Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Rockwood Windjammer reviews

4.4
Write a review
Liveability
4.8
Overall quality
4.4
Floorplan
4.9
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
3.6

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ryan

Nevada

Reviewed on 2017-02-13

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3008W

View listings

3.4
BUYER BEWARE! In July 2016 I purchased a new 2017 Rockwood Windjammer 3008W. I bought this model because the floor plan is amazing. However the good ends there. Four days after purchase I took it out on a two week road trip. I'll preface this by saying all travel was on smooth paved roads. On day two the fridge and freezer quit working. Everything spoiled. When I got to my first destination the bedroom door had fallen off the slide hinges. One of the closet door lock clasps had also broken. One of the wall window dressings had also fallen off. And on day ten the motorized front landing tongue failed to fully extend. Also noted that even when all four stabilizer legs are down trailer still rocks when walking around. The dining table extend leaf also failed to fully extend, so was unusable. The underbelly around the drain pipes was also improperly cut. The cheap tape job had already come apart. Upon return I took back to dealership for warranty repairs. Five weeks later I finally got it back. I was told they were waiting on the manufacturer ok to do repairs. Completely unacceptable timeline for warranty repairs. It's now late summer and I've only had my trailer out once. I took it out again and when I got to my destination the bedroom door had again fallen off. The toilet flush valve had also cracked, and a ripple had formed in the linoleum through the whole trailer. I knew the repairs would not get done in a timely manner, so I waited to take it back in for warranty repairs until after I had finished my preplanned trips. I took it to the dealer for repairs in early November 2016. It is now February 2017 and I still don't have my trailer back. Again the dealer says they can't do repairs until they get authorization from the manufacturer. This is by far the worst customer service by a manufacturer I've ever experienced. They just do not care.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (44)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Claudia Wuelfiing

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-07-17

RV reviewed2011 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3008W

View listings

4.8
We love our camper but due to health issues it is time to give up our second home. It has so much storage, A kitchen with a great amount of counter space and asses-ability. The layout is great for guest as it allows for privacy. We really enjoy our outdoor shower too. Our grandchildren are very sad we are selling it. We hope to find buyers to enjoy it as much as we have. We have had no factory warranty problems. Just normal upkeep and spring cleaning
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-06-25

RV reviewed2012 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3008W

View listings

4.8
The “wedge” from helps with towing stability and reduced wind resistance. The inside of the wedge helps make a VERY roomy kitchen with much more counter space than most other RV’s including motor homes. Set up includes a bar with two stools. The living area is very comfortable and conducive to conversations even with folks in the kitchen
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Wasielewski

Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-06-10

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer

View listings

4.6
Excellent liveable RV with a great floor plan. Had an issue with the roof that I thought should have been covered with a factory warranty, but my insurance company covered the repair. It is disappointing to learn they stopped making this unit.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

terry

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-10-16

RV reviewed2014 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3008V

View listings

5.0
We lived in this RV off and on for two years and I loved the layout. The V-Front design with the kitchen is the best! THe kitchen up front gave us more room in the living area and the kitchen was great size with lots of storage. I love the two front windows looking out the kitchen, let in lots of natural light and ability to enjoy surroundings. The bedroom and bath at the other end was roomy and very comfortable. The outside awning is huge, covers both entry doors and allowed for a large entertainment area outside in the shade. We were in Florida with it and it withstood the winds and rain very well. Overall, love this model and brand..no problems!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Michaud

Virginia

Reviewed on 2020-09-29

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3006V

View listings

5.0
Awesome quality! Easy to pull, quality appliances and easy to use, fast setup and built more sturdy than most RVs we have owned or looked at. Forrest River rates top on our list. Warranty inside and out are a great relief.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roslyn Gleason

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-09-16

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3029W

View listings

5.0
It was great I really loved the openness of the floor plan. The bedroom was my favorite feature giving plenty room to store whatever we needed from clothes to cleaning supplies. Overall it was a wonderful addition.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Diane Orr

California

Reviewed on 2020-06-12

RV reviewed2015 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3001W

View listings

4.8
We lived in this trailer for a year and a half while building our house and found it to be very comfortable and durable. The cabinets were beautiful and there were plenty of them. The pantry was large and could accommodate tons of food and pots and pans. We did reinforce the shelves in the pantry in order to hold the weight of a large amount of can goods etc. The king sized bed was super comfortable. There were two large closets in the bedroom plus two large drawers under the bed as well as further storage under the bed that had access from the outside as well. We kept our laundry basket and other large supplies under there. The bathroom also had two linen closets with enough room to hold towels, sheets, first aid and personal products. We had one issue with the carbon monoxide tester that was too sensitive and went off for no reason. Also the bathroom was a walk thru so sometimes that was inconvenient. Overall we were extremely happy with our purchase. When we had issues with the tv and a stool the dealer took great care of us. We lived far from the dealer so they mailed things to us.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tracy

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-05-10

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3008V

View listings

3.8
We bought our 2019 WindJammer before it was even 2019. It has pros and cons in every aspect. The good parts is that it has endured as we live & work out of it. It does have areas throughout that were not completely sealed when it was manufactured. So when you open an end cabinet, you can see a seam of daylight, or in the closet edge, or floor by the bed. Overall though,, it is nicely built, as far as woodwork & attractiveness. It didn't come w/a bedroom TV, but did come w/an outside grill attachment & fridge in the outside panel. We've had to work on the sink a few times, cause seals didn't stay well, at all. The landing gear was taken off due to, in Colorado we had some rough weather & it actually bent them, so they no longer worked. Like extremely intense winds, we did not stay in camper. When purchased, the front slide out floor was bowed. Should have had them fix it, as it has gotten worse. Will have to be replaced. Can't use the warranty as we need the camper to live & work out of, and they keep it in shop a while, so husband will have to replace that himself. It pulls ok, with some sway if speed gets up to much, but it's mainly because we have a F150 and we should have purchased a F250, but it does pull it fine, but at a slower speed. Stove, microwave, sound system all work great. Lacks some cabinet storage, but does have under the bed & behind the flat screen TV storage, which is very nice. And most is very sturdy built, that I can say w/confidence. The rv furniture doesn't last long for heavier folks, just saying. It is really nice looking & cool, but we did have to replace it with some good, quality Ashley furniture. "Watch the fit" though. Back sofa has to be taken apart when we travel, pulling the slide-outs in. But fits real nice, otherwise. And the front door is wide enough to bring it in, if the backs are removable. We pulled the table & chairs out and replaced with a small sized floor freezer & small desk & chair. Works great for us. One if the best things is about this rv, it uses extremely low amounts of propane. If using electric, it has an electric hot water heater & frig, so you can go on either one; so unless you cook an extreme amount, we don't change out the propane for months & months. Wonderful on that! Really decent & nice living space. Comfortable. Beside the bed, in bedroom is a tad snug, but overall, real nice. If I were to do it over again, we'd probably get a fifth wheel (again) instead of a bumper pull. (This is our fourth camper in all.) The closet is nice, but not crazy about the "V" shaped shelf space. It's hard to place things manageablely in there. If you have 'OCD', you'll understand where I'm coming from on that. Windows, in my opinion, are awesome! They did a great job on the structure and the blind-deals on the inside. They open and close easily & pretty-much are private, yet can be opened for a beautiful view. Tented on the outside. Frig works great, propane & electric options. Decent amount of outlets throughout the camper, which is real nice, and proves someone was thinking when it got built. Fireplace is wonderful with great heat. Scenic fireplace. We seldom use the furnace at all, but it'san option, of course. And we've been all over. Colorado, New Mexico, Louisiana, Texas, etc. Pulls nice and a pleasure & joy to own, with those few exceptions mentioned. Bathroom is real nice. Shower is great, as well as toilet & sink. Toilet needs a good cleaning every so often, with running your hosev"inside" the house & through, so it can clean out any build up. Keep it smelling decent. We also use rv orange packs, "open & dump". Don't throw the sacks in there. They do not dissolve great & can build up over time, stopping up your tank. We also use some Pinesol to help with the oder every time we flush it out. Steps coming into the rv are a bit steep. If you have knee or hip problems, I'd recommend them being replaced. Well that's it. We love our rv, but would buy a fifth wheel, should we have done better research, but it's still real nice & depends on your taste. Just a few notes, unsure if they'll be read, but they're out there.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry Richards

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-12-24

RV reviewed2014 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3008V

View listings

4.8
We loved the front kitchen floor plan. The kitchen is a room in itself so plenty of room and cooking doesn’t interfere with entertaining or watching TV. Bedroom storage great! Missed a grill outside. Awning is huge made plenty of space for outside lanai!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review