Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Solitude reviews

4.1
Write a review
Liveability
4.4
Overall quality
3.8
Floorplan
4.7
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
3.1

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

142 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

CJ

Montana

Reviewed on 2016-09-23

RV reviewed2017 Grand Design Solitude 379FL

View listings

2.2
To start, the Sa lesmen talked it up of course. It does look nice, pulls well, and is livable. The issues I've had make me realize that the manufacturer doesn't build it to handle the road. All four leaf springs had to be replaced, one broke in half on the road, 2 others bent. This was from normal interstate, and campground driving. The other issues are light fixtures loose and ready to fall off, fenders loose, screws backing out, roof sealant cracked, gapped and ready to leak, wall in the rear storage compartment separating, bedroom slide stopped working directly after the shop had it all day, shaded don't go up, window cranks strip out etc.. The biggest issue is the dealership's service. I learned that I had to watch the mechanics while they worked on it or go around after they were "done" and inspect to make sure it was fixed correctly. After calling them out on faulty repairs, going back 7 times, some for the same issue, dealer told me they won't work on it anymore and I need to find another service shop. Wow, is all I can say. What about warranty, and forever warranty they brag about? Basically every time I left the shop there was another issue to go back for.. They did however fix some issues correctly, but all in all I am less then impressed. We'll see if the manufacturer helps me out.. Save yourself tons of headaches and time.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
0.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (334)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sindi D Lee - Beauregard

Utah

Reviewed on 2021-10-29

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Solitude 382WB

View listings

4.8
We are full time living in our Grand design Solitude. We absolutely love this RV. This is my third and my husbands fifth RV. Things I love, the windows, the front living, the kitchen storage, the storage overall is amazing, and the shower is awesome. There are just a few things I wish they would add or change. No night lights in The stairs. I bought some. But when having guest, or just getting up in the middle of the night I don’t want to turn on lights or stumble trying to find lights. This is such a dumb design in that you can not turn on the kitchen lights from the bedroom. Duh, the kitchen is in the middle and you have to walk down the stairs from the bedroom to turn on the lights to the kitchen. Whyyyyyyyyy. The ability to turn on a kitchen light from the bedroom seems sensible. Night lights would be lovely. Just saying, when you are full time living it’s the little things that bug you. Not complaining just explaining. Overall, this is the best ever RV we have ever had the pleasure of living in.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Vaillant

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-10-10

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Solitude 380FL-R

View listings

5.0
I have been an RVer since childhood. I have owned travel trailers and a Grand Design 2019 Solitude 380 FL-R. This 5th wheel is one of the BEST long term, over the road rig available. This is a 4 season rig made for the gray and for frigid temperatures, whether traveling through Florida or Arizona in the summer, or enjoying the could-frigid weather of the northeastern states like Maine in the winter, this rig is fit for all environments. Two large A/C’s keep you cool centrally in the summer and three separate heating sources ( heat pump/gas or electric furnace/ living room fireplace). The unit Sleeps 6 large adults comfortably. With the nicety of two bathrooms, there is never a line waiting for restroom privileges. The residential refrigerator, large cooking surface and oven makes you feel as if you are at home. The master bedroom’s 14” mattress is so comfortable one has challenges getting out of bed in the morning to watch the sunrise. This by far is the Best rig I have ever owned. Never an issue with any of the rigs workmanship. Grand Design did an Outstanding job with this 5th wheel. 5 Stars no doubt.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alan Rochkus

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-09-17

RV reviewed2018 Grand Design Solitude 373FB

View listings

3.2
Have a 2018 GD Solitude 373FB. I have been RVing over nearly 25 years. All I can say to this rig has given me the most grief of any rig I have ever owned. This is my 5th rig and 1st GD and I am not impressed. Bought this new and have already replaced micro/conv oven, both AC units, main TV, toilet, outdoor shower unit, carefree awning, and parts on the Thomas Pain recliner/love seat. Also, every time I go on a trip my pantry shelves fall. My recent road trip brought the window treatment over the table down, caused the shade to come out of the track, and scratched up the table. Still can't get the rail the shade is on to re-engage and hold the shade up. The pocket door also came off the track while secured. Oh yeah, and the Thomas Pain recliner isn't operation again. Will likely toss this poorly designed love seat for 1 Lazy boy RV size recliners. I know most GD owners think the world of their RV, but I can't recommend them. Structurally they may be well built, but the finish out is cheap. Thank goodness I purchased an extended warranty. It has saved me thousands, but I am moving to full-timing and can't have the rig tied up in the shop.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

daveyator

California

Reviewed on 2021-08-20

RV reviewed2017 Grand Design Solitude 310GK

View listings

4.0
Overall we like the 310GK. Great for the 2 of us and an occasional guest. I will say though that for its size it's a difficult HEAVY tow. 12K empty and 14K loaded. Factory claims a 2300lb pin weight but I'm fairly sure it's heavier than that. I wouldn't tow this with anything less than a 1 ton I don't care what the truck/RV salespeople say. Speaking of heavy, don't leave the stock tires on too long. They are barely within the load limits of the trailer. Grand Design has a decent reputation and I expected a lot. Some of the coach is outstanding and some is so so. The bedroom was as an example feels almost like a flimsy piece of cardboard with an outlet in it. The AC units both have loose wiring in the circuit boards which has had to be repaired twice. The heat in one of the recliners keeps failing. Be careful of those warranties, they don't cover AC wiring. We do love the floor plan. More and ample storage for us both inside and out.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kelly Sholinder

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2021-08-07

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Solitude 385GK

View listings

2.2
UNIT IS ACTUALLY A GRAND DESIGN SOLITUDE 3350-RL (not available in drop-down menu) We purchased this unit to live in while building our house. Within days of putting it on our owned RV site, we began noticing problems - a huge leak in the understorage, poor quality in the kitchen sink (began showing rust spots within the first week), unit arrived with dents in the bathroom sinks
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lee Sylvester

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-08-07

RV reviewed2016 Grand Design Solitude 369RL

View listings

5.0
We have owned our Grand Design Solitude for five years and recently sold it. But, our Grand Design trailer was been a wonderful experience. It was extremely comfortable and free of any problems. So, if your looking for at home comfort on wheels, with an elegant interior design, you should look at Grand Design trailers prior to making your final selection. Although we recently sold our trailer, if we ever decide to purchase another trailer, we would look at Grand Design again.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Westrum

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-07-23

RV reviewed2017 Grand Design Solitude 374TH

View listings

4.6
We really like the living space and storage space. The garage is especially nice for our bikes, and winter clothes when we go south. Some ot the pros: -We were able to sleep six. -The spacious living room allowed six of us to sit comfortably. -Large fridge and freezer are great, as well as the spacious kitchen. -The large garage allowed us to store three bikes, winter clothes, a seven foot ladder, and some bins with additional items. -The Solid Step is great for entry. -The auto leveling makes leveling easy! -The stadium chairs are great for watching TV. -The bedroom closets can hold a ton of clothes. -The shelf above the bed is perfect for my CPAP. -The blackout blinds provide privacy and allow you to sleep well after the sun is up! -With the bedroom in the rear, you’re away from street noise. -The two spacious kitchen pantries and cabinets provide ample storage space for kitchenware and food. -The fireplace heats the living room and space heaters can be used for other areas. -The large fish water, gray water and black water tanks were great for our needs. Some of the cons: -Because of its size, we couldn’t fit in every campground and when towing, we had to fill my truck at truck stops because gas stations were too small. -We also had to be careful to not bottom out on steep entries. -The awning has to be opened after rain in order to dry out. -Because of its height, we had to be careful with lower bridges and awnings.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darrin Odell

California

Reviewed on 2021-07-20

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Solitude 380FL

View listings

2.2
Our first trip out in our new Solitude 380fl. After placing the trailer exactly where we wanted it, we disconnected it from the hitch and unplugged the 7-pin electrical socket on our truck. We pulled our truck forward and then returned to the trailer to start the leveling sequence on our automated hydraulic system. That is when we noticed small wisps of smoke coming from the hitch housing on the trailer. We were immediately alarmed and started looking for the source of the smoke. We started opening compartments on the front-side of the trailer (both left and right) and immediately noticed smoke coming from both sides. Eventually, we noticed flame in the propane compartment on the right side of the trailer, though it seemed to be up high and deeper in the structure of the trailer. We emptied a full extinguisher into the compartment, but the fire was still evident. We then opened the front electrical/hydraulic compartment and flames poured out, prompting us to empty a second extinguisher into that compartment. This seemed to put out the flames, though there was still a significant amount of smoke. Grand Design will not honor the warrantee and refuses to take any responsibility for the defect. Potential owners should take extreme caution before dealing with this company.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Snow

Utah

Reviewed on 2021-07-13

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Solitude 373FB

View listings

5.0
This RV tows better than our 31 foot bumper pull did. It is so spacious and comfortable that my wife and I have actually spent some nights in it while it sat in our driveway, just because we love it so much but couldn't get away.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 15
  • 1 - 10 of 142 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review