Heartland Bighorn Reviews on RV Insider (67)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Heartland Bighorn RVs and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of them.

Read Reviews

Melody Thomas from Arizona says:

This was such a shocking experience! The quality of the rig was extremely poor. The front door was warped. There was a leak in the basement that co

Read More (67 reviews)

Have you owned an RV like this? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2018 Heartland Bighorn 3270RS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This was such a shocking experience! The quality of the rig was extremely poor. The front door was warped. There was a leak in the basement that couldn't be found. The mode switch on the refrigerator did not work so you could not switch to propane operation. The auto level function did not work properly. The rubber seal on the kitchen slide came out. The metal hose in the shower left a mark on the wall. There was no switch to put the hot water heater on propane although it was plumbed for propane. There were paint stains on the steps, the handle, and the outer window by the steps. There were also design flaws that indicated the RV was designed by a NON RVer. The control panel was behind a door that opened the the wrong way. The fuse panel was low with a door that opened up that required you to lay on the floor to see the panel. An outlet on the island was placed so that any plugs for appliances had to cross in front of the drawer. There was no faucet in the shower, no toilet paper holder, and no shower bar in the bathroom. The exterior decals were sloppy and had gaps. The directions for the auto leveler were on the top of a door that opened up making the reader assume a kind of limbo position to read it. After six weeks, we traded the rig in for another model.
- Melody Thomas, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-29 2019 Heartland Bighorn 3950FL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
What a horrible experience! The dealership we bought our brand new $80,000 rig from has failed to support the product. Our cupboard wood is all delaminating at the floor because nothing was sealed, so it absorbes water or what we use to clean the floor with. The door has been and remains nearly impossible to open and close because it gets stuck and has since the day we bought it. Our kitchen sink has leaked since day one and is still leaking. None of the wood work was well finished and even our cabinet tops are uneven. We were told that Big Horns were quality rigs for live-in models, at this point, I wish we'd have bought the Montana.
- Wendy , Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-27 2017 Heartland Bighorn 3160EL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This has been an excellent vehicle. We purchased it to travel for business and have used it in four Southwest States. It is 4 Season rated so we have had a great experience with the air conditioning and heating systems. No issues. This coach is set-up very much like our living room at home and is just as comfortable when we are on the road with reclining massage and heat chairs. Fireplace is a great addition to both the look and the comfort while traveling. It doubles as a space heater. I like to cook so I had plenty of storage, full size sink and 3 gas burners along with an oven and convection microwave. The bathroom is a comfortable size and has everything you need. The bedroom has a walk in closet with more storage than we every used and the space is very comfortable for 2 people. Overall the finishes and design of this coach are much nicer than many we looked at and is reasonably priced for all of the amenities.
- Chrystie Adams, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-20 2015 Heartland Bighorn 3755FL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This has been a great RV to us for the past 6 years. This is our 2nd Heartland. We have camped in hot Texas weather and cold Minnesota weather with no issues keeping comfortable. We would recommend this unit.
- Tammy Swanner, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-05-15 2013 Heartland Bighorn 3855FL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
The living room is on the top and bedroom in the back and we always have the best views from the bedroom when camping. Never needed a cooler for food as everything fits in the refrigerator and freezer. The auto levelers are just so easy to setup camp and we never had to sweep leaves off the slides because of the awnings. The extra insulation is why we bought this rv and the fans to pull in fresh air. This rv is loved and well cared for.
- Angela , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-03-26 2015 Heartland Bighorn 3160EL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Absolutely the worst purchase I have ever made. I would be hard pressed to come up with any item on the trailer that has not needed repair. I travel extensively with the unit and each time out there are multiple malfunctions with the unit. The service from the dealer and manufacturer is non existent,therefore I have to perform all my own repairs. This trailer should have been driven of the dealers lot and place permanently on a concrete slab.
- garystoychoff, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-02-11 2016 Heartland Bighorn 3760EL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
As others have already stated, the Heartland Bighorn Product is the worst fifth wheel we have ever owned. We had 2 fifth wheels and a tow behind trailer before buying this unit new and have had more problems hands down with this unit than all 3 of our other units combined. We had problems before we even left the dealership and have never had a trip when something major hasn't gone wrong. We never buy extended warranties but did on this unit, and if we hadn't we would be broke by now. Very poor quality workmanship overall. Getting answers or help from Heartland is impossible. We take it out for a couple of weeks, and then it is in the shop for a month or more waiting for parts. It is been so frustrating and for the price, we had really expected a better product. We will never buy another Heartland product and if you're in the market for a rig, I'd steer clear of this brand. Just my opinion...
- Bill, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-01-30 2019 Heartland Bighorn 3160EL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
So disappointed in this 2019 fifth wheel. We have owned numerous fifth wheels and trailers that have been of "lower" quality (such as a Cougar, etc) however, this unit has been the worst. We have had issue after issue since we made the purchase of this brand new model. We have a had many bad leaks. One around a hatch that repeatedly filled the basement with a tremendous amount of water, one near the water heater and the bedroom slide as well. And too many other items...the rubber around the slides doesn't actually touch and seal, the falling trim inside, the poorly hung cabinets that don't close (every single one), the hatch door broke off to the power cord because it didn't fit properly, outside faucet leaked, the closet clothes rod fell out of the ceiling because it wasn't actually screwed into anything, the remote to the fireplace doesn't work I could go on and on. Every time we turn around there is something that needs to be fixed. I wish we hadn't made the purchase!!!
- Mary, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-12-03 2018 Heartland Bighorn 3270RS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This was the worst choice we ever made. In July of 2018, we excitedly purchased this RV. At finalization of the sale, which we also got Platinum Warranty, we were congratulated and atta-boyed like crazy. Our first night in rv, I noticed water leaking underneath outside. After much back and forth and arguing, 2 valves and a pump later, it seems to be fixed. Then, upon bringing it in for warranty coating, and punch list repairs, we get the unit home, slide out bedroom and the moulding cracks and breaks away from ceiling. Come to find out, when they replaced ceiling panel, they left a mallet in slide out. I called, told them and they replied " all our tools are accounted for". We don't own a mallet, well, we do now! We fixed it ourselves. As for pump issues earlier in this review, we were told, if you are handy at all, "you can change valve yourself". Wow, really!!!! Next, we lost power, come to find out our battery was dead, upon investigating further, they only equipped us with 1, when we were told at walk through there were 2 for this size unit. Again, upon calling for assistance, help, advice.....nothing!!. A back and 4th, pass the buck fight,and "we won't reimburse you as your a couple days out of year warranty". This is on a screw up they made by only equipping the unit with 1 battery that had to work for 2. Of course its going to die. We never have had our indicator lights function Correctly. They read full all the time, even when empty. This is our fulltime home. Their answer to everything is, bring it in. We Willget to it when we can. We live 3 and a half hours away. The customer service is appalling and/or really non-existent. We were so ex cited to take this journey, but we made the wrong choice going with the Bighorn by heartland. They sell it to you and then basically should have said" don't let the door hit you!!! Our worst purchase to date. Do your homework folks!!!!!! Don't fall for their smiling faces. Talk about buyers remorse!!! This is it, at its finest. Good luck people!
- christeelu62, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-22 2017 Heartland Bighorn 3875FB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love this unit and set up. But manufacturer would not stand by a delaminating floor on a slide out. Just out of warranty when we noticed the problem. And extended warranty doesn't cover the floor also. Check units over carefully if your looking to purchase
- Ev Holz, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-14 2012 Heartland Bighorn 3585RL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This RV is top notch quality, like new. No smoking and no pets. The layout is excellent, leather furniture in living area with a pullout full size air bed, fireplace, 42” Flat Screen TV. Dining area has extended table and four chairs. Four door refrigerator and freezer with ice maker. Bedroom has king bed and plenty of walking space around it. Bathroom has walk in shower, sink and vanity. Two air conditioners. Flat screen in basement for viewing outside. Great to have for football season and party outside
- Everett Taylor, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-01 2020 Heartland Bighorn 3870FB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
As, I stated previously a ordinary customer that would was taken advantage of and was told sign here and here. Take off in one of heartlands best coach. Be careful while driving back the “Gorilla Glue hasn’t dried completely. “ “ just give me your money and leave.” Yeah, that’s heartlands policy.” Mr. Warranty, While you finish dictating me your policy handbook, in your spare time check out your website regarding the 3870FB. It suppose to have a towel racks. Toilet paper holder and hand towel holder’s, but you know ours didn’t even come with that. We, have mice coming through all the holes in our 2020 Big Horn. Water leaking behind toilet and sink. Patched up work with crayon. Can’t even open a window the sounds of crack window starts to squeal. Thank you Mr. Warranty. I am dying anyway. By the time anyone from HEARTLAND that has a heart and wants to help us it called “ to being human.“ Do it for all the other ordinary customers that have given there hard earned money straight to you and tell them “Heartland made you the best Fifth Wheels. There will be no need of warranty because we do CARE for our customers” Have a blessed day 🙏. What happened to humanity. Thank you. Mr. Warranty. Enclosed, is a picture of the customer that was told “ your getting the best. Just sign paperwork and your life savings and here’s the keys. Enjoy”, but she never did. Her simple life. She died.
- Suzi, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-10-01 2017 Heartland Bighorn 32RS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We bought this RV in Quartszite AZ in January 2017. It rained the week after we got it and all the windows leaked and light in kitchen started coming off ceiling. The 55" tv had to also be replaced during the first 6 months. (Warranty repaired/replaced all.). Carpet started to roll in bedroom and AC thermostat wouldn't shut off. We took in to check this out and service department found that the screws were all coming out of the slide roofs, and eventually would be letting water in and then the roofs would warp, and no telling what other damage could happen. we had no idea this was even happening. It was a good thing that we were having our annual maintenance done and they found this. I contacted heartland factory (since our extended warranty would not cover structural damage. I sent them pictures upon the request of Adam and no one has gotten back to me with a reply. I have contacted them asking for a response and have gotten none. Firstly, be a great idea for all heartland owners to check their screws in the slides. (Factory installed too little of screws to hold the slide roofs on); Secondly, be sure you know structural damage isn't covered (as multiple other items aren't either) on your extended warranty. The $5,000 to repair after only 2 years and not much use is not acceptable. Very disappointed in factory for not following thru. Will post again after we get it back. If you have a heartland big Horn..Please check the roof screws on your slide outs. Report them if they are coming out... Hopefully they will do a ReCALL on this if anyone else is having this issue.
- Pati Ogletree, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-22 2015 Heartland Bighorn 3875FB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
In 2015 my recently deceased spouse informed me that we were retiring and buying an RV plus a truck to pull it with. We had gone to RV shows here in Houston for three years. My wife Terri had researched the 5th wheel extensively and we drove to Florida from Texas to get the one that she wanted. The Heartland Bighorn 3875FB had all the bells and whistles and was well made. My prior experience with RVs was zero so I had to learn quick. I did, however, have years of experience pulling trailers up to 57 feet 13’6” high so pulling and backing was not an issue. Selling the RV is a tough decision for me as Terri had open heart surgery in March 2015 and we hit the road in October. Three years and three road trips later my spouse developed heart issues again in May 2018 only this time a six week stay after a second open heart surgery her heart was not strong enough. I may, however, go with a small class C and take her urn on future road trips. The 2015 Heartland Bighorn 3875FB is full paint and in reasonably good condition. After market add-ons include a Winegard retractable satellite dish 360 degrees to pickups signals wherever you are plus a Cummins Onan 5500 generator cranking out 43 Amps power for dry camping. Dual gray and black tanks for one and half bathrooms plus large walk-in shower.
- Daniel Cheatwood , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-07-22 2009 Heartland Bighorn 3385RL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
I cannot say enough about how much my wife and I have loved this fifth wheel. We live in Coastal Virginia and love the beach life. The inside color scheme for this camper has always been one of the significant positives from the carpeting to the wallpaper to the countertops. Many campers represent a dark, "rich" theme. We find the lighter theme to be more open and pleasant. There are other campers that we have looked at and in the end, find the layout and color scheme of ours to well surpass anything we have seen since we bought this one. Its tow ability is excellent. It is easy to maneuver. Many ask how difficult pulling a 36 foot RV might be. I have an Ford F350 SuperDuty (an F250 is the smallest one should attempt with this size and weight camper), and it pulls like a dream. With the mirrors set properly, lane changes are very easy. The aggregation of all tank controls in one well-lighted place is convenient and simple regardless of time of day or night. The internal lay-out is excellent. With the bathroom/shower in the hallway (as opposed to in the master bedroom), one can have guests take advantage of the queen-size blow up couch bed and have free access to the bathroom without disturbing those in the master bedroom. This fifth wheel has always been fun!
- James Pasch, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-06-08 2017 Heartland Bighorn 3575EL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Having the opportunity to travel and explore in our Bighorn for the last two years has been wonderful especially with all the comforts of home. Utilizing the many amenities such as the Washer / Dryer, full size refrigerator which has the electric or propane option, auto find Dish receiver, 330 watts of solar with 2 - 2000 watt pure sine inverters and large fresh water tank capacity made dry camping and state or county park camping the best. This is our 2nd Heartland Bighorn and the quality construction and great insulation values can't be beat. It's Industry leading features such as the Universal Docking Center, 88 Degree Turning Radius front cap designs, Laminated World including laminated roofs, floors and sidewalls, drop frame Texas Size basement storage and hydraulic landing gear, sets the Heartland Bighorn apart to pave the way in fifth wheel innovation.
- Richard Meredith, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-03-22 2008 Heartland Bighorn 3100RL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We love this unit. Had others but this is the best 5th wheel that we've owned so far. Looking for another now but so far haven't found anything we like better. We have owned this one 10 yrs now. Still tows like new. Very impressed
- Bob Ryan, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-02-08 2016 Heartland Bighorn 3270RS View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our 4th camper and it is the best one by far. The automatic levelers are great. Floor plan is very functional and spacious. Plenty of storage inside and out. Replaced the original memory foam mattress, as it was way too soft. Haven't had to use the factory warranty, but there was no option to mark this as "Not applicable." Overall I'm a very happy camper!
- George, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-14 2012 Heartland Bighorn 3585 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We love how easy it is to keep the exterior clean. The interior is just like living in your home. It has everything need to have a great vacation. Our grand children love to spend the summer with us
- Everett Taylor, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-09 2012 Heartland Bighorn 3585 View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This vehicle is quite maneuverable and easy to drive. Also has enough power to go anywhere. It pulls mountain passes even while towing a large trailer with no problems.Will also tow a sizeable trailer with no problems.
- Jon Hardman, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-12-29 2009 Heartland Bighorn 3055RL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very high quality with excellent layout and lots of storage inside and underneath. So many Dealer upgrades. Makes a very comfortable home whether on the road or stationary. They are built to last a very long time.
- Sami Aeverman, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner

2018-11-20 2016 Heartland Bighorn 3760EL View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love the floor plan of this model and it is a full timers RV. You need to be handy and be able and willing to fix all kinds of problems that arise. Broken Water Lines, Broken Slide Rollers, Broken Gray Tank drain lines, Hot Water Tank not working, Tires lasting only 25k miles, Poor workmanship and quality control. Once the 1yr. warranty is up don't expect any help from Heartland and this is when stuff starts breaking. These are major problems I have had. The furniture started peeling it's fabric after 2 yrs. I have had many small easy to fix problems, but that would be expected. I purchased this RV not knowing anything about RV's as this was our first purchase. I thought Heartland was a top of the line RV, but after seeing what is out there and the quality offered by other companies, my next RV will probably not be a heartland. This is a good low to mid RV if that what you are just looking for.
- Spencer, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-09-15 2018 Heartland Bighorn 3870FB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
My 2019 Bighorn has had nothing but problems. 1st weekend trip I discovered leaks at every water connection, drain pipes leak, hole in fiberglass shower, hole in vinyl flooring, trim falling off, slide out seals are torn due to screws in flange trim sticking out and puncturing seals. Power recliner has already stopped working, entire RV has to be resealed due to crappy work. Exterior screws actually missing. Rear window has to be replaced due to broken seal. Of course all this is under warranty and supposedly is to be fixed. My problem is this, why are we as hard working consumers being ripped off by the RV industry? This is a 80K coach. This is unacceptable!!!!!
- Anthony , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-08-29 2018 Heartland Bighorn 3870FB View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Spent an extra day at the dealer to get some things fixed. Took delivery in winter so there was no water in tanks. First time I put water in it. Found out hot water tank didn’t work on electric and the two black water clean outs were cross connected. First rain we encountered water poured in through the slide outs. Long story short they’re coming to pick it up the last part of September. The fix list is up to 33 items including both awnings that are ripping. 72000 and it’s a piece of junk. One star is one too many.
- Kenneth King, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-08-16 2016 Heartland Bighorn 3970RD View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Bought this unit with yeti package.A/c units are horrible, no air flow thru ducts . You will burn up in this camper in the summer. My 3rd 5th wheel . Never had one this hot.Had dents in side when I bought it. Camping world did a awful job trying to repair it.
- Paul Shelley , Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching RVs For Sale: