Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Highland Ridge OPEN RANGE reviews

5.0
Write a review
Liveability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty
5.0

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

79 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Vicki Witney

Ontario

Reviewed on 2018-01-07

RV reviewed2016 Highland Ridge RV Open Range 2604RB

View listings

1.8
Can't even begin to explain the frustration and disappointment we are feeling about this manufacturer and our trailer. Purchased our 2016 Open Range 2604RB in June of 2016 and have had NOTHING BUT ISSUES.Dealership in Cambridge, ON Canada has been awesome and very understanding but this unit is LEMON and should never have left the factory. They should take this piece of crap back and give us a brand new one. See list below of our issues: 1. first time out with the trailer, water tank fill has been a bone of contention .. fill to full and it will syphon itself empty - VERY BAD DESIGN and I believe one of your techs discovered this while attempting to find the issue 2. All the gauges on the panel were reading incorrect .. found out at our last visit that the panel was wired wrong all along - dealership rewired it correctly so hopefully next season everything will work correctly if I don't burn it to the ground before then 3. Supposed outdoor speakers have blown twice (replaced under warranty .. actually not sure if they have been replaced for the 2nd time yet since they were on order forever) 4. Both the left and right cargo doors warped and were replaced under warranty 5. Outdoor kitchen cargo door hinge broke free from the frame and complete door assembly had to be replaced under warranty 6. Entry door recently discovered to be warped .. not sure if this was "repaired" or "replaced" .. had better have been replaced 7. One of the jacks gave way under the weight of the trailer, buckled and couldn't be fixed .. all four jacks replaced AT OUR EXPENSE .. VALUE $275 TOTAL 8. Exterior molding at the front of the trailer came apart from the lower cowling and had to be fixed by dealership 9. Grounding screw for the electrical system rusted and stopped the electrical system from working on one of our vacations; we thought it was a bad battery and ended up purchasing a $200 BATTERY AT OUR OWN EXPENSE in hopes that would fix it; turns out dealership found it to be the rusted grounding screw and fixed it 10. Propane tank tray had to be sanded down and repainted as it was rusting before end of the 1st season - COMPLETED BY OWNER 11. Kitchen range vent hood replaced 12. Kitchen window wouldn't open - frame bent - REPAIRED BY OWNED 13. Before we took delivery of the trailer, the bathroom door had to be replaced as the veneer was peeling away in 2 spots 14. Right lower side of the pantry collapsed - REPAIRED BY OWNER 15. Left lower side of the pantry collapsed - repaired by dealership by going through the outdoor kitchen to repair and reframe it from underneath 16. Dinette base came apart from the slide out floor .. had fishing gear stowed underneath the seat and apparently that was too much weight for the floor - REPAIRED BY OWNER 17. Right side dinette back came apart from the wall of the trailer - REPAIRED BY OWNER 18. Dinette storage covers REPLACED BY OWNER as the chipping wood installed by manufacturer was damaging the cushions 19. Back of dinette next to couch came apart from the base of the seat - repaired by dealership 20. Latches on 2 of the kitchen drawers wouldn't hold and kept opening during travel - REPAIRED BY OWNER 21. Caulking in and around the shower is absolutely deplorable - yellow and globbed everywhere - WILL BE REPAIRED BY OWNER 22. Caulking around kitchen and bathroom sinks redone as water was leaking down underneath into cabinets 23. Water pump making EXCESSIVE noise - REPAIRED BY OWNER - well at least as best we could 24. Replaced screws in furnace exhaust vent with stainless steel as original ones were rusting and leaving streaks down the side of the trailer 25. Dinette table leg broke away from table - REPAIRED BY OWNER 26. Clear trim on closing edge of shower door keeps coming apart when you open the shower doors - WILL BE REPAIRED BY OWNER 27. After only 8-9 months of ACTUAL use, entire suspension, springs, axles and brake covers are showing signs of surface rust and will have to be sanded and sprayed - hopefully the frame we can't see isn't doing the same thing Our 2yr frame warranty is up in Jun of 2018 and can't even imagine what troubles we are going to have after that when we don't have any dealership/manufacture coverage for frame .. thankfully we purchased the extended warranty for the system related parts but in all honesty, we are going to take pictures in the spring and try and ditch this unit. Can you imagine trying to look forward to booking vacations when all you have experienced so far are headaches and issues almost every time you go away .. it's actually stressful. A+ rating .. NOT EVEN CLOSE
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (39)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joel

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-11-23

RV reviewed2021 Highland Ridge RV Open Range 331BHS

View listings

2.0
Bought a brand new 2021 open range 331BHS travel trailer. Went on my first camping trip and the rear bunkhouse slide would not slide out. Had to cancel trip early due to not being able to use bunkhouse for guests. Took trailer to a near by (1-1/2hrs away) dealer who could work on it through warranty. After 3 attempts, nearly 4-1/2 months of trying to get the correct parts to fix the slide they finally get it going and while testing the slide out it happened again the slide locked up. Technicians said they need to re align it to get it going again. After re alignment they now find something else broken. Now I am taking to another dealer 8hrs way where I bought it so they can fix the issues. Very disappointed with quality of trailer, customer service was terrible. After several attempts to get them to help they finally asked for my info but by that time the parts had came in. What should of been a awesome summer of family trips turned out to be a frustrating summer of money spent on a trailer I haven’t even had at my house for more than a month since purchase.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brandy Taylor

Idaho

Reviewed on 2021-11-06

RV reviewed2021 Highland Ridge RV Open Range OT26BHS

View listings

2.8
We bought the Open Range OT26BHS new in February 2021.On our first trip to our favorite camping spot 2 hrs from home, the shelf over the bed fell and ripped the wire harness to the light on it.On our first trip out of state the electrical wiring harness under the slide broke and the wires rubbed our tires all the way to our destination maki g half of our camper usless. On our second trip out of state, our slide mechanism broke and needed replaced. On this same trip, the bottom plastic ring hinge on our refrigerator broke and the door fell off. We have owned this piece of junk for less than a year. We have used it less than 12 weeks during that time and had to reattach shelving, replace slide mechanism, and replace the fridge. The water pump is super noisy and when you run the air conditioner you can barely hear someone speaking to you. I would not recommend this company or brand to anyone.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick Owens

Rhode Island

Reviewed on 2021-10-11

RV reviewed2020 Highland Ridge RV Open Range Light 275RLS

View listings

2.8
The trailer looks beautiful but, looks are deceiving. This trailer is a piece of junk. We bought in late 2019 and haven't been able to enjoy it for a full season since we bought it. It went back to the manufacturer...., Twice! The very first time we took it out, the kitchen slide out wouldn't go back in. The dealership sent it back to the manufacturer with a list of problems they felt needed to be repaired. The manufacturer fixed the slide out and nothing else. Of course the manufacturer didn't agree with all of the problems identified by the dealership, and sent it back to the dealership, only to have the dealership reject it and send it back a second time. Since we've had it, the fridge quit working and we've two leaks in the water system. By the time I retire in six years, at the rate it's going, the trailer won't be serviceable enough to take anywhere. Save your money, don't buy Open Range. At just over $4000.00, even the extended warranty isn't worth the paper it's written on. Our first and last travel trailer. We're fed up, we're selling this piece of shit!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Liz C

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-09-28

RV reviewed2021 Highland Ridge RV Open Range Light 275RLS

View listings

4.6
We have only used the camper 2 times for a couple of days each. The camper floor plan is set up well. Enjoyed our time out in it. It pulls easy and set up is a breeze. The outdoor kitchen is so convenient. We added the outside tv.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lindsay Waterman

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-09-17

RV reviewed2020 Highland Ridge RV Open Range OF427BHS

View listings

4.6
We love the Open Range 427BHS. We realized after 18 months we do not utilize the outdoor kitchen, so that has been a wasted feature for us and a waste of valuable space. The floor plan is great. We are a family of 5 and have lived in our 427BHS for 18 months, and have no complaints. There are minor things I would tweak if I could, but overall this is a great unit.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Connie Lynn Allen

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-09-05

RV reviewed2015 Highland Ridge RV Open Range 3X 427BHS

View listings

4.8
The livability is wonderful. It is like living in an apartment but with no noisy neighbors complete with an indoor and outdoor entertainment system and a television in every room. With 5 slide outs, the roominess can be felt. A full sized, side-by-side stainless steel refrigerator freezer, a stainless steel stove, and a microwave across from the Corian countertop island is like living in a real home. The floors are solid but the reason I gave it 4 stars on quality is the naugahyde on the couch, the chairs, and the headboard of the king size bed in the master bedroom is starting to flake. Overall, it is home away from home!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lori Jones

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-10

RV reviewed2016 Highland Ridge RV Open Range 318RLS

View listings

2.0
Bought this fifth wheel 347 RES in March 2017 and had to take back in to the dealership after 3 months for numerous problems, especially floor soft in the kitchen area. After 3 months at the dealership. Picked it up and was told everything had been fixed including the floor (which was not) and still not. Each time taken into dealership was there for months in end. After 4 years of owning it it has spent over 14 months in the shop. Called manufacturer just to be told there was nothing they could do. Took it in to the shop in March due to rotted floor on front slude. After numerous calls just to be told they cannot get the part from the manufacturer to fix it which would have costed $3200 to fix. Just picked it up after 5 months and now my husband is having to try and fix himself. Wish us luck!! Oh and word to the wise stay away from purchasing Highland Ridge they may be pretty but craftsmanship sucks!!!
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charlie Singleton

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-07-29

RV reviewed2018 Highland Ridge RV Open Range 272RLS

View listings

2.2
Coming upon the 4th year, purchased new from General RV.Roof Sagging so bad A/C hits slide. Floor Sagging frame structure, tanks won't Drain. Complained during warranty period, Dealer, Highland Ridge and Jayco Failed to Support! No Support! The list of complaints are so long! Used steel screws instead of stainless scews into aluminum frame. Electrolysis started, screws popped off front clip. support contacts say they will put in my file. This unit does not leak, but they say thats the cause. No water damage anywhere on the inside.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Barnett

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-07-22

RV reviewed2020 Highland Ridge RV Open Range 371MBH

View listings

4.8
great for me and family lots of room for my kids and grandchildren worked really good in cold weather and 2 air conditioners kept in cool in 40c I've had it 1and half year's no problems so far .I mostly park it in my own lot
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 8
  • 1 - 2 of 2 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review