Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Holiday Rambler Vacationer reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
4.0
Overall quality
3.2
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
3.7
Factory warranty
2.2

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

39 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Eileen Boutwell

Oregon

Reviewed on 2017-03-28

RV reviewed2017 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 36X

View listings

3.8
I have waited along time to be a RV owner and had looked at alot RV's. The Holiday Rambler was my choice so bought a 2017. BIG MISTAKE. It is not built like it was said to be. Everyday I find something new that is either broken or not installed properly. Headed for Eugene OR for a recall and hope to get some things fixed. Be very careful when buying a RV. I pray this thing will last
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (71)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Kirmil

California

Reviewed on 2021-12-19

RV reviewed1997 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 31CG Ford

View listings

4.4
The Holiday Rambler is an excellent Class A RV for many reasons. First, the 31' length allows you to park completely in two normal parking spaces. Pull into a space, take the one in front of you also and you are out of the lanes and safely parked. It also handles very well from the factory. The Ford F-53 chassis is a very popular chassis and you can get parts for the chassis such as brake shoes, calipers, starter, alternator, etc. from any auto parts store. They carry parts for large F350 pickups and the parts are the same. The engine (Ford 460 V8) and Transmission (Ford C-6) are known as being Bulletproof. My 59,000 miles with only oil and brake changes are a testament to that. I did add airbags front and rear as the chassis swayed a lot about 30,000 miles. The springs were tired. They offer thicker sway bars but I was happy with just the airbags. The coach is made from Welded Aluminum tubing and is well insulated. Mine had the winter package with dual pane windows and heat to the wet bay where the water tank is. The cabinets are solid oak frames and faces of drawers. We never (24 years old) has never had a door or drawer come apart. The bed is very comfortable with just a mattress topper, and the Drivers seats are very plush and soft. At about 40,000 miles I switched the driver and passenger seat because the right side of the driver was worn and compressed. The passenger didn't even notice it and the seat is like new now. I have often driven 10 hours at a time and never complained about the seat.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Emma Payne

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-09-11

RV reviewed2021 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 35K

View listings

2.6
First off avoid General RV tampa. Worst customer service. We paid for our W/D to be moved from our exiting toy hauler to the unit and they told us they were not going to install for us. It took my husband 1.5 hours to do the job and they wanted 880 for the job. We had a long punch list of items that 9 months later are still not repaired. Our walk through the day of purchase was rushed and we have continued to be told conflicting information about our unit. We were told we did not have solar. We do. We were told the tv did not pull out. It does. We have two recalls on the unit with no parts to repair. We cannot locate the outdoor satellite hook up that states is included and apparently we have a auto retract awning which we were told it was not. The toilets have been malfunctioning and have air locks and the sensor shuts it off at 2/3 full with no warning. We have been left without working toilets several times. We cannot boondock for fear of not having usable toilets. The engine screams and high revs during any type of hill climb. Spark plug wires have burnt due to improper wires that sit on the engine. We have engine lights on almost every trip. We can only book repairs 4 months out. The ice maker has never worked. We picked up our unit on a Saturday and everyone left at 4:00 leaving us in the parking lot with antifreeze in our water tank. Limited staff on Sunday so we spent the night and on Monday morning the repair people would not speak to us or help us with anything. What should have been a very special day for us since we were working on our goal to go full time in a RV into us being abandoned in a parking lot. The workmanship on our unit is shabby. Trim missing, delaminating walls. Cabinet doors cracking due to poor install. Very sad. We plan on selling and purchasing a diesel once we get back to Florida this winter . When purchasing a new RV you can expect there will be some issues but this unit has surpassed anything we have experienced. We contacted the main headquarters to make arrangements to have them go over the unit and they wanted us to come to Indian in November. Pretty sad that based on our story they could not manage to fit us in for four months....
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Robertson

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-13

RV reviewed2012 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 36SBT

View listings

4.8
Our overall experience from owning this motorhome for 4 years is excellent. Any problems? Sure, had to replace slider motors on one slider. Replaced slider awnings (they do age). Water heater leaked and is replaced. Ford V10 engine never gave a lick of problem. Interior is sturdy and beautiful. Paint job is beautiful and like new. We lived in it and travelled for 15 months and loved it. We're selling (Aug 2021) and we may get close to our purchase price when we do (we'll see, but unbelievable if we do)!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony lee

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-08-12

RV reviewed1997 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 32CG

View listings

2.0
It looks good for his age how many miles does it have will it have to be picked up or will it be driven to the closest Michigan area and how do you do financing with credit Union has it been kept in great condition and clean free from rust no leaks how is the tires transmission and engine
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Elaine Chaffin

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2020-09-18

RV reviewed2016 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 36DBT

View listings

3.0
We purchased our 2016 Vacationer brand new in 2018. I thought this motorhome would be the only one for us. Since we purchased it we have had issue after issue. It was in the shop for weeks right after we purchased it. Finally we got it back and then a recall which we can’t seem to get fixed by the dealership. Our satellite is hit or miss, and we can’t figure out how the whole entertainment system works and neither can the dealership. The pump in our bathroom might work or it might not. The speakers on the outside entertainment center are not working properly. I wish I had my time to do this one over. I always thought Holiday Rambler was high end but I guess I was mistaken.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Sherbino

New York

Reviewed on 2020-07-04

RV reviewed2016 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 34ST

View listings

5.0
THIS IS A HIGH QUALITY COACH WITH SOLID CHERRY CABINETRY, NO PRESS BOARD WALLS/ETC AS IN CHEAPER BRANDS. LUXURY ABOUNDS IN THREE SLIDES. FULL 3 DOOR REFER W/ ICE MAKER, CENTRAL VACUUM, 3 INTERIOR/1 EXTERIOR TV, SOFA BED IS INFLATABLE MAKING COMFORTABLE SLEEPING W/NO UGLY CROSSBAR, CONVECTION/MICROWAVE PLUS MANY FINE EXTRAS. THE COACH IS EFFORTLESS AND FUN TO DRIVE, HEATED SIDE MIRRORS. GPS SCREEN SHOWS RV SIDES WHEN SIGNALING FOR LANE CHANGE/TURN. THIS IS A HIGH QUALITY COACH AT A MORE THAN REASONABLE PRICE.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jen Gorski

Michigan

Reviewed on 2020-01-23

RV reviewed2017 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 36Y

View listings

1.8
Personally, I'm very sad to see how rapidly our coach has fallen apart. It is stored indoors for majority of the year, but we have had many issues with it including driving/handling, outlets & lights not working, slides not working properly all the time, awning broke multiple times, trim falling off, weather striping around slide and cubby's falling off, lock to main door malfunctioning, and other items quit working. We have had the majority of these items fixed multiple times at General RV, however they are still a problem. At this point neither REV/Holiday Rambler or General RV will stand behind their workmanship and fix their "repairs" that are still broken. I would not recommend this coach. And sadly, our family loves to travel but with all these continual problems it makes our trips frustrating.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

PJ

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2019-09-20

RV reviewed2018 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 34S

View listings

3.8
Purchased the 34S for our retirement travels across country. We experienced a few small issues which the dealer quickly and effectively resolved following our "shake down outing. On one trip we spent 5-1/2 months on the road finding the layout spacious and comfortable. The F53 Chassis performed as specified and without incident as we placed 9,500 plus miles on the coach on just this one trip. We look forward to many more miles and trips!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kimberly

Maryland

Reviewed on 2019-05-11

RV reviewed2003 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 34SBD

View listings

4.4
My Husband and I purchased this coach to see if we liked the idea of owning and traveling in an RV. Our maiden voyage was our honeymoon in 2014. We went out to Montana and the Dakotas from Maryland. What a spectacular Trip. The RV travel was just fabulous. The layout of coach worked out quite well for us as travel warriors on the go. We towed our enclosed motorcycle trailer on our second trip out to the mid west. We did notice a bit more slug on towing on steep hills, but overall, we were hooked on this style of travel. My husband did great learning to drive this coach; there is no special licence needed to drive this model. The size of the coach has worked well for the two of us and we also had a trip that 4 of us that traveled from Texas and stayed in the RV. The sofa bed worked out good for our guests. The microwave/convection oven is a gem, although we mostly use our grill when we camp. We have been so thrilled with our experience that we recently invested in a newer model Coach- hence why we are selling our first. We hope the next owners fall in love with the joy that this RV has brought into our lives. The light and bright interior has not been a problem to maintain. The whole coach is smoke and pet free.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review