a few days later the entire shelving collapsed in the pantry. I spent two days of my vacation and material cost repairing this issue myself (same response as plug issue when I reported it to them)( they had put 1/8 inch thick panel shelves spanning 34 inch by 20 inch with 1/2 inch particle board braces along each end...no bracing across middle. Bear in mind we had 5- 6 cans of veggies and a loaf of bread on two of the shelves. )Took it in to dealer February 6,2019 for repairs and it took more than 3 months to get it back. If I had not called constantly to the dealer and KZ and Thor Industries I wouldn’t have gotten it back that soon. One of the issues was the kitchen and bathroom counter tops...the laminate was coming loose from the material used under it. Design flaw. I have this problem again in May of 2020 same issue still under warranty. First time they just replaced with exact same counter tops and design. I researched this and discovered that they changed to this design to save money...old design used a better resign based material that was a solid piece that would not allow moisture to penetrate it. I asked them to replace my counter top with the cheapest material of this kind at a cost of $ 2095 dollars. That was with me doing some of the work as the cabinet counter company doesn’t do plumbing ( ie unhooking and hooking up the sink drains and faucets. ) I was told they would cover $450 and 1.5 hrs of labor. This amount less than hat dealerships charge them to fix this issue. This unit Msrp at $54000 ! THOR ANNOUNCES NET SALES OF $2 BILLION, IMPROVED GROSS PROFIT MARGIN AND HIGHER BACKLOG FOR THE SECOND QUARTER OF FISCAL 2020 03/09/20 And they can’t fix my issues that cost less than $2500.00 This particular issue was not exclusive to my RV, another customer whom I will not name at this time had his replaced eight times to no avail. I will not buy another product made by KZ nor governed by the parent company Thor Industries if they cannot stand by their product.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (45)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lee

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-11

RV reviewed2022 KZ Durango 333RLT

View listings

3.2
Bought new!! Awning led lights don’t work, on the main awning, tankless water heater doesn’t work had to have pump pressure adjusted and still I would rather have a hot water heater, fresh water tank has to be dropped so they can change the sensor, ceiling fan doesn’t work because they didn’t program it into the monitor, refrigerator doesn’t work on LP as your traveling because it kinks the hose with the slide in. Just a few things we’ve found. Big disappointment from our first new camper.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Brewer

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-08-16

RV reviewed2022 KZ Durango 333RLT

View listings

5.0
We have owned kz fifth wheels for 14 years and love the warranty and how they stand by their work. Our dealer in Bay City, Mi are the best. Love meeting the kz crew and touring the plant was awesome. Thank you
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dustin Zimmerman

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-08-10

RV reviewed2017 KZ Durango 347BHF

View listings

4.8
We were impressed with the build quality. Only problems we had were dripping toilet/ water pump, which we noticed right away. Just from travel/jiggling. Always a good idea to tighten after traveling/living it a while. We had this in the mountains in winter and the desert in summer and were always cozy inside. Layout is great...TONS OF STORAGE. Definitely want a diesel 1-ton dually or larger to tow...it's a beast, but that's what makes it so comfortable to live in!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Melvin

West Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-06-18

RV reviewed2029 KZ Durango D284RLT

View listings

3.2
Overall good camper, when we get to use it, In almost 2 years it had spent about a year in the shop. Heater, fireplace hot water tank, Awning 3 times, slides 3 times, refrigerator 6 times, leaking water pump. If there was a lemon built we bought it. Talking to KV warranty people will make you want to take up drinking.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Glenn Newberry

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-06-15

RV reviewed2020 KZ Durango 301RLT

View listings

5.0
Second KZ product I've owned out of six trailers/fifth wheels altogether. Great improvement in quality from the fifth wheel I owned 8 years ago. So far this is the first RV I've owned that I haven't found any deficiencies in that required taking back to the dealer for warranty work.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Howard Clark

Montana

Reviewed on 2019-12-04

RV reviewed2020 KZ Durango 259RLS

View listings

4.0
First of all love the floor plan. Exterior looks great. Pulls very nicely, water management all inside a side compartment love it, swing down steps are great. Lots of storage inside and underneath. These are all the reasons we purchased. Now the bad. Furnace howled like a stepped on hound. Had to haul it back to dealer 100 miles one way. That was repaired. Refrigerator door will not remain closed while traveling. Bungee cord required. First rain, storm sun roofs leaked! Upon examination found multiple cracks, and missing edge with sealant. Sawdust at window, and vent below on bed and floor after traveling for a day. Recliners have heat and massage, turn on by themselves, or else switches are REAL sensitive. One is a two person effort to close as the mechanism hits support bar. Climate package does not mean the windows are air tight or insulating, cold air flows down you back while sitting at dinning table and feet. My impression is that minimum care in manufacturing.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (41)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Delynn Cook

Oregon

Reviewed on 2019-06-18

RV reviewed2006 KZ Durango 30R

View listings

4.6
We enjoyed our 5th wheel very much but it has become difficult for us to continue using it due to our age! We are sad to sell it for that reason! It’s in very good shape and clean for someone interested!It is a one owner
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barry Taylor

Washington

Reviewed on 2019-05-29

RV reviewed2010 KZ Durango 325

View listings

4.2
The KZ Durango 325 is an excellant 5th wheel with more storage room than you could imagine. We towed it for approx 4,000 miles and had no problems. With the 3 slides it opens up to a nice wide temporary home or it could even be permanant. The medium size fridge gave us plenty of room for food and the hole house vaccum system works great. It measures out to 34.5 feet and the dry weight is approx 9400 lbs. With the electric fireplace there is no need to burn extra propane to keep the place warm. When all the slides are in you can still get access to the fridge and bathroom with no problems. On a few of the 1 day stops we had, we did not open the slides and was still very comfortable. The only reason for selling is just about a foot to long to get totally into our pole barn for winter storage. Our lose would be your gain and a chance to see this great USA in comfort. Barry Taylor
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Reed

Missouri

Reviewed on 2016-06-15

RV reviewed2007 KZ Durango 305KS

View listings

4.0
Its one of the easiest campers we've pulled liked the table and chairs and all the cabinet space king size bed and storage basement also shower on out side and roomy shower on inside Big closet in bedroom and cabinets also
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province