Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Sabre reviews

3.3
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
2.3
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.1

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

41 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Hollie

Missouri

Reviewed on 2018-03-09

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sabre 36BHQ

View listings

3.0
We purchased this camper about a month ago for my husband who travels for work. He is 700 miles from home, so we purchased brand new, to make sure he had a nice home away from home, with minimal issues. Since day one we have had nothing but issues. When he went to pick the camper up the bar that holds the bedroom closet door had come out of the wall. The way they slide freely, doesn't stand up to the movement of the camper. The doors look great, but this is definitely a design flaw. Other than that, which was fixed before taking it off the lot, we didn't see any immediate problems, until reaching the campsite the next day where we found these issues: -The plumbing underneath wasn't properly hooked up. Had my husband not noticed this when he went to hook up the hoses, it would not have been pretty. -The auto leveling system is terrible. We tried several times, it said the camper was level, however, it was clearly not. Even in manual mode (which requires the use of two jacks at a time) we could not make the camper level. After calling the dealership, they informed us they have so many issues with the auto-level, they actually have an on site person who only works on these systems. -The thermostat on the wall in the kitchen was not mounted properly, so the slide out for the kitchen table rubbed against the front of it. This caused the touch screen feature not to work, and we had to remove the cover in order to get the furnace turned on. -The mattress they put on the built in bed frame was about four inches to big, both length and width wise. Thankfully we had another on hand to replace it with. -The mid bunk slide out didn't slide all the way out, which meant it didn't seal correctly. We assumed this simply needed adjusted, but when we got it back in the shop, they said the whole wall was coming apart, causing it not to seal. We are awaiting word from the manufacturer on how this is going to be fixed... -When we took the first shower, it flooded the bathroom floor. They didn't seal the door up correctly so it was leaking. We purchase a tube of silicone and tried to seal it from the outside, but it didn't work. We couldn't get to the spot that needed sealed without taking it apart. -Nothing in the camper is straight. Things like the curtains and backsplash above the stove are noticeably crooked. (I did not get out a level and pick things apart) -Refrigerator works, but there is a beep to it we cannot figure out. Everything 30 seconds it beeps. Fortunately we eventually tuned it out, but it's obnoxious enough that people were on the phone with notice it. -The LED strips along the ceiling give a nice ambiance, however, it looks like they weren't stuck down good. When you stand in the bedroom and look down, you can see where parts of the LED strip are sticking up a couple inches. -The cupholder light in the couch stopped working the second day. Obviously not a deal breaker, but makes me worry the heat and such are next. -The screws used to install strips on the edge of the stairs going from the bedroom to kitchen area were way too big and stuck up too high. The first time I went through barefoot, I cut my toe open pretty good. This was an easy fix, as we made a trip to the hardware store and swapped them out, but it was still an inconvenience (and quite painful). I recognize many of these things are minor. I would not have given a bad review if it had simply been bad screws and a couple crooked fixtures. But the lack of attention to detail that went into putting this camper together is appalling. I realize it isn't a top of the line camper, but when you spend the money for something brand new, you expect things to work. It has been in the shop for the past week, and anticipate it will be there for a while, as they are waiting on the manufacturer to get back with them on approval and advice for warranty repairs. Bottom line, I would never recommend anyone waste their money on a Sabre.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (103)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Bench

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-06-16

RV reviewed2022 Forest River Sabre 36BHQ

View listings

1.4
We purchased the RV in October 2022 and have used it five times at about a week each time. We have had to take it back to the dealer within (3) three days of buying it (November 2021) due to a water leak on one of the slides, They fixed it with some tape. (stated that was what the factor told them to do). The second time back (Mach 2022) to the RV dealer was for a broken faucet , which they replaced. Now the 3rd time back to the dealer( June 2022) is for: 1. Cracked slide out controller 2. Cracked TV 3. Electrical outlet and USB port not working 4. Lights dim when AC units turn on 5. Broken drawer pull out AS of today 16 June 2022 the Warranty company stated they would NOT fix the control panel or TV due to it must have been done by customer damage and is not covered by warranty. I explained to them (the warranty company} that the glass control panel has a design flaw. The glass panel has no support behind the glass panel which allows the glass panel able to be pushed in to far and it cracks the glass panel and the TV was due to the vibration of towing the unit. The overall RV unit is cheaply built and I'm very frustrated owning it. At a cost of $61,000 I should expect it to last at least a four years, but I guess my expectations are to high. Also, my dearlership wants me to purchase an extended warranty at a cost of $ 4,300 for 4 years to offset repair cost. My question is: Why buy a warranty if they are not going to fix major issues under warranty.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brandin

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-03-11

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Sabre 36BHQ

View listings

2.4
So far not impressed at all! For a 2022 saber 36bhq For a 98000 dollar unit it looks like it cost 10000 to build. Bathroom tub is flimsy and leaks at the glass door seams. In one day two blinds fell apart. Polar package sucks. Was 22 degrees out and my kitchen froze. Trimming on the roof after the move from dealership to home 30miles was falling down I had to wood glue it back up. The more I look at everything the more I see how much forest-river cut corners and didn’t care about their workmanship. Sad that my 2014 was way better quality. Pretty sad. I’ll say it’s my worst purchase.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Will Smith

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2022-02-26

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Sabre 36FRP

View listings

4.6
Let me start with all the negatives first and work to the positives. First DO NOT BUY FROM LEE'S RV in Ellington Ct. They lie, the owner lies and he is a coward he does not stand behind his promise! The camper went back five times for the same repairs with the same results water in the underbelly and the slide would not close all the way and a few more problems. Enough of them, the camper went back to the factory for repairs. The 2019 model year they cut too many corners and pushed them out at record pace with terrible reviews that followed. The stairs we had to adjust because the screen door would not close. I had to tighten down the fan and put new screws in the fan. Bathroom trim work was falling apart . The hoses for the outdoor sink broke the trim because it was getting stuck. Bad design on getting to the hot water by-pass to winterize and no markings for the cable or water tank. Could use a light in the area. The heat would never make it to the bunkhouse area. Been through three fireplaces so far. Yes we had loose plumbing but with all the rough roads that got travelled to get to the New England area I'm not surprised. We are buying new windows for the bedroom for better air circulation And a few more things. The Positive My friends nicknamed it the Taj (Taj Mahal) it is very spacious and comfortable. The double slide-out in the bunkhouse gives the kids plenty of room on a rainy day. We took out the table and put in a bench design. Open kitchen area, big fridge medium size stove good size sink and plenty of storage all over. Very spacious bathroom for a RV. Master bedroom is nice we took out the king mattress and put in a queen for more side space getting around the bed. The closet is ok needs more lights. washer and dryer hook-up. The TV's are ok. We are outside 85% of the time so it really doesn't matter to us. Outside is ok the down fall with the kitchen slide-out the awning is set up really high buying a screen drop to help with the shading. Plenty of space in the underbelly with good lighting . The outdoor kitchen is fine, small sink and fridge but it does the job plenty of cabinet space for all the outdoor needs. It is a very nice camper and it fits our needs. You have to remember its a house on wheels and things will loosen up. A little maintenance and patience is key. I never had a problem with the Sabre customer service they always returned my phone calls and were very helpful.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marti

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-11-19

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Sabre Cobalt

View listings

3.4
I bought my 5th wheel in Hesperia Calif. in March 2021, since then nothing but problems, I have a continuous leak under the bathroom sink. I have had to replace the propane sensor, which I had to do myself because the Mobil places here won’t do warranty work for Forrest River because they say that they don’t pay them in a timely manner! My sensor lasted 6 months. The date was 2025! It cost me almost $100.00 just for the part! Now I have to figure out what the heck is going on under the bathroom sink again! The layout is very comfortable but the workmanship is very poor!!! Like others have said for $50k I would have expected better!!! Way better customer support that’s for darn sure!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donn Vorbeck

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-05-18

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Sabre 38RDP

View listings

2.8
Where do I begin, this is our 3rd Fifth wheel 2 of which we have purchased new. This is by far the most poorly made that we have owned. The roof had to be replaced after our first trip, I noticed that it was starting to come loose and buckle along the edge, the adjustable bed quit working, trim pieces where falling off. After talking with the dealer Forest River wanted us to bring the unit back to the factory for repairs (which would have been a 1200 mile round trip) I suggested they either let the dealer fix the problems or give us a new camper. well needless to say they agreed to let the dealer repair it. after 3 months we got it back and now the antenna does not work so no tv. Now the tires keep going flat after sitting for more than a week and last weekend after towing it 20 miles the bathroom vent cover blew off even though it was closed. Very cheap quality camper
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Bassett

California

Reviewed on 2021-05-17

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sabre 30RLT

View listings

5.0
Best Buy Price ever seen on line others are 40,000 plus Good Buy and extended Warranty too! Most people who need a Loan can get up too 15 to 20 year Loan on this unit and can purchase a Longer warranty if needed.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rod

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-03-20

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sabre 30RLT

View listings

2.8
We have regretted buying this RV from the day we purchased it. First time out the trailer filled up with dust dust and more dust. Slide seal was missing from factory build. Had to show dealership where seal was missing as they couldn’t figure it out. We’ve had cabinets fall apart drawers slides loose from poor workmanship. Very crude building of this unit as there were all the wall cutouts and sawdust for wiring left laying behind. Holes were cut with an axe or chisel instead of a hole saw. Disgusting. Most appliances have failed and needed replaced. Microwave was thrown in a hole with four screws and not supported underneath. I wonder why it fell apart. After all this we only have a one year warranty for a $70,000 RV. All I can say is Buyer beware.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed Heckler

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-03-09

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Sabre 36FRP

View listings

1.4
After using our travel trailer 6 times the wiring melted from the junction box all the way past the axle. Took it to a camper repair shop to see if insurance would cover repairs. They wouldn’t because we were told it was a manufacturing defect. Called Forest River, they won’t pay for repair because they said It would have happened earlier if it was their fault. Do not buy anything from them. Horrible customer service. Buyer beware
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (25)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bhenry1000a

California

Reviewed on 2021-02-07

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Sabre 36FRP

View listings

3.2
This is my 1st new RV and never again. 1st off, I have spent 3 months trying to get it registered from my purchase location in Arizone to Calfornia. Sill2 not done yet! 2. RV country in Yume Arizina is the worst, incompetent place I've ever dealt with in my 55 years alive. I even gave the salesman a 500 tip and that is documented.This trailer has so many problems that I'm actually looking into a legal action The dealer is no help and The factory in Rialto says the can't help. Jesus H Christ the micro only opens to a 30% before hitting the cabinet door. The rear screen is too short actually close. 3 cabinet drawers are jacked. Ceiling fan makes noises. Waste water sensor always reads 3/4.gas tank door totally jack. Rear driver side quarter panel buckling out. Both batters shot 1st week. Exactly they were agm, negative. Fuel ststion door jacked and bent. For 50 grand I expect better!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (18)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 41 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province