Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Sabre reviews

3.3
Write a review
Liveability
3.8
Overall quality
2.3
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.2
Factory warranty
2.1

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

38 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Hollie

Missouri

Reviewed on 2018-03-09

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sabre 36BHQ

View listings

3.0
We purchased this camper about a month ago for my husband who travels for work. He is 700 miles from home, so we purchased brand new, to make sure he had a nice home away from home, with minimal issues. Since day one we have had nothing but issues. When he went to pick the camper up the bar that holds the bedroom closet door had come out of the wall. The way they slide freely, doesn't stand up to the movement of the camper. The doors look great, but this is definitely a design flaw. Other than that, which was fixed before taking it off the lot, we didn't see any immediate problems, until reaching the campsite the next day where we found these issues: -The plumbing underneath wasn't properly hooked up. Had my husband not noticed this when he went to hook up the hoses, it would not have been pretty. -The auto leveling system is terrible. We tried several times, it said the camper was level, however, it was clearly not. Even in manual mode (which requires the use of two jacks at a time) we could not make the camper level. After calling the dealership, they informed us they have so many issues with the auto-level, they actually have an on site person who only works on these systems. -The thermostat on the wall in the kitchen was not mounted properly, so the slide out for the kitchen table rubbed against the front of it. This caused the touch screen feature not to work, and we had to remove the cover in order to get the furnace turned on. -The mattress they put on the built in bed frame was about four inches to big, both length and width wise. Thankfully we had another on hand to replace it with. -The mid bunk slide out didn't slide all the way out, which meant it didn't seal correctly. We assumed this simply needed adjusted, but when we got it back in the shop, they said the whole wall was coming apart, causing it not to seal. We are awaiting word from the manufacturer on how this is going to be fixed... -When we took the first shower, it flooded the bathroom floor. They didn't seal the door up correctly so it was leaking. We purchase a tube of silicone and tried to seal it from the outside, but it didn't work. We couldn't get to the spot that needed sealed without taking it apart. -Nothing in the camper is straight. Things like the curtains and backsplash above the stove are noticeably crooked. (I did not get out a level and pick things apart) -Refrigerator works, but there is a beep to it we cannot figure out. Everything 30 seconds it beeps. Fortunately we eventually tuned it out, but it's obnoxious enough that people were on the phone with notice it. -The LED strips along the ceiling give a nice ambiance, however, it looks like they weren't stuck down good. When you stand in the bedroom and look down, you can see where parts of the LED strip are sticking up a couple inches. -The cupholder light in the couch stopped working the second day. Obviously not a deal breaker, but makes me worry the heat and such are next. -The screws used to install strips on the edge of the stairs going from the bedroom to kitchen area were way too big and stuck up too high. The first time I went through barefoot, I cut my toe open pretty good. This was an easy fix, as we made a trip to the hardware store and swapped them out, but it was still an inconvenience (and quite painful). I recognize many of these things are minor. I would not have given a bad review if it had simply been bad screws and a couple crooked fixtures. But the lack of attention to detail that went into putting this camper together is appalling. I realize it isn't a top of the line camper, but when you spend the money for something brand new, you expect things to work. It has been in the shop for the past week, and anticipate it will be there for a while, as they are waiting on the manufacturer to get back with them on approval and advice for warranty repairs. Bottom line, I would never recommend anyone waste their money on a Sabre.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (93)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marti

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-11-19

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Sabre Cobalt

View listings

3.4
I bought my 5th wheel in Hesperia Calif. in March 2021, since then nothing but problems, I have a continuous leak under the bathroom sink. I have had to replace the propane sensor, which I had to do myself because the Mobil places here won’t do warranty work for Forrest River because they say that they don’t pay them in a timely manner! My sensor lasted 6 months. The date was 2025! It cost me almost $100.00 just for the part! Now I have to figure out what the heck is going on under the bathroom sink again! The layout is very comfortable but the workmanship is very poor!!! Like others have said for $50k I would have expected better!!! Way better customer support that’s for darn sure!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donn Vorbeck

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-05-18

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Sabre 38RDP

View listings

2.8
Where do I begin, this is our 3rd Fifth wheel 2 of which we have purchased new. This is by far the most poorly made that we have owned. The roof had to be replaced after our first trip, I noticed that it was starting to come loose and buckle along the edge, the adjustable bed quit working, trim pieces where falling off. After talking with the dealer Forest River wanted us to bring the unit back to the factory for repairs (which would have been a 1200 mile round trip) I suggested they either let the dealer fix the problems or give us a new camper. well needless to say they agreed to let the dealer repair it. after 3 months we got it back and now the antenna does not work so no tv. Now the tires keep going flat after sitting for more than a week and last weekend after towing it 20 miles the bathroom vent cover blew off even though it was closed. Very cheap quality camper
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Bassett

California

Reviewed on 2021-05-17

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sabre 30RLT

View listings

5.0
Best Buy Price ever seen on line others are 40,000 plus Good Buy and extended Warranty too! Most people who need a Loan can get up too 15 to 20 year Loan on this unit and can purchase a Longer warranty if needed.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rod

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-03-20

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sabre 30RLT

View listings

2.8
We have regretted buying this RV from the day we purchased it. First time out the trailer filled up with dust dust and more dust. Slide seal was missing from factory build. Had to show dealership where seal was missing as they couldn’t figure it out. We’ve had cabinets fall apart drawers slides loose from poor workmanship. Very crude building of this unit as there were all the wall cutouts and sawdust for wiring left laying behind. Holes were cut with an axe or chisel instead of a hole saw. Disgusting. Most appliances have failed and needed replaced. Microwave was thrown in a hole with four screws and not supported underneath. I wonder why it fell apart. After all this we only have a one year warranty for a $70,000 RV. All I can say is Buyer beware.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed Heckler

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-03-09

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Sabre 36FRP

View listings

1.4
After using our travel trailer 6 times the wiring melted from the junction box all the way past the axle. Took it to a camper repair shop to see if insurance would cover repairs. They wouldn’t because we were told it was a manufacturing defect. Called Forest River, they won’t pay for repair because they said It would have happened earlier if it was their fault. Do not buy anything from them. Horrible customer service. Buyer beware
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (23)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bhenry1000a

California

Reviewed on 2021-02-07

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Sabre 36FRP

View listings

3.2
This is my 1st new RV and never again. 1st off, I have spent 3 months trying to get it registered from my purchase location in Arizone to Calfornia. Sill2 not done yet! 2. RV country in Yume Arizina is the worst, incompetent place I've ever dealt with in my 55 years alive. I even gave the salesman a 500 tip and that is documented.This trailer has so many problems that I'm actually looking into a legal action The dealer is no help and The factory in Rialto says the can't help. Jesus H Christ the micro only opens to a 30% before hitting the cabinet door. The rear screen is too short actually close. 3 cabinet drawers are jacked. Ceiling fan makes noises. Waste water sensor always reads 3/4.gas tank door totally jack. Rear driver side quarter panel buckling out. Both batters shot 1st week. Exactly they were agm, negative. Fuel ststion door jacked and bent. For 50 grand I expect better!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bob

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-10-29

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sabre 36BHQ

View listings

1.6
If you are considering buying one of these units I would suggest that if you are bound and determined buy it used after all the issues have been resolved.One of my ac units quit {not even sure it ever worked] Automatic jacks quit Can't hook up to city water as it fills up water holding tank and overflows. Now the refrigerator has died and the manufacturer is an absolute joke.Don't depend on Forest River for support as they are Mia .Funny part of the refrigerator is you can't remove it without taking out the back window as it's too wide for the door. Good Luck
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (18)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cindy Raulerson

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-10-09

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Sabre 36FRP

View listings

2.2
The floor plan is great! But I purchase new And out of the 14 months I only had it in my possession about 5months This unit has had massive water leaks Windows, roof, slide out and carpet replaced, constantly on phone trying to get it fixed Yes Forest River approved warranty repairs including total new roof on a NEW unit....I didn’t buy it for it to stay at the dealership for Constant repairs Only to be told no warranty on the new roof replacement, after Forest River Rep they would, They approved dealership to place roof because it was to far for they to take back to manufactory”what” and then Rep said never stated extended warranty because Forest River didn’t do it!!!! That was their Decision I would never recommend anyone to buy Forest River brand!!! Lemon for sure
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (20)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy W

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-09-26

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Sabre 30RLT

View listings

3.6
We bought this unit as the layout is awesome and the price was reasonable. But after 2 years, I guess you get what you pay for. Cabinets, counters, appliances, flooring are good quality. But, the areas they shouldn't make cheap, are, like exterior openings where water can get in if you don't caulk it right, or vent covers, exterior molding, exterior seals. Basically you need to be a pro at caulking in order to not have water intrusion issues. If the factory focused on the "bones", the rest would be fine. But I'm sure all 5th wheels have this issue, the industry as a whole should step it up!!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 38 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review