Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Imagine 2800BH reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
3.7
Factory warranty
2.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mark A. Gregg

Colorado

Reviewed on 2016-09-29

RV reviewed2017 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

2.4
We recently purchased a 2017 Grand Design, Imagine 2800 BH. The floor plan is excellent and the overall fit and finish appeared to be good until we used the unit at higher altitudes. When the furnace runs, the main bedroom located at the front of the trailer becomes insufferably hot and the bathroom and back of the trailer is very cold. We plugged the hot air feed from the furnace into the bedroom, but still had serious heat balancing issues. The thermostat is located in the bedroom. We returned the unit to the dealer in Grand Junction, Colorado. They said the air feed to the bathroom is very small and will never pass enough air, even with the bedroom vent blocked. In effect, we are being told it is poorly designed (which it is) and there is no fixing it. Poor design, poor service. We traded-in a Lance for this unit. I am quite disappointed because using this in a colder venue where heat is required is always going to be problematic.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (25)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Deborah Sattely

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2022-03-11

RV reviewed2022 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

2.4
Worst camping trip ever!!! Took brand new camper out for first trip and everything went wrong. Heater/thermostat didn’t work right. Cannot get heat to come on without air conditioner also coming on.. Took two days with no refrigerator to figure out how to get it working. Got awning to extend barely and now it won’t retract. Dealership where purchased is leaving us high and dry with no help. Will never buy another Grand Design camper or anything from Wheels RV in Tontitown AR again.!!!!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael long

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-12-18

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

5.0
The was used three times after I spent $3,000 on renovations. New queen mattresses, 60 lb propane tanks, winter underbelly, etc. this trailer is better than new. I am 75 and I Don t feel safe driving it. A new one costs $47,000 plus
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Buttrey

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-10-28

RV reviewed2017 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

5.0
We never owned a travel trailer, but did our research over a six month period. Sales, Service and Support was 5 star! My background is services/support so I'm picky in terms of evaluation. Most of our negative experience has been user error. Our plan is to use this TT for a couple of years and then we might trade in to meet our new requirements.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-06-28

RV reviewed2016 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

4.4
We’ve owned our 2016 2800BH for over five years and spent at least 100 nights in it and driven across the country twice. The layout is great. However, as others point out, I’m always gluing something back together. Trim pieces just fall off randomly. Maybe the quality is better after 2016. The looks are premium but Grand Design could have spent more time on premium construction. Trim pieces falling off is a minor inconvenience but still shouldn’t happen. The trailer frame is rusting and I’ve never taken it anywhere with road salt. I had to replace all of the leaf springs at two years because they all lost their curve - we only take clothes and food and I’ve never traveled with full tanks. The slide bogs down when closing - even after I replaced the original battery with two wired in parallel. I always worry it won’t quite make it. Local RV repair shop said it’s a poorly designed slide system and I’ll eventually have to replace the very small motor. The slide also leaks at one corner and I can’t figure out why. All the seals are tight and the drain hole is open but the carpet at one corner is always damp after rain. Aside from the aforementioned problems, the layout and interior design are great. I think you will find problems with all travel trailers across all brands as they are not built as strong as a house and are subject to many more stresses. This is our second travel trailer and I’m mostly happy with it but it’s not perfect.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank Husted

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-06-27

RV reviewed2018 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

5.0
The 2800BH has been perfect for our family of 5 dog. Plenty of room and privacy in front queen bedroom. Really like that we had a separate entrance and exit, so we did not disturb little ones after coming in from campfire. All appliances have performed as expected with no issues to date. The only problem we've had was a bad elbow connection right after city water connection. Replaced it with new pex elbow while on a trip no problem.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray

California

Reviewed on 2021-05-14

RV reviewed2018 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

2.0
We could not be more disappointed. Each time we take this thing out it gets worse. It started with the entry doors binding and hitting at the top. Warranty repairs and a bunch of fluff (taking more money from my wallet) later we take it out again and the right side of the camper separates from the roof. While in to repair that they find the right panel has cracks under the overlay. Grand design refused warranty saying the bubbles in the roof and cracks are due to lack of maintenance. It is time we file a class action suit, grand design knows they sold defective trailers and they need to pay.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Johnson

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2020-11-03

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

2.8
We bought new 2019 Grand Design Imagine about 1 year and half ago, have had several issues with it, first started with the kitchen mini blinds being mounted too high, you can see in the window when blind is closed. Then the outside kitchen water port quit working and then camping in cold weather the fan in the furnace came loose had to shut it off, Grand Design has a Artic pack sticker on it but the camper is poorly insulated, too many sky lights, looses heat quickly and next during a light rain noticed the awning leaks down the side of the camper. Camped during hot weather, inside temp would not get under 78% with ac running wide open, I see why the prewire it for two ac units because one is not enough, once again too many skylights, campers should not have skylights period. Next the gas lines that hook to the tanks starting leaking so had to replace them. Now the lights flicker whenever you use the water pump and next we blew out and did damage to the camper, found out from another website Grand Design uses Westlake tires from China and have read where several people have had issues with this brand just blowing up going up going down the road, this is my fault for not looking it over better before I made my purchase, the mattress was cheapest of the cheap had to replace and the recliner chairs only made for Small people, I am 5'11" and my feet hang off about a foot. Now one of the 4 skylights starting leaking. Hopefully nothing else will go wrong. Down a portion of my retirement to buy this and pay cash because I am handicapped and didn't want a payment, stuck with it now. My first hand advice to anyone wanting a camper that will keep you cool in the summer and warm in the winter Do not look at Grand Design Imagine bumper pull, unless you want to spend the money to add another air unit or add extra insulation. Note to Grand Design Engineers leave the skylights OUT of the campers, you loose too much heat in the winter and they heat the camper up in the summer, a thin peice of plastic to the outside world does Not do the job and usually one of the first places a roof will start to leak.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (23)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Catherine Butler

Nevada

Reviewed on 2020-09-07

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

3.2
WRONG AXLE INSTALLED. Our 2019 Imagine 2800BH (purchased new March 2019) was an upgrade from a 2016 RPod that we had enjoyed over the years, but had outgrown as our two kids have grown older. I spent about a year researching and driving in and out of state to different RV shows and dealers looking for our next camper (one that I hoped to keep for many years even after kids went to college). I became very interested in Grand Designs Transcend, but overall the Imagine checked off almost ALL of my wish list (large bunks, large bath, lots of storage both inside and underneath, an outside kitchen, outside water access, automatic awning, queen bed, great layout, kitchen and fixture quality, very stylish, less than 32 feet, good materials, and the other options offered). They seemed to have good reviews and all of the dealers had good comments about the quality and manufacturer (not as established though). We had taken on several shorter camping trips around NV and it was wonderful - spacious, comfortable, road smoothly. Fast forward to June 2020 and the company my husband worked for closed their doors due to Covid. We decided it was our opportunity to move back home to GA, which we did. Although we have family in GA that we could stay with if necessary, we felt blessed that we had our Imagine. It meant we could stay in campgrounds driving the 2100 miles necessary to get there and until we could find a rental home or home to purchase - we had camping as an option until then! Our first cross-country trip consisted of my husband driving his F-150 hauling the camper and my 11 year old daughter and I following in my car. During the 1st day of our drive, I mentioned to my husband that I noticed the rear tires of the Imagine seemed to be leaning in at a slight angle at the top and asked if that was normal. Since we’ve never driven behind the camper (we were always in tow vehicle) I found it strange. He told me that the axles are normally bowed and the weight usually straightens the tire out, so it could just be that. Since we were making a 4 day trip across country, before we left we installed a backup camera, 2nd a/c unit and tire pressure/heat sensors on all of the tires, had the tires and breaks checked. Ironically (wait until the end) we had blown a tire on an earlier trip that was the right rear. Back to the long drive...late the second day, just outside of Oklahoma City, I noticed a wisp of something(smoke?) coming from that same right rear tire that had been replaced. Being paranoid - I got on the radio to my husband to tell him to pull over so we could check it out. Of course we were on an interstate and had to get across a bridge before he could stop (not far though). The inside of the right rear tire was so hot it glowed and was smoking...one good part of the camper design was having the fire extinguisher just inside the door nearby. We got to it just before the heat damaged the underbelly and surrounding area. I thought it was going to catch on fire. There is no doubt it would have had I not been behind him. The heat sensors were on the tire - not the middle. Anyway, we were about 5 miles to exit...ended up calling GoodSams at 7pm to help find towing (Good Sams was great by the way). Looong story short, Grand Design put the wrong axle on the rear. It turned out that it had the correct part number but was the wrong axle. So much for QUALITY CONTROL. Don’t blame axle manufacturer but Grand Design. The axle was straight instead of curved and GD put it all together. Remember the curved part...when you have normal weight on the axle it straightens, but if you have the wrong axle (straight axle as in our case) the weight causes the axle to bend...that explains why it appeared the top of the rear tires were angled in!l - they were!!! The repair place was good - they were able to fit us in and allowed us to leave it there while we had to continue our trip ($$$ wasn’t cheap!). The jacks and rear bumper was bent as well as rear stairs when we had to have it towed. $$$ Due to time constraints we had to leave truck and camper and continued to GA in my car so we could make our plane in 3 days to fly back to NV to pack and drive a Uhaul (ended up being 2), our boat and then, because GD our wrong axle we had to stop and get truck and camper when we got to OK City. By the way, we ended up having to fly ($$$) a friend out so he could drive the Uhaul and my husband could drive truck and camper (I can’t drive it) and I ended up driving 2nd Uhaul anyway. We had to leave a car that I had to fly back out again to drive back. None of which works have been necessary had Grand Design had quality control that would have found a wrong axle. My husband did call and speak with a few ppl at Grand Design both during and after. Don’t expect any help there. I do LOVE the camper even after all of this, but I am always scared to take it anywhere for fear of a fire or something else happening.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (24)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Diane Higgins

New York

Reviewed on 2020-08-22

RV reviewed2018 Grand Design Imagine 2800BH

View listings

1.8
Pretty disappointed! We chose Grand Design because we were impressed with their sales pitch of multiple inspection process controlling defects with the brand. Also for how well thought out the designs were. That just didn't turn out to be the case. We've had a lot of problems with this trailer. Some caused an extremely dangerous situations towing. First the Axel warped causing the rear wheels to camber. The tires not being designed to ride on the inner edge by the sidewall nearly wore completely through before we realized and the axel was nearly bowing down to the road. When they replaced the axel, the manufacturer sent an axel which had obviously been stored outside for some time. That axel cause a short which caused the frame to carry a current. The breaks would lock and release causing bucking every time we went to stop. We were told by a multitude of technicians, from every service repair shop we went that the problem must have been coming from our break controller. We lost the use of our trailer for the bulk of our first summer, all the time worrying that no one would find the problem and simply blame our controller. We switched it out twice, once with a new one and again with our friends we borrowed just to prove that it wasn't the controller. I felt the burden was on us to identify the problem or we would continually be told it wasn't the trailer. We had several leaks all caused by poor assembly. We are currently trying to find out why we had a pool of water under our bathroom sink. Still haven't found the cause of this one time massive leak which sent a cascade of water pouring out the undercarriage. In the process of looking for that leak, I discovered another unrelated small leak coming inside behind a panel from the exterior fitting. Something you would never normally find, but the kind of slow drip which rots out your sub flooring. Now lets talk about the construction of the interior. Our Dinette bench was completely falling apart after a small amount of use. We had to rebuild the frame work so that it didn't collapse or break apart. Some of the cabinetry is extremely flimsy and poorly thought out. We have a cabinet under the fridge which is a good size and should be able to hold a lot. But the bottom of the cabinet is completely unsupported only held up by staples. There's a drawer under it which now doesn't open and close right because the cabinet bottom bowed into the drawer. Poor Design... The cushions on the dinette are cheap and uncomfortable. One of the windows in the rear bunk doesn't shut completely. The dinette was promoted as U shaped which in reality is completely laughable. You could never even seat a small child along the back, so why make believe it's actually a U shape for seating someone. The "U" also removes to become an ottoman. Again laughable. That was obviously never tested. The ottoman is a simple box, not well framed out, with no hand holds so it's really hard to grab or move. It's completely useless. The cushions are all poorly attached with Velcro which doesn't hold them in place. Every time we stop while traveling, lots of cushions are sitting on the floor. I've had to fix that too. Lots of the components they use are cheap and will fail over time. So much for quality! I shudder to think what else is wrong that we just don't know about yet. Sorry I ever bought it. Don't waste your money on one!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province