Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Keystone Cougar reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
4.0
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
2.5

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

162 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Terry B

California

Reviewed on 2016-06-30

RV reviewed2016 Keystone Cougar 244RLS

Shop this RV

2.4
Buyer beware, very nice unit , tows great but pray you do not have any warranty issues. They will approve fixing the nickel and dime defects you can expect in any RV. But if you encounter a costly defect you will be instructed to get you owners Manuel out and check the fine print. Case in point, I have a 10 month old 2016 cougar with a roof that is starting to ripple in the front and the factory adhesive over the joints has some cracks in it that allowed wind to create the ripples. The fine print says owners must inspect their roof every 90 days and apply a approved material to patch that bonds with factory mastic. Camping world recommends doing this once a year. Needless to say claim denied, keystone once again made sure they could pass off any defect that was costly to the consumer. If the manufacturer won't honor their warranty, don't waste money on an extended warranty.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (160)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry White

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-10-27

RV reviewed2021 Keystone Cougar 25RDS

Shop this RV

3.2
We love the floor plan, just the right size for husband an me. Problems started right away the awning detached from the 5th wheel, we did not even get to take it out for our first trip. Put awning out at home to look at it and it came off. There is a cut in the awning. The roof has LOTS of bubbles on it. We took it in for repair. Warranty said the roof was not a manufacture defect. Don't understand that one. They said they will cover the awning to be reattached to 5th wheel but the cut in the awning is not a manufacture defect. This company will not stand by their product. Never again will I buy this product.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cheryl Kilroy

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-10-14

RV reviewed2016 Keystone Cougar 327RES

Shop this RV

5.0
We chose the 2016 Keystone Cougar 327RES th wheel in 2016 The floorplan mimicked our 2013 Keystone Passport TT. It is our 3rd Keystone RV. We ran the gamut with a Keystone hybrid, TT, 5th wheel as money
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allison Boyd

California

Reviewed on 2021-10-12

RV reviewed2019 Keystone Cougar 315RLS

Shop this RV

2.8
This is my first rv. I bought it 6 months ago (used) from its original owner. I have been traveling the western U.S. and living in it full-time since I purchased it. I must admit, as a first time rv owner, I should have never bought from a private party. I missed out on the whole "dealership experience" (demo's on how to operate various components; basic rv maintenance and set-up info; etc.). I am happy with the quality and appearance of my Cougar. The only complaint I have about the interior design is that of the Dinette Slide. The kitchen table is weak and not adequate to seat even 3 people comfortably. The corner t.v./fireplace set-up is a huge waste of space. The cabinet enclosure could easily be designed much more efficiently (either smaller or with access to the extra unused space for storage). This may be a complaint of all rv owner's (who knows), but I curse every single time I open/close a window or a window shade. The windows take so much strength to open that I wonder how in the world senior folks are able to manage. My biggest complaint, which is my reason for commenting, is with the Keystone RV Company. The company has the absolute worst customer support. Support materials/troubleshooting guides/manuals specifically to each rv ... either they do not exist or such materials are too vague. My rv manual doesn't address any of the main components specifically. Instead, it says to refer to the manufacturer's website for more info, and then lists several companies to contact depending on which one is in my particular rv. Many vital systems, such as holding tanks, valves, furnace, and tv/satellite cables are either impossible to access or are only accessible after taking apart and moving all kinds of barriers in the way. Not user friendly. They don't make it easy for diy repairs. They encourage, or almost allow no other option, all repairs be done at authorized dealers. All authorized dealers are extremely backlogged. To even get an appt., I have to wait more than 2 months. Living full time in my rv exacerbates the problem. Anyway, I will not buy from thus company again. Period. A company that passes the buck with all customer support matters doesn't deserve this customer's business.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gerald

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-10-10

RV reviewed2019 Keystone Cougar 368MBI

Shop this RV

3.4
Love this unit,BUT,after 1year...dealing with CW is a nightmare, unit in shop now..water leak under the shower floor,soaked the storage area..Bottom of unit sagging which leads me to believe the water may have got the wires wet CW claim to fix...they put a 2×4 to support the bottom of shower..storage floor still wet aaahhh if Ihad a $100,000 unit..or a 10,000 fix them like it was yours..called 2x to get a status update...no call back since 29 sept...I understand it's a rollin house things break...fix it I got great warranty oh, and a recall on suspension ..still love my unit
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John and Phyllis Abraham

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-09-19

RV reviewed2021 Keystone Cougar 25RDS

Shop this RV

2.2
My wife and I have owned camping trailers, Class A motorhomes, 5th wheel campers, Class C motorhomes for the past 50 years. As with anything manufactured, there are usually issues that need to be addressed, but usually the manufacturer stands behind their product. Here are some of the issues with the quality of the camper on the first trip: the bathroom door fell off onto the floor, the shower was leaking/running across the floor, the windows are set crooked and potentially leak, two entrance doors were crooked and would not shut properly, etc.. These issues are nothing but poor quality, but given time and the incredible skills of the mechanics at Camping World, Lowell, AR they can be fixed, but the lack of customer service and the haughty attitude of Keystone/Cougar cannot be fixed by the customer or Camping World. Dealing with the Home Office of Keystone/Cougar, gives me the impression that the entire culture of the company is aggressively rude and uncaring. This attitude permeates everyone that we dealt with at the Keystone/Cougar Home Office. Our dealing with the Customer (Lack of) Service has been absolutely nothing but disappointing. By talking to them, we understand: they don’t know the products, they don’t camp, and they definitely are not interested in customer service. We even talked to a Customer (Lack of) Service manager named Sasha that said three times she would check for us and call us back - she never called back - NEVER! Due to the telephone answering protocol, the entire organization, except Customer (Lack of) Service, is shielded from being contacted by the public. Just due to the organization shielding via the telephone recorded protocol, is ample warning that the company is dishonest and disinterested. Through incredible diligent investigation, I managed to ascertain the Vice President of Sales, Josh Mi**** and his office phone number. Upon contacting his voice mail, he did not return my phone call three times. Finally, I used someone else’s phone and he answered. This guy said, it didn’t matter to him, he didn’t really care at all, and he was not going to do anything to address the issue. We were definitely stunned at his indifference and uncaring attitude. In my professional life I dealt quite often with company executives and I really don’t remember being treated so harshly by any company representative as I was treated by Josh. The camper is ok, but I would not buy anything from Keystone/Cougar again because of the uncaring, unprofessional, discourteous, big company attitude. If you do buy from Keystone/Cougar, be prepared for absolutely NO customer service. The whole company really is built on “not caring” from my perspective and dealings.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (20)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave R

California

Reviewed on 2021-09-13

RV reviewed2015 Keystone Cougar 244RLSWE

Shop this RV

3.8
I'll write this simply as a story of my experiences. Wife and I originally had a 32ft Forest River Salem 5th wheel RV which was 'OK' but quite heavy and chunky, the old square-slab-fronted aluminum-finish type. At 10yrs old it had a few things needing attention, while also being a bit big for just 2 of us when we preferred Boondocking off the grid roughing it out in the wilds. So I traded the Salem in for this smaller 5th wheel, the smallest I think I could find, while also being a more-common type. When collected from Santa Rosa CA, I had to join heavy fast-moving freeway traffic quickly and my truck towing this trailer moved SO easily, as if it was not there, feeling lighter and aerodynamically better than our previous RV. The all-in-one fiberglass sides are a great benefit. When you downsize in length, it's invariably the kitchen area that gets hit with the most reduction, so the wife wasn't so happy, but there's only so much you can fit into a 27ft RV while still retaining an acceptable amount of wriggle room. She adapted very well and was still able to cook a full (15lb) turkey dinner at one point! The inbuilt (propane/12v) furnace isn't very economical and quite noisy, so we preferred to use a Big Buddy Mr Heater propane heater, which quietly and quickly warmed the RV in a few minutes. The aircon takes awhile to cool a warm RV but this is really the case for all RV's. Admittedly the insulation in the nose was almost non-existent so I removed the inside front trim to insert a lot of insulation, and fill some draughty gaps. I like the layout design of this RV in that, even with the slide-out retracted, it's still possible (just, if you're slim) to squeeze past between the kitchen counter and the slide-out bench seat, meaning you can still 'live in it' (including having access to the fridge!) with the slide-out in if camping at a restricted location. I'd rate the build quality as 'typical'. I believe - and this has been borne out by guys I've talked to in repair shops - that it doesn't matter whether you go for a cheaper or higher-end manufacturer, you can still get a lemon, or a good RV, just by pot-luck! So sometimes cabinet shelves can fall down while driving along rough roads, or bodywork can come away, or you find staples sticking out of the carpet, simply because they throw these things together 'on the clock'. You need to expect this if you're a Newbie to RV's! I incorporated so many personal mods on my RV, such as 6 solar panels in the roof, meaning voiding warranties, but I didn't have any major issues I couldn't handle by myself requiring me to consider any claims. This RV, just as most others, had a lot of 'dead space' hidden behind blank panels that I removed and made better use of. In 6 years our Cougar traveled 29,000miles on 9 trips, covering 11 western USA states, staying at 127 camping locations - nearly all for FREE thanks to its Boondocking capabilities! That was thanks to my modifications with adding solar and lithium batteries but also we learned to economize and the water/dump tanks could last us several weeks between servicing them. Overall I find the Cougar an average but quite acceptable model, and would recommend it.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Turner

Nevada

Reviewed on 2021-09-05

RV reviewed2021 Keystone Cougar 25RDS

Shop this RV

4.2
Love the trailer, however when they installed the incommand system they used a Sawzall to cut a hole in a inner wall to pass wiring through and cut into the sewer pipe from the toilet And Didn't repair the pipe, it was obviously damaged. At first I couldn't see the cut but used my phone camera to get the angle. The only reason I found it was a small hint of sewer oder and Flys going behind the wall in the lower storage area.My awning bracket popped off the side of the trailer after one month of purchase while driving down the road. Didn't loose the awning was able to tape it till I could stop and have it fixed correctly. Trailers are notorious for issues so I am not surprised, but am disappointed.the fresh water filler tube was also installed badly so it was very difficult to fill. When they installed the TV wifi antenna system the put the interior position directly over the corner of the slide upper corner so you can not install the wifi inside because the slide will not come in all the way or knock wifi module off the ceiling. Fortunately I use the phone Hotspot otherwise I would have to put a 6x6 inch notch in the upper valance on the left side of the slide. Not good planning positioning. These are issues I don't like , however some will be fixed and overall after 4 months and 3 trips we are happy with the Floorplan. We owned a different brand for 13 years prior to this one, with small age related issues, nothing from the factory.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

amy s wozniczka

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-08-29

RV reviewed2019 Keystone Cougar 368MBI

Shop this RV

5.0
It has a great floor plan. Not your traditional bunk room. We used the mid bunk with queen pull out couch as a second private bedroom. The fireplace really heats the place in October...super cozy. The center island and open floor plan is homey!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith Headley

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-08-23

RV reviewed2009 Keystone Cougar 26RLS

Shop this RV

4.6
2009 keystone cougar is the perfect size. I towed it behind my Ford F-350 and never knew I was back there. Everything works from the fridge to the ac/heater to the TV. Since its a fifth wheel it doesn't move back and forth on the highway with wind very stable. This camper with hutch and generator gas everything you need to go camping comfortably with the family this weekend.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 17
  • 1 - 10 of 162 reviews

More Matching RVs For Sale: