Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design IMAGINE XLS reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.5
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
3.5

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

James Williams

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2019-10-05

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE

View listings

4.0
1. The front of the RV was dented or bowed in were the middle trim is. If you look down it the front is wavy. I looked at it myself and touched the screws on the trim 3 of the screw heads fell off, they appeared had twisted off and been glued back on and then noticed one of the screws was even missing. I was going to put a screw in and discovered there was never a screw there as there was only a hole in the trim and not the trailer. 2. Both pieces of trim running across the front were not sealed and I was leaving on a 17 day trip so I had to seal them myself. 3. Doors to bedroom and bathroom very hard to shut and so miss adjusted that the door striker and magnet could not make contact. And the metal plate on the bathroom door that contacts the magnet was missing and was in fact never there as there were no screw holes. 4. Front decal was coming off 5. Trim on wall by recliner coming off 6. Trim at back of bathroom on floor pulling away from wall. 7. Recliner closest to the bathroom will not recline all the way because it hits the wall. Recliner closest to bedroom does recline fully but also scapes the wall and will result in rubbing a hole in recliner. 8. Bottom right draw will not stay closed when being towed 5. Top gutter above awning leaks above front window Things I fixed because I didn’t want to take it back. 1. Had to adjust bathroom door so my wife could shut it as it was very tight. This was more of a challenge. Tried to adjust it but just couldn’t so I removed the trim on both sides of the door at the top and discovered that the header board that the track screws to was bowed down because the header board was bowed down in the middle. That was because the ceiling is bowed down in the middle. I loosened the header screws and shimmed header at the ends and was able to get it straight and adjust the door. 2. One of The drawers in the bedroom would not stay shut. Discovered that the striker was not even close to the plate so I moved it. 3. Day before I leave on a 17 day trip it rains and water is dripping from the AC unit onto the floor. I removed the top cover but couldn’t see anything wrong. I then removed the bottom covers on the inside of trailer and discovered that all 4 bolts holding the unit to the roof were loose. I tightened them and it rain very hard the next day and no leaks. 4. In the process of fixing the leak I noticed the roof has several bubbles in it and the roof material is not installed very well. Lots of little bubbles. This is my third RV and the worse roof job I have seen. 5. Just discovered that the screw on one side of blinds in bathroom is coming loose because it is just screwed into the paneling and is in the wrong place so that the string is putting to much pressure on screw. I will fix it myself but it will leave a hole as it needs moved over. Things not fixed yet 1. Awning hits slide-out and rests on it. This will result in wearing a hole in the awning. Can not tilt awning when raining, as a result the awning fills with water and then tilts down releasing the water but slide-out pushes on awning and may tear a hole in it. Told it was designed that way. I am not satisfied with that answer as this is my 3rd RV and the awning should not fill with water and then collapse to let the water out. I tried pulling the awning down some on one side but looks like the awning pushes down on the slide out so hard it may poke a hole in it. So we can’t even set under awning if there is very much rain. Very poor design. 2. Heater fan is very loud. I have a recording of it. Dealer looked at it and I admit it was quieter there. It is loud again. High pitch squill. I asked them to replace the fan motor as I had a recording of it but they would only do it if I payed for it, even though they heard the recording. 3. Several of the blinds are crooked when you pull them down because the screws were put in the wrong place. Can’t be fixed with out leaving holes. 4. When the paneling was installed they put something over where the nails or staples are and never wiped of the access so there are blotches every 5. The shower door now only retracts half way, sometimes two thirds. I will see if I can fix it as I am still on a trip. 6. Now one of the LED lights in the main part of trailer is flickering, very annoying to watch. Going to cut the wires and disconnect it. Because I am still on a trip. 7. Poor roof job Summary Worst quality construction in a trailer I have ever seen. I have had a Jayco and Flagstaff by Forest River. I purchased this Grand Design because I had read about how great they were. I love the design and looks but beware the quality control is horrible at least it was on mine. Gave it a 3 for factory warranty and support because I don’t know yet
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (100)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pamela Aronson

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-01-03

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE

View listings

3.4
The customer service from the manufacturer of Grand Design and the service by Campers Inn of Tucker, Ga is nonexistent! We have had several issues since the purchase of our trailer last January. Now to address a simple repair we are asked to leave our camper with them for weeks to have a part looked at for service. They will then contact the manufacturer to see about a solution. The first issue was a manufacturer’s defect which finally was patched up but not fixed appropriately. What a huge disappointment as we like the trailer . I cannot recommend anyone purchase from this manufacturer or dealership.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

james thompson

Mississippi

Reviewed on 2021-11-08

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE

View listings

3.4
We Love our travel trailer, But In less than a year we started having Leaks. Contacted the dealer and took it in it sat there a month and a half, Grand Design rejected our Warranty. We've never had this kind of problem in 30years of buying campers.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Wier

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-10-01

RV reviewed2022 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE

View listings

2.2
After doing a great deal of research, we decided to purchase a Grand Design travel trailer based upon their reputation for quality. We ordered an Imagine XLS 17 MKE in April of 2021 and took delivery on July 30 2021. We have been disappointed ever since. Unfortunately, we now know that their reputation for high quality is FALSE and UNDESERVED. They may have been good at some point, but right now they are cranking out crap. Their quality is an absolute joke!! Here are just a few of the issues we have found so far that somehow got past their special PDI (pre-delivery inspection) that they like to talk so much about… -Water leak that sprayed water all over the chaos of wires and connectors that were just lying on the floor beneath the leaking hose in the same area as water pump and water heater. What kind of geniuses combine plumbing and electric in the same spot with zero protection for the electric? Ever heard of a wiring harness or loom! This leak soaked all the way through the floor of camper and leaked out the bottom so the integrity of that is now suspect. The rusty screw laying on the floor below the hose indicates that this leak has been there since delivery. The screw probably belongs in the bottom of the vertical 1x1 piece of wood next to it that doesn’t have any anchor in the bottom… -Every exterior light and the 30 Amp electrical connection on the outside of camper all leak and take on water in the rain. That’s a 100% failure rate! -The interior trim of the dinette slide out rubs on the couch every time the slide moves. -The hardware for the door catch on the outside is mounted 1.5” too far to the right, making it useless unless they remount and drill 4 new holes in the side of a brand new camper. - Drawer slide hardware detached and was pinching electric wire with sharp metal edge. -The vast majority of cabinet doors are out of alignment and rubbing. Mounting screws are stripped into the wood. Adjusting screws have stripped heads. -Wobbly drawers with splintered wood joints that are just waiting to fall apart. -Glue stains on couch cushion. I have contacted our dealer about these and other issues and they have been responsive, but they are backed up like everyone else and haven’t had time to fix it all. They got it in to fix the water leak but most of the other issues are waiting on parts from Grand Design, and time for the dealer to fix. In the meantime, I have had to fix several of the items myself just so that we can use the thing. Maybe I’ll send an invoice for my time and materials to Grand Design! Very disappointing quality on a very expensive trailer! I would not recommend Grand Design to anyone.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (18)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-09-25

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE

View listings

4.6
The design is well thought out and very spacious. Quality is great. HOWEVER, they need to take care of those waiting for new propane pressure regulators under their current recall. It has been since June, we're heading into October.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Victor

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-09-01

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 21BHE

View listings

5.0
This review is for a 2021 Imagine XLS 23BHE. It wasn’t on the list for some reason. I’ve had the 23BHE for close to a year and have put around 10K miles on it so far. My tow vehicle is a 2019 Toyota Tundra double cab with the 5.7L engine. When the camper and truck are loaded for a trip we are right at the maximum weight. So far, I’m very happy with the 23BHE. She’s been pulled up and down mountains, over sketchy gravel roads, through plenty of potholes and I’m sure the occasional curb, and have had no mechanical issues whatsoever. Lest you think that I baby the rig, I have 6 and 10 year old boys who are genetically predisposed to kick, lick, slam, chew, and just generally abuse everything in sight, and with the exception of the occasional sticking door and peeling laminate, the RV has held up remarkably well. The floor plan is great as well. GD has made good use of the small space. Keep in mind that this is a fairly small RV, so don’t expect to fit all of your belongings. We recently went on a 3 week trip to Yellowstone and had plenty of space for everything we really needed.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Taylor Taylor

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-08-15

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE

View listings

5.0
We searched every available RV for comfort and the simple ease of livability and the 17MKE is the best of all the others for a retired couple. The amount of counter space sold my wife, and the size of the shower sold me since I am 6’4”. We had to wait a long time for ours to come in, but it was worth the wait.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lee McGranaghan

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-08-03

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Imagine XLS 19RLE

View listings

4.0
LIKES: Love the floor plan for just me, my wife and one other (two if they are small children). Knew the space limitations when we bought it, so no issues there. At 6’3” the residential queen bed was a must and is not common in sub-20 foot trailers. Also has enough headroom! Tows easily with 1/2 ton. DISLIKES: The non-ducted AC can’t keep up with the radiant heat coming through the dark nose cap at the front during sunny days, while at the same time keeping the back chilly. The nose cap continues to fade in spite of washing/waxing with RV polish 3 times per year. Won’t buy another with a dark colored exterior. The rain gutters only keep up with light rain. Our left side gutter was apparently installed incorrectly and causes a leak inside the wall that comes out on the floor under the bathroom cabinet when it rains hard or steady. There is no leak unless it rains, so I know its not plumbing related. Have been told by dealer that structural LEAKS AREN’T COVERED by any warranty, even though we opted for the Lifetime coverage. If we don’t sell or trade it in, I will likely remove the gutter and fill attachment holes with putty, or just fill the gutter with eternabond, overlapping onto the roof. Doing nothing will likely result in delamination of siding over time, not to mention mold and mildew in the wall. Overall, I can’t recommend this model due to issues listed.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

crichton H Raaberg

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-07-30

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Imagine XLS 18RBE

View listings

3.0
This trailer is great if you are going to spend just a week or so on vacation. We, unfortunately, needed it to live in ours while waiting for our home to be rebuilt after the fires here in Oregon. The cabinets began to peel within the first few months and it looks absolutely awful. The silverware drawer broke in the first month we had it. Now it only opens halfway and there are only 3 drawers. The back bunks are great, 2 people can sleep in the bottom bed, but you can't sit up and it can be very claustrophobic. I don't mind MRIs, but get anxious on the inside. The hot water heater barely heats the water and 3 RV repair people said it couldn't be fixed. It was an issue with these RVs. My daughter got a Jayflight and it is holding up beautifully after 10 months. Her shower is really hot when all ours would do is spit out lukewarm water at best. I have to heat water for dishes in the winter. The shower itself is fine, but the shower "door" is pretty flimsy. The RV itself does heat up well and it stays cool, which is a huge blessing since we have had 114 degree days and the rv has stayed cool. Our RV does stay cooler than my daughter's, but in all fairness, her RV shades ours in the worst part of the day. It's the peeling woodwork I seriously do not understand. And the floors after a while are just icky. They are textured so always feel gross on your bare feet no matter how much you scrub them. People who have seen our paneling have been shocked at how bad it looks. We have tried to restain them, but that looked even worse. Makes you feel like you are living in a dump. I may just have to remove them, sand them, and paint them it's so bad. Our doors to the outside are holding up better than my daughter's RV. But she has 4 border collies in her RV and it's holding up nicely and looks very nice on the inside. Our RV is probably more sturdy than my daughters, but hers has more room and cost quite a bit less. It has a light and airy feeling, where ours has dark paneling that was supposed to look elegant but is peeling, exposing tan wood underneath. We picked this for one reason which is a big one - there are doors to the rooms and the bathroom separates the back bedroom from the living space. I have an 88-year-old mother who is in that room. We do love the recliners, but the heater in them never really worked. I sleep in one at night while my husband sleeps in the bed under the bunks in the bunk area. It's too claustrophobic for two adults. This is not something you'd take if you have adults or larger children. The speakers never worked right sort of cut in and out and also turned on like it was possessed until we just unplugged the entire radio. We just had to compromise for those doors, now I wish I'd not been so fixated on the doors. And for the price, I think they could have added a slide to the back bunk room. Again my daughter's is holding up better, has 2 slides and longer.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Melinda Hotchkiss

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-07-30

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22MLE

View listings

3.4
We purchased our grand design imagine at Colton RV in Hamburg, New York. Got home and the refrigerator does not work, we find a crack on the kitchen counter, and a large gap in the corner wall be the bed. Colton RV will not return our phone calls. We called Grand Design and after being on hold for over an hour we talked to Stephanie, she gave us permission to go to an unauthorized dealer to get it fixed. We need a new refrigerator, the one in there is not repairable. Local dealership emailed Stephanie what the problem with the refrigerator is. Called Stephanie 2 days later she said she will get a refrigerator ordered but they may be on backorder, she will email us the next day. 2 days later we call again, on hold for over an hour again to find out she is off today. Of course it’s Friday. We are supposed to leave for a three week vacation with our camper in 12 days. We are on hold right now trying to find out from someone other than Stephanie if a refrigerator has been ordered or not. Very poor customer service so far. It has been 6 phone calls to Colton RV within the past week and no return phone calls back. We will be checking to see if there is a lemon law with an RV like there is with automobiles.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review