Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Salem reviews

3.4
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
2.6
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
3.8
Factory warranty
2.4

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

84 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike

Michigan

Reviewed on 2016-07-26

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Salem 27RKSS

View listings

3.0
Well I'm not going to say I dislike it, I love the floor plan it has excellent space ergonomics are pretty good for the most part. However the standard of quality and craftsmanship ..... Well now that leaves something to be desired. I understand that this isn't a house but for what I paid for this unit I expected some quality. First of all let me start by telling you this is a brand new 2017 Salem 27RKSS we have used it 3 times. It does not tow well, this is not my towing ability I have been pulling trailers of all shapes and sizes for 30 years. By far this is the worst RV I have ever pulled. I have seen forums that other people are having the same issue and I have seen one other being pulled and he himself was having the same problem. Every time a car or truck would pass you it made the coach swerve all over the road. Mind you I don't tow mine over 60 miles per hour. The other issues I have are quality issues, my seam tape falling off the bathroom wall not to mention they never ever ran it all the way to the ceiling. My draperies falling off the wall from towing it down the highway, and they are hung crooked. I have sawdust and dirt smeared down in the caulking in my shower, the hook for the bedroom door has been knocked off twice because of poor location of mounting. I would move it except I want my warranty to cover it and don't misunderstand I'm not saying they won't or have denied any claims but as I said we have only used it 3 times. There was staples I had to pound in on the booth so it wouldn't rip the fabric on the cushions , our chairs had scratches in them the table top had a big scratch and the one they replaced it with is warped, the blinds won't stay up not to mention when you try to push them up they don't fold right so they're all wrinkled and creased now. I'm sure I have missed a few things but you get the picture. Would I recommend this camper to anyone? Not even a stranger.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (89)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ashley

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-12-28

RV reviewed2022 Forest River Salem 29VBUD

View listings

3.0
We purchased a 2022 Salem 29vbud 3 days before Thanksgiving of 2021. We have owned the Trailer for 1 month prior to taking it on a 10 day shake down. We are currently on day 4 of our trip and we have come across a number of issues with the trailer, most of which are all a result of poor manufacturing. Our slide does not go in or out properly, one of our outdoor speakers was not hooked up correctly which caused it to blow, out fireplace does not work (this was caught prior to delivery by our dealer), our shower leaks at the seam, and our final straw was this morning we discovered our bed (in the bedroom) has broken. The armature that allows the bed to lift and gain access to the pass-through was secured directly to a knot in the 2x2 they attach the bed to. Of course this allowed a fault in the structure of the bed, and after the 5th use, it broke. We picked a forest river because of the superior quality the brand offered... but we believe that quality has fractured due to the high demand of trailers in 2021. We thought that forest river as a brand would put the quick money grab aside and focus on keeping their popularity as a quality brand intact, clearly we were mistaken.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

marshall durham

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-09-26

RV reviewed2010 Forest River Salem

View listings

4.2
I bought the T.T 2 spend 6 months in mountains in AZ. I decided I wasn't going bk 2 Phx, I sold my place there found a nice place here. I love being mountains. My T.T was very comfortable. Have outside speakers was nice seating outside listening 2 music. Have a nice TV 2 watch also. Microwave, stove, fridge all work great. Have nice flooring, lots of storage cabinets, shower is nice. Full awning, new tires, new wheel covers, water lines, new sewer lines, elec cord with power surger. Very great stabilizers, star bar, hitch. Must see its in great condition. Have a thick matters 4 better sleeping
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Laura

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-09-20

RV reviewed2021 Forest river Salem 28VBXL

View listings

2.6
I would not buy a forest river unless you buy it new from them and good luck getting one without waiting 6 months. Our camper was built in March 2021 (this year) and the lady we bought it from only used it once and everything still had tags on it. The hot water tank was not even turned on. Come to find out the one year manufacturer warranty does not transfer to the second owner, regardless that it is only six months old. We have had all sorts of trouble with the slide out and they are not doing anything to help or are replacing anything. The guy we took it to said we were going to have all sorts of problems with it thinking it would all be under warranty we were just going to get it fixed come to find out it is not under warranty and they are not doing anything to help fix problem that was made by the manufacture not the customer. I will not be buying another forest river due to how they handle their one-year warranty I can understand if we did something to the slide out to make it not go in and out but you can clearly look at the brackets on the side and see they are not installed properly. Knowing this now I will be looking at the slide out brackets before buying any camper. The brackets are bent and bowed in areas where they catch and do not let the slide out go in and out. Also our slide out is the U-shaped dinette and the couch in the motors they put in the slide out are very small and will need to be replaced with bigger motors over time is what our technician said who worked on the slide out. I did not think asking for a warranty on a camper that is only six months old, even though I’m the second owner, was too much to ask. The Forest River guy just kept saying it is our policy well I think they should revamp their policy if they believe in their product to one year warranty no matter who owns it. I am not satisfied with this product and how the company handles their warranty, and will not be buying from them again. I don’t usually leave reviews but I don’t want this to happen to anyone else because we are spending a lot of money out of pocket to get a camper that is not even 6 months old fixed.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Natasha Delucie

Nevada

Reviewed on 2021-09-16

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Salem 26DBLE

View listings

4.8
Very open spacious Floorplan. Appliances are quality and refrigerator is bigger than most of the small ones you find in rvs. Marble counters and upgraded floors and furniture fabric give the whole look of more luxury.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Davis

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-09-14

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Salem 27RKSS

View listings

5.0
This has been the best camper. We have a Nissan Titan that pulls this beautifully. This is a perfect camper for a couple, maybe with pets or friends as the pull out couch and kitchen table both make comfortable beds. The Rear kitchen was a MSUT for us and you will love it being apart from the master bedroom. The bathroom and shower are plenty big and there is a ton of storage. We had it for 3 years and would have kept it but have had some life changes that have us going a direction away from camping for right now. We will also be leaving the 2 - 40 inch flatscreens mounted in living area and bedroom and you will love the outside fridge and rear propane grill that is connected to the main line. Water heater is electric but can switch to propane. Setup is a cinch with power levelers that raise and lower with a button, no worrying about getting your power drill out to raise and lower those. Hoestly you won't go wrong with this camper!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott mertzeis

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-09-06

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Salem 30KQBSS

View listings

3.4
Bought this rv early this year and have used it extensively so far. We have owned many campers before this, so this review comes with experience. First off it tows horribly, (i’m a truck driver) the balance of the rv is off. It has way to much sway and any air flow disturbance makes it sway (passing cars, trucks, wind, etc…) Our floor is week the entire length of the camper down the center over the heating duct work. Our black tank sprayer does not work, Nails sticking up through the carpet, bad joints in the rain gutters, paint has already worn off of the knobs on the stove just from use, no room to clean between bathroom sink and shower, loose screws in the windows, kitchen blind had to be fixed, cheap wood framing in the couch had to be reenforced. This is our 3rd Forest River that we’ve owned, but the quality and workmanship has greatly declined. Although we like the design and functionality of the camper, it will be our last Forest river.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Malloy

Idaho

Reviewed on 2021-08-23

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Salem T27RKSS

View listings

2.4
Have had Forest River Salems in past. This one is just poorly made. Almost like there isn't any "quality control" or thought as to how some items may not stay fastened to the 1/8" panel walls with just a screw.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

K W

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-08-06

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Salem 31KQBTS

View listings

1.8
I bought this 2021 Forest River Salem in May of this year. This is the third time we have used it and while driving on the highway the front half of the underbelly ripped out along the highway. I contacted my dealership who related that due to being several states away I had to contact Salem directly to fix this. I've contacted the warranty department now 5 times, spoke to the warranty guy twice. He could care less about the problem. He related that maybe he could ship the piece of the underbelly to a mobile tech to fix. I found a mobile tech who contact the warranty guy, as instructed from him. The warranty department never returned his call I then called the warranty guy two more times and he has refused to return my calls or update me with anything. The issue I'm now having is driving it with air blowing up under the travel trailer causing possibly more damage to either the floors or walls. I wish someone from the company would contact me back.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Grosskopf

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-07-19

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Salem 22RBS

View listings

2.4
We were, I stress, were, happy initially. Then we got it home and noticed all the poor quality in it. A stereo speaker went right away. A lot of wall paper started to peel, A light failed. The screen door was wonky in the frame. And there was caulk smeared all over the slide walls. I made an appt with the dealer who checked it out and made made arrangements to have everything fixed. Thats two trips of 85 miles each way. I returned, they fixed the problems, I went home. I called forest river to complain. I was told , well, thats what a warrenty is for. Really? I traded a twenty year old 5th wheel for a new rig that didn't have these problems. The 12v fridge is a power thief. Don't get one. The tech who fixed the caulk issue left a screw on the floor and when he closed the slide, it ripped the flooring. Now a shelf is falling off the wall and I can't get T.V. stations! Piece of junk. Don't buy one ever.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review