Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River R-Pod RP-178 reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.8
Overall quality
3.2
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
2.2

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Randy Pollock

Texas

Reviewed on 2017-05-07

RV reviewed2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

2.4
After much research, we decided to purchase a 2017 Rpod 179 from a dealer in Mesquite, Texas. Although the dealer is approximately 300 miles from our home in San Antonio, we felt confident that the combined quality of the traler and the assurance that we "could take it to any Forrest River dealer for service"', we would be safe. (There is no Rpod dealer within a 100 miles of where we live). The first time we had a problem with the electric tongue lift not working, we found that "any Forrest River dealer" for repairs was true. In fact, even with with Forrest River's help, we were left with called Ngo numerous dealers only to say no and offer no assistance. Fortunately, I did find an area Forrest River dealer has worked very hard to help us. They were the only dealer of 6 which I called that was willing to help us. Although they are not an RPod dealer, they have done much to help us. There has been a series of issues with the RPod which have greatly undermined my confidence in my camper. So far, our 6 month old camper has had considerable problems . Beginning with a defective tongue lift, we found ourselves with a heather that was so loud, we stopped using it and plugged in a stand alone. (Reported to be a piece of packing plastic inside the unit). We have experienced a water leak which flooded the rear storage compartment.(Break at the city water inlet). An A/C unit with a part missing that makes too much noise to use until the part comes in. (2 weeks in the shop so far). Blue caulk scattered on numerous portions of the black framing. Decals beginning peel in some places. This unit sold for $22 k before discount. The most a dealer will allow on trade is $9k. We are trapped in a camper that we have no faith in manufactured by a company we have no faith in and sold by a dealer we have no faith in. If I had a do over, I would have purchased something from a local dealer and it would not have been a Forrest River product.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (620)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joann Stoller

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-10-27

RV reviewed2016 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

5.0
The Rpod is such a fun little trailer. Easy to tow and park. Fits nicely in those smaller spaces at State parks. I think the quality of the 2016 Hood River Edition is better than the newer trailers. I haven't had any issues. There's alot of support available from a Facebook Rpod owners group. I learned so much about owning my first trailer. I would highly recommend this Pod to any singles or couples looking to start their RV life!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jean Kerins

California

Reviewed on 2021-09-20

RV reviewed2016 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

4.0
RPod 178 has been ideal for 2 of us. When we travel with friends we use the dinette. On long trips we set up both queen beds. We tow with an old 4Runner. RPod is small enough to fit into national forest sites and large enough to go into KOAs with the big RVs. We’re happy campers with 178. Only downside is crawling over on bed.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jonna Kingston

Idaho

Reviewed on 2021-06-19

RV reviewed2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

3.2
Very dissatisfied falling apart very poor craftsmen ship I have had to do many things with this trailer since I have had it paid alot of money totally not worth it they do not make sure there product is put out properly period...I bought a platinum warranty an DC they have every excuse in the world to not warranty shit!!! I am about ready to sue there asses
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kacee elliott

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-04-10

RV reviewed2018 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

4.4
Bought our used a yr ago. Have put over 8000 miles on and some rough miles getting into some beautiful camping spots and have had no issues . Love the ground clearance can go anywhere . Looking at getting a new one once they are made. Behind cause of covid . Moving up to 196 to have the bed the other way, getting to old to climb over lol
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gail

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-08-03

RV reviewed2018 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

4.8
This has been a WONDERFUL RV to own. It tows like a dream. (We have to keep checking our rear-view mirrors to even see if it's there!) Set-up is fast and easy. Tear-down is equally fast and easy. The layout is great with two minor exceptions. Whomever is sleeping on the outside has to crawl over the other person to get up, and when you use the toilet at night, the light from it shines right into the eyes of the person still in bed. The kitchen area is very usable for the size, and the dining area is handy for dining, reading, watching TV, and just plain visiting or watching the campground. The only downside I see is if you have more than 2 people, you need to collapse the dining area to make up the additional bed. This works best for an easy get-away for 2 people. I am going to miss ours when it is gone, but we can't bring all the grandkids with us so we are upsizing. I especially like all the storage underneath, and the high wheel base. (We have the Hood River edition) Things stay right where they should when towing, and the air conditioner is a godsend that works great! For the price, this is a GREAT trailer!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (23)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RV Pilgrims

Arizona

Reviewed on 2019-04-11

RV reviewed2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

2.6
We purchased this unit used (barely), and have lived it full-time for 7 months. Pros: Lightweight, easy to tow, 3 way fridge, convection microwave, aluminum wheels, decent tires. Cons: Very poor construction. The side wall separated from the front wall due to design and assembly defects. Forest River agreed to pay for the repair even though we are the second owner, which is to their credit, but I had to do the repair myself due to our location. Numerous leaks and loose screws that have required repair. The lights look like they were installed without any use of a ruler or jig to ensure that they line up. There is very little inside storage (2 small drawers, 1 under-sink cabinet, 1 overhead cabinet in the slide out kitchen); the external storage is okay, with a pass-through in the rear and side access in the front. There is under-dinette storage, but it is not easy to access. The east-west bed is in the rear, and difficult to exit from the back end when someone is sleeping on the inside. We have done numerous mods to improve the unit due to the lack of factory features, including adding 12v and USB ports, fresh tank heater, shelves and a larger table (we removed the head end of the U shaped dinette and added drawers on either side). RPods are cute due to the teardrop shape, which is good for aerodynamics, but with no overhead cabinets in the front or rear, it's not worth the trade off versus a more conventional design. The RP-179 is a much better floor plan if you really want an RPod, but, if you want a quality unit, choose another brand.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (37)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig Priest

Arizona

Reviewed on 2017-08-26

RV reviewed2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

2.2
Pro: Hood River addition looks rugged Con: virtually everything else. Sets a new standard for LOW quality materials, poor workmanship, and safety. Assembled with pine and staples. Most of the staples missed resulting in poor connection and is falling apart. Exterior lense covers are falling off, currently missing 3. Air conditioner is so loud we can barely talk while it is working. The refrigerator is built like a cheep plastic toy. I believe the safety issue us very serious. The fresh water tank is at the back of the trailer and is 36 gallons. If you fill it before hitting the road you are adding 300 pounds behind the axle and will cause the trailer to sway out of control. We are very disappointed and never purchase a forest river product again.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (29)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig Priest

Arizona

Reviewed on 2017-08-26

RV reviewed2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

2.2
Pro: Hood River addition looks rugged Con: virtually everything else. Sets a new standard for LOW quality materials, poor workmanship, and safety. Assembled with pine and staples. Most of the staples missed resulting in poor connection and is falling apart. Exterior lense covers are falling off, currently missing 3. Air conditioner is so loud we can barely talk while it is working. The refrigerator is built like a cheep plastic toy. I believe the safety issue us very serious. The fresh water tank is at the back of the trailer and is 36 gallons. If you fill it before hitting the road you are adding 300 pounds behind the axle and will cause the trailer to sway out of control. We are very disappointed and never purchase a forest river product again.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (26)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marlys

Montana

Reviewed on 2017-07-10

RV reviewed2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

3.0
We bought our rpod new from Bretz in Missoula, MT. The rpods are cute looking travel trailers from the outside, but the inside is very cheaply put together. We have camped in it only twice and have had to fix the bed and the seating area. And we are very small people. The seating area was only put together with 3 staples on the top end so easily came apart once being used. There is goo on the bathroom wall that we are working to try to get off and everytime we pull it there ends up with lots of wood shavings on the floor that obviously whomever tried to put it together didn't clean up. The water under the sink leaked initially but hopefully that is fixed. There is one outside storage area door that is very hard to open and then get closed. I do like the lay out of the rpod and the towability is good. With all the campers to choose from out there I would not buy an rpod again or recommend buying one to any of my friends or family. Look around. There will be campers out there that are built well on the inside and the outside. The rpod is not one of them.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (32)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province