Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Imagine XLS Travel Trailer reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.4
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
3.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 Travel Trailers

Reviews

Stars Refinement

32 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Greg

Nevada

Reviewed on 2022-10-04

RV reviewed 2022 Grand Design Imagine XLS 23LDE view listing

3.2
Expected a TT that was reliable given the manufacturer, especially at the price point. Layout is great, easily towable. Quality of the TT was a great disappointment. First glance noticed small items that could have been added to make a huge difference and make it comparable to other higher end TT, especially for the price point people are paying during these times. Items like installing a tankless water heater, Larger vent fans than the tiny ones you find on low end trailers, better AC unit than the lowest model found, better bed, wood construction under bed is poor particle board quality, shades for door windows, soft close drawers to name a few. Taking the TT out for the first time noticed the cabinet design by kitchen entry was poor. Drawers can't hold anything without falling apart. Slides are poor quality and ball bearings fell out. Dealer said drawer still works so no new slides. Drawer construction is something you would find with cheap furniture. Pex plumbing elbows and fittings flooded the front of the TT as they were not fastened correctly. Entire electrical system stopped working. Found out the 30 Amp plug was loose and started to burn which could have been a fire hazard. Fancy couch / recliner didn't work when electrical was fixed, issue with furnace not working, tiny bathroom sink fit for children. Original 6 gal water heater goes out every 10 seconds when trying to shower (replaced it with a tankless and problem solved). Other manufactures are selling TT at the same price point with all the items missing from this manufacturer. Quality control is no longer important. Gouging customers is.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sandy

Illinois

Reviewed on 2022-05-28

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22MLE view listing

5.0
Mike husband and I absolutely loved everything about our Grand Design Imagine Travel Trailer. It was the perfect balance of big enough for all of our needs and comforts and small enough to pull with our Durango and to fit at every campsite. The features and quality are top of the line. It was perfect for us.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-05-06

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE view listing

4.8
We retired and decided to purchase this new in June 2020. We wanted a cozy home on the road that our Yukon could pull easily. Both of us have loved and cared for this trailer and we’ve had no major issues along the way. The tires were upgraded to Goodyears and we added a few other options along the way. We’ve traveled from Texas to the Great Lakes to Florida, and have truly loved our glamping experiences. Across 17 states, we’ve been sightseeing, hiking, kayaking, fishing, dining, cycling, winetasting and relaxing by the campfire. We sold only to move up to a 5th Wheel for longer stays out west.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jimbo

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2022-03-15

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 21BHE view listing

2.4
Grand design costumer support is useless. I would rate them a 0 if I could. I've had nothing but issues with my rv since the get go. I do not recommend anyone buy from this company. My rv is not even 2 yrs old and they tell me I'm out of warranty which I understand. The thing that bugs me is that my sump pump under my sink completely stopped working and they basically told me I was out of warranty and there was nothing they could do. I told the lady that me and her both know that something like that shouldn't brake that quick. She was rude and no help to me. Save your self heartache and buy another brand.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Peery

Kansas

Reviewed on 2022-02-22

RV reviewed 2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE view listing

3.0
I guess being a first time buyer I should have known better, I was told Grand Design was the way to go, but I've had nothing but problems with this trailer. In all fairness, I haven't called the dealer or GD yet, but I am really frustrated by the entire experience. I bought this trailer used less than a year ago, I made the mistake of trusting the dealership salesman and thought it would be a good idea to get the 24/7 roadside added on, which has proven to be useless and a waste of money. Anyway, from day one this trailer had problems with the heater, finally got that fixed after replacing the thermostat and the main board. Now the stove/oven will light but immediately go out, and the refrigerator is 100% dead. So I can't cook, and I can't keep food. I'm currently in Texas, and now have to pull up and go back to Kansas to deal with all this, because all I can get out of the 24/7 deal is they will send someone out here that I have to pay for then (MAYBE) get reimbursed, for a tech to come tell me the unit(s) need to be replaced. I understand that all RVs have issues, but when 3 of the 4 major appliances in this thing have failed in less than a year all I can say is that's junk in my book, There's trim inside that's fallen off, overall quality is questionable, drawer slides aren't right, I've had some screws rust out at the door and other places outside already, the stereo and speakers couldn't be cheaper, and have never worked with the TV. All in all I feel like I was taken advantage of and sold an overpriced piece of junk with extra "piece of mind" services that are a rip off. Like I said, I haven't called the dealer or GD yet so maybe they'll make this right, but it's a real pain, and I feel even though it's a used trailer, I shouldn't be having these types of problems already. I have heard when the pandemic hit that a lot of people quit, and they don't have experienced people building these things any longer, which really makes me wonder if GD is a decent place to work and are less-than-concerned about their employees and their customers. Hopefully I can come back here with good news soon, but as I feel right now I've got a very expensive piece of junk, I'll never buy another Grand Design, and I would never recommend them or the dealer (Lifestyle RVs outside of Kansas City).
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pamela Aronson

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-01-03

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE view listing

3.4
The customer service from the manufacturer of Grand Design and the service by Campers Inn of Tucker, Ga is nonexistent! We have had several issues since the purchase of our trailer last January. Now to address a simple repair we are asked to leave our camper with them for weeks to have a part looked at for service. They will then contact the manufacturer to see about a solution. The first issue was a manufacturer’s defect which finally was patched up but not fixed appropriately. What a huge disappointment as we like the trailer . I cannot recommend anyone purchase from this manufacturer or dealership.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

james thompson

Mississippi

Reviewed on 2021-11-08

RV reviewed 2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE view listing

3.4
We Love our travel trailer, But In less than a year we started having Leaks. Contacted the dealer and took it in it sat there a month and a half, Grand Design rejected our Warranty. We've never had this kind of problem in 30years of buying campers.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Wier

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-10-01

RV reviewed 2022 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE view listing

2.2
After doing a great deal of research, we decided to purchase a Grand Design travel trailer based upon their reputation for quality. We ordered an Imagine XLS 17 MKE in April of 2021 and took delivery on July 30 2021. We have been disappointed ever since. Unfortunately, we now know that their reputation for high quality is FALSE and UNDESERVED. They may have been good at some point, but right now they are cranking out crap. Their quality is an absolute joke!! Here are just a few of the issues we have found so far that somehow got past their special PDI (pre-delivery inspection) that they like to talk so much about… -Water leak that sprayed water all over the chaos of wires and connectors that were just lying on the floor beneath the leaking hose in the same area as water pump and water heater. What kind of geniuses combine plumbing and electric in the same spot with zero protection for the electric? Ever heard of a wiring harness or loom! This leak soaked all the way through the floor of camper and leaked out the bottom so the integrity of that is now suspect. The rusty screw laying on the floor below the hose indicates that this leak has been there since delivery. The screw probably belongs in the bottom of the vertical 1x1 piece of wood next to it that doesn’t have any anchor in the bottom… -Every exterior light and the 30 Amp electrical connection on the outside of camper all leak and take on water in the rain. That’s a 100% failure rate! -The interior trim of the dinette slide out rubs on the couch every time the slide moves. -The hardware for the door catch on the outside is mounted 1.5” too far to the right, making it useless unless they remount and drill 4 new holes in the side of a brand new camper. - Drawer slide hardware detached and was pinching electric wire with sharp metal edge. -The vast majority of cabinet doors are out of alignment and rubbing. Mounting screws are stripped into the wood. Adjusting screws have stripped heads. -Wobbly drawers with splintered wood joints that are just waiting to fall apart. -Glue stains on couch cushion. I have contacted our dealer about these and other issues and they have been responsive, but they are backed up like everyone else and haven’t had time to fix it all. They got it in to fix the water leak but most of the other issues are waiting on parts from Grand Design, and time for the dealer to fix. In the meantime, I have had to fix several of the items myself just so that we can use the thing. Maybe I’ll send an invoice for my time and materials to Grand Design! Very disappointing quality on a very expensive trailer! I would not recommend Grand Design to anyone.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-09-25

RV reviewed 2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE view listing

4.6
The design is well thought out and very spacious. Quality is great. HOWEVER, they need to take care of those waiting for new propane pressure regulators under their current recall. It has been since June, we're heading into October.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 32 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province