Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Transcend reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
3.5
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.2
Factory warranty
3.6

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Thomas Houghton

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2019-08-04

RV reviewed2018 Grand Design Transcend 27BHS

View listings

3.0
We really like the layout of the 27BHS and have owned it for about 3 months now. We are extremely (emphasis on extremely) disappointed in the quality of the camper. While towing the camper from the dealer back to our house, we had our first casualty. The propane hose that is clamped along the chassis to provide fuel for the outside kitchen stove broke away from the chassis and was dragged for several miles before a good samaritan pointed it out to us. Unfortunately the dragged hose wore through the fitting creating a leak, which we had to fix. Over the next two months, a dozen issues were discovered. 2. The outside door is extremely difficult to latch. We had to remove the strike plate to make it less difficult to latch the door. 3. The bathroom vanity wood frame around the lower cabinet is cracked. 4. The smoke detector in the kitchen alarms every time we use the inside stove. 5. One of the wall panels on the slide-out was cut too big and bowed out, separating from the wall studs 6. The door trim around the master bedroom door was also cut too big and bowed out, separating from the glue holding it in place. 7. The bracket on the wall below the master bedroom sliding door that keeps the door near the wall pulled out from the wall because it wasn't screwed into the wall stud. 8. The wall that the wall board mentioned in #5 screws into is also separating from the wall studs. 9. The fairing along the outside bottom of the camper is not properly secured because the screw was stripped on installation. 10. The pet bowl drawer below the frig is coming off it's slide because the screws are stripped. 11. The drip pan on the indoor stove pops up every time we travel. I am not sure how it is supposed to be secured, but it isn't secured properly. 12. The kitchen cabinet doors over the kitchen window do not close without significant rubbing between the doors. 13. The wallpaper covering on the walls has multiple glue stains from applying too much glue to the plywood when applying the wall paper. It's not something that sticks out right away in the showroom, but when you are living in the camper, they start to become more prominent. We have only owned the camper three months and have only towed it back from the dealer and taken it on one camping trip, so I don't know how many more issues we are going to uncover, but I am not confident that we have identified all the issues. We initially bought this camper as a place to live while we renovate our house, so we have not been able to schedule a time to repair all of these issues until we finish the house enough that we can move into it and move out of the camper. It is so disappointing to find so many manufacturing defects in a brand new camper. We have been told by many people that the RV industry as a whole does not produce first time quality campers and relies on warranty claims to address any quality issues rather than fixing the quality escapes at the source. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!! We are optimistic that these issues will be properly addressed by the manufacturer and that this camper will stay together long enough to enjoy it for a few years...
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (62)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephanie Shelly

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-12-24

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend 265BH

View listings

3.8
I called way before my warranty was out about a leak. We thought it was my hot water heater. Because one fitting that we tightened was loose. I ended up with a remained floor over it. And ended up since it was after a year figured out it was the water line to the outside shower behind the stairs to the bunkers that was leaking. With no access panel to get to it.... I ended up having to cut a access hole myself to get to it. So after a year of trying to figure this out. I have trim on my couch messed up and linoleum that needs to be replaced. And since the first initial call to grand design about this wad about the hot water heater and I did it my self instead of having someone come fix the wrong problem to begin with. They will not cover it under warranty. Grand design need to have access panels to all plumbing for people. And the books they give you with your new purchase are worthless.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce Kather

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-12-16

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Transcend 26RLS

View listings

4.8
After a little over 2 years of use I am still very happy with the build quality. What issues I did have were relatively minor and addressed immediately by Grand Design. The most impressive part of their customer service was demonstrated when my Thomas Payne theater seat sprung a spring and was poking me in the rear. Thomas Paine totally blew me off, but Grand Design stepped in and helped me with the cost of replacing the seats, even though it was not their product and out of warranty. That level of quality service is hard to find.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allen

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-09-14

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend 265BH

View listings

2.8
So let’s start by saying I am located in Phoenix Arizona and definitely not our first trailer. With that being said let’s start the review. We bought our 265bh in April and bought it for the floor plan. Overall it’s a decent trailer and a great floor plan with the kids. However, I wish they would build the unit to location it’s going to. Very hot inside even with a/c on high and doesn’t cool off master bed area hardly at all and nothing during the day time when it 110* outside. Can’t get a second a/c without moving things around on the roof and changing it to 50 amp or running a completely separate circuit. The trailer stinks whenever someone showers or flushes the toilet. And before anyone says “clean and flush the tanks” just know they are. Over and over and over again. The black tank does not stink (weird I know) but whenever the water is turned on the entire unit smells. When traveling it sways more than I believe it should (even with airbags and anti sway bar). Although the 265bh has a lot of good points, I would not suggest it.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C Ruprecht

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-08-25

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend 265BH

View listings

4.2
We purchased are GD Transcend 265BH and tow with a Ford F-150. We have been all over the west in it from California to Montana to South Dakota and back to AZ. Overall has done great, except for two major issues. One is our problem with the tow vehicle, a modern half-ton can tow this with no power issues (been through the Rockies with out breaking a sweat) but it’s the fact you have a 5k lbs truck vs a 8k trailer. After taking this from AZ to CA in winds we decided to invest in the ProPride (game changer!) and that issue is resolved. The second issue was that our Furrion AC went out in SD during a heat wave. GD has been responsive but we are still waiting for the dealer to get the parts to fix the AC (2 months later). Overall great trailer, glad we went into it and enjoy the memories we are making with our boys.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Raymond Foster

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-07-05

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Transcend 30MKS

View listings

3.2
This camper has been a nightmare sense we’ve had it.First the bathroom door came off the track,next the refrigerator didn’t switch to gas when the power went off when we were not there and didn’t go back to electric when that came back on had fly’s and maggots everywhere what a mess,next the microwave died had to replace that next they replaced refrigerator and the second one doesn’t drain water out the drain tube water overflows inside refrigerator next the bathroom faucet leaked all over underneath no caulking around it next the shower faucet also had no caulking around it water got behind wall water all over floor.Would I recommend this trailer to anyone heck NO very discussed with it totally!!!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bret Pinson

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-06-29

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend 221RB

View listings

5.0
This was our 2nd new camper in 12mo. I research my purchases thoroughly before making a purchase. We’re new to RVing but felt the Grand Design products were superior to what else is offered. We took our new Transcend Explore 221RB on a 4000 mile, two week trip to Rushmore/Devils Tower in June 2021. We had ZERO issues or regrets about our purchase. What we have learned, we’re far too spontaneous in our traveling habits to utilize our camper as we had hoped. A few more years before retirement may rectify our delima?
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack Hendrickson

Nevada

Reviewed on 2021-05-18

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Transcend 28MKS

View listings

1.0
Worst trailer I have ever owned. Bought extended warranty nothing covered . Contact MFG won’t return calls. I’m in the customer service industry never seen anything like this! Sorry I guess I didn’t say enough they wAnted to hear more about their terrible service
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phillip Brown

California

Reviewed on 2021-04-26

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Transcend 28MKS

View listings

4.6
We have been full time Rving for 2 years now. Bought the GD transcend new 2019. Have never had a issue with living in it 2 years straight. Quality is better than most and warranty the best. If looking for a TT can't go wrong with Grand Design.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff McGowan

Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-02-15

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Transcend 27BHS

View listings

5.0
We have camped with this RV on 5 occasions. Most were week long trips. Well insulated, A/C and Furnace work great. Pulls great, we use a Blue Ox weight distribution hitch. The outdoor kitchen is great. We replaced the factory mattress with a 10" memory foam, much better. Storage throughout is great and we love that Grand Design does not put the vents in the floor. Full walk on roof is great, makes it easier to clean the top of the slide before leaving a campsite. Plenty of room for a small family. We have had my parents camp with us and our son comfortably. We love that Grand Design really stands behind their product and takes the care prior to delivery to ensure that most, if not all, potential issues are fixed. We have had only minor issues that were easily fixed with a quick google search and doing it myself. Though the water heater is only 6 gallons it does heat up really quickly and has easily allowed us to have 4 adults shower one after the other, all with hot water.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review