Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Momentum reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
3.8
Factory warranty
2.9

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

64 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Richard J Ernst

Ohio

Reviewed on 2017-03-15

RV reviewed2017 Grand Design Momentum 399TH

View listings

4.6
Overall we like our 399TH and we accept some of the simple fixes that usually come with a new camper. However, it seems like we have a list that wouldn't exist with proper QC: 1. The trailer arrived with the wrong interior. 2. The media chairs were mounted crooked and would get stuck on the window valance when reclined. 3. No hot water on city connection. We have to pull water from the tanks to heat it. 4. Half of the carpet in the loft wasn't even there. It just raw particle board exposed. I was told this was normal from my dealer! 5. Sliding door to the side porch is not square and the door doesn't close flush. 6. Garage glass door has a gap on one side, clearly not plumb. 7. Garage loft bed is not level. I have to push up on one side of the bed to place the locking pins in. I was told by my dealer there is nothing that can be done about it. I need to stand on a stool or use a pole to push the bed up while putting the pin in. 8. The porch enclosure tears a hole in the mesh when stowed for transport. The dealer said it's a design flaw. 9.Trailer was delivered with missing rubber keyhole covers. I was told they will not be covered under warranty even though it was delivered without them! 10. Batteries wont hold a full charge. 12.5V is the highest they will charge. The dealer is currently looking at that. 11. The door would unlatch even when locked under transport. The closed grab handle is the only thing keeping the door closed. I'm told the door isn't aligned with the latch catch properly. 12.Power converter was advertised as a 75W but a 65W was put in. 13. Kitchen slide does not close flush to the unit. 14. Fuel tank gage is backwards and reads the level in the opposite tank. There are also three options we paid for but wish we didn't and we feel a little deceived: 1. The king bed upgrade is not a true king, it's 6 inches narrower than a actual king. We upgraded so I could use our Tempurpedic mattress for my back only to find out later that I paid for the king size option and it won't fit my actual sized king. I now have to buy a queen Tempurpedic to replace the stock mattress but the queen mattress is too small to fill the fake king size platform. Basically I paid for an option I can't use and on top of that I need to spend even more money because of it. Stick with the queen unless you plan on keeping the horrible stock mattress! 2. The so called removable carpet kit for the garage area is a joke! It is literally a roll of felt that isn't even cut to fit the garage(see pic)! We had the understanding it was carpet that matched the carpet in the rest of the trailer. We at least got a small piece of carpet for the door step.The option should be title "unmeasured/uncut removable felt" because it is definitely not carpet! Buy a remnant instead from Lowes or Home Depot, it will be actual carpet and it will be cheaper too! 3. The optional stairs for the ramps have been useless for us. We have yet to find an area that once you get leveled the stairs will reach the ground, even with the legs fully extended(see pic). I have to use wood blocks to place under the legs even on a hard level surface. The only time they work properly is on a flat level surface without the leveling jacks extended(like at an RV show)! The side porch stair mounts were not measured properly and the stairs will not mount evenly because of them. I'm waiting for my dealer to see what they can do with that. I would love to have my money back for these useless options. The camper is nice overall but there seems to be some deceiving with some options, intentional or not....research the options closely or you may not be getting what you think. This is our first camper and our lessons learned were expensive.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (119)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cory A Swanson

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-11-04

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 28G

View listings

2.0
Run as fast as you can from new RV models, we went thru 2020 Grand Design Momentum 28G and then a 2021 Grand Design Momentum 25G, both had to be sent back- fell completely apart, total waste of time and money, start looking for older models- after 2008 things started getting bad, I have too many details to even write down about the experience, trust me there is a Industry problem right now, maybe there are a few high end models but I do not see anything lately worth Investing in, totally just my opinion!!!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cory Swanson

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-10-28

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 28G

View listings

3.0
Listen up new RV buyers- we started in 2020 and went through 2 years of hell, it started with us in 2020, did our research and bought a new Grand Design 28G toy hauler, this thing did not even make 1 trip without buckling the floor between bedroom and bathroom? all the other stuff is kind of expected nowadays- lots of small issues- but structural issues? so we got this thing sent back to factory, they made us a new one- we changed to the new 2021 25-G since we did not need the longer 28G- I asked the factory to just make sure this one was built correct, no rush, we finally received the new 25G and again had the small stupid stuff to deal with, took a short trip with 1200 pound toy in back which should be fine since this unit is 3600 pound payload for toy section, well when we got back the same exact thing happened= floor came up again in same spot? I just about passed out when my wife showed me!!! here we go again, took to my local good guy RV repair man again, he told factory what the problem was= Factory did not want to hear it, they wanted to do some cheap idea of a fix= problem was in design that they still did not fix, I wonder how many others out there have tried hauling toys in the back and then look at the linoleum coming up between the front bedroom and bathroom? the problem is there is no support here underneath the underlayment because the water tanks are in the way, subfloor just lifts up and down with no support, nobody listens to me or my RV guy? then we checked roof and found out the top bulkhead was not even built with enough material to secure it? so we had to glob a bunch of sealer on it temporarily so rain did not get in the gaping hole, after 2 years of this I pulled out!!! the dealer took it back for NADA Value and we got hosed for 2 years of pain and 15 thousand dollars, I am sure both these Units just went to more unsuspecting victims like ourselves, with my research and talking with RV experts we think everything started going haywire with production from about 2008 on, so we got an old 2006 temp RV to get us by while we look for a manufacturer who builds a quality unit? for now all I see is garbage that is doubling in price? it will all come to a head eventually, unfortunately there will be a whole lot of people making payments on garbage, what happened to you get what you pay for? I also feel sorry for some of the dealers= they are just peddling what the manufacturers are producing then having to put them in a big line waiting for repairs, I still cant believe I did not pick up on all the RV Units with tags on them stacked a mile deep in the back when we bought our 2020 unit= we were just excited to get our new rig, then quickly realized it will live most its life in the repair graveyard that we just walked by? we had a 2007 Fleetwood Redline as our 1st real toy hauler- that thing was bullet proof with no issues at all!!! wish I could find another one of those machines, just please remember so you do not have to go through the pain we did= there is no such thing as well built RV anymore with the exception of maybe a few very high end builders, do not believe anything you read on reviews from manufacturers, maybe someday the manufacturers will be forced to quality control these units a little better- until then we are skeptics and OUT!!!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michelle Chee

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-10-20

RV reviewed2018 Grand Design Momentum 351M

View listings

5.0
We have loved this fifth wheel toy hauler. AMAZING layout. Has tons and tons of storage and great versatile living spaces - indoor and out. The garage can be whatever type of living space that fits your needs and the main area has so much room to enjoy. It's super easy to make this 'your own'. This is our first Grand Design and we definitely love the quality.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christine Fulford

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-09-20

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 381M

View listings

5.0
I love everything about this RV it was definitely home away from home for me, tons of space gourmet kitchen huge pantry a great place for friends to gather a great bedroom and bathroom and a huge garage for all of your toys but also another great gathering space to entertain an an extra room for guests.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joshua Reiter

Nevada

Reviewed on 2021-09-04

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 28G

View listings

2.2
2021 Momentum 28G is a complete piece of crap! I was warned that most rv's are crap, so I thought I'd go with the best built, best quality, best etc., Nope...100% crap! I've owned this rig for less than a year and it has been in the shop for 5mos. Flooring issues, bed motor issues, window issues, pieces falling off issues, graphic issues, and radio issues. Stay clear! Spend the money to go all aluminum like ATC. Outside of the issues, it towes like freaking crap. (Note-i have a 2021 F350 with a blue ox 2000/20000lb weight distribution hitch) and still pulls like a piece of crap. Layout is great, about the only positive! I can't believe these things are even aloud on the road how they're built!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2021-07-12

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum G-21

View listings

5.0
This Toyhauler/Travel Trailer towed beautifully. The fit and finish and appointments are of the highest quality. All appliances and A/c and Heater work extremely well. The queen size mattress in the sleeping quarters is quite comfortable. The living area is easy to get around in and the rear ramp that turns into a fenced patio is a very nice feature especially when the awning is extended to provide shade when needed. All in all this is a very functional and comfortable RV.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barbara jean Driesen

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-06-22

RV reviewed2014 Grand Design Momentum 385TH

View listings

4.8
I loved this fifth wheel. It is very classy and very well made. It is huge so my only advice is watch other drivers and going in and out of lanes, otherwise you will get stares upon stares. People will ask for tours of your unit and of course questions about the outdoor back porch. That is always a conversation piece.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeffrey Schmucker

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-06-18

RV reviewed2018 Grand Design Momentum 399TH

View listings

2.2
We are so unhappy with this rv. 4 years, 2 pin boxes, a new controller, brakes failed 3 times, brake wiring melted hydraulic system, and now broken down in Georgia with a broken leaf spring on a 2018 camper. Shame on you Grand Design!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-06-15

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 28G

View listings

3.2
Well folks I sold my jayco and decided to go to a smaller toy hauler 28 g ! Our first problems were water leaks one coming from underneath the bed pulled board that mattress sits on there were loose connections on the main panel where water connections go tighten them up leaking stopped ! Then a couple days later there was water coming out in the kitchen in the corner removed panel gave me access to back of water heater found leak another loose fitting in back of water heater ! I tried to get warranty work done they want you to take unit in to get fixed! The finance guy lied said we could get mobile service anytime but forgot to tell us after the factory warranty expired! In a year ! If I didn’t know what I was doing I would of been screwed ! For the money we paid you think there would be better quality control on these units ! Will be getting rid of this thing next year ! Also A/C will not keep up in 100 degree weather inside temperatures in the day 95 degrees ! Went and bought portable a/c unit to help main a/c unit ! Now breaker keeps tripping off ! Thanks grand momentum for such a pos !
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 64 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review