Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Surveyor reviews

3.3
Write a review
Liveability
3.4
Overall quality
2.9
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.7
Factory warranty
2.6

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

47 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Charles wingfield

Virginia

Reviewed on 2016-01-06

RV reviewed2015 Forest River Surveyor 240RBS

View listings

1.8
Bought this trailer in May 2015. Love the large bathroom interior layout and the outdoor kitchen.. This is the best towing camper I have ever owned. Now with that being said we get to the quality or lack of it issure. I could write two pages on the problems i have had with this trailer. I did all the repairs myself. just to name a few problems: water leak bedroom window, slide and stove vent. Shower drain leaking, out side tv mount not screwed in the frame ,pulled right off, water pump hose leaking, outside kitchen door one side was inch and half lower than the other didn't look too good when it was open, had to push the awning out to get it started to unroll , lots of screws missing inside and out, misaligned trim everywhere inside, bathroom door hanging on the striker plate when opening and closing, screen door had a crack between the front edge and the jam big enough to let bugs and wherever in. This is not all the problems I have had but some of them. I should have caught some of these problems before leaving the lot however I have never had any problems with past campers I have had , guess I let my guard down . Bought this at dealer in Ashland Va I don't think they checked much of anything before I picked it up .
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
0.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (51)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Melissa

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-09-10

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Surveyor 191T

View listings

4.8
We have had this camper for four years. We traveled from Florida to Maine on a three week camping trip one year. Another year we went from Florida to Northern Minnesota and over to Toronto Canada. The camper did awesome. Our family and young boys enjoyed the experience and all the bonus features of the camper from the power awning, to the stereo with DVD and Bluetooth, to the outdoor shower for easy cleanup. The camper has been good for us and has held up well. We had to use the warranty once for a minor issue. We didn't have any problems with that. Forest River is a good product.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kyle

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2021-09-07

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Surveyor 191T

View listings

4.2
We have camped for four years with this camper. Our family has enjoyed it. We never had any problems with the expandable Surveyor 191T. Lots of storage. The upgrades are good. It has served us well.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debi

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-08-19

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Surveyor 247BHDS

View listings

5.0
Quality made by Forest River. Full of upgrades. Easy to haul. Love outdoor kitchen. Full bath with shower/tub. Outdoor TV access. Two double bunks and Queen master bedroom. Wouldn't hesitate to travel anywhere with this wonderfully sized vehicle.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kari LEHMAN

New York

Reviewed on 2021-08-19

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Surveyor 245BHS

View listings

5.0
We absolutely loved this camper for our family. The interior is modern and felt like a very chíc home away from home. The double bunks meant we had room to bring our kids and a babysitter, and our black lab dog had plenty of room to sleep. The large fridge and full stove were great for cooking. Best feature of this camper is how light it is. We were able to tow it without needing a heavy duty truck. I highly recommend this camper and would absolutely buy it again.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kristen Conrad

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-07-14

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Surveyor 285IKDS

View listings

5.0
I love this travel trailer and would recommend it to any couple or small family. Tons of storage, tons of features, extremely comfortable. The high ceilings and spacious rooms are a huge plus. The outdoor kitchen rivals no other travel trailer I viewed while shopping. No major issues since buying it in 2018.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Reggie Buckley

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-07-09

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Surveyor 250FKS

View listings

3.6
We purchased our Surveyor Legend 241RBLE in March this year and have camped in it 5 times since. I understand this floor plan has been discontinued however it suits us just fine for two people. Overall, at this point, the only problem found was a leak in the galley gear water tank. Long story short…someone at the factory ran a screw into the bottom of the tank and final QC did a poor job on the patch. Last trip, also had an issue with the USB port in bedroom but haven’t dug into it yet. Overall, at this point, this has been a good trailer. Tows well with my F150 with 5.0L max tow. A few niggles…. The valve and bayonet fitting for the galley grey water drain is difficult to access especially with the slide out, roof access ladder is light duty, need window in door (none current but plan to add), carpet in slide folds up against cabinet when in “in” position. Overall, we are happy with the purchase and experience over the first 3 months of ownership.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Curtis Brown

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-04-28

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Surveyor 33KRLOK

View listings

2.6
I would not recommend this trailer to anyone. After 10 month's I have my trailer scheduled for repair on the bedroom slideout. It has leaked since I purchased it. It does not leak with it in but I got caught in the rains a few times and have water to mop. I am concerned with mold although there are no visible signs. The bedroom window leaks also. It was replaced after 7 months but my first trip with it and it leaked worse than the original one. The converter never stops running. The DVD player quit after watching less than 10 movies.Several small item's have been repaired and some by me. Trim falling off is something I can repair but with all the other repairs needed I hope I get everything taken care of before my warranty is up in 10 weeks. Meghan in the warranty department has been kind and helpful but now no one answers my calls and there is no option for voice-mail. I am retired and cannot afford to purchase another or I would and it certainly would not be a Forest River product. Quality is hard to find now days but customer satisfaction should be #1.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Cox

Maine

Reviewed on 2021-02-09

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Surveyor 251RKS

View listings

3.0
We purchased this RV as a hold over in July of 2020. We had researched dozens of RVs and kept coming back to this model, we loved the floor plan and pretty much everything about it, it had everything we were looking for. We used the RV once. The first time I took a shower the bathroom flooded. We finished our trip and returned it to the dealer. Turns out the drain was not hooked up at the factory so all of the water ran out onto the floor and through the floor to the insulation underneath the camper. The trim on the shower door was also not put on at the factory. These 2 issues have been taken care of by the dealer. During our first use of the RV the carpet under the dinette ripped, the binding on the end of the carpet separated from the carpet and the carpet came apart. Another camping trip, another return trip to the dealer. The dealer has had our RV for over 3 months and has been going back and forth with the manufacturer about replacing the carpet. Forest River refuses to replace the carpet, they want it to be repaired. The dealer has told Forest River that the carpet can not be repaired, it has to be replaced but they refuse to replace the carpet. I contacted the manufacturer and spoke with a lady named Megan who politely told me to pound sand. Megan told me that they have repaired many carpets and not had any other issues. I told Megan that the dealer has not had any luck with repairing carpets and requested it be replaced, they refuse to have it replaced. I asked Megan why does Forest River continue to use sub par carpet in their RVs if they have had to have so many repaired?? Megan changed her mind and told me that they had only repaired 2. I asked for some type of guarantee that if the carpet was repaired that I would not have to bring it back, I was told they would not guarantee the repair. So basically I have used this camper twice and brought it back to the dealer for repairs 3 times. Did I mention the Surveyor logo on the side was put on crooked at the factory??
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David R

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-01-14

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Surveyor 265RLDS

View listings

4.4
Purcahsed in 2017 for model year 2018. have used the trailer extensively. We enjoy the island kitchen for food prep/cooking, rear living for the times you are stuck in the camper (we are mostly out door under the awning). The opposing slides offers some spacious living room area. You will not be bumping into each other. The pass thru bathroom offers privacy for both the master bedroom and any other members of the family that are bed down in the living area. Speaking of the living area bed, the couch is one of the most comfortable we've owned, both sitting in and sleeping in. That is a difficult combination to obtain. The island queen bed makes for easy ingress and egress along with the private door. No need to wake up the people in the living room that have a tendency to sleep in where the wife and I are early risers. To be fair, here are some downsides: The shower plumbing faucets are mounted upside down. I labeled them so to know H from C. We implemented some LED ribbon lighting in the pass through storage. The stock lighting was insufficient. The dining room push button light switch failed the first year. Replaced with an easier to access rocker switch. We added awning to the front slide, desiring to prevent any chance for water intrusion (forest river should have included but only provides on on the back slide). All and all a G R E A T camper!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 47 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review