Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Heartland Sundance XLT reviews

3.4
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
2.5
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
1.5

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Eric Edgerton

California

Reviewed on 2017-09-08

RV reviewed2018 Heartland Sundance XLT 281DB

View listings

3.6
Purchased this trailer at a show. Promised elivery in 4 days. Three days after purchase we were told we could not have the trailer for another 7 days. We had to postpone our maiden voyage. Finally picked it up and nothing on our initial punch list was done. When they installed the grab bars in bath the screws punched through outer wall. Entry grab bar screws punched through inner wall. The quality of inside trim install is horrible. Molding hanging down and other pieces with enough holes from staples that they had to be replaced. The tv mount was installed incorrectly as was the power awning, surround shower wall and an outlet was wired incorrectly. There is glue residue on multiple walls and difficult to remove. There is no quality control with Heartland. Sorry we purchased this brand and will never again. We made appointment four weeks ago to have holes in body repaired and now the dealer says they have to work it in. NOT A HAPPY CAMPER!! Does anybody care? Can I get a different RV?
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Howard E Behrns

California

Reviewed on 2022-01-02

RV reviewed2017 Heartland Sundance XLT 285TS

View listings

4.8
Our 2017 Heartland Sundance XLT 5th wheel has provided our family with many memorable travels. We enjoyed the layout of the 5th wheel, because it would accommodate our daily needs when we were on the road for long periods of time. The one thing we would have changed, would be that the bedroom had a little more space at the foot of the bed. Our travels in this 5th wheel were few, but, very comfortable, and now it's time to allow another family to enjoy this beautiful RV.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KURT

Virginia

Reviewed on 2019-12-21

RV reviewed2018 Heartland Sundance XLT 261RK

View listings

2.6
I bought this trailer because it was 1/2 ton towable. Like fiberglass siding and aluminum construction. The cabinets are junk. Paper thin - I had to fix several doors that were coming apart. The bathroom is not accessible when the slid is in... cannot pull over to use the toilet without extending the slide. Poor design. I called the factory with an issue I was having with a window. They said warranty is 12 months, sorry. The unit is 1 1/2 years old. Wouldn't buy another Heartland product.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gina

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-02-03

RV reviewed2015 Heartland Sundance XLT 298BH

View listings

4.0
Love the layout, something is always breaking or leaking. No the kitchen slide won’t close unless someone pushes hard on the outside. Can’t access the motors unless you tear the side of the camper off. We’ve had the black tank leak, the wall leak, the sliding doors that divide the front room fall out of the ceiling. Sort of pissed with this piece of crap. Won’t buy another.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Adam Green

Alabama

Reviewed on 2018-12-18

RV reviewed2018 Heartland Sundance XLT 283RB

View listings

2.6
Problems since day 1. Black tank leaking, windows leaking, heater not working, electrical issues with radio, roof bubbling. Quality control is non existent. Stay away from Heartland. Traded mine in after 7 months of ownership.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Janet

Texas

Reviewed on 2018-09-26

RV reviewed2017 Heartland Sundance XLT 269TS

View listings

4.0
We were looking to replace our 9 year old 5 wheel..which we loved..never had issues with. Family member had and loved their Sundance, so we purchased the 2017. The rear window was not sealed properly...took in water and destroyed the wall under the window...since we now had left the state we purchased it in we were forced to go to another RV center. What a disaster that was...now we have owned it 6 months..and used only 2 weeks. Decided to bring back to our dealer in TX for repair..they had it another 5 months but did repair the damage...looks great. I think my impression is like so many others...the manufactures are pushing out units with many flaws..then the consumer is forced to get repairs on their own time. Overall units being manufactured today are not the quality of a few years back. Very cheaply put together with materials that will not hold up to the test of time. Having expressed my thoughts I also might add it's not just Heartland guilty of this but most other manufactures as well...take your money..then leave the messes to the poor RV Centers to please the customer..now they are overwhelmed with repairs on brand new units.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roger Rehbein

Montana

Reviewed on 2018-07-11

RV reviewed2018 Heartland Sundance XLT 285TS

View listings

2.8
This is the first camper I have perched. It’s been very interesting to say. 1 there quality control is horrible. 1A. The under belle covering is a terrible matirial. Foaming is not good. Seals around the windows was not let to relax cracks a 1/4 to 1/2” gap using self tapping screws are ok. But you have hit a good base. 3. Asked for a operator & service manual they don’t give them out. The blue bag is on the appliances an acceries. 4. The out side trim work is horrible. Screws pulled through plastic metel support brackets twisted of screws. Terrible quality control an dealer predelivery. List could go on. Only owned it less than a month. Don’t trust it with out having to do 360 inspection.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary & Lola Ratterman

Indiana

Reviewed on 2017-10-05

RV reviewed2015 Heartland Sundance XLT 285TS

View listings

2.8
We purchased this 5th wheel in the spring of 2015 new. Within 9 months the bumper & frame in the landing legs compartment were rusted. Heartland refused to fix, stated rust wasn't covered under warranty. We had an Outback for 6 years prior to this purchase & it did not have any rust on it when we traded it in. My husband had sand & repaint the bumper & frame himself. At the same time the landing legs would not go up all the way with the motor, it would start straining and blow the fuse requiring us to manually raise the legs. We were traveling & no Heartland dealer would work on it because we didn't buy it there. Other camper repair places would also not work on it. We were told the reason they don't want to do warranty work is because Heartland is horrible about paying & they have to fight to get their money. The problems are never ending, the trim work is all bowed, we have had to repair the refrigerator. Paint is peeling off the inside of the microwave, rubber trim work on outside is cracking & peeling. We have had so many problems I can't remember them all. Most recently on the inside of one of the slide outs the trim work is pulling loose & we use support bars under our slide outs. Today we arrived at our destination to find that the bumper is broken & pulling off where it is connected to the camper. We are thankful that it did not come completely off on the road and crash into a vehicle behind us along with our bikes. There are no words to describe our disappointment in this product. Heartland has been of absolutely no help, they do not stand behind their product, once you pull it off the lot you are on your own. My husband has been forced to make the repairs himself because it is so hard to find anyone to work on it. We will NEVER buy another Heartland product and we try to tell everyone about our experience so they will not have to go through the same thing.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TX Camper

Texas

Reviewed on 2017-06-03

RV reviewed2017 Heartland Sundance XLT 261RK

View listings

3.4
Love the trailer styling and floor plan. Poorly constructed. Front cap is pulling away at the bottom of both sides. No fix after three tries with dealer. Inside panel near bath is super flimsy and warping. Not the same quality as our first Heartland.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Havens

Utah

Reviewed on 2016-11-18

RV reviewed2015 Heartland Sundance XLT 265RK

View listings

2.0
They will not stand behind their warranty even an emergency this is not a good outfit by something else like Jayco I was locked out of my trailer and I could not get any help from heartland they said I had to file papers even an emergency
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review