Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Heartland Mallard reviews

3.2
Write a review
Liveability
3.4
Overall quality
2.4
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.8
Factory warranty
2.1

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

62 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Peter and Karen Razza

Rhode Island

Reviewed on 2017-06-18

RV reviewed2018 Heartland Mallard 28

View listings

5.0
Recently purchased a 2018 m28. Being fully aware that to build a 30' trailer with a gvw of 6900 lbs it had to be built with light material's. If your expecting a heavy duty bullet proof camper this is not for you. That being said in the light weigh class this trailer is awesome lots of cool details like great lighting big shower lighted storage. Plus it's beautifuly laid out. The center island really makes it work. Tows easy with my v8 f150.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (94)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gee Nassar

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-12-31

RV reviewed2020 Heartland Mallard M260

View listings

5.0
Got a 2022 Mallard M260 just before Thanksgiving 2021. We've taken it out in freezing temperatures there or four times now with no problems. The furnace and water heater performed flawlessly, with full fresh water tank and active plumbing. No freezing and cracking. It tows with no problems behind a 2019 Ram 2500, with a husky weight distribution hitch. I would buy a Mallard again.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gregory Macdonald

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-11-13

RV reviewed2020 Heartland Mallard M27

View listings

2.0
We bought our 2021 Mallard M27 in June of 2021. We used it immediately, during that trip the water heater quit. I opened the hatch to find a wire had been run immediately adjacent the burner, and had burned through. A couple of days into our trip, we returned to our unit after a short outing to the store, water was running out of the unit at the corners. Walking to the unit, I could hear water spraying in the wall adjacent the "city water" connection, yes I had a pressure regulator in line. Returning the trailer to the dealer we bought it from they fixed these issues plus numerous points were screws had failed, trim popped loose. The awning failed next trip we have been waiting months for replacement. In short, shoddy construction, cheap products, poor workmanship. Avoid this manufacturer.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kelly byrum

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-09-24

RV reviewed2021 Heartland Mallard M32

View listings

5.0
The wife and I just purchased a 2021 Heartland Mallard M32 from camping world in Richmond Indiana. I honestly don’t think you could ask for a better place. Staff was very polite, our salesman Barry was top notch. The camper is great, answered all my questions, seriously i could go on and on. Wonderful experience.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy

Louisiana

Reviewed on 2021-08-16

RV reviewed2021 Heartland Mallard M335

View listings

3.8
I just bought this a Heartland Mallard M335 from Camping World in Breau Bridge, LA. Jarred was my salesman and was the absolute best. BUT, my fridge went out, so I called Heartland direct. I spoke ti David on 7/29/21. He told me that my part would be mailed the following Thursday or Friday at the latest. That or a phone call didn't happen. He was very rude and baligerent toward me. I've NEVER been spoken to like that as a customer. He could have called me and said that Dometic needed more information. I absolutely love my Heartland, but that have the WORST customer service of anyone I've ever seen. I will not buy another travel trailer from Heartland again! If your ever transfered to extention 6098 at Heartland, do your self a favor and request someone else. When I asked to speak to his supervisor, he said, "yeah, like thats gonna happen". I did advise him I was recording the call, so I have most of it in my records. And yes, this is a very accurate review! If I could gu e zero stars on customer service, I would!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Natasha Mckenzie

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-07-27

RV reviewed2020 Heartland Mallard M27

View listings

1.0
We have only made 1 payment on out camper. Went camping in it one time air conditioning was leaking when rained. Now we are at the beach in it had someone from camping world to come out and fix the air. We have 2 water leaks in the kitchen sink. The over all camper is a piece of crap. Cheaply made stuff is coming off inside. I wish we would of never got this camper.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

brion howard

New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2021-06-12

RV reviewed2020 Heartland Mallard M27

View listings

4.8
my first big investment, we paid cash for a 2020 heartland mallard m27, with base cost of $26,000. we got this RV at camping world in Center Conway New Hampshire, the sale transaction was terrible, The staff needs training, overall my purchase was delightful, there was a couple of issues with the condition of my new toy but I dealt with it. We hit the road as new Rv people, yes we made those simple errors of setting up, planning ahead, etc. but we had a super great experience with our new toy, This mallard m27 is super great, 2-inch walls, fiberglass build, mother nature can not hurt this structure, well tornadoes and sort can, I have done a lot of research on Rv's and for a low entry into travel trailers, this thing is the bomb.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donna Rundell

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-04-29

RV reviewed2019 Heartland Mallard 252

View listings

1.0
So we have written another review about this Travel Trailer and it wasn’t a good review. We bought it new in 2019 and not much at all was right about it. The refrigerator didn’t cool, the hot water heater would not work on gas, it had no heat duct in the living area, no caulk under the shower stall door so it leaked all over the place, the slide doesn’t sit near level, the pee trap under shower wasn’t connected so it leaked, the bathroom sink water connections leaked, and now we decided to use the fresh water tank and found it was leaking all over the place under the kitchen sink area. At some point the fan in the bathroom has quit working and also the fan in the kitchen vent. Yes we checked the fuses. So if this review doesn’t discourage you from buying a Heartland Mallard I just don’t know what to say.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan C

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-04-18

RV reviewed2017 Heartland Mallard M25

View listings

3.8
Not a bad first camper. Wife and I saw this m25 at an RV show in January ‘19 and loved the floor plan since we were looking for one with a rear kitchen. Bought it fo $10k under MSRP which we thought it was a good deal. Overall it’s a good starter camper. My only problem is the quality of it. First, the bedroom screen door was not screwed in properly to the point the latch won’t catch and stay closed, second the trim starting coming off in the bathroom, 3rd the cabinet door above the sink fell off while on our way to a campsite, 4th the LEDs on the awning stopped working properly unless it is on blue, 5th the outside seals warranty is a joke (90 days), 6th the trim on top of the camper was the worst of it all. Either there were two people doing it or one person doing it and felt only half the metal needed screws. My wife noticed the trim and caulk was starting to peel so we got up there in the Florida sun and removed it. Well as we did that we uncovered that starting from right to left all the holes had metal screws. But halfway through it, every other hole was drilled and screwed. Where was the quality control?? Good thing we caught it in time before hurricane season. I like the camper, but feel there could’ve been some areas to improve upon.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Waas

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-02-23

RV reviewed2021 Heartland Mallard M335

View listings

2.6
This is actually an M27 model. I would love to be writing a really positive review on this camper but I just can't find enough positive things to say, so I will tell it like it is: We have owned this RV for about 6 months now. The floorplan is not bad for the main living area except that the nice swivel rockers are really far away from where you can mount the 19" TV that they are hardly used and the couch does not even face the tv area. There is virtually no counter space in which to prepare a meal and it gets frustrating at times. The cabinets on the rear wall open up and have no supports so you need 3 hands to get anything out or put it in. The heating ducts are in really strange places, the main living area blows right by the back door and does not do very much to heat the largest area of the camper, the one in the bedroom really does not seem to do much at all, and the one in the bathroom will bake your buns if you are sitting on the toilet. The king size bed was a selling feature for us but it turns out that it is horrible to change bed linens, it is also very difficult to get in and out of bed as you are sleeping under the overhead cabinets. As for quality, there really is none that we have found so far. The back door is very difficult to shut and you have to slam it to get it to latch and now the screws are falling out. The water lines for the sink leak and you have to do contortions to get under there to tighten them and then they still leak. The toilet leaks where the supply line connects to the toilet and now has fallen out, nearly flooding the camper before I could get outside to turn off the water. There is a drip where the awning meets the camper and it is dead center in the middle of the door so you always get dripped on going in our out on rainy days. The trim around the doors is coming off the walls. The small curtain above the window in the bedroom constantly falls off if you brush into it ever so slightly. This camper sweats profusely on cold nights and we have mold growing in corners in the bedroom and under one of the dining table cushions. The bathroom faucet is very cheap and made of plastic and makes a squealing/squeaking sound when you turn on the water (but the kitchen faucet is pretty nice). The writing on the knobs on the stove have completely worn off so you really have no idea what temperature you are setting the oven to, and even if you have it set correctly you end up with things burning in the center and not fully cooked on the edges. The hot water heater is way too small unless you can manage to take a 3 minute shower, but it does produce some scalding hot water. Did I mention that this camper is only 6 months old? OK customer service? We have emailed Heartland to let them know of our issues and we have gotten ZERO response from them which is pretty disappointing to say the least. One would think that if you spent $28,000 on a travel trailer you would be getting a quality product that would last you for several years at least. Nope not this one, we will be lucky if it makes it to it's 1 year anniversary. I would not recommend this brand of RV to anyone as the quality is severely lacking and apparently customer commitment is non existent. As I said I would have loved to write a positive review but just could not find enough good things to say.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (25)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 62 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review