Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River XLR Nitro reviews

3.3
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
2.4
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.1

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Beth Gunter

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2016-08-06

RV reviewed2016 Forest River XLR Nitro 31FQSL

View listings

2.2
The positives. The floor plan works well whether it is for a family taking bikes & kayaks for a vacation or for those using it for motorcycles. the kitchen is is very functional, extremely nice countertops, cabinets, and entertainment center. The unit tows easily & easy to level manually, no automatic jacks here. The negatives (which are many.) The biggest is shoddy electrical wiring. On our first trip from NC to the Florida Keys, our two slides would not open, resulting in a grueling 16 hour drive back to the dealer which took exactly 2 months to repair. This happened again in 6 months later with another 6 weeks spent at the dealer getting all the"bugs out." It is a large unit with only 30 amp service.....not nearly enough....don't use the air conditioner & the microwave at the same time unless you enjoy tripping fuses. The unit has only 1 air conditioner that comes no where near cooling the camper on very hot days. First River is very slow to respond & reimburse emergent roadside repairs expenses that are plainly covered & clearly spelled out in the warranty. So despite the very nice features that this unit has, buyer beware on the serious electrical deficiencies of this toy hauler.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Burress

Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-12-15

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Nitro 405

View listings

1.8
Bought the unit new in August and already have a issue with the fiberglass side starting to bubble with air behind it. Found a large cut in the flooring and the tank valves are really hard to pull. Called the dealer and they say it needs to go back to factory so I call the support and they said no it needs fixed at a dealer that it has a water leak causing the issue. I say BS because its only been out from under the shelter once since we brought it home. If its has a leak then it leaked before we picked it up. The service stinks the rv is way over priced for what the quality is also. This is a XLR Hyper Lite 3212
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Justin Brown

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-12-09

RV reviewed2013 Forest River XLR Nitro

View listings

4.6
Bought it used this summer 42 1/2 foot toy hauler. Beautiful unit, other than a couple burned outside lights everything is still working great. Pull great with my F250. Some issues I have read is more not understanding or doing walkthrough of your RV. Camping World did a complete walk though with us and made sure everything worked before I picked it up. Love our camper
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eleanor

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-07-15

RV reviewed2019 Forest River XLR Nitro 36T15

View listings

2.4
We get a lot of compliments on the black and orange color and I like the floor plan but we have had nothing but problems since we bought it. The dealer has done a great job fixing everything but they shouldn't have to on a new RV. Just recently we took a trip and had 2 tires blow out in 2 days and we haven't even owned it a year yet. Trying to talk to someone at Forest River is a nightmare. No one told us we had 2 black and 2 grey tanks. We found out the release valves were still sealed in the under carriage. We're still waiting for parts ordered months ago like the switch for the recliner. The refrigerator door was damaged and so was the replacement. I can go on and on. Stay away from Forest River.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marty Bastien

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-05-14

RV reviewed2017 Forest River XLR Nitro 29DK5

View listings

3.0
Nice looking trailer pulls nice quality will their is none spend most of my free time fixing everything list is to long I will never buy another forest river again I guess you get what you pay for next time i will spend more and buy a quality trailer
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jean J.

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2020-03-20

RV reviewed2018 Forest River XLR Nitro 29DK5

View listings

5.0
Love camping with this toy hauler. Easy to bring 2 motorcycles, scooters, or a 4 wheeler with on short or long trips. Love the back deck with side rails - backing up to a lake or river. Nice bedroom with slide out. Plenty of storage areas.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (18)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cole

Arizona

Reviewed on 2019-10-26

RV reviewed2018 Forest River XLR Nitro 29KW

View listings

5.0
We have loved this toy hauler. Our favorite feature is the side patio so everyone can be a part of the action outside. It has an amazing floor plan with two cushy reclining chairs for relaxing and watching tv. There are speakers throughout the trailer as well as outside. There is a 42 inch tv in the living room and a smaller tv with built in DVD player in the master bedroom as well as hookup for a tv on the patio if desired. There is abundant cabinet space as well as drawers that have been professionally upgraded. We have loved this toy hauler and hope someone else gets to enjoy it as a family as much as we have!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Edward f DeSantis

New York

Reviewed on 2019-08-19

RV reviewed2018 Forest River XLR Nitro 36T15

View listings

2.8
I just wanted to add a little something I just read another review on a forest river nitro toy hauler 36t15. I also every time I take my toy hauler anywhere find 2 to 5 bolts nuts screws on the floor every single screw every single bolt fell out of my back bench seating area we also have 1 inch air gap‘s around the back door I’ve found bolts that fell off the cabinet trimwork is falling off almost every direction in the trailer bedroom door trim we had to use spare tire we let the spare tire down with the tools they give us it’s plastic octagon shape stripped out the very first time I used it I opened up the tube where you put your sewage hose the door snapped off the very first day I wish I opened every door every closet tried every single thing before I spent $87,000 on this trailer thank God for my dealer he has fixed almost every problem we had and they told me they never turned anything in for warranty of course nuts and bolts I replaced they use these drill tip self tapping screws that hollow out the hole and then the bolts just fall right out
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Edward F Desantis

New York

Reviewed on 2019-08-19

RV reviewed2018 Forest River XLR Nitro 36T15

View listings

2.8
OK well when we first picked up our camper the refrigerator did not work it was never even hooked up then we were having a problem with water come to find out the water tanks never were even strapped in they were falling out of the unit and the back garage there are two plugs up in the second bunk area the holes were literally 2 inches too tall to inches too wide the covers and plugs fell right in the holes now we just took it on a big trip and we started blowing tires we made it home after replacing three tires and the axle is bent in the rear 7000 pound axles on a 14,000 pound trailer as of today the factory contacted us and told us we must’ve hit something which is very untrue they said the toy holler area is rated for 3600 pounds well we only had 1540 in it before they told us we hit something they told us we had it overloaded now they want me to turn it into my insurance I’ve never turned anything into my insurance and this is $100,000 trailer not a 10,000 or 20 thousand I towed my $20,000 toy hauler coachman everywhere it had 30,000 miles on it I’ve never had a problem and I put two full dressers in my coachman not too small motorcycles so be where they are not building a true Toy hauler they want you to drive around with it empty enough space to put your dogs I was going to buy a brand new thunderbolt which is 16,000 pounds with triple axels but if they can’t build a small trailer they can’t build a big trailer they lost my business
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Susan Brown

Vermont

Reviewed on 2019-06-27

RV reviewed2017 Forest River XLR Nitro 28KW

View listings

4.0
Purchased my 2017 Nitro end of camping season, August. First time out is when I noticed the workmanship not of good quality. Gap above ramp door. Would not shut properly. Front door screen would not stay closed, drilled striker in wrong place. Wall panels have several bumps, not smooth. Screens did not fit the windows. The bedroom bump out leaked. All other items are cosmetic. The unit tows great, even with our bikes in it. Forest River needs to up their quality control when it comes to the inside look of the camper. They also should look into finding a better vendor for their electrical. Now that I have had my camper for two years bump out motor burnt out and all my lights in the bathroom.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review