Forest River XLR Thunderbolt RVs Reviews (11)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Forest River XLR Thunderbolt RVs Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these RVs.

Read Reviews

Patricia Byrd from Alabama says:

We have owned several RV's from class A to 5th wheels. We love our Thunderbolt XLR 415AMP. Its roomy, comfortable and meets all our needs. We chose th

Read More (11 reviews)

Have you owned any Forest River XLR Thunderbolt RVs? Write a review

Matching RVs For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2016 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 415AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We have owned several RV's from class A to 5th wheels. We love our Thunderbolt XLR 415AMP. Its roomy, comfortable and meets all our needs. We chose this one because of its size and garage for our razor side by side. What We do Not love is Forest River's stand on Warranty Work and who should do it. We had several issues with our new unit. We purchased it from a well known dealer and took it there for warranty work. On our last attempt to have some warranty work done, the dealer was not going to be able to get to our unit for several weeks. We had an out of state wedding to attend and were taking the RV with us. Our leveling system was having issues. We took it to another reputable dealer and Forest River would NOT cover the cost of the repairs. We have tried to contact them on this several times and even emailed them a copy of the service order. Forest River has not attempted to contact us or reimburse us for the Warranted Repairs. We will surely look at other manufacturers when we buy our next RV.
- Patricia Byrd, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-11-29 2017 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 422AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Not impressed with the quality of forest river manufacturing. It seems the quality checking is non existence. The black water valve was reversed so the first time emptying was a bit of a mess. Tipped the guy at the site the cost of the empty because he wore the mess. The workmanship is beyond shoddy..trim coming loose etc. We had trouble with 2 of the three doors closing properly. We were first time rv owners and there were far too many things we were not informed about (this issue is obviously on the dealership). That having been said 3 seasons later the dealership has addressed each issue but we have had to take the rv back to the dealership after each winter season down south. We have had tire issues in Arizona, inverter issues in California (this one was not good the inverter is the heart and soul of and RV and in 110 degree weather to go dead in the water is not good). We called our dealer from California someone said to go ahead and get it fixed. We did so but because we did not get a name of the person they reimbursed us the 800$ paid in American in 800$ Canadian that is at least a 30 percent loss to us. (That is on our dealership) for the amount of money this unit cost I have huge issue with quality of the workmanship over all. As with any dealership once the vehicle/unlit is sold they are done with you. That doesn’t seem to change be it a vehicle or an RV. I would hesitate to purchase a forest river product again. I would for sure research more before we purchase again. So far we have been able to fix the issues reasonably easy however I feel we shouldn’t have to be fixing much of anything for a unit that cost us over 100,000.00 Canadian.
- Jo-Anne, ontario canada, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2019-01-03 2014 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 395AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This is our 2nd new camper we have bought and are very disappointed with all the repairs considering we had very few problems with our first. If it wasn't for ruining my credit i would park it in the dealers yard .We bought the extended warranty and it does not cover anything except mechanical or electrical. Luckily we did because they have replaced the fieplace,TV, microwave not to mention the minor things.The couch that kept coming apart at the seams was covered by factory warranty both times they fixed it.Now the rubber roof liner is coming unglued all around the edges and the floor is weak in front of the door plus the furnace quit working This is all considered cosmetic and not covered under warranty except the furnace they are saying is dirt dobbers and not covered. Why would they not put screens over the inlets but anyway that is another story. We are sick and really do not know what to do
- Kyle Bohannon, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-11-04 2014 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 401AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This toy hauler is qualified as a shop area, sewing room, play room, sleeps 9. Extra recliner. So much storage can't fill it up. King bed 4 TV's,extra factory installed cabinets. Electric push button sewer valves. Upgraded Dexter shackles suspension. New tires. Extra added graphics. Fantastic kitchen. L shaped front room. 55" smart tv. Need to know more 360-796-4491
- Mike & Ellen Matthews, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-10-24 2014 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 401AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
This coach is very comfortable. We've spent a lot of time travelling safely over 2000 at a trip. It has upgraded Dexter wetbolt suspension,new G rated tires. Extra factory cabinets, racks in the 12 ft.garage for canned goods. King bed with huge storag & closet in bedroom, everything works. A window put in the door. Oversized 2 recliner couch and one with a bed Thomas Payne. Extra graphics. So much to enjoy.
- Mike & Ellen Matthews, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-10-18 2014 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 401AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Our experience with this coach has been wonderful.Comfortable, roomy, easy to cook in. Big shower, great storage, huge closet, tows easily. Beautiful wood.Dexter suspension, electric sewer valves, push a button. Gen 5500 own fuel tank. We always wanted full body paint & we finally found one on the West Coast so we're selling our T Rex. 43 ft. 12' garage L shaped couch extra recliner. Sleeps 8.
- Ellen & Mike Matthews, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-04-27 2016 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 420AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our thunderbolt at end of 2015. All we have had is one issue after another. Last year we noticed that there was something going on with the frame. Took it to dealer. After one month it was sent back to manufacturer the frame in many places was not welded or the welding was poorly done and braking apart. Very scary that this would have broken apart while on highway. We and others could have been severely injured. It has taken 6 months for us to have our trailer back. We have a few other issues that need taken care of but the dealer has no time for us. Would never purchase another forest river product, very poor workmanship and no pride in their work
- JP, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-04-27 2016 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 420AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
We purchased our thunderbolt at end of 2015. All we have had is one issue after another. Last year we noticed that there was something going on with the frame. Took it to dealer. After one month it was sent back to manufacturer the frame in many places was not welded or the welding was poorly done and braking apart. Very scary that this would have broken apart while on highway. We and others could have been severely injured. It has taken 6 months for us to have our trailer back. We have a few other issues that need taken care of but the dealer has no time for us. Would never purchase another forest river product, very poor workmanship and no pride in their work
- JP, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-13 2014 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 380AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Very nice unit , like new, tows great, haves plenty of room for a family or friends. Has tons of sleeping space. This unit has a full hd orange paint job. Great for hauling harley davidson bike. The toy hauler will haul a 2 seater side by side and 3 dirt bikes at one time . Lots of space in hauler.
- KRYSTA, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-05-13 2014 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 380AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
VERY NICE UNIT , LIKE NEW, TOWS GREAT, HAVES PLENTY OF ROOM FOR A FAMILY OR FRIENDS.HAS TONS OF SLEEPING SPACE. THIS UNIT HAS A FULL HD ORANGE PAINT JOB. GREAT FOR HAULING HARLEY DAVIDSON BIKE. THE TOY HAULER WILL HAUL A 2 SEATER SIDE BY SIDE AND 3 DIRT BIKES AT ONE TIME . LOTS OF SPACE IN HAULER.
- KRYSTA, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-10-29 2015 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 395AMP View Listings

Overall Rating
Livability
Overall Quality
Floor Plan
Driving / Towing
Factory Warranty / Support
Love this toy hauler!!! It has tons of room in the 14' garage, is nice to have the extra room there for sleeping, dinning or to use as a screened in porch. Living quarters is the same, lots of room, nice big tv in a great location above the door for better viewing and just love the big bathroon and curved shower. Queen bed in the bedroom and lots of storage for clothing. Also nice having the fueling station outside the garage for extra fuel for the motorcycles and such. Can't go wrong with this XLR 395AMP.
- Sandra Hayes, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching RVs For Sale: